By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5814-CLABOM-024 - Project Scientist dans le cadre du projet H2020 ESCAPE (H/F)

Project Scientist for the H2020 ESCAPE project (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5814-CLABOM-024
Workplace : ANNECY LE VIEUX
Date of publication : Monday, November 04, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 30 months
Expected date of employment : 1 January 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : between 2617,05 € and 4166,14 € monthly gross, according to work experience.
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

The LAPP institute has invited applications from qualified candidates to serve as Project Scientist of the ESCAPE (European Science Cluster of Astronomy & Particle physics ESFRI research infrastructures) project, which is funded by the European Commission through the European Union's Horizon 2020 Framework Programme (under the Grant Agreement n. 824064). ESCAPE aims to address the Open Science challenges shared by ESFRI facilities (CTA, ELT, EST, FAIR, HL- LHC, KM3NeT, SKA) as well as other pan-European research infrastructures (CERN, ESO, JIV-ERIC, EGO- Virgo) in astronomy and particle physics research domains.

The ESCAPE technical activities support the deployment of the European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) program in Europe and are organized according to four contexts:

1. Design, implement, and operate a prototype data lake, a federated data infrastructure, implementing the FAIR data management principles, that will form the basis of an open access data service for the ESFRI projects. The data lake concept enables the large, reliable, national research data centres to work together to build a robust cloud-like service to curate and serve data at all scales up to the multi-Exabyte needs.

2. Develop and provide software services for open science data-analysis of the ESFRI facilities. The development of multi-messenger data analysis practices promotes activities for innovative methods (such as deep learning), to maximise software re-use and co-development, to identify open standards for software release, to investigate data mining tools and new analysis technique.

3. Make the seamless connection of ESFRI and other astronomy and astroparticle research infrastructures to the EOSC through the Virtual Observatory (VO). This implies the need to scale the VO framework to the biggest data sets that will be produced by the ESFRI and other projects.

4. Define and implement a flexible science platform for data analysis. The platform will allow EOSC researchers to identify and stage existing data collections for analysis, tap into a wide-range of software tools and packages developed by the ESFRIs, bring their own custom workflows to the platform, and take advantage of the underlying HPC and HTC computing infrastructure to execute those workflows.

The Project Scientist will assist the Project Coordinator for the management of the project in close cooperation with all Work Package Leaders by assisting and guiding them along their mutual interfaces and serving as the Project Coordinator representative. The candidate would also contribute to data analysis scientific software developments targeting the use cases of one of the following international projects: HL-LHC, CTA (https://www.cta-observatory.org/), LSST (https://www.lsst.org/), Virgo (http://www.virgo-gw.eu/) and/or the multi-messenger and multi-project archived data interoperability.

Activities

The qualified candidate will assist the Project Coordinator ensuring some coordination responsibilities, which include:

• Organising and coordinating a competence team acting in support of the concerned ESFRI projects for FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable) data management and data preservation issues.
• Supervising the implementation of the ESCAPE scientific software catalogue and data registry within the EOSC portal.
• Coordinating and contributing to the implementation of the “ESCAPE Test Science Projects”: original open-data-analysis projects in particle physics or multi-massagers astrophysics conducted by leveraging the ESCAPE developments for scientific validation purposes (in particular the implementation of a community-based transversal particle-astroparticle physics open-data Virtual Research Environment dedicated to Dark-Matter investigations is currently considered among others).
• Coordinating the definition of interfaces between Work Packages and EOSC following the EOSC implementation plan.
• Fostering cooperation further than the ESCAPE project partners and involving largely the concerned scientific community in nuclear, particle and astroparticle physics as well as other scientific clusters.
• Contributing in data analysis scientific software or data-access services developments.

Skills

• PhD in particle physics, astrophysics.
• Experience in data analysis.
• In-depth expertise in at least one of the following domains: modern software programming languages, scientific data analysis methods, open science services, data-intensive services, grid and cloud computing, numerical simulations, numerical mathematics, high-performance computing.
• Ability to collaborate and work across disciplines.
• Knowledge and/or work experience in research project management.

