By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD position (M/W) Carboranyl phosphines meet dendrimers: Electron-deficient scaffolds for ligand design and applications in catalysis.

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UPR8241-ANNCAM-001
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Anne-Marie Caminade
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Dendrimers are hyperbranched macromolecules, and the specialty of the Toulouse group. The surface of dendrimers can be decorated with any type of function to fulfil the required properties. Carboranyl phosphines, for which the Leipzig group is expert, are tunable ligands, for which the steric and electronic properties can be modified at will. Anchoring these ligands to the surface of dendrimers will offer, for the first time, dendrimer-based electron-deficient carboranyl bis-phosphines or mixed (hemilabile) carboranyl phosphine-amines, -alkoxides, -thiols or -thioethers, etc. as ligands for challenging catalytic transformations. C–C coupling and C–H activation will be studied in detail. Decrease in the metal leaching will be particularly targeted, the objective being leaching < 1 ppm. The effects of different dendrimer structures and metals employed on the reactivity, activity, and selectivity of the catalysts will be studied, rationalized in collaboration with a theoretical group in Barcelona through secondment and applied for a rational design of improved catalysts. The most efficient functionalized dendrimers will be scaled up and tested on industrial reactions at the company BASF, Germany. More information can be found at: http://www.ccimc.eu/esr12-project/

Work Context

This thesis is part of an Innovative Training Network (ITN) and more specifically a European Joint Doctorate (EJD), funded by the European Commission through the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Action (MSCA), entitled "Coordination Chemistry Inspires Molecular Catalysis" (CCIMC). This programme involves 15 joint doctoral theses. You are encouraged to consider all 15 thesis projects; information is available on the ITN-EJD website at www.ccimc.eu.
This offer is a 3 year, fully-funded double doctorate programme between the Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination (LCC), in the Dendrimers and Heterochemistry group in Toulouse (FR) and the Institut für Anorganische Chemie of Leipzig University (ULEI, DE). You will be co-supervised by Dr. Anne-Marie Caminade in Toulouse and by Prof. Dr. Evamarie Hey-Hawkins in Leipzig, during 15 months in each laboratory. In addition, two secondments, of 3 months each, are scheduled in Barcelona, Spain, with Agustí Lledós at UAB, and in Ludwigshafen, Germany, at BASF. Furthermore, training events will take place at a number of sites around Europe, allowing the doctoral researcher to benefit from significant international mobility.
The Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination (LCC), located in Toulouse, southern France, associated to the Université Paul Sabatier, is the CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) flagship institution in coordination chemistry, and one of the top chemistry institutes in France. Strong of more than 100 persons, including researchers and technicians, divided in 15 teams, the LCC offers an expertise in the molecular chemistry of transition-metal and main group elements with specific research interests to solve current issues associated with climate change, energy transition and life sciences along 3 main axes of investigations: catalysis, materials and health. The LCC has close partnerships with a number of public and private enterprises in France, Europe, and over the world. More than 100 undergraduates, graduates and postgraduates of various nationalities are present at the LCC, thus ensuring a motivating working environment as well as opportunities for social events. We have at our disposal laboratory space and benches fully equipped with separate fume hoods and high-vacuum lines, as well as very well equipped technical and analytical platforms for the daily support of scientific work. All the accessible instrumental equipment belongs to and is maintained by the CNRS-LCC and the Institut de Chimie de Toulouse, in the form of several characterisation platforms, each one staffed by well-trained top-notch technicians. They comprise: NMR (8 instruments up to 800 MHz including solid state), X-ray diffraction (3 single-crystal and one powder), microscopy (12 SEM/TEM/AFM instruments), MS (all methods), 2 SQUID magnetometers, Mössbauer, GC-MS, HPLC (including chiral semi-preparative), electrochemistry, optical spectroscopy including Raman, etc.
Leipzig University, which was founded in 1409, today has about 30,000 students. There are 14 faculties, covering topics from medicine to natural sciences, from mathematics to theology and from social sciences to sports. This variety enables each scientist to make use of the knowledge of more than 400 professors and hence to work in interdisciplinary projects. The group has ca. 600 m2 laboratory space and benches fully equipped with separate fume cupboards for at least 34 co-workers and 4 specially equipped labs with a wealth of instrumentation for characterisation. Thus, all equipment necessary for state-of-the-art synthesis, including high-vacuum lines and Schlenk techniques (also an MBRAUN Solvent Purification System MB SPS- 800), as well as equipment for purification of compounds (column chromatography, HPLC, two Isolera 4) etc. is available. Advanced characterisation techniques, including GC-MS (QP-2010, Shimadzu), 2 NMR machines (also heteronuclear NMR; Bruker AVANCE DRX 400 spectrometer) equipped with VT devices, UV-Vis, IR (ATR), Raman, DTA/TG/DSC and single-crystal X-ray diffraction (Gemini diffractometer (Agilent Technologies)) are also available. Further equipment is provided by the department, such as service for elemental analysis and mass spectrometry.
The candidate should have a strong background in synthetic chemistry, and must be enthusiastic about, and willing to, travel as part of the project and must accept the terms of the award of the double degree, including the requirement to attend international training events and fulfil the double degree examination process. There will be extensive opportunities to engage with other groups in the consortium, who represent many of the European leaders in the area of coordination chemistry and catalysis.

