By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

M/F Laboratory study of carbonaceous nanograins-water interactions in the era of the James Webb Space Telescope

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5589-JEALHE0-002
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Thursday, June 18, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Sébastien Zamith
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Thanks to its unprecedented sensitivity, angular and spectral capabilities in the infrared, the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST, planned for launch in March 2021) will provide us with a new view of the physical and chemical structuration of photodissociation regions (PDRs) associated with star- and planet-forming regions [1]. In these PDRs, the matter, composed of gas and tiny dust particles, is coupled to the ultraviolet (UV) radiation from young stars. From previous infrared space missions such as the Spitzer telescope, we have observed the destruction of very small carbonaceous grains and the production of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) at the edge of these PDRs [2]. These carbonaceous nanograins come from the inner part of interstellar clouds where models predict a transition from gaseous to icy water [3].

This PhD project in the field of laboratory astrophysics aims at studying the evolution of analogs of carbonaceous nanograins in PDRs. These will be formed of mixed aromatics/aliphatics/water clusters controlled in size and temperature and isolated in physical conditions that approach those found in astrophysical environments. Their evolution under collisions with atoms/molecules and/or under UV photon irradiation will be investigated. The project takes advantage of the recent instrumental developments carried out at LCAR. On one hand, a versatile aggregation cluster source has been developed for collision induced dissociation experiments and measurements of the evaporation rate of size-selected clusters [4]. On the other hand, the PIRENEA 2 setup, built in the framework of the ERC Synergy Nanocosmos project [5], combines a cryogenic environment with a variety of ion trapping techniques in order to study molecular processes in conditions that approach those encountered in interstellar molecular clouds.

More specifically, the PhD project consists in studying the properties of small mixed clusters composed of PAHs (methylated PAHs) and water molecules, (PAH)n(H2O)m, m,n=1-10. The candidate will first optimize the source conditions to produce the species of interest and carry out collision induced dissociation experiments using the cluster group experimental setup. He/she will then produce the same species in PIRENEA 2 using a duplicate of the aggregation source. He/she will study the interaction of the mixed complexes with photon irradiation in the UV-visible range, exploring desorption processes and the possible formation of new molecular species by photochemistry. These processes will be studied as a function of the irradiation wavelengths as well as the size, stoichiometry and initial temperature of the clusters, which can be tuned between 10 and 300 K. To get further insights into these processes, the project will benefit from complementary theoretical studies that will be carried out by the MAD team at LCPQ [6]. The confrontation of the obtained data with astronomical data from the JWST ERS programme will be favored by the strong involvement of the MICMAC team in this program [1].

The PhD work will be carried out in an interdisciplinary context between experimental cluster physics, physical chemistry and astrophysics. It will involve a rich research team environment with members of the MICMAC Department at IRAP (laboratory astrophysics and astronomical observations), the Cluster Team at LCAR (experimental physics) and the MAD Team at LCPQ (simulations in quantum physics/chemistry).

The candidate must have a degree in molecular physics and willingness for experimental physics involving cryogenic ion traps and laser spectroscopy. The subject is part of an interdisciplinary context involving astrophysicists and theoreticians in molecular physics. Knowledge in astrochemistry and quantum chemistry will be necessary and could be completed, if necessary, during the PhD period.

[1] Programme “Early Release Science” (ERS) intitulé “Radiative feedback from massive stars”; www.jwst-ism.org
[2] P. Pilleri, J. Montillaud, O. Berné, and C. Joblin, Astron. & Astrophys 542, A69 (2012)
[3] D. Hollenbach, M. J. Kaufman, E. A. Bergin, G. J. Melnick, Astrophys. J. 690, 1497 (2009)
[4] I. Braud, S. Zamith, and J.-M. L'Hermite, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 88, 43102 (2017)
[5] A. Bonnamy et al., 2018, https://nanocosmos.iff.csic.es/technology/pirenea-2-pirenea-and-espoirs-upgrades/
[6] E. Michoulier, N. Ben Amor, Mathias Rapacioli, J. A. Noble, J. Mascetti, C. Toubin, A. Simon, Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 20, 11941-11953 (2018)

Work Context

The Laboratoire Collisions Agrégats Reactivité (LCAR) is a joint research laboratory of 41 people, with support from both CNRS Institute for Physics and University of Toulouse III. LCAR's activities take place on the Toulouse III University campus.

