By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Statistical modelling of tag antennas in a complex environment

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR9007-JEALAH-002
Workplace : MARNE LA VALLEE
Date of publication : Monday, February 10, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Benoit Poussot
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Context:
RFID (Radio Frequency IDentification) technology has a long established role in supply chains. With the growth of the Internet of Thing (IoT), the RFID technology becomes increasingly pervasive and omnipresent. For food traceability, fabric and clothing or logistics and supply chain management, there are numerous scenarios using UHF RFID (Ultra High Frequency RFID) for tracking and identification. These scenarios are complex for two reasons:
– The tag antenna is surrounded by other tags in a high density of radiating elements.
– The close environment of the tag antenna is partially known or known with uncertainties.
In a context of high density of tags in an uncontrolled environment, the strong electromagnetic interactions between the radiating elements of tags and the near environment impact the operation of RFID systems [1]- [4]. These phenomena preclude certain tags' power-up and degrade the communication performances, such as the read-range and the read-rate of tags. These problems are currently solved by increasing the number of reading systems to bring diversity and by modifying the tags' environment using mechanical vibration or electromagnetic stirring. The implementation of these solutions results in a heavy and costly infrastructure which is not suitable for large scale applicability of RFID systems and does not guarantee a 100 % reliability.
The objective of this PhD proposal is to improve the performances of RFID systems in a complex environment, not by acting on the reader infrastructure (protocols, antennas, post-processing, reader position and density, frequency diversity, movement) but by estimating the group behviour of RFID tags and optimising their performances statistically.

Objectives of the PhD thesis:
In a PhD work in progress in ESYCOM laboratory [5]- [6], the electromagnetic coupling between randomly distributed dipole antennas is analysed statistically. The input impedance of a surrounded dipole and its radiation pattern are evaluated and analysed by the appropriate statistical parameters. The analytical technique, IEMF (Induced ElectroMotive Force), is valid only for thin wire dipoles. The modelling of thick dipoles remain in this case numerical or experimental. The first studies show that the statistical behaviour of thin dipoles and thick dipoles are similar, regarding their mismatch. However, an interrogation remains concerning the behaviour of realistic tag antennas used in the context of UHF RFID. Moreover, the established model does not take into account the close environment of tag antennas and its variability.
This PhD work will be conducted through three axes:
 Integrate the variability of antenna's close environment into the statistical study conducted in the context of strongly coupled tags and analyse the impact of the latter on the antenna parameters (gain, mismatch, etc.)
 Quantify the impact of the variability of the antenna parameters on the system parameters called Key Performance Indicators (KPIs). For the RFID system, these parameters could be the read-rate and the read-range.
 Statistically study the robustness of antennas in a complex environment according to their topology and establish design rules for antennas used in this context.

References :
[1] C. Craeye and D. González-Ovejero, “A review on array mutual coupling analysis,” Radio Sci., vol. 46, no. 2, 2011.
[2] G. Marrocco, “RFID Grids: Part I—Electromagnetic Theory,” IEEE Trans. Antennas Propag., vol. 59, no. 3, pp. 1019–1026, 2011.
[3] S. Banerjee, R. Jesme, and R. Sainati, “Performance Analysis of Short Range UHF Propagation as Applicable to Passive RFID,” in 2007 IEEE International Conference on RFID, 2007.
[4] R. Fletcher, U. P. Marti, and R. Redemske, “Study of UHF RFID signal propagation through complex media,” in 2005 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society International Symposium.
[5] I. Adjali, A. Guye, S. Mostarshedi, B. Poussot, F. Nadal and J.-M. Laheurte, “Statistical study of coupling in randomly distributed dipole sets,” 12th European Conference on Antennas and Propagation (EuCAP 2018), 2018.
[6] I. Adjali, A. Guye, S. Mostarshedi, B. Poussot, F. Nadal and J.-M. Laheurte, “Matching Evaluation of Highly Coupled Dipoles Quantified by a Statistical Approach,” IEEE Trans. Antennas Propag., under review.

Work Context

The ESYCOM Lab (Electronics, Communication systems and Microsystems Lab) has expertise in the engineering of communication systems, sensors and microsystems. These skills are combined in the Lab project around "Communicating devices and sensors for the city, the environment and the individual"

Supervising group:
Director: Jean-Marc Laheurte, Professor, ESYCOM/UPEM
Supervisor: Benoit Poussot, Associate Professor, ESYCOM/UPEM,
Application procedure:
The application file should include CV, statement of purpose, recommendation letters and all academic transcripts and may be addressed by email to Benoit Poussot (Benoit.Poussot@u-pem.fr).

Constraints and risks

No risk. Level of RF signals < 100 mW in planned experiments

Additional Information

Candidate's profile:
This PhD offer is intended for the candidates having a Master's degree or equivalent. The following conditions are required:
– Solid knowledge in electromagnetics
– Interest in applied mathematics including statistics
– Very great scientific rigour
– Interest in experimentation
– Autonomy in computer programming

