By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD (H/F) in Structural Mass Spectrometry to study the interplay between proteasome complexes regula

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5089-JULMAR-001
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Julien Marcoux
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 November 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Context. Multiprotein complexes play various key roles in diverse biological processes. Among them, the 26S proteasome is a very well conserved multi-subunit protein assembly that presents structural and functional heterogeneities. Its main function, through the ubiquitin-proteasome system, is to determine the turnover rate of intracellular proteins, but specific other functions, such as the generation of functional peptides, were recently described1-2 resulting from the association with different regulators (19S, PA28αβ, PA28γ, PA200). Its dysregulation can be cytotoxic and has been associated to several neurodegenerative diseases and cancers. We are aware of three main ways to tune its proteolytic activity: the interaction of the 20S catalytic core with dedicated regulators, the replacement of the standard (Std) catalytic subunits (β1, β2 and β5) by inducible immunological subunits that form the immunoproteasome (i20S) upon inflammation for instance, and finally by post-translational modifications (PTM). Three proteasome inhibitors targeting its chymotrypsin-like activity have been approved by the FDA since 2003 in the treatment of multiple myeloma3-5. However, a better understanding of proteasome regulation would allow more specific therapies that target subtypes of the proteasome, avoiding the unnecessary shutdown of downstream pathways that may cause deleterious side-effects4-5. Specific inhibition of the immunoproteasome was recently shown to reduce graft rejection6 and suppress the progression of colorectal cancer in mice7.
Objectives This project aims at better understanding the complex interplay between the three distinct proteasome regulation pathways. To do so, we will first characterize in-depth the proteasome through the definition of its proteoform repertoire, associated regulators and partners, in the context of Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (IBD). Second, we will investigate the molecular basis explaining the preferential interaction between 20S subtypes and their different regulators. Finally we will screen new potential specific activators or inhibitors of the different 20S proteasome subtypes.
Strategies. The complexity of the proteasome complexes composition is a real challenge and widely-used bottom-up proteomics approaches are not able to correlate this structural diversity with specific functions. Although very powerful for protein identification and quantification, they do not account for PTM combination leading to various proteoforms8. To tackle this loss of information we will analyze these proteins entirely rather than after enzymatic digestion. We will employ state-of-the-art mass spectrometers to realize this top-down approach and have access to the many combinations of proteoforms present in a cellular extract and identify regulators that are specific to certain subtypes of the proteasome. We will study this proteasome heterogeneity in the context IBD as we know that the i20S will be recruited, at least partially, upon inflammation. We will use another innovative approach, Hydrogen-Deuterium Exchange (HDX) MS, to compare the conformations of the Std vs. i20S proteasomes in the absence and presence of the PA28αβ and PA28γ regulators. The same method will also be used to identify binding interfaces of newly described Proteasome Interacting Proteins (PIP)9-10 and study the binding of specific and non-specific inhibitors to the Std vs. i20S. Finally, we will set out to identify new activators or inhibitors of the different proteasomes using a high-throughput workflow based on the chemical, fragment and peptide-based libraries available at the institute (PICT Platform). We are confident that these innovative structural MS methods11-12 will shed a new light on our understanding of the proteasome regulation by studying how its molecular and structural diversity can explain its different functions. Furthermore, we will undoubtedly gather structural information that will be useful for the design of new specific inhibitors.
References:
1 Liepe J et al. (2016) “A large fraction of HLA class I ligands are proteasome-generated spliced peptides” Science 354(6310):354-358
2 Dasgupta S et al. (2016) Analysis of the Yeast Peptidome and Comparison with the Human Peptidome” Plos One 11(9):e0163312
3 Bonvini P et al. (2007) "Bortezomib-mediated 26S proteasome inhibition causes cell-cycle arrest and induces apoptosis in CD-30+ anaplastic large cell lymphoma" Leukemia 21(4):838–42.
4 Kuhn DJ et al. (2007) “Potent activity of carfilzomib, a novel, irreversible inhibitor of the ubiquitin-proteasome pathway, against preclinical models of multiple myeloma” Blood 110(9):3281-90.
5 Kupperman E et al. (2010) “Evaluation of the proteasome inhibitor MLN9708 in preclinical models of human cancer” Cancer Res 70(5):1970-80.
6 Li J et al. (2018) “Immunoproteasome inhibition prevents chronic antibody-mediated allograft rejection in renal transplantation” Kidney Int. 93(3):670-680.
7 Koerner J et al. (2018) “Inhibition and deficiency of the immunoproteasome subunit LMP7 suppress the development and progression of colorectal carcinoma in mice” Oncotarget. 8(31):50873-50888.
8 Smith LM et al. (2013) “Proteoform: a single term describing protein complexity” Nature 10(3):186-187.
9 Jonik-Nowak et al. (2018) “PIP30/FAM192A is a novel regulator of the nuclear proteasome activator PA28γ” PNAS 115(28):E6477-86.
10 Sbardella et al. (2018) “The insulin-degrading enzyme is an allosteric modulator of the 20S proteasome and a potential competitor of the 19S” Cell Mol Life Sci 75(18):3441-3456.
11 Marcoux J and Robinson CV (2013) “Twenty years of gas phase structural biology” Structure 21(9):1541-1550.
12 Marcoux J and Cianférani S (2015) “Towards integrative structural mass spectrometry: benefits from hybrid approaches” Methods 89:4-12.