LCAR brings together six research teams, one theoretical and five experimental, whose work is dedicated to fundamental research. These research teams are divided into two main areas: "molecular physics" and "laser-matter interaction". Since 2015, two experiments carried out by a team from the Institute for Research in Astrophysics and Planetology (IRAP) have been hosted at LCAR and significant synergies have been formed between this team and the molecular physics teams of LCAR.

The thesis will take place in an interdisciplinary context combining cluster physics, chemical physics and astrophysics. It will benefit from a synergy between several research teams with complementary skills: the MICMAC department of IRAP (laboratory astrophysics and astronomical observations), the LCAR cluster team (experimental physics) and the LCPQ MAD team (simulations of quantum physics).

The doctoral work will take place at LCAR on joint experiments carried out by the cluster team from LCAR and MICMAC group from IRAP. The student will be co-supervised by Christine Joblin (DR CNRS IRAP) and Sébastien Zamith (CR CNRS LCAR) in a team of ½ dozen people.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

H/F Interactions eau-nanograins carbonés dans les régions de formation stellaire et planétaire

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5589-JEALHE0-002
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : jeudi 18 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Sébastien Zamith
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Grâce à sa sensibilité sans précédent, à ses performances spectrales et sa résolution angulaire inégalées en astronomie spatiale infrarouge, le James Webb Space Telescope (JWST, lancement prévu en mars 2021) va nous donner une nouvelle vision de la structuration physique et chimique des régions de photodissociation associées aux régions de formation stellaire et planétaire [1]. Dans ces régions, la matière constituée de gaz et de très petites particules de poussières est couplée au champ de rayonnement ultraviolet (UV) des étoiles. Les missions spatiales précédentes, notamment le télescope Spitzer, ont permis d'observer la destruction des nanograins carbonés et la production de molécules polycyliques aromatiques hydrogénées (PAH) dans les bords de ces régions de photodissociation (PDR) fortement irradiées par le rayonnement UV [2]. Ces nanograins carbonés proviennent de zones plus internes des nuages dans lesquelles les modèles prédisent la transition entre l'eau sous forme gazeuse et sous forme de glace [3].

Cette thèse d'astrophysique de laboratoire a pour objectif d'étudier l'évolution d'analogues de nanograins carbonés des PDR. Ceux-ci seront constitués d'agrégats mixtes molécules aromatiques/ molécules aliphatiques/eau, contrôlés en taille et en température, et isolés dans des conditions proches de celles des milieux astrophysiques. Les processus d'interaction par collisions avec différents atomes/molécules et d'irradiation par des photons UV seront alors étudiés. Le projet bénéficie de récents développements expérimentaux réalisés au LCAR. D'une part, une source à agrégation gazeuse capable de produire une grande variété d'agrégats mixtes y a été développée pour mener des expériences de dissociations induites par collisions et des mesures de taux d'évaporation d'agrégats sélectionnés en taille [4]. D'autre part, le montage expérimental PIRENEA 2, en cours développement dans le cadre du projet européen ERC Synergy Nanocosmos [5], combine un environnement cryogénique et plusieurs techniques de piégeage d'ions qui permettent d'étudier des processus moléculaires dans des conditions proches de celles rencontrées dans les nuages moléculaires interstellaires.

