By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Thesis offer in structural biology: NMR, RX (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UPR2301-NELMOR-001
Workplace : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date of publication : Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Nelly Morellet
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Cyclodipeptide synthases (CDPS) produce cyclodipeptides and complex derivatives, diketopiperazines (DKP), which constitute a broad class of natural products synthesized by microorganisms and possessing remarkable pharmacological properties such as antibacterial, antiviral or anticancer. To do this, CDPS divert aminoacyl tRNAs (aa- tRNAs) from their canonical role in protein synthesis by ribosomes.

The thesis project consists in carrying out a structural study of the interaction of CDPS (cyclodipeptide synthases) and their substrates, the aa- tRNAs, and thus identify the CDPS residues responsible for substrate specificity. This project is part of a more global project, funded by the ANR, which will use the acquired structural data to perform engineering on CDPS and obtain variants with modified specificities that can, for example, use substrates containing non-canonical amino acids. The aim of this global project is to produce, through an ecological biosynthesis process, different DKPs with high therapeutic potential. The ANR project is led by Muriel Gondry (Peptide Biosynthesis and Gene Expression (LBPEG)), Institut des Sciences du Vivant Frédéric-Joliot, I2BC, Gif sur Yvette), in partnership with Jean-Baptiste Charbonnier for the X-ray crystallography part (Institute of Integrative Cell Biology, I2BC, Gif sur Yvette), Nelly Morellet and Ewen Lescop (Institut de Chimie des substances Naturelles, Gif sur Yvette) for the NMR part and Eric Jacquet in charge of the high throughput quantitative PCR platform (Institut de Chimie des substances Naturelles, Gif sur Yvette).

Activities
- The thesis will take place in the three laboratories presented above. The aim will be to study the interaction between CDPS and aminoacyl mini-RNAs.
- The PhD student will carry out the production of proteins in Muriel Gondry's team (I2BC, Gif sur Yvette), enriched in 15N and 15N-13C and 15N-13C-2D, by overexpression in Escherichia Coli and purification by a system of three successive chromatographic columns.
- The best solution conditions will be achieved in the high throughput quantitative PCR platform under the supervision of Eric Jacquet (ICSN, Gif sur Yvette), using thermal shift tests that quantify the change in thermal denaturation temperature of a protein under different conditions of pH, salt concentrations, type of buffers and additives (glycerol ...).
- Crystallization tests will be carried out under the responsibility of Jean-Baptiste Charbonnier in order to obtain structures by X-ray crystallography of CDPS:aa-mini-RNA complexes. Measurements of biophysical interactions will be carried out to evaluate the affinities of different aa-mini-RNAs for the CDPS studied by switchSense, calorimetry and thermophoresis in particular.
- NMR studies will be carried out under the responsibility of Nelly Morellet (ICSN, Gif sur Yvette). Initially the attribution of HN, CO, Ca and Cb resonances of CDPS proteins enriched in 15N and 13C (248 amino acids) will be performed using the classical 3-dimensional NMR experiments, HNCO, HNCA, HNCA, HNCOCA, HNCACB and HNCOCACB. Depending on the quality of the spectra, the recording of these experiments will be performed on proteins also enriched in deuterium on the side chains.
- The 1H-15N HSQC spectra will then be used to map on the protein the interaction zones of aminoacyl mini-RNAs by observing chemical shift variations in the HSQC spectra of the proteins.
- Thesis writing and papers

Work Context

The Institut de Chimie des Substances Naturelles is a Clean Research Unit of the CNRS (French National Center for Scientific Research) whose research focuses are chemistry and biology. It is part of the University of Paris-Saclay which, since 2015, has brought together research and teaching establishments in the south of Paris. The ICSN is located on the Gif-sur-Yvette campus and has about 125 staff members, 76 of whom are permanent employees spread over 3 buildings.
Within the Department of Chemistry and Structural and Analytical Biology, the staff member recruited will join the biology and structural chemistry team consisting of 5 IT, 8 CH and 2 CDD/doctoral students. He/she will be placed under the hierarchical authority of the team leader. The officer will work directly with Nelly Morellet and in collaboration with Ewen Lescop.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Offre de thèse en biologie structurale: RMN, RX (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UPR2301-NELMOR-001
Lieu de travail : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date de publication : mardi 30 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Nelly Morellet
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Titre: Étude de l'interaction des synthases de cyclodipeptides (CDPS) et de leurs substrats par RMN et cristallographie aux rayons X.

