By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5554-GUIMAR-001 - H/F Post-doc modélisation et mesure de l'évolution de la resistance chez E.coli: antibiotiques et bacteriophages.

Postdoc modelling and measurement of resistance evolution in E.coli : antibiotics and bacteriophages.

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5554-GUIMAR-001
Workplace : MONTPELLIER
Date of publication : Wednesday, February 05, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 6 June 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : net salary per month: 2449 € for <2 years post PhD , 3381 € for >2 years post PhD (max 7 years post PhD required)).
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

Scientific context:
Resistance evolution in microbes (to antibiotics and other forms of therapy) is both a major issue in medicine and agronomy and a central challenge in theoretical population biology (mixing evolution and demography, out of equilibrium). On the other hand, the subject can be tackled by various theoretical tools (microbial growth models, theory of mutation and evolutionary rescue) and a diversity of techniques from experimental microbiology (disk diffusion, fluctuation tests, automated methods to measure bacterial growth). Yet, there is no general and empirically validated theory on the probability of emergence of resistance, or on how each factors determine it (drug dose and effect, population sizes, mutation rate etc.). Because of this, most dosage regimens are prescribed based on case-specific empirical observation, rather than on theory – based optimization a priori. The study of resistance evolution is also a means to test more general theories on mutation selection and stochasticity, in changing environments, with applications well beyond the treatment of infectious diseases.


Aims and missions:
The goal of this project is to empirically test various models of evolutionary rescue. The recruit will perform real-time measurements of demographic dynamics in the bacterium Escherichia coli, facing lethal stresses. We routinely use several strains of E.coli B transformed with a fluorescent marker (YFP or CFP) and a lux operon (for live cells), both constitutive and chromosomic, and a fluorescent dead cell stain. The dynamics of live and dead cells and of total biomass will be monitored by fluoroluminometry (LEHTINEN et al. 2003), which allows an automated measurement at fine timescale in many replicates: typically of the order of a thousand populations for every single experiment of a few days duration. We will study abiotic stresses (single antibiotics or combinations) and biotic stresses (single or cocktails of bacteriophages) and their interactions. The postdoc will empirically study the effect of the nature and dosage of the stress and of the strain of origin, on (i) the probability of resistance emergence, (ii) its dynamics (early or late, from de novo or preexisting variation) and the type of resistant mutant selected (reduction in death rate, increase in birth rate, single or multiple mutations).

The postdoc will analyze the data obtained using models, partly already developed by the host team, that include the dynamics of the stress (pharmacodynamics/pharmacodynamics of the drug in vitro, epidemiology of the bacteriophage) and the evolution of resistance (evolutionary rescue theory (MARTIN et al. 2013)). Last we will try to test more complex but more general models, based on adaptive landscape theory (e.g. ANCIAUX et al. 2018).


References :
Anciaux, Y., L.-M. Chevin, O. Ronce and G. Martin, 2018 Evolutionary Rescue over a Fitness Landscape. Genetics 209: 265.

Lehtinen, J., M. Virta and E. M. Lilius, 2003 Fluoro-luminometric real-time measurement of bacterial viability and killing. Journal of Microbiological Methods 55: 173-186.

Martin, G., R. Aguilee, J. Ramsayer, O. Kaltz and O. Ronce, 2013 The probability of evolutionary rescue: towards a quantitative comparison between theory and evolution experiments. Philos Trans R Soc Lond B Biol Sci 368: 20120088.

Activities

- Set up and run experiments of fluoroluminometry to monitor bacterial dynamics (pipeting, programming microplate reader, data extraction). Main task, training by researchers G. Martin, R. Froissart, technical help (M.A. Devillez).

- Develop models (systems of ordinary differential equations) to describe the observed dynamics. Main task, training by with G. Martin.

- Fit the models on the observed dynamics and estimate relevant (pharmacokinetics, epidemiologic and evolutionary) parameters. Main task, jointly with G.Martin.

- Test alternative evolutionary rescue models on these data from various adaptive landscape models. Secondary task, with G. Martin.

- Develop alternative home-made microplates and/or mini-chemostats to mimic more complex pharmacokinetics. Secondary task, with G. Martin.

Skills

This is a quantitative, theory-oriented experimental project. Previous experience in at least one of the 3 central skills below is required, experience in more than one of them is a plus but not a necessity:

- Basic microbiology (pipeting, plating, CFU counting etc.), which can be acquired early on during the postdoc. Previous experience in microbial experimental evolution and/or demography will be a plus.

- Modelling by differential equations. Basic knowledge in models of demography and population genetics is required. Further experience in stochastic processes and systems dynamics will be a plus.

- Time-series data analysis by nonlinear regression and GLMs. Previous experience in the fitting of dynamical models is a plus.

- Motivation to perform both (simple automated) experiments and model development and test is critical.

- Ease to write articles in English is necessary.