Work Context

The principal objective of the host laboratory (IPBS, Toulouse) is to characterize fundamental mechanisms that control the functions of biological systems, by analyzing the structure-function relationship of macromolecules in order to develop pharmacological applications. In this context, the team of Proteomics and Mass Spectrometry of Biomolecules led by Odile Burlet-Schiltz has spent the last 15 years using proteomics to investigate the proteasome complexes that are a therapeutic target of choice because of their implications in many pathologies. A better description of the different forms of the proteasome will lead, in the long run, to more specific treatments generating less side effects.
This project originates from the wish of the team and the institute to develop innovating Structural Mass Spectrometry techniques in order to bring a new point of view on the proteasome system. In this context, the team obtained a grant from the Région Occitanie (within the frame of the CPER 2015-2020) that allowed the acquisition of a state-of-the-art instrument to realize this kind of experiment (Synapt G2Si with automated HDX-MS).
The PhD co-supervisor (Julien Marcoux) spent the last 12 years using mass spectrometry as a tool for the structural characterization of soluble and membrane proteins & protein complexes. His expertise will be supported by a decade of experience in proteasome purification and proteomics analysis in the team. Recent work include the use of in-vivo cross-linking and proteomics to describe the heterogeneity of proteasome complexes (in terms of catalytic subunits but also interacting activators) in different human cell lines. This pioneering work will strongly benefit from the complementary methods developed by Julien Marcoux, to provide a more structural point of view on this complex system. Our team also counts with highly experienced engineers who will support the PhD student, in terms of sample preparation, instrument handling/maintenance and data analysis. Finally, the long-term presence of skilled bioinformaticians in the team, is a very strong asset that enabling to efficiently develop new tools (VisioProt-MS, HDX-Viewer), which could otherwise constitute a bottleneck in our workflows.
Our collaborators (Audrey Ferrand & Frédérick Barreau) at the Research Institute of Digestive Health (IRSD, INSERM U1220, Toulouse), who will provide us biological samples, are also internationally renowned in the field of colonic pathophysiology, IBDs and fully committed to this collaboration. They are specialized in the inflammation of digestive tissues and have developed models to mimic inflammation on colorectal epithelial cells with cocktails of pro-inflammatory cytokines. They also have regular access to biopsies from patients with different IBD (including ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease) or colorectal cancer (with and without inflammation). Because part of their research is focused on epithelial regeneration, they also developed 3D cell culture models (intestinal organoids)73 providing sufficient amount of healthy and inflamed cells for our top-down and bottom-up proteomics study. Clinicians (D. Bonnet, A. Breton and E. Mas), in their research groups, are largely involved in the group research, providing critical clinical inputs and comments on the different basic science projects.

Constraints and risks

No particular Health & Safety risk is associated with this project.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse (H/F) en spectrométrie de masse structurale pour élucider le dialogue entre les mécanismes de régulations des complexes du protéasome