Les synthases de cyclodipeptides (CDPS) produisent des cyclodipeptides et des dérivés complexes, les dicétopipérazines (DKP) qui constituent une large classe de produits naturels synthétisés par des microorganismes et possédant des propriétés pharmacologiques remarquables telles qu'antibactériennes, antivirales ou anticancéreuses. Pour ce faire, les CDPS détournent les ARNt aminoacylés (aa-ARNt) de leur rôle canonique dans la synthèse des protéines par les ribosomes.

Le projet de thèse consiste à effectuer l'étude structurale de l'interaction des CDPS (synthases de cyclodipeptides) et de leurs substrats, les aa-ARNt et ainsi identifier les résidus des CDPS responsables de la spécificité de substrat. Ce projet s'insère dans un projet plus global, financé par l'ANR, qui utilisera les données structurales acquises pour effectuer de l'ingénierie sur les CDPS et obtenir des variants avec des spécificités modifiées pouvant par exemple utiliser des substrats contenant des acides aminés non canoniques. Le but de ce projet global est de produire, par un processus de biosynthèse écologique, différents DKP à fort potentiel thérapeutique. Le projet ANR est porté par Muriel Gondry (Biosynthèse Peptidique et Expression des Gènes (LBPEG)), Institut des Sciences du Vivant Frédéric-Joliot, I2BC, Gif sur Yvette), en partenariat avec Jean-Baptiste Charbonnier pour la partie cristallographie aux rayons X (Institut de Biologie Intégrative de la cellule, I2BC, Gif sur Yvette), Nelly Morellet et Ewen Lescop (Institut de Chimie des substances Naturelles, Gif sur Yvette) pour la partie RMN et Eric Jacquet responsable de la plateforme de PCR quantitative haut débit (Institut de Chimie des substances Naturelles, Gif sur Yvette).

Activités
- La thèse se déroulera dans les trois laboratoires présentés ci-dessus. Le but sera d'étudier l'interaction entre des CDPS et des mini-ARN aminoacylés.
- Le doctorant effectuera la production des protéines dans l'équipe de Muriel Gondry (I2BC, Gif sur Yvette), enrichies en 15N et 15N-13C et 15N-13C-2D, par surexpression chez Escherichia Coli et purification par un système de trois colonnes chromatographiques successives.
- Les meilleures conditions de mise en solution seront réalisées au sein de la plateforme de PCR quantitative haut débit sous la supervision d'Eric Jacquet (ICSN, Gif sur Yvette), grâce à des tests de décalage thermique qui quantifie le changement de température de dénaturation thermique d'une protéine dans différentes conditions de pH, concentrations de sel, type de tampons et additifs (glycérol …).
- Des tests de cristallisation seront réalisés sous la responsabilité de Jean-Baptiste Charbonnier en vue de l'obtention de structures par cristallographie au rayons X de complexes CDPS:aa-mini-ARN. Des mesures d'interactions biophysiques seront effectuées pour évaluer les affinités de différents aa-mini-ARN pour les CDPS étudiées par switchSense, calorimétrie et thermophorèse notamment.
- Les études RMN seront réalisées sous la responsabilité de Nelly Morellet (ICSN, Gif sur Yvette). Dans un premier temps l'attribution des résonnances HN, CO, Ca et Cb des protéines CDPS enrichies en 15N et 13C (248 acides aminés) seront réalisées à l'aide des expériences RMN 3-dimensions classiques, HNCO, HNCACO, HNCA, HNCOCA, HNCACB et HNCOCACB. En fonction de la qualité des spectres l'enregistrement de ces expériences pourra être réalisé sur les protéines également enrichies en deutérium sur les chaines latérales.
- Les spectres 1H-15N HSQC seront ensuite utilisés pour cartographier sur la protéine les zones d'interaction de mini-ARN aminoacylés par observation des variations de déplacement chimique dans les spectres HSQC des protéines.
- Rédaction manuscrit de thèse et articles

Contexte de travail

L'Institut de Chimie des Substances Naturelles est une Unité Propre de Recherche du CNRS dont les axes de recherche sont la chimie et la biologie. Il fait partie de l'Université Paris-Saclay qui regroupe, depuis 2015, les établissements de recherche et d'enseignement du sud parisien. L'ICSN est situé sur le campus de Gif-sur-Yvette et compte environ 125 agents dont 76 permanents répartis sur 3 bâtiments.
Au sein du Département de chimie et biologie structurale et analytique l'agent recruté intègrera l'équipe de biologie et chimie structurale constituée de 5 IT, 8 CH et 2 CDD/doctorants. Il/elle sera placé(e) sous l'autorité hiérarchique du responsable d'équipe. L'agent travaillera en lien direct avec Nelly Morellet, ainsi qu'en collaboration avec Ewen Lescop.

On en parle sur Twitter !