Work Context

The postdoc will in the Institut des Sciences de l'Evolution de Montpellier (ISEM) in the team 'evolution and demography', under the direction of Guillaume Martin, webpage:
http://www.isem.univ-montp2.fr/fr/personnel/equipes/metapopulations/martin-guillaume.index/

The ISEM lab is on the Triolet campus of the Montpellier University, France. Montpellier is an important site, at worldwide level, in ecology/evolution, e.g. it hosted the last joint meetings from the European and American Evolution society (Evolution 2018). There are many researchers in the domain (both local and visitors) and a various weekly seminars in ecology and evolution, in several sites in the city.


The postdoc will be hired via the ANR project RESISTE (https://informatique-mia.inra.fr/resiste/) whom PI is G. Martin (theoretical biology, developed of the fluoroluminometry system in the lab). This project will benefit from the expertise of various partners in ANR RESISTE:

- In Avignon : Mathematics and statistical analysis of dynamical systems (especially Lionel Roques, from INRA BioSP, co PI of the RESISTE project).

- In Montpellier : R. Froissart, M. Fronhoeffer et O. Kaltz (specialized in microbial experimental evolution, on bacteria and phages) and O. Ronce (Modelling of evolutionary rescue).

The postdoc will work in a dedicated L2 level bacteriology lab, equipped with a spiral plater and scan500 (Interscience) for automated colony counting, a microplate dispenser (multidrop, thermofisher) and a plate reader Clariostar (BMG Labtech) equipped with two injectors, and a stacker (reading up to 50 microplates), and several microplate agitator and incubators.

Additional Information

hiring can start anytime between March and December 2020, but preferably before summer 2020.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5554-GUIMAR-001 - H/F Post-doc modélisation et mesure de l'évolution de la resistance chez E.coli: antibiotiques et bacteriophages.

H/F Post-doc modélisation et mesure de l'évolution de la resistance chez E.coli: antibiotiques et bacteriophages.

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5554-GUIMAR-001
Lieu de travail : MONTPELLIER
Date de publication : mercredi 5 février 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 6 juin 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : salaire net mensuel: 2449 € pour <2 ans post thèse, 3381€ >2 ans post-thèse (max 7 ans post thèse requis)
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Contexte scientifique :
L'évolution de la résistance (aux antibiotiques et autres traitements) est à la fois un problème majeur en médecine et en agronomie et un challenge théorique en biologie des populations (mêlant démographie et évolution, hors équilibre). Toutefois, le thème jouit aussi d'importants outils théoriques (modèles de croissance bactérienne, théorie de la mutation et de la rescousse évolutive) et de techniques variées en microbiologie expérimentale (« fluctuation tests », « disk diffusion », méthodes de mesure de la démographie bactérienne). Malgré cela nous ne disposons pas de théorie générale et empiriquement validée sur la probabilité d'émergence de résistance, ou sur comment chaque facteur clé la détermine (dose et effet de la drogue, taille de la population, taux de mutations etc.). De ce fait, les régimes de dosages des traitements sont prescrits sur la base d'observations pragmatiques au cas par cas, plutôt que sur une optimisation basée sur une théorie validée empiriquement et générale. Par ailleurs, l'étude de la résistance permet de tester plus généralement nos théories sur l'interaction entre mutation, sélection et stochasticité, dans des environnements changeants, avec des applications bien au-delà du seul traitement des infections.

But et missions :
Le but de ce postdoc sera de tester expérimentalement divers modèles de rescousse évolutive. La personne recrutée réalisera des suivis en temps réel de dynamiques démographiques face à des stress létaux, sur la bactérie Escherichia coli. Nous utilisons en routine plusieurs souches d'E. coli B portant un marker fluorescent (CFP ou YFP) et luminescent (operon lux), tous deux constitutifs et chromosomiques, et un marqueur fluorescent de mort cellulaire. La dynamique des cellules vivantes et mortes, et de la biomasse totale sera suivie par fluoroluminométrie (LEHTINEN et al. 2003), qui permet de suivre, de façon automatisée, un grand nombre de réplicas: de l'ordre d'un millier à chaque expérience d'une durée de quelques jours. Elle étudiera des stress abiotiques (antibiotique, simples ou en combinaison) et biotiques (bactériophages simple ou en cocktail) et leur interaction. Elle décrira quantitativement l'effet de la nature et du dosage du stress, et celui de la souche d'origine sur (i) la probabilité d'émergence de résistance, (ii) la dynamique de cette émergence (tard ou tôt ? de novo ou préexistant au stress ? un ou plusieurs pas mutationnels ?), et le type de mutants résistants obtenus (réduction du taux de mort ? augmentation du taux de naissance ? éventuellement base génétique).

Elle analysera les données générées par des modèles, déjà développés en partie, mêlant pharmacocinétiques in vitro (antibiotiques) et/ou épidémiologie (dynamique d'infection par les phages) et évolution de la résistance (théories de la rescousse évolutive (MARTIN et al. 2013)). Enfin nous tenteront de développer et tester des modèles plus complexes mais plus généraux, à partir de paysages adaptatifs (e.g. ANCIAUX et al. 2018).

