By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD position in ethnobotany/cultural geography: Diasporas and transnational networks of plant circulation

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : USR3456-LAUDAN-001
Workplace : CAYENNE
Date of publication : Friday, May 15, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : guillaume.odonne@cnrs.fr
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Funding: 80PRIME-CNRS
Many diasporas maintain close relationships with plants, whether food, medicinal or ritual plants, especially with certain culturally important species (cultural keystone species). The supply of these plants is often delicate, particularly in the case of long-distance migrations, and can lead to commercial, formal or informal flows of plants, sometimes leading to biological invasions. The project studies the interplay between biological and cultural processes and the geographical dynamics inherent in these flows, using a combination of ethnobotanical, geographical, anthropological (and, in a second stage, molecular biology) methods. This work will be anchored on the Guyana Plateau (French Guiana, Guyana and Suriname), but may involve diasporas to/from Europe, America, Asia or Africa, with a view to deciphering the biocultural hybridization mechanisms involved in the adaptation of societies to a changing environment.
The PhD work associated with this project will focus on one or two diaspora groups (depending on the languages spoken by the candidate and his/her academic background) to conduct ethnobotanical surveys, aimed at listing plants and their uses and collecting specimens for identification (and subsequent analysis). Attention will be paid to the discourse on provenance and the path that led them to their final user. This analysis of the stages in the movement of plants, to be compared with the itinerary of the migrants, will compose a geography of circulation and will highlight the organisation of the networks that contribute to the "mobility" of plants. Surveys on current dynamics, coupled with the results obtained from the historical study of migrations and potential genetic analyses on the samples collected, will make it possible to compile a map of plant flows at different scales.
Ethnographic surveys will also examine the ability of groups to adapt to new biocultural contexts and their strategies for acquiring or conserving 'cultural' species. They will provide information on the resilience of cultures in the context of migration and on the circulation of plant products outside conventional channels. They will contribute to a reflection on the place of plants in the migratory process, on their sensitive and symbolic dimension and their role in the construction of identity. They will also make it possible to update the mechanisms underlying the adaptation of a society to its environment, as well as the various ways of circumventing them that allow the cultural norms of a social group to be maintained outside its original framework. A landscape analysis highlighting the introduction of species into the local environment could be envisaged. Finally, these mechanisms should be compared with the ontology of the societies concerned in order to feed the conceptual thinking associated with this project.

Work Context

The thesis work will be carried out at the Laboratoire Ecologie, Evolution et Interactions des Systèmes Amazoniens (LEEISA-UMR CNRS 3456), in French Guiana. The thesis will be supervised by Guillaume Odonne, CR HDR at CNRS (section 38 and CID 52), with co-supervision by Lucie Dejouhanet, MCF in Geography (section 23) at the University of the West Indies. Duration of the doctoral contract: 36 months from recruitment, enrolment at the doctoral school of the University of French Guiana. The manuscript may be written in French or English and will at least lead to papers published in English in international reference journals.
Project Participants: Guillaume Odonne (CRCN-HDR/CNRS), Marc-Alexandre Tareau (ATER/Université de Guyane), Audrey Bochaton (MCU/Université Paris Nanterre/Institut des Migrations), Lucie Dejouhanet (MCU/Université des Antilles/Institut Universitaire de France/Institut des Migrations), Tinde van Andel (Senior researcher/Naturalis)

Constraints and risks

Driving license and yellow fever vaccination certificate mandatory

Additional Information

The doctoral student should be able to construct a theoretical reflection based on the other case studies carried out by the team members and on his/her own investigations.
The profile sought is a doctoral with an interdisciplinary profile capable of conducting ethnographic and ethnobotanical investigations, with a strong interest in some of the following disciplines: botany, ethnosciences, anthropology, human ecology and geography. The candidate will be competent in both qualitative surveys and quantitative analyses, and will have to mobilise a variety of methodologies, or even implement them in a context of disciplinary decompartmentalisation. Knowledge of the context of the French Guiana Plateau will be a plus, as well as knowledge of a language of a diaspora group from the plateau.
The fields envisaged could be, for example and depending on the candidate's tropism, the flow of ornamental and food plants between Laos and French Guiana under the impetus of the H'mongs, the supply networks for African medicinal and ritual plants in the Maroon diaspora of French metropolises, the practices around traditional rice (Asian and African) among the H'mong and Businengue people, or the recomposition of Jamu medicine between Indonesia and Suriname/Guyana.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Contrat doctoral H/F en ethnobotanique/géographie culturelle : diasporas et réseaux transnationaux de circulations de plantes.