Constraints and risks

Please pay attention that to be eligible, on 1st October 2020, the candidate must be in the first four years (full-time equivalent research experience) of her/his research career and has not been awarded a doctoral degree. On 1st October 2020, she/he must not have resided or carried out her/his main activity (work, studies, etc.) in France for more than 12 months in the preceding 3 years.

Additional Information

The CCIMC ITN consortium addresses the current lack of coordinated doctoral training at the European level on molecular catalysis. It aims to push the frontiers of knowledge in ligand design, coordination chemistry, pre-catalyst development, catalyst recovery and catalytic process implementation, while also offering full scale training in professional and personal transferable skills, to prepare a new generation of junior scientists to meet the economic and societal challenges of the chemical industry in the 21st century.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant (H/F): Les carboranyl phosphines rencontrent les dendrimères : des molécules électro-déficientes pour la conception de ligands et des applications en catalyse

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UPR8241-ANNCAM-001
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : mardi 17 mars 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Anne-Marie Caminade
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les dendrimères sont des macromolécules hyper-ramifiées, et sont la spécialité du groupe toulousain. La surface des dendrimères peut être décorée avec n'importe quel type de fonction pour obtenir les propriétés souhaitées. Les carboranyl phosphines, pour lesquelles le groupe de Leipzig est expert, sont des ligands modifiables, dont les propriétés stériques et électroniques peuvent être changées à volonté. L'ancrage de ces ligands à la surface des dendrimères offrira, pour la première fois, des dendrimères fonctionnalisés par des carboranyles bis-phosphines déficientes en électrons ou des carboranyl phosphine-amines, carboranyl phosphine-alcoxydes mixtes (hémilabiles), carboranyl phosphines- alcoxydes, -thiols ou -thioéthers, etc… en tant que ligands pour des transformations catalytiques difficiles. Le couplage C – C et l'activation C – H seront étudiés en détail. La diminution de la lixiviation des métaux sera particulièrement ciblée, l'objectif étant une lixiviation <1 ppm. Les effets des différentes structures de dendrimères et métaux utilisés sur la réactivité, l'activité et la sélectivité des catalyseurs seront étudiés, et rationalisés en collaboration avec un groupe de théoriciens à Barcelone, où l'étudiant séjournera aussi, et appliqués pour une conception rationnelle de catalyseurs améliorés. Les dendrimères fonctionnalisés les plus efficaces seront mis à l'échelle et testés sur les réactions industrielles de la société BASF, en Allemagne. Plus d'informations peuvent être trouvées sur: http://www.ccimc.eu/esr12-project/