Réferences :
Anciaux, Y., L.-M. Chevin, O. Ronce and G. Martin, 2018 Evolutionary Rescue over a Fitness Landscape. Genetics 209: 265.

Lehtinen, J., M. Virta and E. M. Lilius, 2003 Fluoro-luminometric real-time measurement of bacterial viability and killing. Journal of Microbiological Methods 55: 173-186.

Martin, G., R. Aguilee, J. Ramsayer, O. Kaltz and O. Ronce, 2013 The probability of evolutionary rescue: towards a quantitative comparison between theory and evolution experiments. Philos Trans R Soc Lond B Biol Sci 368: 20120088.

Activités

- Préparer et mener des expériences de dynamique bactériennes en microplaque (pipetage, programmation du lecteur de plaque, récupération et analyse des données). Tâche principale, formation par G. Martin et R. Froissart, assistante technique (M. A. Devillez).

- Développer des modèles d'équations différentielles pour décrire les dynamiques observées. Tâche principale, formation par G. Martin.

- Ajuster ces modèles aux observations pour estimer les paramètres pertinents (épidémiologiques, pharmacocinétiques et évolutifs). Tâche principale, conjointement avec G. Martin.

- Tester des modèles de rescousse évolutive dans divers paysages adaptatifs. Tâche secondaire, avec G. Martin.

- Développer un système de microplaque à façon (impression 3D) et/ou un mini-chemostat pour reproduire des pharmacodynamiques plus complexes. Tâche secondaire, avec G. Martin.

Compétences

Ceci est un projet expérimental quantitatif, basé sur la modélisation. Une expérience dans l'une des trois compétences principales ci-dessous est requise, une expérience dans plus d'une est un plus mais pas une nécessité.
- Microbiologie de base (pipetage, étalement sur boite). Peut être acquis sur place auprès des encadrants. Une expérience en évolution et/ou démographie expérimentale microbienne est un plus.

- Modélisation par des systèmes d'équations différentielles. Des connaissances de base en dynamiques des populations (processus de naissance et mort, croissance logistique etc.) et génétique des populations (mutation, sélection, dérive) sont requises. Toute expérience supplémentaire en systèmes dynamiques et processus stochastiques est un plus.

- analyse de données cinétiques et de probabilités (régression non-linéaire, GLM, maximum de vraisemblance ou Bayésien). Une expérience dans l'ajustement de modèles dynamiques à des séries temporelles est un plus.

- La motivation pour, à la fois, mener des expériences (simples et automatisées) et le développement de modèle et leur test est cruciale.

- Aisance à rédiger des articles en Anglais.

Contexte de travail

La personne recrutée travaillera à l'Institut des Sciences de l'Evolution de Montpellier (ISEM, UMR 5554, Université Montpellier, IRD, CNRS, EPHE) au sein de l'équipe Evolution et Démographie, sous la direction de Guillaume Martin:

http://www.isem.univ-montp2.fr/fr/personnel/equipes/metapopulations/martin-guillaume.index/

Le laboratoire ISEM se situe sur le campus Triolet de l'Université de Montpellier. Montpellier est un site important, au niveau mondial, en écologie/évolution, ayant par ex. accueilli (2018) le dernier meeting joint des sociétés Européennes et Américaines d'évolution (Evolution 2018 meeting). Il y a donc de nombreux chercheurs (locaux et en visite), et plusieurs séminaires hebdomadaires sur l'évolution et/ou l'écologie dans divers sites de Montpellier.

Ce postdoc se situe dans le cadre du projet ANR RESISTE (https://informatique-mia.inra.fr/resiste/) dont G. Martin est le porteur (biologie théorique et développement de la méthode par fluoroluminométrie). Le projet profite donc de l'expertise de divers partenaires impliqués dans l'ANR RESISTE :

- Sur Avignon : mathématique et statistiques des systèmes dynamiques au laboratoire INRA BioSP d'Avignon (dont Lionel Roques, co-porteur de l'ANR RESISTE).

- Sur Montpellier : R. Froissart, M. Fronhoeffer et O. Kaltz (spécialistes en évolution expérimentale microbienne) et O. Ronce (Modélisation de la rescousse évolutive).

La personne recrutée disposera d'un laboratoire de bactériologie niveau L2, équipé d'un spiral plater et scan 500 (Interscience) pour le comptage automatisé de CFU, d'un dispenseur automatique de liquide pour microplaques (multidrop Thermofisher) et d'un lecteur de microplaques Clariostar (BMG labtech) équipé de deux injecteurs et d'un stacker (50 plaques max), et plusieurs agitateurs incubateurs de microplaques.

Informations complémentaires

L'embauche peut se situer entre Mars et Décembre 2020, de préférence avant l'été 2020.

On en parle sur Twitter !