By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD student (M/F): Integrative analysis of the role of drosophila pigmentation in the adaptation to spatial and temporal temperature heterogeneity.

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7622-JEAGIB-001
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Jean-Michel Gibert et Amandine Véber
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Biological Context:
In Drosophila melanogaster, abdominal pigmentation is genetically variable and a few genes with major effects on this trait have been identified in natural populations. Moreover, abdominal pigmentation shows phenotypic plasticity. Indeed, it is darker when flies develop at low temperatures. Previous studies have shown in other insects that dark individuals warm up more rapidly and are more active. The project aims to test the role of drosophila pigmentation in temperature adaptation using an integrative approach combining mathematical modelling, simulations and laboratory experiments.
Methods :
The temperature of differently pigmented drosophila illuminated by light that mimics sunlight will be analysed by calorimetry using a thermal camera that can detect minute differences in temperature. Similarly, the motor activity of differently pigmented drosophila will be quantified and analysed. In addition, it is possible to indirectly test an adaptive role of abdominal pigmentation by analysing variations in the frequency of alleles of genes involved in this trait in response to temperature variations. For this, the PhD student will model the variations in allele frequencies of a small number of genes involved in pigmentation in response to spatial (latitude) and temporal (seasonal) temperature variations, taking into account that abdominal pigmentation has both genetic and environmental bases. The results of the modelling will be compared with data from natural populations through the DrosEU consortium, which is sequencing Drosophila melanogaster populations sampled at different locations and times in Europe.
Expected results :
This integrative approach should lead to a better understanding of the role of drosophila abdominal pigmentation in temperature adaptation. Modelling and analysis of natural population data will allow to assess the relative contributions of genetic variation and phenotypic plasticity in temperature adaptation. Indeed, both phenotypic plasticity and maintenance of genetic variation by balancing selection in response to temperature can contribute to spatial and temporal variation in pigmentation.

Work Context

This project will take place between the laboratories of the Ecole Polytechnique (Palaiseau) and the Institut de Biologie Paris-Seine (Paris) under the direction of Amandine Véber (CRCN CNRS, Centre de Mathématiques Appliquées de l'Ecole Polytechnique) and Jean-Michel Gibert (CRCN CNRS, Laboratoire de Biologie du Développement, IBPS, Sorbonne Université CNRS). Collaborators specialised in calorimetry (Philippe Cristol, Institute of Electronics and Systems, Montpellier), modelling of phenotypic plasticity (Luis-Miguel Chevin, Centre d'écologie fonctionnelle et évolutive, Montpellier), mathematical modelling (Sylvie Méléard, Centre de Mathématiques Appliquées de l'Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau) and analysis of the activity and ageing of fruit flies (Michaël Rera, Centre de Recherche Interdisciplinaire, Paris) will support the project. The three-year thesis contract is funded by the CNRS, through the Mission for Transverse and Interdisciplinary Initiatives (MITI).

Constraints and risks

No specific constraints and risks

Additional Information

The candidate must hold a master's or engineering degree. A strong motivation for mathematical modelling is required as well as a minimum knowledge of modelling tools. The position requires good oral and written communication skills (English required). We are looking for a curious and enthusiastic young researcher who will be able to work in a team on multidisciplinary projects. Applications should include a detailed CV, at least two references (who may be contacted), a one-page cover letter, a one-page summary of the master thesis and grades from Master 1 and 2 or engineering school

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant.e (H/F) : analyse intégrative du rôle de la pigmentation des drosophiles dans l'adaptation à l'hétérogénéité spatiale et temporelle de la température

