By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD student contract - Combined effects of irradiation and gas injection on the microstructural evolution of nuclear ceramics

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR9012-REJBOD-015
Workplace : ORSAY
Date of publication : Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Stéphanie JUBLOT-LECLERC
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Materials for future nuclear reactors (Gen IV fission and fusion) will be submitted to extreme conditions: neutron irradiation, gas presence, high to very high temperatures. The damage induced by neutron irradiation is usually experimentally simulated by using ion beams. These latter have an advantage of a lower cost compared to nuclear research reactors. In addition, the material is not activated and significant results can be obtained over a short period of time. Questions however remain as to whether the damage induced by ionic irradiations is representative of neutron irradiation-induced damage.
This PhD project aims at fundamentally studying the behavior of nuclear ceramics under ion irradiation to understand at the atomic-scale the mechanisms responsible for the degradation of the material. The materials considered in this study will be monocrystalline model materials (AlN, SiC …). These ceramics could possibly be used as coatings for structural materials, fuel cladding, or inert matrices. In this instance, they will be submitted in the reactor to an intense flux of neutrons and to an accumulation of gas that could lead to swelling and/or cracking.
The combined influence of ion irradiation effects and gas injection on the evolution of the material microstructure will be more particularly studied as a function of temperature and flux. The microstructural evolution will be experimentally characterized thanks to a combination of advanced techniques, notably on the JANNuS-SCALP facility at Orsay: TEM, XRD, ion beam analysis, … ex situ and/or in situ with single and dual ion beams.
The obtained results will be compared to the results of the literature on neutron-irradiated ceramics. This fundamental study will enable to better understand the basic mechanisms responsible for the damage induced by irradiation of these ceramics in reactor, as well as make progress on the issue of the representativeness of ions to simulate neutrons.

Work Context

Located on the campus of the Faculté des Sciences d'Orsay, the Physics Laboratory of the 2 infinites Irène Joliot-Curie -IJCLab - a joint research unit of the CNRS, the University of Paris-Saclay and the University of Paris, which includes about 750 people, is structured around the research poles of fundamental physics, from nuclear physics to astrophysics, cosmology, high-energy physics, the physics of accelerators and their applications (health, energy). The PhD student will be a member of the CHIMèNE team (Chemistry, Irradiation, Materials, Modelling, Electrochemistry, for Nuclear energy and Environment) in the Energy and Environment pole, and will work on the JANNuS-SCALP platform in Orsay.

Additional Information

Submit a covering letter and CV (without any break in date) showing diplomas, qualifications, work and professional experience.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant H/F-Influence combinée des effets d'irradiation et de l'injection de gaz sur l'évolution microstructurale de céramiques d'intérêt nucléaire

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR9012-REJBOD-015
Lieu de travail : ORSAY
Date de publication : mercredi 22 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Stéphanie JUBLOT-LECLERC
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les matériaux constituant les réacteurs du futur (fission Gen IV et fusion) seront soumis à des conditions extrêmes : irradiation, présence de gaz, hautes voire très hautes températures. Les faisceaux d'ions sont régulièrement utilisés pour simuler expérimentalement l'endommagement induit par les neutrons. Ceux-ci ont l'avantage d'un faible coût comparé aux réacteurs expérimentaux à neutrons, une absence d'activation de matériau, et permettent également d'obtenir des résultats sur une durée réduite. Cependant des questions subsistent quant à la représentativité des irradiations ioniques pour simuler l'endommagement neutronique.
Ce sujet propose d'étudier de façon fondamentale le comportement de céramiques d'intérêt nucléaire sous irradiation, afin de comprendre à l'échelle atomique les phénomènes responsables de la dégradation du matériau. Les matériaux modèles considérés dans cette étude sont sous forme de monocristaux (AlN, SiC, …). Ces céramiques sont susceptibles d'être utilisées comme revêtements de matériaux de structure, pour le gainage du combustible, ou comme matrices de confinement, et seront soumises en réacteur à un flux de neutrons intense et à une accumulation de gaz pouvant induire un gonflement et/ou fissuration.
L'influence combinée des effets d'irradiation et de l'injection de gaz sur l'évolution de la microstructure du matériau seront plus particulièrement étudiés, en fonction de la température et du flux. L'évolution de la microstructure du matériau sera caractérisée expérimentalement grâce à une combinaison de techniques de pointe, notamment sur la plateforme JANNuS-SCALP à Orsay : TEM, DRX, analyses par faisceaux d'ions, … ex situ et/ou in situ avec simple et double faisceaux d'ions.
Ces résultats seront comparés aux résultats de la littérature existants sur des céramiques irradiés aux neutrons. Cette étude fondamentale permettra à la fois de mieux comprendre les mécanismes élémentaires régissant l'endommagement de ces céramiques sous irradiation en réacteur, et d'avancer sur la question de la représentativité des ions pour simuler les neutrons.

Contexte de travail

Situé sur le campus de la Faculté des Sciences d'Orsay, le laboratoire de Physique des 2 infinis Irène Joliot-Curie -IJCLab - unité mixte de recherche du CNRS, de l'Université Paris-Saclay et de l'Université de Paris qui comprend environ 750 personnes, est structuré autour des pôles de recherche de physique fondamentale, de la physique nucléaire à l'astrophysique, la cosmologie, la physique des hautes énergies, la physique des accélérateurs et leurs applications (santé, énergie).
Le doctorant rejoindra l'équipe CHIMèNE (Chimie, Irradiation, Matériaux, Modélisations, Électrochimie, pour le Nucléaire et l'Environnement) au sein du pôle Énergie et Environnement. Une grande partie des expériences sera réalisée sur la plateforme JANNuS-SCALP à Orsay.

Informations complémentaires

Déposer lettre de motivation et CV sans aucune rupture de date faisant apparaître les diplômes, les titres et travaux et l'expérience professionnelle

On en parle sur Twitter !