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5089-JULMAR-001
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : mardi 27 août 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Julien Marcoux
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 novembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Contexte. Le protéasome 26S est un complexe multi-protéique très bien conservé qui présente une forte hétérogénéité structurale et fonctionnelle. Sa fonction principale, à travers le système ubiquitine-protéasome est de déterminer le taux de demi-vie des protéines intracellulaires, mais d'autres fonctions spécifiques, tel que la génération de peptides fonctionnels, ont été récemment décrits1-2, résultant de l'association avec différents régulateurs (19S, PA28αβ, PA28γ, PA200). Sa dérégulation peut être cytotoxique et a été associée à différentes maladies neurodégénératives et certains cancers. Nous connaissons trois vois principales de régulation de son activité protéolytique : l'interaction du cœur catalytique 20S avec des régulateurs, le remplacement des sous-unités catalytiques standard (std) (β1, β2 et β5) avec des sous-unités immunologiques inductibles (β1i, β2i et β5i) qui forment l'immunoprotéasome (i20S) lors de l'inflammation par exemple, et finalement par modification post-traductionnelle (MPT). Trois inhibiteurs du protéasome ciblant son activité chymotrypsin-like ont été approuvées par la FDA depuis 2003 dans le traitement de myélome multiples3-5. Cependant, une meilleure compréhension de la régulation du protéasome permettrait de mettre au point des stratégies thérapeutiques plus spécifiques ciblant des sous-types de protéasome évitant ainsi les effets secondaires délétères rencontrés avec les traitements actuels4-5. Il a récemment été démontré que l'inhibition spécifique de l'immunoprotéasome réduisait le rejet de greffe6 et supprimait la progression du cancer colorectal chez la souris7.
Objectifs. Ce projet vise à mieux comprendre l'interaction complexe entre les trois voies de régulation distinctes du protéasome. Pour ce faire, nous allons d'abord caractériser en profondeur le protéasome en définissant son répertoire de protéoformes, ses régulateurs associés et ses partenaires, dans le contexte des maladies inflammatoires de l'intestin (MICI). Deuxièmement, nous étudierons les base moléculaires expliquant l'interaction préférentielle entre les sous-types 20S et leurs différents régulateurs. Enfin, nous criblerons de nouveaux activateurs ou inhibiteurs spécifiques potentiels des différents sous-types de protéasome 20S.
Stratégies. La complexité de la composition des complexes du protéasome est un véritable défi et les approches protéomiques bottom-up largement utilisées ne permettent pas de corréler cette diversité structurelle avec des fonctions spécifiques. Bien que très puissantes pour l'identification et la quantification des protéines, elles ne rendent pas compte de la combinaison de MPTs conduisant à diverses protéoformes8. Pour remédier à cette perte d'informations, nous analyserons ces protéines sous forme entière plutôt qu'après digestion enzymatique. Nous utiliserons des spectromètres de masse à la pointe de la technologie pour réaliser cette approche top-down et avoir accès aux nombreuses combinaisons de protéoformes présentes dans un extrait cellulaire tout en identifiant les régulateurs spécifiques à certains sous-types du protéasome. Nous étudierons cette hétérogénéité du protéasome dans le contexte des MICI, car nous savons que le i20S sera recruté, au moins partiellement, à cause de l'inflammation. Nous utiliserons une autre approche innovante d'échange Hydrogène-Deutérium couplé à la spectrométrie de masse (HDX-MS), pour comparer les conformations des protéasomes std20S et i20S en l'absence ou présence des régulateurs PA28αβ et PA28γ. La même méthode sera également utilisée pour identifier les surfaces d'interaction de certaines protéines PIP (Proteasome Interacting Proteins)9-10 récemment décrites, et étudier la liaison d'inhibiteurs spécifiques et non spécifiques aux protéasomes std20S et i20S. Enfin, nous chercherons à identifier de nouveaux activateurs ou inhibiteurs des différents protéasomes en utilisant une approche à haut débit basée sur le criblage de bibliothèques de substances chimiques, de fragments et de peptides disponibles à l'institut (plateforme PICT). Nous sommes convaincus que ces méthodes innovantes de MS structurale11-12 permettront un nouvel éclairage sur notre compréhension de la régulation du protéasome en étudiant comment sa diversité moléculaire et structurale peut expliquer ses différentes fonctions. De plus, esperons recueillir des informations structurales qui seront utiles pour la conception de nouveaux inhibiteurs spécifiques.
Références:
1 Liepe J et al. (2016) “A large fraction of HLA class I ligands are proteasome-generated spliced peptides” Science 354(6310):354-358
2 Dasgupta S et al. (2016) Analysis of the Yeast Peptidome and Comparison with the Human Peptidome” Plos One 11(9):e0163312
3 Bonvini P et al. (2007) "Bortezomib-mediated 26S proteasome inhibition causes cell-cycle arrest and induces apoptosis in CD-30+ anaplastic large cell lymphoma" Leukemia 21(4):838–42.
4 Kuhn DJ et al. (2007) “Potent activity of carfilzomib, a novel, irreversible inhibitor of the ubiquitin-proteasome pathway, against preclinical models of multiple myeloma” Blood 110(9):3281-90.
5 Kupperman E et al. (2010) “Evaluation of the proteasome inhibitor MLN9708 in preclinical models of human cancer” Cancer Res 70(5):1970-80.
6 Li J et al. (2018) “Immunoproteasome inhibition prevents chronic antibody-mediated allograft rejection in renal transplantation” Kidney Int. 93(3):670-680.
7 Koerner J et al. (2018) “Inhibition and deficiency of the immunoproteasome subunit LMP7 suppress the development and progression of colorectal carcinoma in mice” Oncotarget. 8(31):50873-50888.
8 Smith LM et al. (2013) “Proteoform: a single term describing protein complexity” Nature 10(3):186-187.
9 Jonik-Nowak et al. (2018) “PIP30/FAM192A is a novel regulator of the nuclear proteasome activator PA28γ” PNAS 115(28):E6477-86.
10 Sbardella et al. (2018) “The insulin-degrading enzyme is an allosteric modulator of the 20S proteasome and a potential competitor of the 19S” Cell Mol Life Sci 75(18):3441-3456.
11 Marcoux J and Robinson CV (2013) “Twenty years of gas phase structural biology” Structure 21(9):1541-1550.
12 Marcoux J and Cianférani S (2015) “Towards integrative structural mass spectrometry: benefits from hybrid approaches” Methods 89:4-12.

