En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

PhD position M/F on “Elaboration of porous polymer membranes for precise localization of porous silicon”

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : jeudi 6 mai 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7374-NICNOU-012
Workplace : ORLEANS
Date of publication : Thursday, April 15, 2021
Scientific Responsible name : Christophe SINTUREL
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2021
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

This PhD thesis proposal deals with an innovative approach in porous silicon etching. The final objective is to obtain well-controlled pore morphologies using perforated polymer membranes deposited on the silicon wafer surface before porous silicon formation. The ability of this novel method to localize micro or nano-sized pores will be evaluated.

Porous silicon (PS) is a nanostructured material able to answer to many application requirements in microelectronics or energy storage (e.g. power or RF devices, supercapacitor or battery electrodes…). This nanostructured material is generally formed by electrochemical etching (anodic dissolution) of crystalline silicon wafers in hydrofluoric acid (HF) based electrolytes. According to the substrate doping, the crystalline orientation, the electrolyte composition and the electrochemical etching conditions (applied current, duration, etc…), various morphologies can be achieved. The pore dimensions vary from a few nanometers to several micrometers.
The GREMAN laboratory is internationally recognized for its expertise in the field of PS synthesis. In this project, we propose to implement an innovative process that aims to precisely localize the pore growth at the silicon surface combining electrochemical etching in HF electrolyte and perforated polymer membranes. The latter will be developed by the ICMN laboratory which is specialized in the synthesis of porous polymer membranes with pore size varying from a few nanometers (auto-organized block-polymers) to some microns (phase separation in polymer blends, breath figures). This bottom-up approach can lead to a wide variety of geometries and sizes and could help to produce controlled PS morphology without any photolithography step. This thesis will be also the opportunity to study the etching mechanisms involved in this specific configuration, which strongly differs from a silicon surface-free etching process. In particular, a high resistance against HF corrosion is mandatory therefore the use of fluorated polymers could be relevant. These systems that have not been studied so far in the ICMN will be developed during this thesis.
This work will benefit from the ICMN expertise and all the characterization equipments available in the lab (microscopy, X-ray diffraction…). The part of the work dedicated to the masking materials validation will be performed in the GREMAN lab (film adhesion during etching, resistance to HF…). Finally, once the adequate polymers are identified and the etching conditions optimized (HF concentration, anodization current density…), this process will be applied to relevant applications such as supercapacitor electrodes. Transfer to industrial applications will be also envisioned trough the implication of the company SiLiMiXT, a provider of porous silicon technologies to the market.

Work Context

The CNRS is a public multidisciplinary scientific research body, placed under the supervision of the Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation. It employs 32,000 people in more than 1,100 research laboratories in France and abroad. This research project concerns two mixed research units of the Regional Delegation of the CNRS “Centre, Limousin, Poitou-Charentes (DR08)”:
* the ICMN (UMR 7374, CNRS / University of Orléans) : 46 agents, including 36 permanent staff
* the GREMAN (UMR 7347, CNRS / University of Tours) : 114 agents, including 72 permanent staff.

The areas of expertise of these laboratories relate to the study of nanostructured materials at ICMN and materials for microelectronics, acoustics and nanotechnologies for GREMAN. This project will also be conducted in partnership with the company SiLiMiXT, a supplier of porous Si-based technology.
For both laboratories, the doctoral school concerned is ED EMSTU, which is co-accredited between the universities of Orleans, Tours and INSA CVL. Registration for a doctorate will be done at the University of Orleans. The thesis will be co-supervised by Christophe Sinturel (PU at ICMN) and Gael Gautier (PU at GREMAN) and will benefit from the supervision of Marylène Vayer (CR CNRS at ICMN), Thomas Defforges (MCF at GREMAN) and Sébastien Desplobain (SiLiMiXT).
The doctoral student will benefit from all the technical and human resources necessary for the realization of this project on the different sites, from the realization of the perforated polymer membranes, to the etching of the silicon, with particular interest in the transfer of technology.

Constraints and risks

During the first two years, the doctoral student will have the Orléans site as his main location, but may be required to carry out work campaigns on the Tours site. During the last part of the thesis, depending on the direction taken by the thesis, he (she) could exercise his / her activities primarily in Tours.

The doctoral student will be registered at the University of Orléans, which will facilitate the administrative formalities at the start of the thesis and interactions with the doctoral school. The dematerialization of the re-registration process will simplify subsequent procedures, regardless of the location of the doctoral student.

Additional Information

People in charge of the interview :
Christophe Sinturel (ICMN, Orléans)
Gaël Gautier (GREMAN, Tours)

The candidate must hold an engineering degree and / or a master's degree in materials science, with in particular good knowledge in material chemistry and electrochemistry. Skills in the field of semiconductors and microelectronics would be appreciated. Good oral and written communication skills (French and English) are also required to present at conferences and write articles in scientific journals. We are looking for a candidate who will know how to get involved in his project, with good autonomy, strong motivation and able to work in a team on multidisciplinary projects.
Applications should include a detailed CV; at least two references (people likely to be contacted); a one-page cover letter; a one-page summary of the master's thesis; Master 1 or 2 or engineering school grades).

The deadline for sending applications is 04/25/2021.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant H/F « Elaboration de membranes de polymères perforées pour la localisation précise de silicium poreux »

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : jeudi 6 mai 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7374-NICNOU-012
Lieu de travail : ORLEANS
Date de publication : jeudi 15 avril 2021
Nom du responsable scientifique : Christophe SINTUREL
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2021
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Une approche inédite de fabrication de silicium poreux avec des dimensions, des morphologies et une organisation des pores contrôlée est proposée. Elle met en œuvre un procédé de localisation de la gravure par des membranes polymères auto-organisées perforées déposées à surface du silicium.