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Modélisation statistique d'une antenne tag RFID H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR9007-JEALAH-002
Lieu de travail : MARNE LA VALLEE
Date de publication : lundi 10 février 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Benoit Poussot
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Contexte :
Depuis longtemps, la technologie RFID (Radio Frequency IDentification) joue un rôle important dans la logistique industrielle. Avec la croissance de l'internet des objets (IoT), la technologie RFID devient omniprésente et incontournable. Pour la traçabilité des aliments, l'étiquetage dans le domaine du prêt-à-porter ou la logistique et la gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, de nombreux scénarios utilisent la RFID UHF (RFID haute fréquence) pour le suivi et l'identification des produits. Ces scénarios sont complexes pour deux raisons :
 L'antenne tag est environnée par d'autres tags conduisant à une densité élevée d'éléments rayonnants.
 L'environnement proche de l'antenne tag est partiellement connu ou connu de manière incertaine.
Dans un contexte de haute densité de tags dans un environnement non-maîtrisé, les fortes interactions électromagnétiques entre les éléments rayonnants des tags et l'environnement proche impactent le fonctionnement des systèmes RFID [1]‒ [4]. Ces phénomènes conduisent à la non-lecture de certain tags et dégradent à la fois la plage, le débit et le taux de lecture des tags. Dans ce contexte, pour palier à ces problèmes les solutions actuelles reposent sur une multiplication des systèmes de lecture pour apporter de la diversité et / ou sur une modification locale de l'environnement des tags (vibrations mécaniques ou brassage électromagnétique). Dans ces deux cas, ces solutions conduisent à des infrastructures supplémentaires lourdes et coûteuses qui d'une part ne garantissent pas un taux de lecture de 100% et d'autre part ne conviennent pas pour des solutions déployées à grande échelle.
Dans ce contexte, l'objectif de cette thèse est d'améliorer le taux de lecture des tags RFID dans un environnement complexe, non pas en agissant sur l'infrastructure de lecture (protocoles, antennes, post-traitement, position et densité des lecteurs ou diversité spatiale et fréquentielle) mais en estimant et en optimisant statistiquement la performance de groupe des tags RFID.

Objectifs de la thèse :
Dans un travail de thèse en cours au laboratoire ESYCOM [6]‒ [6], le couplage électromagnétique entre les antennes dipôles distribuées de manière aléatoire est analysé statistiquement. L'impédance d'entrée d'un dipôle environné et son diagramme de rayonnement sont évalués et analysés par les paramètres statistiques adaptés. La technique analytique utilisée (IEMF) est valide uniquement pour la modélisation des dipôles filaires fins. La modélisation des dipôles épais reste dans ce cas numérique ou expérimentale. Les premières études montrent une similitude du comportement statistique entre les dipôles fins et les dipôles épais du point de vue leur désadaptation. Cependant une interrogation subsiste par rapport au comportement des antennes tags réalistes utilisées dans le contexte de la RFID UHF. De plus la modélisation établie ne tient pas compte de l'environnement proche de l'antenne tag et de sa variabilité.

Cette thèse s'articule autour de trois volets :
 Intégrer la variabilité de l'environnement proche de l'antenne dans l'étude statistique menée dans le cadre des tags fortement couplés et analyser l'impact de ce dernier sur les paramètres de l'antenne (gain, désadaptation, etc.)
 Quantifier l'impact de la variabilité des paramètres de l'antenne sur les paramètres système appelés indicateurs clés de performance (KPI). Pour le système RFID, ces paramètres pourraient être le taux et la distance de lecture.
 Etudier statistiquement la robustesse des antennes dans un environnement complexe en fonction de leur topologie et établir des règles de conception pour les antennes utilisées dans ce contexte.

Références :
[1] C. Craeye and D. González-Ovejero, “A review on array mutual coupling analysis,” Radio Sci., vol. 46, no. 2, 2011.
[2] G. Marrocco, “RFID Grids: Part I—Electromagnetic Theory,” IEEE Trans. Antennas Propag., vol. 59, no. 3, pp. 1019–1026, 2011.
[3] S. Banerjee, R. Jesme, and R. Sainati, “Performance Analysis of Short Range UHF Propagation as Applicable to Passive RFID,” in 2007 IEEE International Conference on RFID, 2007.
[4] R. Fletcher, U. P. Marti, and R. Redemske, “Study of UHF RFID signal propagation through complex media,” in 2005 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society International Symposium.
[5] I. Adjali, A. Guye, S. Mostarshedi, B. Poussot, F. Nadal and J.-M. Laheurte, “Statistical study of coupling in randomly distributed dipole sets,” 12th European Conference on Antennas and Propagation (EuCAP 2018), 2018.
[6] I. Adjali, A. Guye, S. Mostarshedi, B. Poussot, F. Nadal and J.-M. Laheurte, “Matching Evaluation of Highly Coupled Dipoles Quantified by a Statistical Approach,” IEEE Trans. Antennas Propag., under review.

Contexte de travail

Le laboratoire " Electronique, SYstèmes de COmmunications et Microsystèmes " (ESYCOM, UMR 9007)possède des compétences reconnues dans les domaines de l'ingénierie des systèmes de communication, des capteurs et des microsystèmes, compétences combinées au sein du projet du Laboratoire "Systèmes de communication et capteurs pour la ville, l'environnement et la personne"

Encadrement :
Directeur : Jean-Marc Laheurte, Professeur, ESYCOM/UPEM
Encadrants : Benoit Poussot, Maître de Conférences, ESYCOM/UPEM,
Candidature et contacts :
Le dossier de candidature incluant, CV, lettres de motivation et de recommandation et l'ensemble des résultats académiques est à adresser par voie électronique à Benoit Poussot (Benoit.Poussot@u-pem.fr).

Contraintes et risques

Pas de risque particulier. Niveaux de signaux radio inférieurs à 100 mW dans les expérimentations planifiées

Informations complémentaires

Profil du candidat recherché :
Offre destinée aux candidats titulaires d'un Master 2 Recherche ou équivalent. Les critères recherchés sont :
– Connaissances solides en électromagnétisme
– Intérêt pour les mathématiques appliquées notamment les statistiques
– Très grande rigueur scientifique
– Goût certain pour l'expérimentation
– Autonomie en programmation informatique

On en parle sur Twitter !