By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

CDD PhD student in physics of materials M / F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UPR10-MICPEF-019
Workplace : VALBONNE
Date of publication : Friday, April 10, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Philippe BOUCAUD
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

III-nitride semiconductors like GaN are wide bandgap semiconductors present in our daily life like for example in light emitting diodes (LEDs). Thanks to their intrinsic properties, the III-nitride materials are ideal candidates to develop more advanced photonics devices as compared to LEDs like integrated photonic circuits operating in the visible spectral range. An example of a simple III-nitride photonic circuit constituted by a microring resonator coupled to a bus waveguide and grating coupler is shown in the image below. Through nonlinear optical interactions, these photonic circuits can generate agile and tunable optical sources like optical parametric oscillators, frequency combs or even entangled photon pairs for quantum technologies.
The objective of this thesis will be to further develop these III-nitride photonic circuits and to demonstrate and investigate the different types of optical sources that can be achieved with this system, i.e. optical parametric oscillators, frequency combs and quantum optical sources.
The PhD candidate will be involved in the design of the photonic circuits, the epitaxial growth of the materials, the processing in clean room environments and the optical characterization of the fabricated devices.

Work Context

The Research Center for Hetero-Epitaxy and its Applications (CRHEA - UPR10) is a CNRS research laboratory specialized in the epitaxy of semiconductor materials with a large prohibited band such as nitrides of element III materials (GaN, AlN), zinc oxide (ZnO), silicon carbide (SiC) and their micro- and nanofabrication in a clean room. CRHEA also studies 2D materials such as graphene or boron nitride.

The main areas covered by CRHEA concern energy transition, communications of the future, the environment and health. CRHEA also carries out fundamental studies in nanosciences and crystal growth.

High energy band gap materials are key elements for power electronics, very high frequency electronics, LED-based lighting and new generations of micro-displays. The visible and ultra-violet laser sources produced at CRHEA have multiple applications for lighting, biophotonics and for water purification. CRHEA is also developing components in the THz field, photonic circuits, advanced optical components based on metasurfaces, applications in spintronics, sensors and is involved in the development of quantum technologies.
The laboratory has eight growth reactors by molecular beam epitaxy and six growth reactors in the vapor phase. It also has tools for structural characterization of materials and a clean room for micro and nanofabrication.

The epitaxy pole brings together the various growth activities which constitute the basis of the research carried out at CRHEA. It is made up of 13 researchers and 8 engineers around epitaxy reactors adapted to the growth of large gap materials, in particular nitrides of elements III, but also SiC and ZnO as well as 2D materials such as graphene.
The different equipment is distinguished by the type of epitaxy method, either by ultra-vacuum molecular jets (MBE / EJM, 8 reactors) or by vapor phase (CVD or MOCVD, 6 reactors).
The Opto team studies the optical and optoelectronic properties of materials based on gallium nitride (GaN) and zinc oxide (ZnO), which are produced by epitaxial growth by vapor phase epitaxy (EPV) and / or by epitaxy under molecular jets (EJM), and develops them in components (LEDs, lasers, detectors…) for potential applications. In particular, by relying on the specificities of these growth techniques and the know-how developed for these two families of materials, the possibility of coupling (EPV-EJM and / or GaN-ZnO) is an exceptional asset worldwide. CRHEA.

Constraints and risks

The candidate should have a training in one or several of the following fields: semiconductor physics, condensed matter physics, optical devices, optical and electrical engineering, quantum physics and quantum technologies, clean room processing. The PhD will be mainly dedicated to experiments and we expect a high motivation of the candidate for clean room processing.
The PhD will be supervised by Philippe Boucaud, senior research associate at CNRS http://www.crhea.cnrs.fr/pages-perso/page-pbo.asp https://publons.com/researcher/1758896/philippe-boucaud/
A co-supervision will be provided by a researcher at C2N in Palaiseau close to Paris.
The PhD is expected to present his result in scientific conferences. He should participate to the Ganex schools for training.