De nouvelles applications mettant en œuvre les propriétés bien particulières du silicium poreux (SiP) voient le jour continuellement. On peut notamment citer les applications dans le domaine de l'électronique nomade ou de l'énergie qui accompagnent aujourd'hui la démarche de transition énergétique (composants de puissance et RF, électrodes de supercondensateurs et batteries Li …).
Le laboratoire GREMAN est reconnu pour son expertise dans la production de SiP par gravure électrochimique. Par cette méthode, les morphologies réalisables sont extrêmement variées. Afin de mieux contrôler les caractéristiques des structures poreuses, nous proposons de guider la gravure par un procédé inédit utilisant des membranes polymères perforées déposées à la surface du silicium. L'ICMN s'est spécialisé dans la réalisation de couches minces poreuses organisées de polymères, structurées à des échelles de tailles allant du nm (auto-organisation de copolymères à blocs) au µm (séparation de phase dans des mélanges de polymères, breath figures …). Obtenues par des procédés « bottom-up », ces couches minces perforées présentent une grande palette de géométries et dimensions qui permettraient la réalisation de silicium poreux « à la demande ». Au-delà de l'intérêt applicatif (gravure sans étape de photolithographie) de cette approche, l'enjeu est d'examiner les mécanismes de gravure du silicium en situation « contrainte », qui s'écarte des méthodes de gravure conventionnelle généralement obtenue en surface libre. Un des verrous consistera à produire des films polymères résistants aux conditions de gravures (HF). L'utilisation de polymères fluorés pourrait s'avérer pertinente et nécessitera de développer à l'ICMN des systèmes originaux pour lesquels les mécanismes de nanostructuration n'ont pas encore été étudiés.
Ce travail bénéficiera des expertises et du matériel de caractérisation adapté présent à l'ICMN (microscopie à champ proche, nouvelle plateforme MET, diffusion des rayons X aux petits angles …). La partie de l'étude réalisée au GREMAN consistera à valider ces nouveaux matériaux de masquage (adhérence au silicium, résistance au HF…). Une fois identifiés les polymères les plus adaptés au procédé de gravure, les conditions d'anodisation (courant, durée, composition de l'électrolyte) seront étudiées et optimisées pour quelques applications typiques et en particulier, les électrodes de super-condensateurs. Le transfert de technologie pour la mise en place d'un procédé industrialisable sera étudié avec le partenaire industriel de la thèse, la société SiLiMIXT, fournisseur de technologies à base de silicium poreux.

Contexte de travail

Le CNRS est un organisme public de recherche scientifique pluridisciplinaire, placé sous la tutelle du ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche et de l'Innovation. Il emploie 32 000 personnes dans plus de 1 100 laboratoires de recherche en France et à l'étranger. Ce projet de recherche concerne deux unités mixtes de recherche de la Délégation Régionale du CNRS Centre, Limousin, Poitou-Charentes (DR08) :
• l'ICMN (UMR 7374, CNRS/Université d'Orléans) : 46 agents, dont 36 permanents
• le GREMAN (UMR 7347, CNRS/Université de Tours/INSA Centre-Val de Loire) : 114 agents, dont 72 permanents.

Les domaines d'expertise de ces laboratoires concernent l'étude des matériaux nanostructurés à l'ICMN et les matériaux pour la microélectronique, l'acoustique et les nanotechnologies pour le GREMAN. Ce projet sera également conduit en partenariat avec la société SiLiMiXT, un fournisseur de technologie à base de Si poreux.
Pour les deux laboratoires, l'école doctorale concernée est l'ED EMSTU, qui est co-habilitée entre les universités d'Orléans, de Tours et l'INSA CVL. L'inscription en doctorat se fera à l'Université d'Orléans. La thèse sera co-dirigée par Christophe Sinturel (PU à l'ICMN) et Gaël Gautier (PU au GREMAN) et bénéficiera de l'encadrement de Marylène Vayer (CR CNRS à l'ICMN), de Thomas Defforge (MCF au GREMAN) et de Sébastien Desplobain (SiLiMiXT).
Le(la) doctorant(e) bénéficiera de tous les moyens techniques et humains nécessaires à la réalisation de ce projet sur les différents sites, depuis la réalisation des membranes de polymères perforées, jusqu'à la gravure du silicium, avec intérêt particulier au transfert de technologie.

Contraintes et risques

Pendant les deux premières années, le(la) doctorant(e) aura pour localisation principale le site d'Orléans mais pourra être amené(e) à réaliser des campagnes de travaux sur le site de Tours. Pendant la dernière partie de la thèse, en fonction de la direction prise par la thèse, il (elle) pourrait exercer ses activités prioritairement à Tours.
Le doctorant sera inscrit à l'Université d'Orléans ce qui facilitera les formalités administratives de début de thèse et les interactions avec l'école doctorale. La dématérialisation du processus de réinscription simplifiera les démarches ultérieures, quelle que soit la localisation du(de la) doctorant(e).

Informations complémentaires

Personnes en charge de l'entretien :
Recruteur 1 : Christophe Sinturel (ICMN, Orléans)
Recruteur 2 : Gaël Gautier (GREMAN, Tours)

On en parle sur Twitter !