By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR8212-THOLAU-003 - Postdoc in atmospheric inversion of urban CO2 emissions (H/F)

Postdoc in atmospheric inversion of urban CO2 emission

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8212-THOLAU-003
Workplace : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date of publication : Thursday, August 08, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 November 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : between 2 600 and 3 100 euros (before tax) monthly depending on the experience of the candidate
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

Although nations committed to major emission reductions of greenhouse gases (GHG) under the Paris Agreement, global fossil fuel emissions increased again by more than 2% in 2018, primarily due to the rapid growth in energy demand from emerging economies and some of the largest developed countries. As nations struggle to reduce their emissions, large metropolitan areas took the lead organized around large international consortiums to decrease their own contributions to fossil fuel emissions (e.g. C40 Cities). The most common approach to estimate GHG emissions rely primarly on invetories and energy production and consumption statistics, typically self-reported. To support the creation of inventories, approaches based on atmospheric data, called atmosheric inversions, a semi-independent estimate of the GHG emissions, were evaluated as a complementary approach to inventories based on socio-economic data. But atmospheric approaches are also subject to large uncertainties, particularly from the transport models used to assimilate concentration measurements, and due to the lack of information related to uncertainties in inventories. As atmospheric approaches are nothing else than statistical optimizations, uncertainties play a key role and have to be estimated accurately. The postdoctoral researcher will work on improving the quantification of uncertainties in atmospheric inversion methods including uncertainties in the inventories of GHG emissions from large metropolitan areas (e.g. Paris, Indianapolis, Los Angeles)

Activities

Two research topics will be developed in parallel with, on one hand, the development of an urban inversion system of CO2 fossil fuel emissions on multiple metropolitan areas, and on the other hand a better estimation of uncertainties in inventories in collaboration with experts creating these inventories. The inversion system will be constructed around a mesoscale meteorological model (WRF-CO2), an adjoint model (Lagrangian), and a Bayesian optimization system. The error analysis will be performed with the support of an international rogram called Integrated Greenhouse Gas Information System (IG3IS) funded by the World Meteorological Organization focusing on characterizing uncertainties in urban inversion systems. Severel research groups are engaged in an inter-comparison exercise to assess the precision and accuracy of high-resolution inversions. The postdoctoral researcher will collect results from different research teams and analyze the statistical significance of the results.
For the research related to inventories of emissions, the goal is to determine as best as possible the uncertainties affecting both the spatial and temporal components in CO2 emissions. In collaboration with research groups of experts specialized in producing such inventories (e.g. Northern Arizona University, Joint Research Center), the objective is to generate reliable estimates of uncertainties that can be used in atmospheric inversions, based on expert knowledge and available statistical metrics. High-resolution inventories are available for multiple cities around the world such as Paris, Indianapolis, Los Angeles, or Ozaka.

Skills

Candidates with experience in regional or urban atmospheric modeling, carbon cycle science, and/or data assimilation will be preferentially considered. Experience in programming and data analysis (Python, Fortran, Matlab/IDL, PHP, Web, etc.) and code development under Linux environments is desired.

The position is part of the project CIUDAD, funded by the program "Make Our Planet Great Again". The position will be advised by Dr. Thomas Lauvaux at the Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement in France. Applications should be sent as soon as possible and before 1 May 2019, including a cover letter, a CV and contact information of two references. Applications should be submitted by e-mail to Thomas Lauvaux (Thomas.Lauvaux@lsce.ipsl.fr) and through the CNRS portal (https://emploi.cnrs.fr/Offres.aspx)

Work Context

LSCE is a leading laboratory in environmental and climate sciences located in Saclay. It is part of the Institut Pierre Simon Laplace, a large consortium of research laboratories in the Paris area. The postdoctoral researcher will join a team of international experts in carbon cycle sciences and more specifically atmospheric inversion techniques (SATINV).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR8212-THOLAU-003 - Postdoc in atmospheric inversion of urban CO2 emissions (H/F)