Contexte de travail

Cette thèse fait partie d'un réseau de formation innovant (ITN) et plus spécifiquement d'un doctorat conjoint européen (EJD), financé par la Commission européenne par le biais de l'action Marie Sklodowska-Curie (MSCA), intitulé "Coordination Chemistry Inspires Molecular Catalysis" (CCIMC). Ce programme comprend 15 thèses doctorales conjointes. Nous vous encourageons à considérer les 15 projets de thèse; les informations sont disponibles sur le site Web de l'ITN-EJD à www.ccimc.eu.
Cette offre est un programme de double doctorat de 3 ans entièrement financé entre le Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination (LCC), dans le groupe Dendrimères et Hétérochimie de Toulouse (FR) et l'Institut für Anorganische Chemie de l'Université de Leipzig (ULEI, DE). Vous serez co-encadré par le Dr. Anne-Marie Caminade à Toulouse et par le Prof. Dr. Evamarie Hey-Hawkins à Leipzig, pendant 15 mois dans chaque laboratoire. En outre, deux détachements de 3 mois chacun sont prévus à Barcelone, en Espagne, avec Agustí Lledós à l'UAB, et à Ludwigshafen, en Allemagne, à BASF. Par ailleurs, des formations se dérouleront sur plusieurs sites à travers l'Europe, permettant au doctorant de bénéficier d'une importante mobilité internationale.
Le Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination (LCC), situé à Toulouse, dans le sud de la France, associé à l'Université Paul Sabatier, est l'institution phare du CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) en chimie de coordination, et l'un des meilleurs instituts de chimie en France. Fort de plus de 100 personnes, dont des chercheurs et des techniciens, répartis en 15 équipes, le LCC offre une expertise en chimie moléculaire des métaux de transition et des groupes principaux, avec des recherches spécifiques pour résoudre les problèmes actuels liés au changement climatique, à la transition énergétique et aux sciences de la vie, selon 3 axes principaux d'investigation : catalyse, matériaux et santé. Le LCC a des partenariats étroits avec un certain nombre d'entreprises publiques et privées en France, en Europe et dans le monde. Plus de 100 étudiants de premier cycle, doctorants et post-doctorants de différentes nationalités sont présents au LCC, assurant ainsi un environnement de travail motivant ainsi que des opportunités pour des événements sociaux. Nous avons à notre disposition un espace de laboratoire et des paillasses entièrement équipées de hottes et de lignes à vide poussé, une par étudiant, ainsi que des plateformes techniques et analytiques très bien équipées pour l'accompagnement quotidien des travaux scientifiques. Tous les équipements instrumentaux sont accessibles, appartiennent et sont entretenus par le CNRS-LCC et l'Institut de Chimie de Toulouse, sous la forme de plusieurs plateformes de caractérisation, chacune dotée de techniciens de haut niveau. Ils comprennent: RMN (8 instruments jusqu'à 800 MHz y compris à l'état solide), diffraction des rayons X (3 pour monocristaux et une pour poudre), microscopie (12 instruments SEM / TEM / AFM), MS (toutes méthodes), 2 magnétomètres SQUID, Mössbauer, GC-MS, HPLC (y compris chirale semi-préparative), électrochimie, spectroscopie optique dont Raman, etc…
L'Université de Leipzig, fondée en 1409, compte aujourd'hui environ 30 000 étudiants. Il y a 14 facultés, couvrant des sujets allant de la médecine aux sciences naturelles, des mathématiques à la théologie et des sciences sociales aux sports. Cette variété permet à chaque scientifique de mettre à profit les connaissances de plus de 400 professeurs et donc de travailler dans des projets interdisciplinaires. Le groupe a environ 600 m2 d'espace de laboratoire et des paillasses entièrement équipées de sorbonnes séparées pour au moins 34 collaborateurs, et 4 laboratoires spécialement équipés, avec une richesse d'instruments pour la caractérisation. Ainsi, tous les équipements nécessaires à une synthèse de pointe, y compris les lignes à vide poussé et les techniques Schlenk (également un système de purification de solvants MBRAUN MB SPS-800), ainsi que les équipements de purification des composés (chromatographie sur colonne, HPLC, deux Isolera 4) etc… sont disponibles. Des techniques de caractérisation avancées, y compris GC-MS (QP-2010, Shimadzu), 2 appareils RMN (également RMN hétéronucléaire; spectromètre Bruker AVANCE DRX 400) équipés de dispositifs VT, UV-Vis, IR (ATR), Raman, DTA/TG/DSC et diffraction des rayons X monocristallin (diffractomètre Gemini (Agilent Technologies)) sont également disponibles. D'autres équipements sont fournis par le Département, tels que le service d'analyse élémentaire et de spectrométrie de masse.
Le candidat doit avoir une solide formation en chimie de synthèse, et doit être enthousiaste et disposé à voyager dans le cadre du projet et doit accepter les conditions de l'attribution du double diplôme, y compris l'exigence d'assister à des événements de formation internationaux et de remplir le processus d'examen du double diplôme. Il y aura de nombreuses opportunités de s'engager avec d'autres groupes du consortium, qui représentent de nombreux leaders européens dans le domaine de la chimie de coordination et de la catalyse.

Contraintes et risques

Veuillez noter que pour être éligible, le 1er octobre 2020, le candidat doit être dans les quatre premières années (équivalent temps plein en recherche) de sa carrière de chercheur et ne pas avoir obtenu de doctorat. Au 1er octobre 2020, il ne doit pas avoir résidé ou exercé son activité principale (travail, études, etc...) en France pendant plus de 12 mois au cours des 3 années précédentes.

Informations complémentaires

Le consortium CCIMC ITN répond au manque actuel de formation doctorale coordonnée au niveau européen sur la catalyse moléculaire. Il vise à repousser les frontières de la connaissance dans la conception de ligands, la chimie de coordination, le développement de pré-catalyseurs, la récupération de catalyseurs et la mise en œuvre de processus catalytiques, tout en offrant une formation à grande échelle dans des compétences professionnelles transférables et personnelles, afin de préparer une nouvelle génération de jeunes scientifiques à rencontrer les défis économiques et sociétaux de l'industrie chimique au 21ème siècle.

On en parle sur Twitter !