By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Ph. D. (H/F) "Single Photon Counters for the Ultra-Strong Light-Matter Coupling Regime"

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8023-YANTOD-017
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Yanko Todorov
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 10 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

When an emitter is placed in a microcavity, the emission and the absorption of photons become reversible processes, and the system enters a new regime known as strong light-matter coupling. In this regime two new quantum quasiparticles emerge, known as polaritons, that are admixtures of photons and electronic excitations. Recently, the ultra-strong coupling regime has been observed in semiconductor devices [1]: in this limit, the coupling strength becomes extremely high and the polaritons are expected to become highly non-classical states of radiation [2]. It even becomes possible to extract radiation from the polariton vacuum, an effect known as dynamical Casimir effect [3] that is similar to the Hawking radiation from black holes.
The mission of the PhD candidate is to develop a new type of quantum detectors of radiation that are able to detect and count single infrared photons (wavelength~10µm) [4]. These detectors will be applied for the study the ultra-strong light-matter coupling regime in quantum devices. Our goal is to detect the Casimir radiation from the polariton vacuum and to evidence the quantum-optical properties of the polariton states, which have never been observed before. Besides the fundamental research, such detectors can find many applications such as near field spectroscopy of novel two dimensional materials, as well as the study of radiation properties of mid-infrared quantum cascade lasers. The Ph.D. student will conceive and fabricate detectors, starting from 3D numerical modeling, through clean-room processing and optical characterization of the structures. She/he will acquire not only strong scientific expertise in solid state physics and devices, quantum optics, but also in nanofabrication techniques.
[1] Y. Todorov, et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 105, 196402 (2010).
[2] M. Artoni and J. L. Birman, Phys. Rev. B 44, 3736 (1991).
[3] C. Ciuti, G. Bastard, and I. Carusotto, Phys. Rev. B 72, 115303 (2005).
[4] T. Ueda and S. Komiyama, Sensors 10, 8411 (2010).

Work Context

This thesis project is funded by the ERC project UNIQUE attributed to Yanko Todorov of the QUAD team at the Physics Laboratory of the Ecole Normale Supérieur, (LPENS). The objective of the project is to uncover quantum phenomena specific to the ultra-strong light-matter coupling regime in semiconductor quantum devices. The LPENS laboratory is located in the historic heart of the Latin Quarter in Paris, and has the entire infrastructure necessary for the smooth running of the project, including a clean room facility. Complete information on the laboratory is available on the website https://www.lpens.ens.psl.eu/. Part of the nano-manufacturing is planned in the clean room of the Grandes Moulin campus at the University of Paris (consortium of Paris-Center clean rooms).

Constraints and risks

Standard risks linked to manufacturing in a clean room (training will be provided).

Additional Information

https://erc.europa.eu/projects-figures/erc-funded-projects/results?search_api_views_fulltext=todorov

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Ph. D. (H/F) "Single Photon Counters for the Ultra-Strong Light-Matter Coupling Regime"

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8023-YANTOD-017
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : mercredi 20 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Yanko Todorov
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 10 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Lorsqu'un émetteur est placé dans une microcavité, l'émission et l'absorption de photons deviennent des processus réversibles et le système entre dans un nouveau régime connu sous le nom de couplage fort lumière-matière. Dans ce régime émergent deux nouvelles quasiparticules quantiques, appelées polaritons, qui sont des mélanges de photons et d'excitations électroniques. Récemment, le régime de couplage ultra-fort a été observé dans les dispositifs semi-conducteurs [1]: dans cette limite, la force de couplage devient extrêmement élevée et les polaritons devraient devenir des états de rayonnement non-classiques [2]. Il devient même possible d'extraire du rayonnement à partir du vide polaritonique, un effet connu sous le nom d'effet Casimir dynamique [3] qui est similaire au rayonnement Hawking des trous noirs.
La mission du doctorant est de développer un nouveau type de détecteurs quantiques de rayonnement capables de détecter et de compter des photons infrarouges uniques (longuer d'onde ~ 10µm) [4]. Ces détecteurs seront appliqués pour l'étude du régime de couplage ultra-fort lumière-matière dans les dispositifs quantiques. Notre objectif est de détecter le rayonnement Casimir à partir du vide polaritonique et de mettre en évidence les propriétés d'optique quantique des états du polariton, qui n'ont jamais été observées auparavant. Outre la recherche fondamentale, ces détecteurs peuvent trouver de nombreuses applications telles que la spectroscopie en champ proche de nouveaux matériaux bidimensionnels, ainsi que l'étude des propriétés de rayonnement des lasers à cascade quantique moyen infrarouge. Le doctorat l'étudiant concevra et fabriquera des détecteurs, à partir de la modélisation numérique 3D, en passant par le traitement en salle blanche et la caractérisation optique des structures. Elle acquiert non seulement une solide expertise scientifique en physique et dispositifs du solide, en optique quantique, mais aussi en techniques de nanofabrication.
[1] Y. Todorov, et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 105, 196402 (2010).
[2] M. Artoni and J. L. Birman, Phys. Rev. B 44, 3736 (1991).
[3] C. Ciuti, G. Bastard, and I. Carusotto, Phys. Rev. B 72, 115303 (2005).
[4] T. Ueda and S. Komiyama, Sensors 10, 8411 (2010).

Contexte de travail

Ce projet de thèse est financé par le project ERC UNIQUE attribué à Yanko Todorov de l'équipe QUAD du Laboratoire de Physique de l'Ecole Normale Supérieur, (LPENS). L'objectif du projet est de rendre accessible les phénomènes quantiques spécifiques au régime de couplage lumière-matière ultra-fort dans des dispositifs quantiques à semi-conducteur. Le laboratoire LPENS se situe dans le cœur historique de quartier latin à Paris, et dispose de toute l'infrastructure nécessaire pour le bon déroulement du projet, y compris une centrale technologique. Une information complète sur le laboratoire est accessible sur le site web https://www.lpens.ens.psl.eu/. Une partie de la nano-fabrication est prévue dans la salle blanche du campus des Grandes Moulin à l'Université de Paris (consortium des salles blanches Paris-Centre).

Contraintes et risques

Risques standards liés à la fabrication en centrale technologique (une formation sera dispensée).

Informations complémentaires

https://erc.europa.eu/projects-figures/erc-funded-projects/results?search_api_views_fulltext=todorov

On en parle sur Twitter !