Contexte de travail

L'objectif principal du laboratoire hôte (IPBS, Toulouse) est de caractériser les mécanismes fondamentaux qui contrôlent les fonctions des systèmes biologiques, en analysant la relation structure-fonction des macromolécules afin de développer des applications pharmacologiques. Dans ce contexte, l'équipe de protéomique et de spectrométrie de masse des biomolécules dirigée par Odile Burlet-Schiltz a passé 15 ans à utiliser la protéomique pour étudier les complexes du protéasome qui constituent une cible thérapeutique de choix en raison de leurs implications dans de nombreuses pathologies. Une meilleure description des différentes formes du protéasome conduira, à terme, à des traitements plus spécifiques générant moins d'effets secondaires.
Ce projet découle du souhait de l'équipe et de l'institut de développer des techniques innovantes de spectrométrie de masse structurale afin d'apporter un nouveau point de vue sur le système du protéasome. Dans ce contexte, l'équipe a obtenu une subvention de la Région Occitanie (dans le cadre du CPER 2015-2020) qui a permis l'acquisition d'un instrument de pointe pour réaliser ce type d'expérience (Synapt G2Si avec HDX-MS automatisé).
Le co-directeur de thèse (Julien Marcoux) a passé les 12 dernières années à utiliser la spectrométrie de masse comme outil de caractérisation structurale de protéines et de complexes protéiques solubles et membranaires. Son expertise s'appuie sur une décennie d'expérience en purification de protéasome et en analyse protéomique au sein de l'équipe. Des travaux récents de l'équipe incluent l'utilisation de du pontage covalent et de la protéomique in vivo pour décrire l'hétérogénéité des complexes du protéasome (en termes de sous-unités catalytiques mais également de régulateurs liés) dans différentes lignées cellulaires humaines. Ce travail pionnier bénéficiera fortement des méthodes complémentaires développées par Julien Marcoux, pour apporter un point de vue plus structural sur ce système complexe. Notre équipe compte également des ingénieurs très expérimentés qui soutiendront le doctorant, en termes de préparation d'échantillon, de manipulation/maintenance des instruments et d'analyse des données. Enfin, la présence de bioinformaticiens qualifiés dans l'équipe est un atout très important qui permet de développer efficacement de nouveaux outils (VisioProt-MS, HDX-Viewer).
Nos collaborateurs (Audrey Ferrand & Frédérick Barreau) de l'Institut de recherche en santé digestive (IRSD, INSERM U1220, Toulouse), qui nous fourniront les échantillons biologiques, sont également de renommée internationale dans le domaine de la physiopathologie du côlon, des MICI et pleinement engagés dans cette collaboration. Ils sont spécialisés dans l'inflammation des tissus digestifs et ont développé des modèles pour imiter l'inflammation des cellules épithéliales colorectales avec des cocktails de cytokines pro-inflammatoires. Ils ont également régulièrement accès à des biopsies de patients atteints de MICI (y compris la colite ulcéreuse et la maladie de Crohn) ou de cancers colorectaux (avec et sans inflammation). Une partie de leurs recherches étant centrée sur la régénération épithéliale, ils ont également mis au point des modèles de culture cellulaire 3D (organoïdes intestinaux) fournissant une quantité suffisante de cellules saines et enflammées pour notre étude protéomique bottom-up et top-down. Les cliniciens (D. Bonnet, A. Breton et E. Mas), au sein de leurs groupes de recherche, sont largement impliqués dans la recherche du groupe, apportant des contributions cliniques critiques et des commentaires sur les différents projets en science fondamentale.

Contraintes et risques

Pas de risque particulier associé à ce projet.

On en parle sur Twitter !