By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD in economic sociology, M/F, The division of data labour: How multi-level micro-work networks elucidate the social and economic dimensions of artificial intelligence

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8623-PAOTUB-001
Workplace : ORSAY
Date of publication : Monday, May 11, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Paola Tubaro
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

This thesis explores the contribution of human work to the production of artificial intelligence (AI) based on machine learning. It uses state-of-the-art methods in network science and statistics, including multi-level social network models. The aim will be to map globalized AI production systems, by collecting data on the relationships between customers (companies that automate business processes), data vendors (platforms and other intermediaries), and at the end of the supply chain, precarious 'micro-workers' (recruited for data generation and annotation). The first two groups will be surveyed through questionnaires at international AI trade shows and congresses, while a specific survey including a 'name generator' will be conducted among micro-workers via the platforms on which they operate. This thesis is part of a larger research program on artificial intelligence workers, involving several French teams in sociology, economics, linguistics and computer science.

Work Context

The doctoral student will be supervised by Paola Tubaro, CNRS Researcher with habilitation to supervise research students, and co-supervised by Antonio A. Casilli, Professor at Telecom Paris. Paola Tubaro and Antonio Casilli have been conducting research for several years on digital platform workers and the economics of artificial intelligence. Together with their PhD students and trainees, they have formed a small informal team that shares research questions and tools, and meets regularly for seminars, workshops and training. They also co-founded the European Network on Digital Labour (ENDL), which organises international workshops on these topics twice a year, including colloquia for PhD students. The selected candidate is expected to join these groups and participate in these collective activities.

Constraints and risks

The doctoral student will be enrolled in the Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) Doctoral School at the University of Paris-Saclay. He/she will be affiliated to the IDHES laboratory (Institutions et Dynamiques Historiques de l'Economie et de la Société), and secondarily, to the LRI (Laboratoire de Recherche en Informatique), thus benefiting from dual settings in social sciences and computer science. Short-term missions in France and other European countries are planned for data collection.

Additional Information

Required skills:
- Master's degree in sociology, economics, political science or related discipline
- Good statistical skills (survey methods, questionnaire design, database construction, data visualization and analysis)
- Knowledge of social network analysis
- Familiarity with the literature on digital platform economy and/or digital labour
- Fluency in English and French
- Writing, ability to formulate and conduct a scientific project
- Autonomy, self-organization and accountability
- Ability to work in a team
- Ability to travel abroad.

Documents to be provided
Applications should include a detailed CV; at least two references (who may be contacted); a cover letter; the master's dissertation; a copy of the highest diploma obtained.

Deadline for receipt of applications: 15/06/2020

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant.e en sociologie économique H/F, La division du travail de la donnée : Comment les réseaux multi-niveaux de micro-travail éclairent les enjeux socio-économiques de l'intelligence artificielle

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8623-PAOTUB-001
Lieu de travail : ORSAY
Date de publication : lundi 11 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Paola Tubaro
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Cette thèse explore l'apport du travail humain à la production de l'intelligence artificielle (IA) basée sur le machine learning, en mobilisant des méthodes de pointe en network science et en statistique, notamment la modélisation de graphes sociaux multi-niveaux. Il s'agira de cartographier les systèmes mondialisés de production de l'IA, en collectant des données sur les relations entre les clients (entreprises qui automatisent des processus métiers), les vendeurs de données (plateformes et autres intermédiaires), et en bout de chaîne, les « micro-travailleurs » précaires recrutés pour la génération et l'annotation des données). La passation de questionnaires lors de salons commerciaux et congrès internationaux dédiés à l'IA permettra d'enquêter sur les deux premiers groupes, alors qu'une enquête spécifique intégrant un « générateur de noms » sera menée auprès des micro-travailleurs via les plateformes sur lesquelles ils opèrent. Cette thèse est rattachée à un programme de recherche de plus grande ampleur sur les travailleurs de l'intelligence artificielle, impliquant plusieurs équipes françaises en sociologie, économie, linguistique et informatique.

Contexte de travail

Le/la doctorant.e sera encadré.e par Paola Tubaro, Chargée de Recherche CNRS habilitée à diriger des recherches, et co-encadré.e par Antonio A. Casilli, Professeur à Télécom Paris. Paola Tubaro et Antonio Casilli mènent depuis plusieurs années des recherches sur les travailleurs des plateformes numériques et l'économie de l'intelligence artificielle. Avec leurs doctorants et stagiaires, ils ont constitué une petite équipe informelle qui partage des questions de recherche et des outils, et qui se rencontre régulièrement pour des séminaires, ateliers et formations. Ils ont aussi co-fondé le réseau européen ENDL (European Network on Digital Labour) qui organise deux fois par an des journées d'étude internationales sur ces sujets, incluant un mini-colloque pour les doctorant.e.s. La personne recrutée sera amenée à intégrer ces groupes et à participer à ces activités collectives.

Contraintes et risques

Le/la doctorant.e sera inscrit.e à l'Ecole Doctorale Sciences Sociales et Humanités (SSH) à l'Université Paris-Saclay. Il/elle sera affilié.e au laboratoire IDHES (Institutions et Dynamiques Historiques de l'Economie et de la Société), et secondairement, au LRI (Laboratoire de Recherche en Informatique), pouvant ainsi bénéficier d'un double accueil en sciences sociales et en informatique. Des missions de courte durée en France et dans d'autres pays européens sont à prévoir pour la collecte des données.

Informations complémentaires

Compétences attendues :
- Formation Master (bac+5) en sociologie, économie, science politique ou discipline voisine
- Bonnes compétences statistiques (méthodes de sondage, réalisation de questionnaires, constitution de bases de données, visualisation et analyse des données)
- Bonne connaissance de l'analyse des réseaux sociaux
- Familiarité avec les problématiques et la littérature sur l'économie et/ou le travail des plateformes numériques
- Maitrise de l'anglais et du français
- Qualité rédactionnelle, capacité à formuler et conduire un projet scientifique
- Autonomie, capacité organisationnelle et capacité à rendre compte
- Aptitude à travailler en équipe
- Capacité à voyager à l'étranger

Documents à fournir
Les candidatures devront inclure un CV détaillé ; au moins deux références (personnes susceptibles d'être contactées) ; une lettre de motivation ; le mémoire de Master 2 ; une copie du dernier diplôme obtenu.

Date limite de réception des candidatures : 15/06/2020

On en parle sur Twitter !