By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

H/F Phd position

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5235-KARKIS-002
Workplace : MONTPELLIER
Date of publication : Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Karima KISSA & Andrea PARMEGGIANI
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 2 November 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

This project is a continuation of the biophysical characterization and modeling of the emergence of blood stem cells in the zebrafish embryo.
Funding for a 36-month doctoral thesis has been granted by the CNRS as part of its Prime 80 program and is available from 1 November 2020 at the University of Montpellier, France.

The zebrafish embryo, thanks to its transparency and the recent development of molecular tools and transgenic fluorescent reporter lines, is a relevant in vivo model to study the different steps leading to definitive haematopoiesis. Imaging of live zebrafish embryos during the first days of development showed that multipotent precursors (HSCs) emerged directly from the floor of the aorta through a stereotypic process involving a strong flexion preceding the exit of single endothelial cells from the aortic ventral wall and their concomitant transformation into hematopoietic cells. We have named this process the endothelial hematopoietic transition (EHT) (Kissa & Herbomel, Nature 2010; Poullet at al, CMLS 2019).
The aim of the project is to elucidate the molecular and biomechanical events leading to the emergence of hematopoietic stem cells in the zebrafish embryo. Previous studies suggested that shear stress resulting from arterial pressure was important for the emergence of HSC. This project will focus on the potential relationships between pulsatile flow, mechanical deformation of the aorta and the EHT process as a consequence of aortic constriction. The project will be carried out among the teams of Karima KISSA (Emergence of hematopoietic strain cells and cancer, UMR5235), Andrea PARMEGGIANI (Biological Physics and Systems Biology, UMR 5235 and Complex Systems & Nonlinear Phenomena, UMR5221) and Sergei ROCHAL (South Federal University of Rostov on Don, Russia). The aim of the latter will be to design mathematical models of the EHT process in correlation with the experimental data.
The UMR5235 and UMR5221 laboratories are very stimulating environments for working in the fields of biology and biophysics.
We are looking for a highly motivated candidate with a background in theoretical biophysics and biomechanics with knowledge of cell biology. Autonomy, organization and communication are essential skills to work with our research teams.

Work Context

The selected candidate will be required to register at the University of Montpellier.
The successful candidate will carry out research under the supervision of Drs Karima KISSA (LPHI-UMR5235) and Andrea PARMEGGIANI (L2C- UMR5221) in Montpellier and Sergei ROCHAL (South Federal University of Rostov on Don, Russia). The co-supervisors will have regular meetings with the PhD student in order to ensure the follow-up of the research and training. In addition, an Individual Monitoring Committee will be set up by the Scientific Experts to monitor the progress of the doctoral student's work and the progress of the thesis.

Constraints and risks

Travel in France and abroad is likely.

Additional Information

Applicants should provide a single PDF document including 1) a cover letter, 2) a detailed CV specifying the final grades of M1 and M2 separately, 3) a one-page summary of their scientific project carried out in the Master's program, and 4) the names and e-mail addresses of two people who can recommend the applicant.
The deadline for sending applications is 15/09/2020. Successful candidates will be interviewed by videoconference between 20/09 and 30/09/2020 and the starting date from 01/11/2020.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

H/F CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5235-KARKIS-002
Lieu de travail : MONTPELLIER
Date de publication : mercredi 29 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Karima KISSA & Andrea PARMEGGIANI
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 2 novembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Ce projet s'inscrit dans la continuité la caractérisation biophysique et sa modélisation de l'émergence des cellules souches sanguines chez l'embryon de zebrafish.
Le financement d'une thèse doctorale de 36 mois a été accordée par le CNRS dans le cadre de son programme Prime 80 est disponible à partir du 1 novembre 2020 à l'Université de Montpellier, France.

L'embryon de poisson zèbre, grâce à sa transparence et au développement récent d'outils moléculaires et de lignées de reporters fluorescents transgéniques, est un modèle in vivo pertinent pour étudier les différentes étapes menant à l'hématopoïèse définitive. L'imagerie d'embryons de poisson zèbre vivants au cours des premiers jours de développement a montré que les précurseurs multipotents (HSC) émergeaient directement du plancher de l'aorte grâce à un processus stéréotypé qui implique une forte flexion précédant la sortie de cellules endothéliales uniques de la paroi ventrale aortique et leur transformation concomitante en cellules hématopoïétiques. Nous avons nommé ce processus la transition hématopoïétique endothéliale (EHT, Kissa & Herbomel, Nature 2010 ; Poullet at al, CMLS 2019).
L'objectif du projet est d'élucider les événements moléculaires et biomécaniques conduisant à l'émergence de cellules souches hématopoïétiques dans l'embryon de poisson zèbre. Des études antérieures suggéraient que la contrainte de cisaillement résultant de la pression artérielle était importante pour l'émergence du CSH. Ce projet se concentrera sur les relations potentielles entre l'écoulement pulsatile, la déformation mécanique de l'aorte et le processus EHT comme conséquence de la constriction de l'aorte. Le projet sera réalisé en collaboration entre les équipes de Karima Kissa (Emergence of hematopoietic souche cells and cancer, UMR5235), Andrea Parmeggiani (Biological Physics and Systems Biology, UMR 5235 and Complex Systems & Nonlinear Phenomena, UMR5221) et Sergei ROCHAL (South Federal University of Rostov on Don, Russia). L'objectif du projet sera de concevoir et étudier des modèles mathématiques du processus EHT en corrélation avec les données expérimentales.
Les laboratoires UMR5235 et UMR5221 sont des environnements très stimulants pour travailler dans les domaines de la biologie et de la biophysique.
Nous recherchons un(e) candidat(e) très motivé possédant une formation en physique et biophysique théoriques, et en biomécanique avec des connaissances de biologie cellulaire. L'autonomie, l'organisation et la communication sont des aptitudes essentielles pour travailler avec nos équipes de recherche.

Contexte de travail

Le(a) candidat(e) retenu(e) devra s'inscrire à l'Université de Montpellier.
Le(a) candidat(e) retenu(e) effectuera ses recherches sous la supervision des Docteurs Karima KISSA (LPHI-UMR5235) et Andrea PARMEGGIANI (L2C- UMR5221) à Montpellier et Sergei ROCHAL (South Federal University of Rostov on Don, Russia). Les co-encadrants effectueront des réunions régulières avec le(a) doctorant(e) afin d'assurer le suivi des recherches et de sa formation. De plus, un Comité de Suivi Individuel (CSI) sera composé par les Experts Scientifiques afin de suivre la progression des travaux de doctorant(e) et l'avancement de la thèse.

Contraintes et risques

Des déplacements en France et à l'étranger sont probables.

On en parle sur Twitter !