By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Impact of atmospheric particles chemical composition on their oxidizing potential H/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7376-HENWOR0-001
Workplace : MARSEILLE 02
Date of publication : Friday, June 19, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Henri WORTHAM
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Atmospheric particles (PM) are responsible for about 43,000 premature deaths per year in France. However, these estimates are based on mass concentrations of PM (µg.m-3 air) without taking into account the toxicity of their chemical constituents. In-vitro tests of Oxidative Potential (PO) measurement have been recently developed to estimate the harmfulness of PM, and an automatic continuous measurement device is in development at the IGE. After validation of this device by inter-comparison with off-line PO measurements on particles collected on filter, the objective of the project will be to study, by laboratory and field experiments, the causal link between the PO level and the detailed PM chemical composition. Particular attention will be paid to the joint evolution of PO and PM chemistry during the progressive PM oxidation in the atmosphere. This work will open up perspectives of primary importance for air quality management since the joint analysis of the chemistry and PO of PM should allow a coupled identification of the PM sources and their health impact.

Work Context

This thesis work will be a closely collaboration between the Laboratory of Environmental Chemistry (LCE, UMR7376, Marseilles France) and the Institute of Environmental Geosciences (IGE, UMR5001, Grenoble France) in order to associate the online measurement device of the PO of atmospheric aerosols (toxicity proxy) developed at the IGE with the online measurement devices for organic and mineral chemical composition available at LCE. The main location for the thesis will be the Aix-Marseille site (St Charles campus in Marseilles) but frequent travel and stays of a few weeks will be organized at the Grenoble University campus in St Martin d'Hères. The doctoral student will be enrolled at the Doctoral School "Environmental Sciences" (ED 251) of the University of Aix-Marseille but will benefit from the double supervision of Pr. Henri Wortham from the University of Aix-Marseille and Ms. Gaelle Uzu from Grenoble Alpes University.
As a result, applicants must hold a Masters or equivalent diploma. During the PhD thesis, the candidate will have to operate the analyzers and then process the data from the systems for measuring the PO and the chemical composition of atmospheric aerosols. Therefore, applicants must have solid skills in chemistry, especially in analytical chemistry, as well as in statistics for data processing. In analytical chemistry, experience with aerosol mass spectrometers (AMS, ACSM, etc.) is desired, while in statistical processing knowledge of software such as IGOR or R is requested.

Additional Information

The PhD work include participation to field campaigns in France and possibly in Europe. The campaigns duration will be a few weeks (4 to 8 weeks). The dates are not yet known but will be strongly constrained by the availability of the partners, the climatic conditions and the availability of the instruments. This will have implications on annual leave dates.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Impact de la composition chimique des particules atmosphériques sur leur potentiel oxydant H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7376-HENWOR0-001
Lieu de travail : MARSEILLE 02
Date de publication : vendredi 19 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Henri WORTHAM
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les particules (PM) atmosphériques sont responsables d'environ 43 000 décès prématurés par an en France. Cependant, ces estimations sont réalisées à partir des concentrations massiques des PM (µg.m-3 d'air) sans tenir compte de la toxicité de leurs constituants. Des tests in-vitro de mesure du Potentiel Oxydant (PO) ont été récemment développés pour estimer la nocivité des PM, et un dispositif de mesure automatique en continu est en développement à l'IGE. Après avoir validé ce dispositif, par inter-comparaison avec des mesures du PO avec des prélèvements sur filtres, l'objectif du projet sera d'étudier, par des expérimentations en laboratoire et de terrain, le lien existant entre le PO et la composition chimique détaillée des PM. Une attention particulière sera portée sur l'évolution conjointe du PO et de la chimie des PM lors de l'oxydation progressive des PM dans l'atmosphère. Ce travail ouvrira des perspectives de première importance pour la gestion de la qualité de l'air puisque l'analyse conjointe de la chimie et du PO des PM devrait permettre une identification couplée des sources de PM et de leur contribution à leur impact sanitaire.

Contexte de travail

Ce travail de thèse fera l'objet d'une collaboration entre le Laboratoire de Chimie de l'environnement (LCE, UMR7376) à Marseille et l'Institut de Géosciences de l'Environnement (IGE, UMR5001) afin d'associer les systèmes de mesure en ligne du potentiel oxydant des aérosols (proxy de la toxicité) développés à l'IGE avec les dispositifs de mesure en ligne de la composition chimique organique et minérale mis en œuvre au LCE. Le lieu principal de réalisation de la thèse sera le site Aix-Marseille (campus St Charles à Marseille) mais de fréquents déplacements et des séjours de plusieurs semaines sur le campus Universitaire de Grenoble à St Martin d'Hères seront organisés. Le doctorant sera inscrit à l'Ecole Doctorale « Sciences de l'Environnement » (ED 251) de l'Université Aix-Marseille mais bénéficiera du double encadrement du Pr. Henri Wortham pour l'Université Aix-Marseille et de Mme Gaelle Uzu pour l'Université Grenoble Alpes.
Les candidats devront être titulaires d'un Master ou d'un diplôme équivalent. Lors des expérimentations, le candidat devra mettre en œuvre les outils d'analyses puis traiter les données issues des systèmes de mesure du potentiel oxydant et de la composition chimique des aérosols atmosphériques. Il devra donc avoir de solides compétences en chimie, et plus particulièrement en chimie analytique, ainsi qu'en statistique pour le traitement des données. En chimie analytique, une expérience sur des spectromètres de masse aérosols (AMS, ACSM…) serait la bienvenu tandis qu'en traitement statistique une connaissance des logiciels tels qu'IGOR ou R sont nécessaire.

Informations complémentaires

La réalisation des travaux de thèse implique la participation à des campagnes de terrain en France et éventuellement en Europe. La durée de des campagnes sera de quelques semaines (4 à 8 semaines). Les dates ne sont pas encore connues mais seront fortement contraintes par la disponibilité des partenaires, les conditions climatiques et la disponibilité des instruments ce qui aura des implications sur les dates de prise des congés.

On en parle sur Twitter !