Other skills:
• Demonstrate rigor and reliability.
• Have a good relationship, the sense of organization and the taste of teamwork.
• Have the ability to manage their work autonomously, be able to take initiatives and be able to adapt quickly to the evolution of the project and tasks.
• Ability to collaborate with experts in other areas and to apply knowledge in areas of expertise other than one's own.
• Ability to operate across organisational boundaries – in a matrix-style organisation.
• The ability to work in the context of an international project.
• Excellent spoken and written English (Level C1).

Work Context

LAPP (https://lapp.in2p3.fr/) is a high-energy physics laboratory located in Annecy, 50kms from Geneva. The laboratory was founded in 1976 and is one of the laboratories of IN2P3 (Institut de Physique Nucléaire et de Physique des Particules), institute of CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique). LAPP is a joint research laboratory of the University Savoie Mont Blanc (USMB) and the CNRS-IN2P3. Close to 150 people are working at LAPP. Research carried out at LAPP aims at studying the ultimate constituents of the matter, their fundamental interactions, as well as exploring their connections with the large structures of the Universe.
The LAPP laboratory coordinates the ESCAPE project.
The European Union member states, recognising the challenges of data driven research in pursuing excellent science, have launched the European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) initiative. EOSC is a cloud for research data in Europe allowing for universal access to data through a single online platform. EOSC will federate existing resources across national data centres, e-infrastructures and research infrastructures allowing researchers and citizens to access and re-use data produced by other scientists. EOSC success is based on continuous engagement with scientific stakeholders actively supporting its implementation and in their respective capacities.
ESCAPE aims to address the Open Science challenges shared by ESFRI facilities (CTA, ELT, EST, FAIR, HL- LHC, KM3NeT, SKA) as well as other pan-European research infrastructures (CERN, ESO, JIV-ERIC, EGO- Virgo) in astronomy and particle physics research domains.
The complexity of all this new apparatus in science grows rapidly, the data volume produced by them is seeing a tremendous increase and the software to analyse the data is becoming more and more complex. On the other hand, this data should be accessible to the growing scientific communities, as they collaborate and interact. The ESCAPE project brings together partners from astronomy and particle physics to collaborate on building the EOSC. The ESCAPE actions aim at delivering solutions to ensure integration of data, tools, services and scientific software; to foster common approaches to implement open-data stewardship; to establish interoperability within EOSC as an integrated multi-probe facility for fundamental science.
The Project Scientist will be integrated in the ESCAPE management team located at LAPP in Annecy, under the direct responsibility of the LAPP Director, ESCAPE Project Coordinator.

ESCAPE-launch press communication is available at the following link: https://indico.in2p3.fr/event/18279/attachments/51141/65674/EN_ESCAPE_Press_Communication2 01118.pdf

Website : https://projectescape.eu/

Constraints and risks

Some short trips have to be planned in France and abroad

Additional Information

Scheduled Hire date: 01/01/2020 or date to be agreed

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5814-CLABOM-024 - Project Scientist dans le cadre du projet H2020 ESCAPE (H/F)

Project Scientist dans le cadre du projet H2020 ESCAPE (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5814-CLABOM-024
Lieu de travail : ANNECY LE VIEUX
Date de publication : lundi 4 novembre 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 30 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 janvier 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 2617,05 € et 4166,14 € bruts selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Le laboratoire LAPP propose un poste de Project Scientist dans le cadre d'ESCAPE (European Science Cluster of Astronomy & Particle physics ESFRI research infrastructures), un projet financé par la Commission Européenne dans le programme-cadre Horizon 2020 de l'Union européenne (convention de subvention n° 824064). ESCAPE vise à relever les défis de la science ouverte, partagés non seulement par des projets ESFRI (CTA, ELT, EST, FAIR, HL-LHC, KM3NeT, SKA) mais également par d'autres infrastructures de recherche paneuropéennes (CERN, ESO, JIV-ERIC, EGO-Virgo) dans les domaines de recherche de l'astronomie et de la physique des particules.

Les activités techniques ESCAPE sont en soutien au déploiement du programme de « l'European Open Science Cloud » (EOSC) de l'Europe et s'articulent selon quatre axes :

1. Concevoir, mettre en œuvre et exploiter un prototype de data lake, c'est-à-dire une fédération d'infrastructures de données, mettant en œuvre les principes de gestion des données FAIR, qui constituera la base d'un service de données à accès ouvert pour les projets ESFRI. Le concept data lake permettra aux centres de données nationaux du monde de la recherche, déjà de taille importante et fiables, de travailler ensemble pour créer un service robuste de type cloud, permettant de gérer et de servir des données à des échelles de l'ordre de plusieurs exaoctets.

