By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD Student (H/F) : Searching for traces of life in Martian rocks

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UPR4301-MARPER-030
Workplace : ORLEANS
Date of publication : Monday, February 10, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Dr. Frances Westall et Dr. Frédéric Foucher
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 November 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The context for this thesis are the martian missions ExoMars 2020 (European/Russian), Mars 2020 (NASA) missions and the return of samples from Mars. The thesis project focuses on the in situ investigation of potential traces of past life and the distinction between these traces and those produced by exogenous carbonaceous material (ECM), either on the surface of Mars, in returned samples, or in analogue materials using experimental methods. The recruited doctoral student will prepare artificial Martian sediments doped with artificially fossilised bacteria and/or with carbonaceous material similar to that found in meteorites. Then he/she will expose the samples to different degrees of Martian metamorphism before characterizing them with models of the flight instruments of the two missions, as well as with various laboratory instruments (Raman and IR spectrometers, light and electron microscopy, LA- ICP-MS, NanoSIMS, ToF-SIMS, NMR ...) in preparation for investigations of returned samples. Preliminary tests have demonstrated the importance of this kind of exercise and the necessity in demonstrating the strengths and limitations of the ExoMars 2020 payload. Such collaborative tests are also the best way to obtain the most benefit from mission results and to interpret future data from the two fortcoming Martian missions.

Work Context

At the Centre de Biophysique Moléculaire (CBM - UPR4301), located in the CNRS campus of Orléans, France, the PhD student will work in the team “Chemistry, Imagery and Exobiology” and more specifically in the “Exobiology” group directed by Dr. Frances Westall, a geologist. More generally, the CBM laboratory develops research at the interface of chemistry, biology and physics to study the molecular mechanisms that sustain life or dysfunctions leading to diseases, as well as research in exobiology. The student will be supervised by Dr. Frances Westall and Dr. Frédéric Foucher, the physicist in the group. The “Exobiology” group at the CBM is internationally known for its research on a broad range of topics: from the study of the oldest traces of life on Earth, to the search for life on Mars, prebiotic chemistry, and planetary exploration… It is deeply involved in the future ExoMars 2020 mission. The recruited student will have ready access to and training in different techniques. He/she will participate in the interpretation of the data of the ExoMars 2020 mission.

The thesis will be co-funded by the French space agency, CNES (Centre National d'Etudes Spatiales), and by the Région Centre Val de Loire.

Additional Information

Qualifications / Expertise:
• Master in geology or in planetology preferentially but candidates with a Master in chemistry/physics or in microbiology will be also considered.
• Ability to work in a team, as well as being autonomous
• Curiosity, open mindedness to other domains, and inventiveness
• Ability to work in an international scientific team
• A good command of the English language is required for the communication (written and oral) of results and working in the ExoMars 2020 mission group.

The procedure of recruitment will be as follow:
-First, candidates are asked to send their CV and a letter of motivation via the website “emploi.cnrs.fr”, by February 29. Only applications received via this CNRS procedure will be considered.
- Then, the chosen candidates will be interviewed by the scientific team in March (visioconference possible).
-Finally, the chosen candidate will be interviewed in June by the CNES, the French Space Agency, who will be the main employer. It is important to note that until this last recruitment step is accomplished, funding for the thesis is not guaranteed.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

DOCTORANT (H/F) : A la recherche de traces de vie dans les roches Martiennes

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UPR4301-MARPER-030
Lieu de travail : ORLEANS
Date de publication : lundi 10 février 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Dr. Frances Westall et Dr. Frédéric Foucher
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 novembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Cette thèse se place dans le contexte de la mission européenne/russe ExoMars 2020 et de la mission de la NASA Mars 2020. Le sujet est centré sur la recherche in situ de potentielles traces de vie passée, et la distinction entre ces traces et celles produites par de la matière carbonée exogène (MCE), que ce soit à la surface de Mars ou dans des échantillons rapportés sur Terre. En préparation de ces futures analyses, le/la doctorant(e) recruté(e) préparera des sédiments martiens artificiels dopés avec des bactéries fossilisées artificiellement et/ou avec de la matière carbonée semblable à celle retrouvée dans des météorites. Puis, il/elle exposera les échantillons à différents degrés de métamorphisme martien avant de les caractériser avec des modèles des instruments de vols des deux missions in situ, ainsi qu'avec divers instruments de laboratoire (spectromètres Raman et IR, microscopie optique et électronique, RMN…) en préparation d'une future mission de retour d'échantillons. Des tests préliminaires ont montré l'importance de ce type d'exercices et leur nécessité pour démontrer les points forts et les limitations de la charge utile du rover de la mission ExoMars 2020. Ces travaux collaboratifs sont également le meilleur moyen d'optimiser l'interprétation des données et ainsi de maximiser le retour scientifique des missions ExoMars 2020 (ESA/Roscosmos) et Mars 2020 (NASA).

Contexte de travail

Au sein du Centre de Biophysique Moléculaire (CBM - UPR4301) situé à Orléans sur le campus CNRS, le(la) doctorant(e) exercera ses activités au sein de l'équipe « Chimie, Imagerie et Exobiologie » et du groupe thématique « Exobiologie » dirigé par le Dr. Frances Westall, géologue. Le CBM développe des recherches à l'interface de la Chimie, de la Biologie et de la Physique qui s'intéressent aux mécanismes moléculaires du Vivant et aux dysfonctionnements qui conduisent au développement de certaines maladies. Le(la) doctorant(e) sera co-encadré par le Dr. Frances Westall et le Dr. Frédéric Foucher, physicien dans le même groupe. Le groupe « Exobiologie » du CBM est connu internationalement pour ses recherches sur différents sujets : l'étude des plus anciennes traces de vie sur Terre, la recherche de vie sur Mars, la chimie prébiotique, l'exploration planétaire… Il est directement impliqué dans la future mission ExoMars 2020. Le(la) doctorant(e) recruté(e) pourra facilement accéder et se former à différentes techniques. Il ou elle participera à l'interprétation des données de la mission ExoMars 2020.

La thèse sera cofinancée par le CNES (Centre national d'études spatiales) et la Région Centre Val de Loire.

Informations complémentaires

Qualifications / Expertise:
• Master en géologie ou en planétologie de préférence mais les candidats avec un Master en chimie/physique ou en microbiologie seront également considérés.
• Capacité à travailler en équipe comme de manière autonome
• Avoir de la curiosité, de l'ingéniosité et une ouverture d'esprit sur les autres domaines,
• Capacité à travailler au sein d'une équipe de recherche internationale
• Avoir une bonne maîtrise de l'anglais pour communiquer sur les résultats à l'écrit comme à l'oral

La procédure de recrutement est la suivante:
-Premièrement, les candidats doivent envoyer leur CV et leur lettre de motivation via le site internet emploi.cnrs.fr, avant le 29 février. Seules les candidatures reçues via cette procédure CNRS seront considérées.
- Les candidats retenus seront auditionnés par l'équipe scientifique en mars (visioconférence possible).
-Finalement, le candidat retenu sera auditionné en juin par le CNES qui sera l'employeur. Il est important de noter qu'avant cette dernière étape de validation, le financement de la thèse n'est pas garantie.

On en parle sur Twitter !