Le présent projet de doctorat consiste plus précisément à étudier les propriétés d'agrégats mixtes contenant des PAH (incluant leurs dérivés méthylés) et de l'eau, (PAH)n(H2O)m, m,n=1-10. Le/la doctorant.e devra tout d'abord optimiser les paramètres de la source pour produire les espèces à étudier ; il mènera ensuite des expériences de dissociation induite par collision sur le montage de l'équipe Agrégats. Il/elle produira les mêmes espèces sur le montage PIRENEA 2 à partir d'une source similaire à celle du montage Agrégats. Il/elle étudiera l'interaction des complexes mixtes avec des photons UV/visible, explorant les phénomènes de désorption et la formation possible par photochimie de nouvelles espèces. Tous ces processus seront étudiés en fonction de la longueur d'onde d'irradiation, ainsi que de la taille, de la stœchiométrie et de la température initiale des agrégats que l'on peut faire varier entre 10K et 300K. Ce projet expérimental sera accompagné de travaux théoriques menés au LCPQ par l'équipe MAD [6]. La confrontation de ces résultats avec les données du programme ERS du JWST sera facilitée par la forte implication de l'équipe MICMAC dans ce programme [1].

Ce travail doctoral se déroulera dans un contexte interdisciplinaire mêlant physique des agrégats, physico-chimie et astrophysique. Il bénéficiera d'une synergie entre plusieurs équipes de recherche aux compétences complémentaires : le département MICMAC de l'IRAP (astrophysique de laboratoire et observations astronomiques), l'équipe Agrégats du LCAR (physique expérimentale) et l'équipe MAD du LCPQ (simulations de physique quantique).

[1] Programme “Early Release Science” (ERS) intitulé “Radiative feedback from massive stars”; www.jwst-ism.org
[2] P. Pilleri, J. Montillaud, O. Berné, and C. Joblin, Astron. & Astrophys 542, A69 (2012)
[3] D. Hollenbach, M. J. Kaufman, E. A. Bergin, G. J. Melnick, Astrophys. J. 690, 1497 (2009)
[4] I. Braud, S. Zamith, and J.-M. L'Hermite, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 88, 43102 (2017)
[5] A. Bonnamy et al., 2018, https://nanocosmos.iff.csic.es/technology/pirenea-2-pirenea-and-espoirs-upgrades/
[6] E. Michoulier, N. Ben Amor, Mathias Rapacioli, J. A. Noble, J. Mascetti, C. Toubin, A. Simon, Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 20, 11941-11953 (2018)

Contexte de travail

Le Laboratoire Collisions Agrégats Réactivité (LCAR) est une Unité Mixte de Recherche de 41 personnes, sous tutelle de l'Institut de Physique du CNRS et de l'Université de Toulouse III qui l'héberge. La totalité des activités du LCAR se déroule sur le campus de l'Université Toulouse III.

Le LCAR réunit six équipes de recherche, une théorique et cinq expérimentales, dont les travaux sont dédiés à des recherches fondamentales. Ces équipes de recherche sont réparties dans deux axes principaux : « physique moléculaire » et « interaction laser-matière ». Depuis 2015, deux expériences menées par une équipe de l'Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie (IRAP) sont hébergées au LCAR et d'importantes synergies se sont constituées entre cette équipe et les équipes de l'axe moléculaire du LCAR.
La thèse se situe dans un contexte interdisciplinaire mêlant physique des agrégats, physico-chimie et astrophysique. Il bénéficiera d'une synergie entre plusieurs équipes de recherche aux compétences complémentaires : le département MICMAC de l'IRAP (astrophysique de laboratoire et observations astronomiques), l'équipe Agrégats du LCAR (physique expérimentale) et l'équipe MAD du LCPQ (simulations de physique quantique).

Le travail doctoral se déroulera au LCAR sur des expériences communes menées par les équipes Agrégat du LCAR et MICMAC de l'IRAP. L'étudiant.e sera co-encadré.e par Christine Joblin (DR CNRS IRAP) et Sébastien Zamith (CR CNRS LCAR) au sein d'une équipe d'une ½ douzaine de personnes.

On en parle sur Twitter !