By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Ph'D student contract (M/F) in Laser-Matter interaction

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7341-OLIUTE-002
Workplace : MARSEILLE 09
Date of publication : Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Olivier Utéza and Marc Sentis
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Damage to solid targets by ultra-short laser pulses critically raises the problem of the fragility of optical components, particularly those incorporating metallic structures that allow them to have an achromatic highly-reflective capability over a very wide spectral range. This fragility is, for example, a key point in the operation of ultra-short power laser sources (femtosecond PW lasers), and to access relativistic optics and its applications (particle acceleration, quantum electrodynamics, microphotonics and relativistic microelectronics). Moreover, when the peak laser power is lower, femtosecond laser sources are able to induce remote, localized and volume/surface interactions in most materials. The extreme agility of these lasers is thus a source of important advances, particularly for applications such as the local structuring of materials to give them a specific function (optics/photonics, tribology, etc.).
In the context of a first Ph'D funding (2016-2019), we have been able to demonstrate that the damage of a dielectric material in ultrashort regime is facilitated (reduction of the damage threshold fluence) compared to longer pulse durations. We have also shown that reducing the pulse duration to a few optical cycles (10-15 fs) does not induce any particular enhanced vulnerability in the case of metallic targets.
These results, original at such pulse durations, may seem surprising or contradictory and the core of the work proposed in this Ph'D thesis will be positioned in a double perspective, fundamental and applied. The aim will be to gain a detailed understanding of laser heating in the ultra-short regime, particularly in the case of transition (e.g. tungsten, nickel) and post-transition (aluminum) metallic materials, and then to apply this knowledge to develop smart irradiation strategies (multi-spectral, multi-pulse) making it possible to reduce (or increase) the energy dose necessary for material damage or structuring.

Understanding and shaping the transformation of a material in an agile and energy-efficient manner as allowed by an ultra-short laser pulse will therefore promote the emergence of a key technology for the development of intelligent functionalized materials and propose solutions to reduce the vulnerability of optical components. The subject of this thesis work thus addresses two themes that are currently undergoing strong expansion and vitality, Photonics and Materials.

Work Context

The LP3 laboratory is composed of about thirty people, and it is a joint research unit (UMR 7341) of CNRS (http://www.cnrs.fr/) and University of Aix-Marseille (https://www.univ-amu.fr/). LP3 is located on the Luminy campus, at the gateway to the Parc national des Calanques.
The laboratory's scientific activity is focused on laser-matter interaction in short and ultra-short pulse regimes. The research carried out concerns the understanding of the fundamental phenomena governing the interaction between a pulsed laser beam and matter and the development of innovative photonic processes issued from this knowledge.
To carry out the Ph'D thesis works, the student will use the ASUR laser system (Platform for Applications of Ultra-Fast Sources) and benefit from a favorable environment within the laboratory (diversity of laser sources and characterization tool and analysis: AFM, SEM, optical, confocal and Raman microscope, spectrometer, etc.). His/her works will be done in the context of a small research group of about 5 people working on the theme of laser-matter interaction in ultra-short regime (including the 2 co-supervisors of the thesis: M. Sentis and O. Utéza). For information, ASUR is a multibeam installation with a wide range of characteristics (10/20 TW @ 25 fs - 8 GW @ 15fs, 800 nm, nominal 25 fs, output < 15 fs available, OPA fs: UV - IR) on which pump-probe experiments have already been developed in previous Ph'D theses.

Constraints and risks

The person recruited will be of European or Swiss nationality (mandatory in the context of the funding) and he/she have received a solid training in Optics, Lasers and Materials Physics. He/she will hold a Master 2 (or equivalent) in Physics. He/she will have good experimental work skills as well as good oral and written communication skills to present his/her work in seminars and conferences and to write scientific papers and articles (good level in English required and French language appreciated, however not mandatory).
Applications should include a detailed CV, a letter of motivation, letters of reference if possible, transcripts of the two years of Master's and Bachelor's (or engineering school) degrees.
Deadline for application: 31 August

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

CDD doctorant (H/F) en Interaction Laser - Matière

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7341-OLIUTE-002
Lieu de travail : MARSEILLE 09
Date de publication : mardi 16 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Olivier Utéza et Marc Sentis
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

