By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

CDD PhD student H / F in photonics

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UPR10-MICPEF-008
Workplace : VALBONNE
Date of publication : Friday, August 02, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Jesus ZUNIGA PEREZ
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Single photons are the backbone of many quantum information technologies including quantum computation, quantum information processing and especially quantum communications, where photons are used as flying qubits between nodes of a large quantum network. Since in these architectures we aim for long communications distances, the ideal operation wavelengths happen to be those compatible with low-loss optical fibers (i.e. at telecommunication wavelengths).
Currently, many of these demonstrations are carried out using heralded single photon sources based on parametric downconversion. However, these sources are extremely attenuated limiting thereby the achievable communication rate. In this context, solid state sources based on quantum dots or structural defects in semiconductor matrices appear as ideal candidates. However, the shallow carrier confinement in arsenide-based quantum dots limits their operation temperature to cryogenic ones and, besides, while single-photon emitters have been obtained at telecom wavelengths, their figures of merit are far from their infrared counterparts. An alternative approach consists in exploiting efficient single-photon emitters in the infrared and by frequency downconversion transpose the produced single photons to the desired wavelengths. And even if conversion efficiencies as large as 40% have been demonstrated, the necessary set-ups are too bulky.
In the current PhD we propose to study the design, fabrication and characterization of a new single-photon source emitting at telecom wavelengths, operating at room-temperature and compatible with silicon photonics. Such a source is found in GaN, a widespread semiconductor with a mature technology. This source was first characterized thoroughly by Nanyang Technological University, who will be an active partner of the current PhD. Overall, the PhD aims at developing the full potential of the new single-photon source, its integration into nitrides-based optical microcavities and waveguides and, in fine, its electrical injection.
• The PhD candidate will integrate the Nanotechnology Team of CRHEA and will be under the supervision of Dr. J. Zuniga-Perez. Due to the collaborative nature of the current project, the PhD candidate will spend several months at NTU Singapore contributing to further quantum optical characterization of the sources.
• Expertise on Materials Science and/or Optics is expected from candidates.

Work Context

The Research Center for Heteroepitaxy and its Applications (CRHEA - UPR10) is a CNRS research laboratory specializing in the epitaxy of large bandgap semiconductor materials such as III nitride materials (GaN, AlN), zinc oxide (ZnO), silicon carbide (SiC) and their micro- and nanofabrication in a clean room. CRHEA also studies 2D materials such as graphene, or boron nitride.

The main areas covered by the CRHEA concern the energy transition, the communications of the future, the environment and health. CRHEA also conducts fundamental studies in nanoscience and crystal growth.

High energy bandgap materials are key elements for power electronics, ultra-high frequency electronics, LED-based lighting and new generations of micro-displays. CRHEA visible and ultraviolet light sources have multiple applications for lighting, biophotonics and water purification. CRHEA also develops components in the THz domain, photonic circuits, advanced optical components based on metasurfaces, spintronic applications, sensors and is involved in the development of quantum technologies.

The laboratory has eight molecular beam epitaxy growth reactors and six vapor phase growth reactors. It also has tools for structural characterization of materials and a clean room for micro and nanofabrication.
The candidate will carry out his research activity within the NANO group (9 researchers and engineers and a dozen doctoral and postdoctoral fellowships).
The combination of top-down and bottom-up approaches makes it possible to exploit all the possibilities offered by nanostructures and this is the strength of the Nanotechnologies team, which uses GaN and ZnO as materials of choice. Our interests range from basic materials science, including MBE and MOCVD growth to new materials (eg ZnMnO, rare earth nitrides and oxynitrides), to the development of more complex nanophotonic systems. These include metasurfaces, which allow the manufacture of ultrathin-ultralight optoelectronic components such as metal lenses, optical microcavities. These are the ideal playground for testing effects in quantum electrodynamics and obtaining Bose-Einstein condensates in a semiconductor environment. Finally, a nanophotonic platform based on GaN nanowires is able to stimulate biological cells with unprecedented spatial resolution. In addition, the manipulation of the spin of carriers and / or excitons within these photonic structures, thanks to our magnetic materials, opens the possibility of coupling spin and photons in an electrically addressable interface.

