By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5129-MARCLO-033 - Chercheur H/F en procédés de gravure plasma pour la photonique intégrée sur Silicium

Researcher (H/F) in plasma etching processes for Si photonics

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5129-MARCLO-033
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Friday, June 19, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 12 months
Expected date of employment : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : Between 2648.79€ and 3054.06€ gross monthly
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : 1 to 4 years

Missions

This work is part of the photonics program of Nano 2022 local government project piloted by STMicroelectronics. The overall objective of this project is to develop innovative technologies and processes in order to improve the performance of photonic devices integrated on a silicon platform. In particular, the optical performance of the Si or SiN waveguides is intimately linked to the quality of the plasma etching processes involved in their fabrication . A well-known example is the detrimental impact of the sidewalls roughness of the waveguide on optical propagation losses. The objective of this postdoc is to fabricate Si and SiN waveguides with ultra-low optical losses. To do this, the first task will be to develop plasma etching processes dedicated to the patterning of waveguides with with minimum sidewalls roughness in order to reduce optical scattering losses. One promising way for achieving this o is to use pulsed plasma technologies, available at the LTM / CNRS, which offer a multitude of possibilities for patterning materials without damage. The second task will consist in exploring other ways to get rid of the other sources of optical losses (for example by introducing waveguide annealing treatment or by proposing other strategies of encapsulation of the guides after patterning).

Activities

The work will be carried out in the LTM 200 and 300mm etching reactors located in the CEA / Leti clean rooms, the 300mm reactor being equipped with pulsed plasma technologies:
- Development of pulsed plasma etching processes of Si and SiN waveguides
- Comparison of performance of continuous and pulsed plasma processes in terms of waveguide morphology
- Annealing development adapted to further smooth the waveguides or modify their optical properties
- Development of encapsulation strategy for guides other than SiO2
- Characterization of the optical losses of the waveguides and comparison of the performances obtained according to the established process
- Valuation of results in the form of articles or communications at conferences

Skills

1) Theoretical knowledge: plasma etching mechanisms, materials science, basics on linear and non-linear optics will be appreciated
2) Technical skills:
- Plasma etching processes,
- Plasma diagnostics (mass spectro, flow probe, etc.),
- Characterization of the etching processes (morphology by SEM, MEB-CD, ellipsometry and roughness by AFM and MEB-CD)
- characterization of materials (XPS, FTIR,)
- Optical characterization (optical loss measurements in guides or quality factor measurements in a microresonator)
3) Skills in valuing results by writing articles or presenting at conferences
4) other skills: written / spoken English, knowledge of Matlab programming

Work Context

This work will be carried out at the Microelectronics Technologies Laboratory (LTM), a joint research unit of the CNRS and the Grenoble Alpes University (UGA) (UMR 5129) located on the CEA-LETI-MINATEC site in Grenoble. A hundred people work at the LTM: 30 researchers or teacher-researchers, 18 engineers and technicians, 31 doctoral students and 16 post-doc. The laboratory's activities are positioned on the border between upstream academic research and industrial research. Over the years, the LTM has developed several direct partnerships with various players in the micro / nanoelectronics industry, notably STMicroelectronics in Crolles and Applied Materials in SAnta Clara (USA). The candidate will join the LTM's plasma etching team, made up of 5 non-permanent 5/6 researchers. This team aims to develop innovative plasma etching processes developed in latest generation industrial etching reactors to meet the challenges of patterning materials for any type of application.