L'endommagement de cibles solides par impulsions laser ultrabrèves pose de manière critique le problème de la fragilité des composants optiques, en particulier ceux incorporant des structures métalliques leur permettant d'avoir une qualité réflective achromatique sur une très large bande spectrale. Cette fragilité est par exemple un point clé du fonctionnement des sources laser ultracourtes de puissance (lasers femtosecondes PW), porte d'accès à la connaissance de l'optique relativiste et à ses applications (accélération de particules, électrodynamique quantique, micro-photonique et micro-électronique relativiste). Par ailleurs, lorsque la puissance laser crête est moindre, les sources laser femtosecondes sont capables d'induire des interactions à distance, localisées et en volume ou surface de la plupart des matériaux. L'extrême agilité de ces lasers est ainsi une source d'importantes avancées, notamment en vue d'applications, comme par exemple la structuration locale de matériaux qui permet de leur conférer une fonction spécifique (optique/photonique, tribologique, etc.).
Dans le contexte d'un premier financement (2016-2019), nous avons ainsi pu démontrer que l'endommagement d'un matériau diélectrique en régime ultrabref est facilité (réduction de la fluence seuil d'endommagement) par rapport à des durées d'impulsions plus longues. Nous avons aussi montré que réduire la durée d'impulsion jusqu'à une durée de quelques cycles optiques (10-15 fs) n'induisait aucune fragilité particulière dans le cas de cibles métalliques.
Ces résultats, originaux à de telles durées d'impulsion, peuvent paraître surprenants ou contradictoires et le cœur des travaux proposés dans le cadre de cette thèse se placera dans une double perspective, fondamentale et appliquée. Il s'agira ainsi de comprendre finement le chauffage laser en régime ultracourt, notamment dans le cas des matériaux métalliques de transition (tungstène, nickel, par exemple) et post-transition (aluminium), et ensuite de mettre en œuvre cette connaissance pour développer des stratégies d'irradiation intelligentes (multi-spectrale, multi-pulse) permettant de réduire (ou d'augmenter) la dose énergétique nécessaire pour l'endommagement du matériau ou sa structuration.
Comprendre et façonner la transformation d'un matériau de manière agile et économe énergétiquement comme le permet une impulsion laser ultracourte permettra donc de promouvoir l'émergence d'une technologie clé pour le développement de matériaux fonctionnalisés intelligents et de proposer des solutions visant à réduire la vulnérabilité des composants optiques. Le sujet de ces travaux de thèse adresse ainsi deux thématiques aujourd'hui en forte expansion, la Photonique et les Matériaux.

Contexte de travail

Le laboratoire LP3, est une unité mixte de recherche d'une trentaine de personnes (UMR 7341) dépendant du CNRS (http://www.cnrs.fr/) et de l'Université d'Aix-Marseille (https://www.univ-amu.fr/), et situé sur le campus de Luminy, aux portes du Parc national des Calanques.
L'activité scientifique du laboratoire est centrée sur l'interaction laser-matière en régime d'impulsions courtes et ultracourtes. Les recherches menées concernent la compréhension des phénomènes fondamentaux présents lors de l'interaction entre un faisceau laser impulsionnel et la matière afin de contrôler les processus physiques qui gèrent cette interaction et de développer ainsi des procédés photoniques innovants.
Pour mener à bien ces travaux de thèse, l'étudiant(e) s'appuiera sur le système laser ASUR (plate-forme d'Applications des Sources Ultra-Rapides) et un environnement propice au sein du laboratoire (diversité et richesse des sources laser ; moyens importants d'analyse : AFM, MEB, microscope optique, confocal et Raman, spectromètre, etc. ; environ 5 personnes travaillant sur la thématique de l'interaction laser – matière en régime ultracourt dont les 2 co-encadrants de la thèse : MM. M. Sentis et O. Utéza). Pour précision, ASUR est une installation multifaisceaux environnée de caractéristiques (10/20 TW @ 25 fs - 8 GW @ 15fs, 800 nm, 25 fs nominale, sortie < 15 fs disponible, OPA fs: UV - IR) sur laquelle des expériences pompe – sonde ont déjà été développées lors de précédentes thèses.

Contraintes et risques

La personne recrutée sera de nationalité européenne ou Suisse (contrainte liée à la nature du financement) et aura reçu une solide formation en Optique, Lasers et Physique des Matériaux. Il/Elle sera titulaire d'un Master 2 (ou équivalent) en physique. Il/Elle aura de bonnes aptitudes au travail expérimental ainsi qu'à la communication orale et écrite pour présenter ses travaux en séminaires et conférences et rédiger des travaux et articles scientifiques (français et anglais nécessaires).
Les candidatures devront inclure un CV détaillé, une lettre de motivation, lettres de références si possible, les relevés de notes des deux années de Master et de la licence (ou d'école d'ingénieur).
Date limite de candidature : 31 Août

On en parle sur Twitter !