By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD position: coherent manipulation of a many-body superconducting quantum circuits.

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UPR2940-FLOPOI-033
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Friday, July 24, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Nicolas ROCH
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

One of the present leading technologies for the realization of a universal quantum computer is based on superconducting quantum circuits (SQCs). It exploits superconducting circuits based on Josephson junctions, which are characterized by quantized energy levels and for this reason can be adopted as quantum bits (qubits), the basic units of quantum information. While high quantum coherence has been demonstrated for systems containing a few number of qubits, a full-fledge quantum computer will require the interconnection and manipulation of hundreds of highly coherent qubits. This obviously imposes very challenging engineering issues but also raises interesting points regarding our current understanding of quantum mechanics. For example, questions such as “how coherent can a large quantum system be?” or “what is the quantum to classical transition when many quantum systems are interacting?” remain open.
Our team focuses on the fabrication and characterization of machines called quantum simulators [1,2], which are dedicated to a given class of physical problems (e.g. quantum impurities, Hubbard models...). The required building blocks (quantum bits) as well as the control electronics are similar to the one of the universal quantum computer but since universality is not required, the overhead developments are less stringent. As such, these simulators should allow us to address the above-mentioned questions with an experimental platform much simpler than a universal quantum computer. This Master project aims at setting-up an experiment to perform time-resolved manipulation of the quantum simulator we recently demonstrated. In particular, the student will develop quantum information protocols to reveal the coherence properties of this many-body system.
[1] A tunable Josephson platform to explore many-body quantum optics in circuit-QED, J. Puertas-Martinez, et al. npj Quant. Info. 5, 19 (2019).
[2] Superconducting quantum bits with artificial damping tackle the many body problem, A. Cottet, npj Quant. Info. 5, 21 (2019).

Work Context

The Institut NEEL is one of the largest French national research institutes for fundamental research in condensed matter physics enriched by interdisciplinary activities at the interfaces with chemistry, engineering and biology. It is located in the heart of a unique scientific, industrial and cultural environment. It is part of one of Europe's biggest high-tech environment in micro- and nanoelectronics, right next to the French Alpes.
The quanteca team specializes in the coherent control and manipulation of superconducting quantum circuits. The student will use state-of-the-art setups combining very low temperatures (around 10 mK), fast electronics and quantum-limited microwave detection chains. The devices are fabricated in the clean room of the Neel Institute (Nanofab). This project is funded by the European Union via the QuantERA Network.
We are seeking motivated students who want to take part to a state-of-the-art experiment and put some efforts in the theoretical understanding of many-body physics using superconducting quantum circuit.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorat: manipulation cohérente d'un circuit quantique supraconducteur à N-corps (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UPR2940-FLOPOI-033
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : vendredi 24 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Nicolas ROCH
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

L'une des technologies de pointe actuelles pour la réalisation d'un ordinateur quantique universel est basée sur des circuits quantiques supraconducteurs. Elle exploite des circuits supraconducteurs basés sur des jonctions Josephson, qui sont caractérisées par des niveaux d'énergie quantifiés et pour cette raison peuvent être utilisés comme des bits quantiques (qubits), les unités de base de l'information quantique. Alors qu'une cohérence quantique élevée a été démontrée pour des systèmes contenant un petit nombre de qubits, un ordinateur quantique à part entière nécessitera l'interconnexion et la manipulation de centaines de qubits hautement cohérents. Cela pose évidemment des problèmes d'ingénierie très difficiles, mais soulève également des points intéressants concernant notre compréhension actuelle de la mécanique quantique. Par exemple, des questions telles que «Dans quelle mesure un grand système quantique peut-il être cohérent?» ou "quelle est la transition du quantique au classique lorsque de nombreux systèmes quantiques interagissent?" restent ouvertes.
Notre équipe se concentre sur la fabrication et la caractérisation de machines appelées simulateurs quantiques [1,2], dédiées à une classe donnée de problèmes physiques (ex: impuretés quantiques, modèles Hubbard ...). Les blocs élémentaires (bits quantiques) ainsi que l'électronique de contrôle sont similaires à ceux de l'ordinateur quantique universel, mais comme l'universalité n'est pas requise, les contraintes sont moins strictes. A ce titre, ces simulateurs devraient nous permettre d'aborder les questions évoquées ci-dessus avec une plateforme expérimentale bien plus simple qu'un ordinateur quantique universel. Ce projet vise à mettre en place une expérience pour effectuer une manipulation résolue en temps du simulateur quantique que nous avons récemment démontré. En particulier, l'étudiant développera des protocoles d'information quantique pour révéler les propriétés de cohérence de ce système à N- corps.
[1] A tunable Josephson platform to explore many-body quantum optics in circuit-QED, J. Puertas-Martinez, et al. npj Quant. Info. 5, 19 (2019).
[2] Superconducting quantum bits with artificial damping tackle the many body problem, A. Cottet, npj Quant. Info. 5, 21 (2019).

Contexte de travail

L'Institut NEEL est l'un des plus grands instituts de recherche nationaux français pour la recherche fondamentale en physique de la matière condensée enrichi d'activités interdisciplinaires aux interfaces avec la chimie, l'ingénierie et la biologie. Il est situé au cœur d'un environnement scientifique, industriel et culturel unique. Il fait partie de l'un des plus grands environnements de haute technologie d'Europe en micro et nanoélectronique, juste à côté des Alpes françaises.
L'équipe Quanteca est spécialisée dans le contrôle coherent et la manipulation de circuits quantiques supraconducteurs. L'étudiant utilisera des installations de pointe combinant des températures très basses (environ 10 mK), une électronique rapide et des chaînes de détection de micro-ondes à limitation quantique. Les appareils sont fabriqués dans la salle blanche de l'Institut Neel (Nanofab). Ce projet est financé par l'Union européenne via le réseau QuantERA.
Nous recherchons des étudiants motivés qui souhaitent prendre part à une expérience de pointe et s'efforcer de comprendre théoriquement la physique à N-corps en utilisant des circuits quantiques supraconducteurs.

On en parle sur Twitter !