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7622-JEAGIB-001
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : mercredi 20 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jean-Michel Gibert et Amandine Véber
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Contexte biologique :
Chez Drosophila melanogaster, la pigmentation abdominale est génétiquement variable et quelques gènes avec des effets majeurs sur ce trait ont été mis en évidence dans les populations naturelles. De plus, la pigmentation abdominale montre de la plasticité phénotypique. En effet, elle est plus foncée lorsque les drosophiles se développent à basse température. Des travaux ont montré chez d'autres insectes que les individus sombres se réchauffaient plus rapidement et étaient plus actifs. Le projet vise à tester le rôle de la pigmentation des drosophiles dans l'adaptation à la température par une approche intégrative mêlant modélisation mathématique, simulations et expériences en laboratoire.
Méthodes :
La température de drosophiles différemment pigmentées et éclairées par une lumière mimant celle du soleil sera analysée par calorimétrie au moyen d'une caméra thermique pouvant détecter des différences minimes de températures. De même, l'activité motrice de drosophiles différemment pigmentées sera quantifiée et analysée. Par ailleurs, il est possible de tester indirectement un rôle adaptatif de la pigmentation abdominale en analysant les variations de fréquence des allèles des gènes impliqués dans ce trait en réponse aux variations de température. Pour cela, le.la doctorant.e modélisera les variations des fréquences alléliques à un petit nombre de gènes impliqués dans la pigmentation en réponse aux variations spatiales (latitude) et temporelles (variations saisonnières) de température en prenant en compte que la pigmentation abdominale a à la fois des bases génétiques et environnementales. Les résultats des modélisations seront comparés à des données de populations naturelles grâce au consortium DrosEU qui séquence des populations de Drosophila melanogaster échantillonnées à différents endroits et différents moments en Europe.
Résultats attendus :
Cette approche intégrative devrait permettre de mieux comprendre le rôle de la pigmentation abdominale des drosophiles dans l'adaptation à la température. La modélisation et l'analyse des données des populations naturelles permettront d'évaluer les contributions relatives de la variation génétique et de la plasticité phénotypique dans l'adaptation aux variations de température. En effet la plasticité phénotypique et le maintien de variation génétique par sélection équilibrante en réponse à la température peuvent tous les deux contribuer à la variation spatiale et temporelle de la pigmentation.

Contexte de travail

Ce projet se déroulera entre les laboratoires de l'Ecole Polytechnique (Palaiseau) et de l'Institut de Biologie Paris-Seine (Paris) sous la direction d'Amandine Véber (CRCN CNRS, Centre de Mathématiques Appliquées de l'Ecole Polytechnique) et Jean-Michel Gibert (CRCN CNRS), Laboratoire de Biologie du Développement, IBPS, Sorbonne Université CNRS). Des collaborateurs spécialistes de calorimétrie (Philippe Cristol, Institut d'électronique et des systèmes, Montpellier), de modélisation de la plasticité phénotypique (Luis-Miguel Chevin, Centre d'écologie fonctionnelle et évolutive, Montpellier), de modélisation mathématique (Sylvie Méléard, Centre de Mathématiques appliquées de l'Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau) et de l'analyse de l'activité et du vieillissement des drosophiles (Michaël Rera, Centre de Recherche Interdisciplinaire, Paris) apporteront leur soutien au projet. Le contrat de thèse de trois ans est financé par le CNRS, par la mission pour les initiatives transverses et interdisciplinaires (MITI).

Contraintes et risques

Pas de contraintes et risques spécifiques

Informations complémentaires

Le candidat devra être titulaire d'un diplôme de master ou d'ingénieur. Une forte motivation pour la modélisation mathématique est nécessaire de même qu'un minimum de connaissances sur les outils de modélisation. Le poste nécessite de bonnes aptitudes de communication orale et écrite (anglais nécessaire). Nous recherchons un/une jeune chercheur.se curieux.se et enthousiaste qui saura travailler en équipe sur des projets pluridisciplinaires. Les candidatures devront inclure un CV détaillé, au moins deux références (personnes susceptibles d'être contactées), une lettre de motivation d'une page, un résumé d'une page du mémoire de master et les notes de Master 1 et 2 ou d'école d'ingénieur.

On en parle sur Twitter !