2. Développer et fournir des services logiciels pour l'analyse de données des projets ESFRI dans le cadre de la science ouverte. Le développement de pratiques d'analyse de données multi-messagers favorise les activités de recherche de méthodes innovantes (telles que le deep learning), maximise la réutilisation et le co-développement de logiciels, permet d'identifier des standards ouverts pour la publication de logiciels, d'étudier des outils d'extraction de données et une nouvelle technique d'analyse.

3. Etablir une connexion transparente entre les projets ESFRI, d'autres infrastructures d'astronomie, d'astroparticules et l'EOSC via l'observatoire virtuel (VO). Ceci implique la nécessité d'adapter le cadre de l'observatoire virtuel aux données encore plus volumineuses qui seront produites par les projets ESFRI ou autres.

4. Définir et mettre en œuvre une plate-forme scientifique flexible pour l'analyse des données. La plate-forme permettra aux chercheurs d'EOSC d'identifier et de structurer les collections de données existantes en vue de leur analyse, d'exploiter un large éventail d'outils logiciels et de packages développés par les projets ESFRI, d'exécuter, dans le cadre de la plate-forme, leurs propres workflow personnalisés et d'utiliser les infrastructures informatiques HPC et HTC sous-jacentes, pour leur exécution.

Le (La) candidat-e retenu-e assistera le Coordinateur du projet dans ses fonctions de gestion de projet, en étroite collaboration avec les responsables de tous les groupes de travail ESCAPE, et avec comme objectif particulier de les assister et de les guider dans le cadre de la définition de leurs interfaces mutuelles, en tant que représentant du Coordinateur du projet. Le (La) candidat-e retenu-e contribuera également aux développements de logiciels scientifiques d'analyse de données ciblant les cas d'utilisation de l'un des projets internationaux parmi : CTA (https://www.cta-observatory.org/), LSST (https://www.lsst.org), Virgo (http://www.virgo-gw.eu/) et/ou l'interopérabilité des données multi-messagers et multi-projets.

Activités

Le (la) candidat-e retenu-e assistera le Coordinateur du Projet dans certaines responsabilités de coordination avec les activités suivantes:
• Organiser et coordonner une équipe de compétences agissant en soutien aux projets ESFRI partenaires sur la problématique des données FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable) c'est à dire trouvables, accessibles, interopérables et réutilisables.
• Superviser la mise en œuvre du catalogue de logiciels scientifiques ESCAPE et du registre de données au sein du portail EOSC.
• Coordonner et contribuer à la mise en œuvre des projets « ESCAPE Test Science » d'analyse de données ouvertes en physique des particules ou en astrophysique multi-messagers en utilisant les développements ESCAPE à des fins de validation scientifique (en particulier, la mise en œuvre d'un environnement de recherche virtuelle à données ouvertes dédié à la recherche sur la matière noire, entre autres, transversal à la physique des particules et des astroparticules et basé sur la participation de la communauté scientifique concernée, est actuellement à l'étude).
• Coordonner la définition des interfaces entre les différents groupes de travail et l'EOSC, suivant le planning de déploiement de ce dernier.
• Encourager la coopération au-delà des partenaires du projet ESCAPE et associer largement la communauté scientifique concernée en physique des particules et des astroparticules, ainsi qu'à d'autres cluster scientifiques.
• Contribuer au développement de logiciels scientifiques d'analyse de données ou de services d'accès aux données.

Compétences

• Diplômé d'un Doctorat en physique des particules, astrophysique, ou cosmologie.
• Expérience en analyse de données.
• Expérience ou bonne connaissance dans l'un des domaines suivants: langages modernes de programmation, méthodes d'analyse scientifique de données, services de science ouverte, BigData, traitement grille et cloud, simulations numériques, mathématiques numériques, calcul haute-performance, méthodologies de développement avancées (Intégration continue, tests, ...).
• Capacité à collaborer et à travailler dans plusieurs domaines.
• Connaissance et/ou expérience professionnelle en gestion de projets de recherche.