Constraints and risks

Not applicable

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

CDD Doctorant H/F en photonique

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UPR10-MICPEF-008
Lieu de travail : VALBONNE
Date de publication : vendredi 2 août 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jesus ZUNIGA PEREZ
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les communications quantiques sont basées sur la transmission d'information au moyen de photons uniques. Or, à ce jour, il n'y existe pas de source de photons uniques idéale qui fonctionne à température ambiante et qui soit compatible avec d'autres plateformes matériaux plus matures et apportant d'autres fonctionnalités. En particulier, il serait souhaitable de disposer d'une source émettant des photons uniques aux longueurs d'onde télécom, compatibles avec des fibres optiques à faibles pertes et donc susceptibles de transmettre l'information sur de longues distances.
Pour l'instant la plupart de ces sources sont basées sur des sources à photons annoncés, qui sont par nature très faibles en intensité. Dans ce contexte, des sources de photons uniques à base d'émetteurs à l'état solide, comme des boîtes quantiques ou des centres colorés, apparaissent comme une alternative forte intéressante. Cependant, la faible énergie de confinement dans les boîtes quantiques arseniures limite leur température de travail aux temperatures cryogéniques et, même si des sources aux longueurs d'onde télécom ont été obtenues, leurs figures de mérite sont loin de celles des sources dans l'infrarouge.
Dans cette thèse nous proposons d'étudier de nouvelles sources de photons uniques, travaillant jusqu'à température ambiante, émettant aux longueurs d'onde télécom et compatibles avec la filière photonique silicium. Cette nouvelle source existe dans un semiconducteurs à la technologie mature comme le GaN, dont le laboratoire CRHEA est expert mondialement reconnu. Par ailleurs, la démonstration des propriétés quantiques de ces émetteurs a été réalisé par l'Université Technologique de Nanyang, à Singapour, qui sera partenaire de cette thèse. In fine, la thèse prouvera le potentiel de cette nouvelle source, l'intégrant dans des microcavités optiques à base de nitrures et fabriquant une version injectée électriquement.
• Le candidat intégrera l'équipe Nanotechnologies du CRHEA et sera sous la responsabilité de Dr. J. Zuniga-Perez. De par la nature collaborative de ce travail de thèse, le candidat devra réaliser des séjours, pouvant aller jusqu'à quelques mois, à l'Université Technologique de Nanyang, à Singapour, participant aux caractérisations quantiques de la source fabriquée.
• Une expertise préalable en science des matériaux et/ou photonique est nécessaire.

Contexte de travail

Le Centre de Recherche pour l'Hétéro-Epitaxie et ses Applications (CRHEA - UPR10) est un laboratoire de recherche du CNRS spécialisé dans l'épitaxie des matériaux semi-conducteurs à grande bande interdite comme les matériaux nitrures d'éléments III (GaN, AlN), l'oxyde de zinc (ZnO), le carbure de silicium (SiC) et leur micro- et nanofabrication en salle blanche. Le CRHEA étudie également les matériaux 2D comme le graphène, ou le nitrure de bore.

Les grands domaines couverts par le CRHEA concernent la transition énergétique, les communications du futur, l'environnement et la santé. Le CRHEA effectue également des études fondamentales en nanosciences et en croissance cristalline.

Les matériaux à grande énergie de bande interdite sont des éléments clefs pour l'électronique de puissance, l'électronique à très haute fréquence, l'éclairage à base de LEDs et les nouvelles générations de micro-afficheurs. Les sources lasers fonctionnant dans le visible et dans l'Ultra-Violet réalisées au CRHEA ont des applications multiples pour l'éclairage, la biophotonique et pour la purification de l'eau. Le CRHEA développe également des composants dans le domaine THz, des circuits photoniques, des composants optiques avancés à base de métasurfaces, des applications en spintronique, des capteurs et s'implique dans le développement des technologies quantiques.

Le laboratoire dispose de huit réacteurs de croissance par épitaxie par jets moléculaires et de six réacteurs de croissance en phase vapeur. Il dispose également d'outils de caractérisation structurale des matériaux et une salle blanche pour la micro et nanofabrication.
Le candidat exercera son activité de recherche au sein du groupe NANO (9 chercheurs et ingénieurs et une dizaine de CDD doctorants et post-doctorants).
La combinaison d'approches descendantes et ascendantes permet d'exploiter toutes les possibilités offertes par les nanostructures et c'est la force de l'équipe Nanotechnologies, qui utilise GaN et ZnO comme matériaux de choix. Nos intérêts vont de la science fondamentale des matériaux, y compris la croissance MBE et MOCVD de nouveaux matériaux (par exemple ZnMnO, nitrures de terres rares et oxynitrures), au développement de systèmes nanophotoniques plus complexes. Il s'agit notamment de métasurfaces, qui permettent la fabrication de composants optoélectroniques ultraminces-ultralégers tels que des métalentilles, des microcavités optiques. Ces dernières sont le terrain de jeu idéal pour tester des effets en électrodynamique quantique et obtenir des condensats Bose-Einstein dans un environnement à semi-conducteurs. Enfin, une dernière plateforme nanophotonique à base de nanofils GaN est capable de stimuler les cellules biologiques avec une résolution spatiale sans précédent. Par ailleurs, la manipulation du spin de porteurs et / ou excitons au sein de ces structures photoniques, grâce à nos matériaux magnétiques, ouvre la possibilité de coupler spin et photons dans une interface électriquement adressable.

Contraintes et risques

Sans objet

On en parle sur Twitter !