By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Thesis : Participation in the development of the MIRS spectro-imager for the MMX (H/F) mission (H/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8109-SYLDES-014
Workplace : MEUDON
Date of publication : Friday, June 26, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Antonella Barucci
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

MMX (Mars Moons eXploration) is a mission of the Japanese space agency JAXA with a strong participation of CNES. By close observation and analysis of samples, the scientific objective of the mission is to reveal the origins of the moons of Mars and thus to try to answer the question of the role of small bodies in the formation of the planetary systems in the habitable zone. MMX will be launched in 2024 for a nominal mission duration of 5 years. MMX will take on board several scientific instruments including a rover and a sampling system which will be brought back to Earth at the end of the mission (2029). Among this scientific payload There is the MIRS instrument (MMX InfraRed Spectrometer), developed under the project management of LESIA (Laboratory of Space Studies and Instrumentation in Astrophysics, at the Paris Observatory) and of CNES, with important contributions from other CNRS laboratories.
MIRS is an infrared imaging spectrometer in the 0.9 - 3.6 µm spectral range. MIRS will perform the spectral mapping of Phobos and Deimos thus addressing the scientific questions of the formation of the Martian system but will also contribute, by the observation of Mars, to better understand the atmospheric processes of this planet. By observing Phobos at different scales (from the global to a few centimeters) MIRS will be one of the instruments contributing to the choice of the sampling site.
The objective of the thesis will be to participate in the development of the instrument by performing its calibrations.

Work Context

LESIA, Laboratoire d'Etudes Spatiales et d'Instrumentation en Astrophysique, is a laboratory of Paris Observatory, located on the Meudon site. LESIA is specialized in the instrumentation of scientific instruments for space and ground-based astrophysics.

The different steps of the thesis are:

1) Familiarize yourself with the spectroscopy obtained by the OSIRIS-Rex (NASA) and Hayabusa2 (JAXA) space missions respectively on the two asteroids Bennu and Ryugu. An analysis of Bennu and Ryugu data will be performed. (October 2020-March 2021)
2) Participate in the definition of ground calibrations (2021 - 2022)
3) Data analysis, reconstruction of cubes (2022 - early 2023)
4) Writing the thesis (since the beginning of 2023 with a defense in October 2023)
The objectives of the thesis for the student will be to follow the different phases of the development of the instrument with control of the scientific objectives.
The development of the instrument is based on the building of 3 models: STM, QM and FM. The student will be able to follow the different steps in the realization of each models and the characterization of certain subsystems (detector, scanner, optical quality, etc.) that will be necessary in order to assess the performance assessment (radiometric and geometric) of the 'instrument. Especially for the QM and FM models.
Calibration is a major step in evaluating the performance of the integrated instrument under thermal and illumination conditions similar to those that the instrument will encounter in flight. The student will participate in the calibration by defining and implementing the measurement sequences. An intimate knowledge of the instrument will be required to interpret the calibration data and assess the impact of instrumental biases on scientific data.

Constraints and risks

The candidate must hold a Master 2 or an engineering degree in the fields of optics or astronomical instrumentation;
Knowledge of data analysis, Python.
No risk, because the data on Ryugu and Bennu are already available (by the Hyabusa2 and OSIRIS-Rex missions).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse : Participation au développement du spectro imageur MIRS pour la mission MMX (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8109-SYLDES-014
Lieu de travail : MEUDON
Date de publication : vendredi 26 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Antonella Barucci
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

MMX (Mars Moons eXploration) est une mission de l'agence spatiale japonaise JAXA avec une forte participation du CNES. Par l'observation rapprochée et l'analyse d'échantillons, l'objectif scientifique de la mission est de révéler les origines des lunes de Mars et ainsi de tenter de répondre à la question du rôle des petits corps dans la formation des systèmes planétaires de la zone habitable. MMX sera lancé en 2024 pour une durée nominale de mission de 5 ans. MMX embarquera à son bord plusieurs instruments scientifiques dont un rover et un système de prélèvement d'échantillons qui seront ramenés sur Terre à la fin de la mission (2029). Parmi cette charge utile scientifique on trouve l'instrument MIRS (MMX InfraRed Spectrometer), développé sous la maîtrise d'œuvre du LESIA (Laboratoire d'Etudes Spatiales et d'Instrumentation en Astrophysique, à l'Observatoire de Paris) et la maîtrise d'ouvrage du CNES, avec d'importantes contributions des autres laboratoires CNRS.
MIRS est un spectromètre imageur infrarouge dans la bande spectrale 0,9 – 3,6 µm. MIRS fera la cartographie spectrale de Phobos et Deimos adressant ainsi les questions scientifiques de la formation du système planétaire mais contribuera également par l'observation de Mars à mieux comprendre les processus atmosphériques de cette planète. Par l'observation à différentes échelles de Phobos (de globale jusqu'à quelques centimètres) MIRS fera partie des instruments contribuant au choix du site de prélèvement d'échantillons.

L'objectif de la thèse sera de participer au développement de l'instrument en réalisant les étalonnages de l'instrument.

Contexte de travail

Le LESIA, Laboratoire d'Etudes Spatiales et d'Instrumentation en Astrophysique, est un laboratoire de l'Observatoire de Paris, situé sur le site de Meudon. Le LESIA est spécialisé dans l'instrumentation d'instruments scientifiques pour l'astrophysique spatiale et sol.

Les différentes étapes de la thèse sont :

-Se familiariser avec la spectroscopie obtenue par les missions spatiales OSIRIS-Rex (NASA) et Hayabusa2 (JAXA) respectivement sur les deux astéroïdes Bennu et Ryugu. Une analyse des données de Bennu et Ryugu sera effectuée. (Octobre 2020-Mars 2021)
-Participer à la définition des étalonnages sol (2021 - 2022)
-Analyse des données, reconstruction des cubes (2022 – début 2023)
-Rédaction de la thèse (depuis début 2023 avec une soutenance en Octobre 2023)
Les objectifs de la thèse pour l'étudiant(e) seront de suivre les différentes étapes du développement de l'instrument avec contrôle des objectifs scientifiques.
Le développement de l'instrument est basé sur la fabrication de 3 modèles : STM, QM et FM. L'étudiant(e) pourra suivre les différentes étapes de chacun des modèles et la caractérisation de certains sous-systèmes (détecteur, scanner, qualité optique…) qui seront nécessaires afin d'évaluer le bilan de performances (radiométrique et géométrique) de l'instrument. En particulier pour les modèles QM et FM.
L'étalonnage constitue une étape majeure de l'évaluation des performances de l'instrument intégré dans des conditions thermiques et d'illumination similaires à celles que l'instrument rencontrera en vol. L'étudiant(e) participera à l'étalonnage en définissant et en mettant en place les séquences de mesure. Une connaissance intime de l'instrument sera nécessaire pour interpréter les données d'étalonnage et évaluer l'impact des biais instrumentaux sur les données scientifiques.

Contraintes et risques

Le·la candidat·e doit être titulaire d'un Master 2 ou d'un diplôme d'ingénieur dans les domaines de l'optique ou de l'instrumentation astronomique;
Connaissances analyse data, Python.
Pas de risque, car les données sur Ryugu et Bennu sont déjà disponibles (par les missions Hyabusa2 et OSIRIS-Rex).

On en parle sur Twitter !