Constraints and risks

Any

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5129-MARCLO-033 - Chercheur H/F en procédés de gravure plasma pour la photonique intégrée sur Silicium

Chercheur H/F en procédés de gravure plasma pour la photonique intégrée sur Silicium

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5129-MARCLO-033
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : vendredi 19 juin 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 12 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : Entre 2648.79 à 3054.06€ bruts mensuels
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : 1 à 4 années

Missions

Ce travail s'inscrit dans le contexte d'un projet des collectivités locales Nano 2022 piloté par STMicroelectronics, programme photonique. L'objectif global de ce projet est de développer des technologies et procédés innovants afin d'améliorer les performances des dispositifs photoniques intégrés sur une plateforme silicium. Notamment, les performances optiques des guides d'onde Si ou SiN sont intimement liées à la qualité des procédés de gravure par plasma impliqués dans leur fabrication. Un exemple bien connu est l'impact néfaste de la rugosité des flancs de guide d'onde sur les pertes de propagation optique. L'objectif de ce postdoc est de fabriquer des guides d'onde Si et SiN aux pertes optiques ultra-faibles. Pour cela, il s'agira d'une part de développer et d'optimiser des procédés de gravure par plasma permettant de structurer des guides avec des rugosités minimales, et donc de diminuer les pertes optiques par diffusion. Une piste prometteuse pour atteindre cette objectif est d'utiliser les technologies de plasma pulsé, disponibles au LTM/CNRS, qui offrent une multitude de possibilité pour structurer la matière sans dommage. D'autre part, il s'agira d'explorer d'autres voies pour s'affranchir des autres sources de pertes optiques (par ex. en introduisant des recuits de guide ou en proposant d'autres stratégies d'encapsulation des guides après patterning).

Activités

Le travail sera réalisé sur les réacteurs de gravure 200 et 300mm du LTM localisés dans les salles blanches du CEA/Leti, le réacteur 300mm étant équipé des technologies de plasma pulsé :
-Développement de procédés de gravure en plasma pulsé de guides d'onde Si et SiN
-Comparaison des performances des procédés plasma continu et pulsé en terme morphologie des guides
-Développement de recuit adapté pour lisser davantage les guides ou modifier leurs propriétés optiques
-Développement de stratégie d'encapsulation de guides autres que le SiO2
-Caractérisation des pertes optiques des guides et comparaison des performances obtenues selon le procédé établi
-Valorisation des résultats sous forme d'articles ou de communications à des conférences

Compétences

1) Connaissances théoriques: mécanismes de gravure par plasma, sciences des matériaux, des connaissances en optique linéaire et non linéaire seront appréciées
2) Compétences techniques:
- Procédés de gravure plasma,
- Diagnostics plasma (spectro de masse, sonde de flux.),
- Caractérisation des procédés de gravure (morphologie par MEB, MEB-CD, ellipsométrie et rugosité par AFM et MEB-CD)
- caractérisation des matériaux (XPS, FTIR,)
- Caractérisation optique (mesures de pertes optiques dans des guides ou mesures de facteur de qualité dans un microrésonateur)
3) Compétences de valorisation des résultats par rédaction d'articles ou présentation à des conférences
4) autre compétences: anglais écrit/parlé, connaissance en programmation Matlab

Contexte de travail

Ce travail sera effectué au Laboratoire des Technologies de la Microélectronique (LTM), unité mixte de recherche du CNRS et de l'Université Grenoble Alpes (UGA) (UMR 5129) situé sur le site du CEA-LETI-MINATEC à Grenoble. Une centaine de personnes travaillent au LTM : 30 Chercheurs ou enseignants chercheurs, 18 Ingénieurs et Techniciens, 31 doctorants et 16 post doc. Les activités du laboratoire se positionnent à la frontière entre recherche académique amont et recherche industrielle. Le LTM a ainsi développé au fil des années plusieurs partenariats directs avec différents acteurs de l'industrie micro/nanoélectronique notamment STMicroelectroniques à Crolles et Applied Materials à SAnta Clara (USA). Le candidat rejoindra l'équipe « gravure par plasma » du LTM, constitué de 5 chercheurs et 5/6 non permanents. Cette équipe vise le développement de procédés de gravure innovants développés dans des réacteurs de gravure industriel de dernière génération pour relever les défis de la structuration de la matière pour tout type d'application.

Contraintes et risques

Néant

On en parle sur Twitter !