By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Doctoral student (M/F) in sociology

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8209-DOMMAR-001
Workplace : PARIS 06
Date of publication : Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Dominique Marchetti
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

(Co-)Production of news in times of conflict (fixers, NGOs, journalists)

Despite their strategic importance in armed conflicts, national and transnational media fields rarely arouse the interest of social science researchers, except through content studies. Therefore, this project proposes to develop research on contemporary transformations of journalistic work in times of war. More specifically, the aim is to understand the logics of (co)-production of information between development actors, the military, journalists from major international media and local media, particularly through the emerging figures of "fixers" and "humanitarian personnel", who play the role of "passers" between these professional worlds. The multi-site field investigation will focus mainly on these two types of often invisible co-producers of news in relation to foreign journalists.
Indeed, budgetary restrictions in the media as well as extremely difficult and risky access to territories have reinforced this form of collaboration. The relocation of the production sites of special envoys, correspondents and members of the offices of the main information "wholesalers" (news agencies, transnational audiovisual media, etc.) to the countries bordering the conflicts covered is indicative of this shift. This is why it is necessary to "locate" the survey in these areas where humanitarian, military, international and local media actors are concentrated. This study will focus on two of the main "rear bases" for the production of information on the Syrian conflict since 2011, Beirut in Lebanon and Amman in Jordan.

Work Context

The doctoral student will be attached to the "Sociology" doctoral program at EHESS and will be directed by Dominique Marchetti. He or she will be a doctoral student at UMR 8209 (European Centre for Sociology and Political Science) in France and will be hosted by the UMIFRE 6 (the French Institute for the Near East, IFPO) during his or her research stays in Jordan and Lebanon.

Additional Information

Prerequisites to apply
Obtaining an M2 in sociology and/or political science.

Further information
Documents to be provided :
- CV
- Thesis project (5 pages maximum)

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant (H/F) en sociologie

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8209-DOMMAR-001
Lieu de travail : PARIS 06
Date de publication : mardi 19 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Dominique Marchetti
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

(Co-)Production de l'information en temps de conflits (fixeurs, ONG, journalistes)
En dépit de leur importance stratégique dans les conflits armés, les espaces médiatiques nationaux et transnationaux suscitent rarement l'intérêt des chercheurs en sciences sociales, si ce n'est au travers d'études de contenus. C'est pourquoi, ce projet propose de développer une recherche sur les transformations contemporaines du travail journalistique en temps de guerre. Plus précisément, il s'agit de comprendre les logiques de (co)-production de l'information entre les acteurs du développement, les militaires, les journalistes des grands médias internationaux et les supports locaux, notamment à travers les figures émergentes des « fixeurs » et des « personnels humanitaires », qui jouent le rôle de « passeurs » entre ces mondes professionnels. L'enquête de terrain multi-située se focalisera principalement sur ces deux types de coproducteurs, souvent invisibles, de l'information en relation avec les journalistes étrangers.
En effet, les restrictions budgétaires prises dans les médias ainsi qu'un accès extrêmement difficile et risqué aux territoires, ont renforcé cette forme de collaboration. La délocalisation des lieux de production des envoyés spéciaux, des correspondants, des membres des bureaux des principaux « grossistes » de l'information (agences de presse, médias audiovisuels transnationaux, etc.) dans les pays limitrophes des conflits couverts est révélateur de ce basculement. C'est pourquoi, il s'agit de « localiser » l'enquête dans ces zones où se concentrent acteurs de l'humanitaire, militaires, médias internationaux et locaux. Cette étude s'y intéressera à travers deux des principales « bases arrière » de la production de l'information sur le conflit syrien depuis 2011, Beyrouth au Liban et Amman en Jordanie

Contexte de travail

Le.a doctorant.e sera rattaché.e à la formation doctorale « Sociologie » de l'EHESS et sera dirigé.e par Dominique Marchetti à l'EHESS (Paris). Il ou elle sera doctorant.e à l'UMR 8209 (Centre européen de sociologie et de science politique) en France et accueilli.e par les antennes de l'UMIFRE 6 (l'Institut Français du Proche-Orient, IFPO) au cours de ses séjours de recherche en Jordanie et au Liban.

Informations complémentaires

Prérequis pour candidater
Obtention d'un M2 en science politique ou en sociologie.

Informations complémentaires
Documents à fournir :
- un CV
- Un projet de thèse (5 p. maximum)

On en parle sur Twitter !