Additional Information

Recruitment deadlines may be extended due to the nationality of the candidate (reception agreement procedures, residence permit, etc.)
The PhD has the same number of vacation as the permanent staff (46 days off per year).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

CDD Doctorant en physique des matériaux H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UPR10-MICPEF-019
Lieu de travail : VALBONNE
Date de publication : vendredi 10 avril 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Philippe BOUCAUD
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les nitrures d'élements III comme le GaN sont des semi-conducteurs à grande bande interdite omniprésents dans notre vie quotidienne avec les éclairages LEDs. Grâce à leurs propriétés intrinsèques, les nitrures d'éléments III sont des candidats idéaux pour développer des dispositifs photoniques plus avancés que les LEDs comme des circuits intégrés photoniques fonctionnant dans le domaine spectral visible.
A travers des interactions non linéaires, ces circuits photoniques peuvent générer des sources optiques agiles et accordables, comme des oscillateurs paramétriques optiques, des peignes de fréquence, ou des paires de photons intriqués pour les technologies quantiques.
L'objectif de cette thèse sera de poursuivre le développement des circuits photoniques III-nitrure et de démontrer différents types de sources optiques réalisables avec ces systèmes, i.e. un oscillateur paramétrique optique dans le proche infrarouge, un peigne de fréquence visible et une source de paires de photons.
Le doctorant sera impliqué dans le design des circuits photoniques, la croissance épitaxiale des matériaux, la microfabrication en salle blanche et les caractérisations optiques des dispositifs réalisés.

Contexte de travail

Le Centre de Recherche pour l'Hétéro-Epitaxie et ses Applications (CRHEA - UPR10) est un laboratoire de recherche du CNRS spécialisé dans l'épitaxie des matériaux semi-conducteurs à grande bande interdite comme les matériaux nitrures d'éléments III (GaN, AlN), l'oxyde de zinc (ZnO), le carbure de silicium (SiC) et leur micro- et nanofabrication en salle blanche. Le CRHEA étudie également les matériaux 2D comme le graphène, ou le nitrure de bore.

Les grands domaines couverts par le CRHEA concernent la transition énergétique, les communications du futur, l'environnement et la santé. Le CRHEA effectue également des études fondamentales en nanosciences et en croissance cristalline.

Les matériaux à grande énergie de bande interdite sont des éléments clefs pour l'électronique de puissance, l'électronique à très haute fréquence, l'éclairage à base de LEDs et les nouvelles générations de micro-afficheurs. Les sources lasers fonctionnant dans le visible et dans l'Ultra-Violet réalisées au CRHEA ont des applications multiples pour l'éclairage, la biophotonique et pour la purification de l'eau. Le CRHEA développe également des composants dans le domaine THz, des circuits photoniques, des composants optiques avancés à base de métasurfaces, des applications en spintronique, des capteurs et s'implique dans le développement des technologies quantiques.

Le laboratoire dispose de huit réacteurs de croissance par épitaxie par jets moléculaires et de six réacteurs de croissance en phase vapeur. Il dispose également d'outils de caractérisation structurale des matériaux et une salle blanche pour la micro et nanofabrication.

Le pôle épitaxie regroupe les différentes activités de croissance qui constituent la base de la recherche menée au CRHEA. Il est constitué de 13 chercheurs et 8 ingénieurs autour de réacteurs d'épitaxie adaptés la croissance de matériaux à grand gap, en particulier des nitrures d'éléments III, mais aussi SiC et ZnO ainsi que des matériaux 2D tels que le graphène.
Les différents équipements se distinguent par le type de méthode d'épitaxie, soit par jets moléculaires sous ultra-vide (MBE/EJM, 8 réacteurs) soit par phase vapeur (CVD ou MOCVD, 6 réacteurs).
L'équipe Opto étudie les propriétés optiques et optoélectroniques des matériaux à base de nitrure de gallium (GaN) et d'oxyde de zinc (ZnO), qui sont élaborés par croissance épitaxiale par épitaxie en phase vapeur (EPV) et/ou par épitaxie sous jets moléculaires (EJM), et les développe dans des composants (LEDs, lasers, détecteurs…) en vue d'applications potentielles. En particulier, en s'appuyant sur les spécificités de ces techniques de croissance et des savoir-faire développés pour ces deux familles de matériaux, la possibilité de couplage (EPV-EJM et/ou GaN-ZnO) est au plan mondial un atout exceptionnel du CRHEA.

Contraintes et risques

Activité exercée en étroite collaboration avec le laboratoire C2N à Palaiseau ; de ce fait prévoir des déplacements et séjours sur site.
Participation active au programme GANEX (présentations de résultats etc ...)

Informations complémentaires

Délais de recrutement pouvant être rallongés du fait de la nationalité du candidat (procédures convention d'accueil, titre de séjour etc...)

On en parle sur Twitter !