Postdoc in atmospheric inversion of urban CO2 emissions (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8212-THOLAU-003
Lieu de travail : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date de publication : jeudi 8 août 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 novembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 2 600 et 3 100 euros bruts mensuels selon experience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Bien que les accords de Paris engagent les nations à réduire leurs émissions de Gaz à Effet de Serre (GES), les émissions mondiales issues des énergies fossiles ne cessent d'augmenter chaque année sous la croissance des économies émergentes et des pays développés (+2% en 2018). Sans réponse forte des nations, la réaction est venue de grandes métropoles qui s'organisent autour de consortiums internationaux pour réduire leurs émissions de GES à l'échelle locale (par ex. C40 City). Les outils utilisés pour estimer les émissions urbaines se basent principalement sur des inventaires et des statistiques de production et de consommation d'énergie, souvent établis sur la base du volontariat. Pour aider à la réalisation de ces inventaires, les méthodes se basant sur les observations atmosphériques de GES dites inversions atmosphériques, et offrant une estimation quasi-indépendante des émissions, ont été évaluées pour venir compléter les données relatives aux activitiés socio-économiques. Mais les approches atmosphériques sont également incertaines, en particulier à cause des modèles de transport utilisés pour assimiler les mesures de concentrations atmosphériques et par manque d'informations relatives aux incertitudes des inventaires. Comme les méthodes atmosphériques sont basées sur l'optimisation statistique, les incertitudes ont un role clé et doivent donc être quantifiées précisément. Le poste proposé s'adresse à un(e) chercheur(e) post-doctoral(e) qui travaillera sur les incertitudes dans les méthodes atmosphériques (inversions) mais également sur les erreurs dans les inventaires des émissions de gaz à effet de serre issues des grandes métropoles (Paris, Indianapolis, Los Angeles).

Activités

Les recherches seront menées en parallèle avec d'un côté la réalisation d'inversions atmosphériques des émissions de CO2 sur plusieurs métropoles en utilisant des outils développés sur Indianapolis, et d'un autre côté une estimation des erreurs dans les inventaires avec les équipes de recherche qui produisent ces inventaires. Le système se compose d'un modèle météorologique (WRF-CO2), d'un modèle adjoint (Lagrangien), et d'un système d'optimisation Bayésien. L'analyse des erreurs se fera avec le soutien d'un programme international appelé Integrated Greenhouse Gas Information System (IG3IS) financé par l'Organisation Mondiale de la Météorologie (OMM/WMO) qui s'intéresse à la caractérisation des erreurs dans les systèmes d'inversion urbaine. Plusieurs laboratoires et équipes de recherche à l'internationale sont engagés dans cet exercice pour mesurer la précision des systèmes d'inversion à haute résolution. Le(a) chercheur(e) post-doctoral(e) collectera les résutats des différentes équipes de recherche et analysera les statistiques d'erreur.
Pour le travail sur les inventaires, l'objectif est de déterminer au mieux les incertitudes qui touchent les composantes spatiales et temporelles des émissions de CO2. Avec la collaboration d'équipes de recherche spécialisées dans la création d'inventaires (Northern Arizona University, Joint Research Center), l'enjeu sera de générer une estimation des incertitudes utilisable par les inversions atmosphériques basée sur les connaissances des experts et de toutes les statistiques d'erreur disponibles. Des inventaires à haute résolution sont disponibles pour différentes villes telles que Paris, Indianapolis, Los Angeles, ou Ozaka.

Compétences

Les candidat(e)s doivent de préférence avoir une expérience en modélisation atmosphérique à l'échelle régionale ou urbaine, et/ou dans le cycle du carbone, et/ou en assimilation de données. Des compétences en programmation et analyse de données (par ex. Python, Fortran, Matlab, IDL) et en développement de codes sous Linux est nécessaire.
Le poste est financé par le projet CIUDAD, sous le programme "Make Our Panet Great Again". Et encadré par Thomas Lauvaux, chercheur au Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement. Les dossiers de candidature doivent être soumis avant Mai 2019, et doivent inclure une lettre de motivation, un curriculum, et les coordonnées de deux référents

Contexte de travail

Le LSCE est un laboratoire spécialisé dans les sciences de l'environnement et du climat situé sur le plateau de Saclay, et membre de l'Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (IPSL) qui regroupe neuf laboratoires spécialisés dans les sciences du climat. Le(a) chercheur(e) postdoctoral(e) rejoindra l'équipe SATINV, spécialisée dans le cycle du carbon et les méthodes inverses.

On en parle sur Twitter !