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : USR3456-LAUDAN-001
Lieu de travail : CAYENNE
Date de publication : vendredi 15 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : guillaume.odonne@cnrs.fr
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Financement : 80PRIME-CNRS
Nombre de diasporas entretiennent des relations étroites avec le végétal, qu'il s'agisse de plantes alimentaires, médicinales ou rituelles, en particulier avec certaines espèces culturellement importantes (cultural keystone species). Or l'approvisionnement de ces plantes est souvent délicat, notamment dans le cas de migrations à grande distance, et peut engendrer des flux de végétaux, commerciaux, formels ou informels, parfois à l'origine d'invasions biologiques. Le projet étudie l'intrication entre les processus biologiques et culturels et les dynamiques géographiques inhérentes à ces flux, en associant méthodes ethnobotaniques, géographiques, anthropologiques (et, dans un second temps, de biologie moléculaire). Ce travail sera ancré sur le plateau des Guyanes (Guyane française, Guyana et Suriname), mais pourra impliquer des diasporas vers/provenant d'Europe, d'Amérique, d'Asie ou d'Afrique, avec pour perspective le décryptage des mécanismes d'hybridations bioculturelles mis en jeu lors de l'adaptation de sociétés à un environnement changeant.
Le travail de doctorat associé à ce projet se focalisera sur un ou deux groupes diasporiques (en fonction des langues parlées par le candidat et de son bagage académique) pour y mener des enquêtes ethnobotaniques, destinées à lister les plantes et leurs usages et collecter les spécimens à identifier (et à analyser ultérieurement). L'attention sera portée sur le discours concernant la provenance et le parcours qui les a menées jusqu'à leur utilisateur final. Cette analyse des étapes du déplacement des plantes, à mettre en parallèle avec l'itinéraire des migrants, composera une géographie des circulations et mettra en évidence l'organisation des réseaux qui contribuent à la « mobilité » des plantes. Les enquêtes sur les dynamiques actuelles, couplées aux résultats obtenus de l'étude historique des migrations et aux potentielles analyses génétiques sur les échantillons collectés, permettront de composer une cartographie des flux de plantes à différentes échelles.
Les enquêtes ethnographiques interrogeront par ailleurs la capacité d'adaptation des groupes à de nouveaux contextes bioculturels et leurs stratégies d'acquisition ou de conservation d'espèces « culturelles ». Elles informeront sur la résilience des cultures en contexte de migration et sur les circulations de produits végétaux en marge des circuits classiques. Elles contribueront à une réflexion sur la place de la plante dans le processus migratoire, sur sa dimension sensible et symbolique et son rôle dans la construction identitaire. Elles permettront également de mettre à jour les mécanismes à la base de l'adaptation d'une société à son environnement, tout autant que les contournements divers permettant un maintien des normes culturelles d'un groupe social hors de son cadre d'origine. Une analyse paysagère mettant en évidence l'introduction d'espèces dans l'environnement local pourra être envisagé. Il s'agira finalement de comparer ces mécanismes au prisme de l'ontologie des sociétés concernées afin d'alimenter la réflexion conceptuelle associée à ce projet.

Contexte de travail

Le travail de thèse se fera au sein du Laboratoire Ecologie, Evolution et Interactions des Systèmes Amazoniens (LEEISA-UMR 3456), CNRS-Guyane. La direction de thèse sera assurée par Guillaume Odonne, CR HDR au CNRS (section 38 et CID 52), avec un co-encadrement par Lucie Dejouhanet, MCF en géographie (section 23) à l'Université des Antilles, et avec le support des membres du projet. Durée du contrat doctoral : 36 mois à partir du recrutement, inscription à l'école doctorale de l'Université de Guyane. La rédaction du manuscrit pourra se faire en français ou en anglais et devra à minima donner lieu à des publications en anglais dans des revues internationales de référence.
Participants au projet : Guillaume Odonne (CRCN-HDR/CNRS), Marc-Alexandre Tareau (ATER/Université de Guyane), Audrey Bochaton (MCU/Université Paris Nanterre/Institut des Migrations), Lucie Dejouhanet (MCU/Université des Antilles/Institut Universitaire de France/Institut des Migrations), Tinde van Andel (Senior researcher/Naturalis)

Contraintes et risques

- Permis B et certificat de vaccination contre la fièvre jaune obligatoires

Informations complémentaires

Le.la doctorant.e devra pouvoir construire une réflexion théorique à partir des autres études de cas menées par les membres de l'équipe et de ses propres enquêtes.
Le profil recherché est un.e candidat e au profil interdisciplinaire capable de mener des enquêtes ethnographiques et ethnobotaniques, avec un intérêt fort pour certaines des disciplines suivantes : botanique, ethnosciences, anthropologie, écologie humaine et géographie. Le.a candidat.e sera compétent.e à la fois pour des enquêtes qualitatives et des analyses quantitatives, et devra mobiliser des méthodologies variées, voire les mettre en place dans un contexte de décloisonnement disciplinaire. Une connaissance du contexte du plateau des Guyanes sera un plus, ainsi que la connaissance d'une langue d'un groupe diasporique du plateau.
Les terrains envisagés pourront être, par exemple et selon le tropisme du candidat, les flux de plantes ornementales et alimentaires entre Laos et Guyane sous l'impulsion des H'mongs, les réseaux d'approvisionnement en plantes médicinales et rituelles guyanaises dans la diaspora businengué des métropoles françaises, les pratiques autour des riz traditionnels (asiatiques et africains) chez les H'mong et les Businengé, ou encore les recompositions de la médecine Jamu entre Indonésie et Suriname/Guiana.

On en parle sur Twitter !