Outre les compétences scientifiques et techniques, le (la) candidat-e doit :
• Faire preuve de rigueur et de fiabilité.
• Avoir de bonnes relations, le sens de l'organisation et le goût du travail d'équipe.
• Etre capable de gérer son travail de manière autonome, de prendre des initiatives et de s'adapter rapidement à l'évolution du projet et des tâches.
• Capacité à collaborer avec des experts d'autres domaines et à appliquer des connaissances dans des domaines d'expertise autres que les siens.
• Savoir animer et coordonner l'activité d'une équipe dans une organisation matricielle.
• La capacité à travailler dans le contexte d'un projet international.
• Un bon niveau en anglais écrit et parlé est exigé (Niveau C1).

Contexte de travail

Le LAPP est un laboratoire de physique des hautes énergies situé à Annecy, à 50 km de Genève. Le laboratoire a été fondé en 1976 et est l'un des laboratoires de l'IN2P3 (Institut de physique nucléaire et de physique des particules), institut du CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique). Le LAPP est une unité mixte de recherche de l'Université Savoie Mont Blanc (USMB) et du CNRS-IN2P3. Près de 150 personnes travaillent au LAPP. Les recherches menées au LAPP visent à étudier les constituants ultimes de la matière, leurs interactions fondamentales, ainsi qu'à explorer leurs liens avec les grandes structures de l'Univers.
Le laboratoire LAPP coordonne le projet ESCAPE.

Les États membres de l'Union Européenne, reconnaissant les défis de la recherche orientée données dans leur quête d'excellence scientifique, ont lancé l'initiative European Open Science Cloud (EOSC). EOSC est le Cloud Européen permettant un accès universel aux données de recherche via une plate- forme en ligne unique. EOSC fédérera les ressources existantes des centres de données nationaux, des infrastructures numériques et des infrastructures de recherche, ce qui permettra aux chercheurs et aux citoyens d'accéder à et de réutiliser des données produites par d'autres scientifiques. Le succès d'EOSC repose sur un engagement continu des parties prenantes scientifiques qui soutiennent activement sa mise en œuvre selon leurs capacités respectives.
ESCAPE (le groupement scientifique des infrastructures de recherche européennes ESFRI en astronomie et physique des particules) vise à relever les défis de la science ouverte partagés non seulement par les projets ESFRI (CTA, ELT, EST, FAIR, HL-LHC, KM3NeT, SKA) mais également par d'autres infrastructures de recherche paneuropéennes (CERN, ESO, JIV-ERIC, EGO-Virgo) dans les domaines de recherche de l'astronomie et de la physique des particules. La complexité de toute cette nouvelle génération de dispositifs scientifiques croît rapidement, le volume de données produit par ceux-ci connaît une augmentation considérable et les logiciels d'analyse des données deviennent de plus en plus complexes. D'autre part, ces données sont amenées à être accessibles par des communautés scientifiques grandissantes qui collaborent et interagissent. Le projet d'ESCAPE rassemble des partenaires de l'astronomie et de la physique des particules qui collaborent pour la construction d'EOSC. Les actions ESCAPE visent à fournir des solutions permettant d'intégrer des données, des outils, des services et des logiciels scientifiques ; favoriser des approches communes pour la mise en œuvre de la gestion des données ouvertes ; établir l'interopérabilité au sein d'EOSC en tant qu'installation multi-sondes intégrée pour la science fondamentale.
Le/la Project Scientist sera intégré à l'équipe de management du projet ESCAPE localisée au LAPP à Annecy et sous la responsabilité directe du Directeur du LAPP en tant que Coordinateur du projet ESCAPE.
Référence : Le communiqué de presse du lancement du projet ESCAPE est disponible sur le lien suivant : https://indico.in2p3.fr/event/18279/attachments/51141/65676/FR_ESCAPE_Press_Communication20 1118.pdf
Le site internet du Projet ESCAPE : https://projectescape.eu/

Contraintes et risques

Des voyages réguliers (maximum 3-4 jours) en Europe sont à prévoir.

Informations complémentaires

Date d'embauche au 01/01/2020 ou date à convenir.

On en parle sur Twitter !