By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD thesis offer Chemistry-biology interface, spectroscopy (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7313-THITRO-001
Workplace : MARSEILLE 13
Date of publication : Sunday, March 01, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Thierry Tron
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Multi Copper Oxidases (MCO) are particularly robust biomolecules with distinctive spectroscopic characteristics behaving like a biological capacitor where up to 4 electrons and 4 protons are transiently stored. Within the framework of this project funded by the CNRS, our ambitious objective is to use light to trigger the transfer of electrons (ET) in an MCO from discrete graft points on the surface, this in order to study the ET intramolecular, the distribution of electrons on the 4 CuII ions and the mechanistic aspects of the reaction O2 + 4e- + 4H + <-> 2H2O (reversible). The system (a fungal laccase) will be studied with advanced spectroscopic techniques (UV / VIS, EPR, stopped-flow) and photolysis by laser flash. This project will benefit from the combined experience of two teams (CNRS and CEA) in: i) the production of laccase variants on a g.L-1 scale ensuring a comfortable physico-chemical characterization of enzymes; ii) modification of the enzyme and precise grafting of sensitizers / probes on the surface; iii) advanced photophysics and analysis of kinetic data; iv) the use of MCO as terminal oxidant in oxidative photocatalysis.

Work Context

The research work will mainly be carried out at the Institute of Molecular Sciences in Marseille (iSm2, UMR CNRS 7313, Aix Marseille University) within the BiosCiences team. This team is at the interface of chemistry and biology with varied skills ranging from chemistry, spectroscopy to biochemistry. Part of the work (laser flash photolysis) will be carried out at the Photocatalysis and Biohydrogen Laboratory, at the Institute of Biophysical and Structural Biology, UMR9198, CEA Saclay.

Additional Information

Highly motivated candidates (master level or equivalent with honors) with solid training in molecular chemistry and / or biological chemistry (chemistry-biology interface). Experience in spectroscopy, homogeneous catalysis (transition metals), or any other field related to the project would be an asset (non-discriminating criterion).

For any further information on the project and / or the recruitment process, contact Dr. Thierry Tron (thierry.tron@univ-amu.fr). Please note, no application by email will be considered (only via the CNRS job portal). All applications must be submitted via the CNRS job portal and must include a CV, a motivation letter, contact details for at least two references, as well as transcripts.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Offre de thèse interface Chimie-biologie, spectroscopie (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7313-THITRO-001
Lieu de travail : MARSEILLE 13
Date de publication : dimanche 1 mars 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Thierry Tron
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les Multi Copper Oxidases (MCO) sont des biomolécules particulièrement robustes avec des caractéristiques spectroscopiques distinctives se comportant comme un condensateur biologique où jusqu'à 4 électrons et 4 protons sont stockés de manière transitoire. Dans le cadre de ce projet financé par le CNRS, notre objectif ambitieux est d'utiliser la lumière pour déclencher le transfert d'électron (ET) dans une MCO à partir de points de greffe discrets en surface, ceci afin d'étudier l'ET intramoléculaire, la répartition des électrons sur les 4 ions CuII et les aspects mécanistiques de la réaction O2 + 4e- + 4H + <-> 2H2O (réversible). Le système (une laccase fongique) sera étudié avec des techniques spectroscopiques de pointe (UV / VIS, EPR, stopped-flow) et de la photolyse par flash laser. Ce projet bénéficiera de l'expérience cumulée de deux équipes (CNRS et CEA) dans: i) la production de variants de laccases à l'échelle g.L-1 assurant une caractérisation physico-chimique confortable des enzymes; ii) la modification de l'enzyme et le greffage précis de sensibilisateurs/sondes en surface; iii) la photophysique avancée et l'analyse des données cinétiques; iv) l'emploi de MCO comme oxydant terminal dans la photocatalyse oxydative.

Contexte de travail

Les travaux de recherche seront principalement effectués à l'Institut des Sciences Moléculaires de Marseille (iSm2, UMR CNRS 7313, Aix Marseille Université) au sein de l'équipe BiosCiences. Cette équipe est à l'interface de la chimie et de la biologie avec des compétences variées allant de la chimie, la spectroscopie à la biochimie. Une partie des travaux (photolyse par flash laser) sera réalisé au Laboratoire Photocatalyse et Biohydrogène, à l'Institut de Biochimie Biophysique et Biologie Structurale, UMR9198, CEA Saclay.

Informations complémentaires

Profil recherché: candidat (niveau master ou équivalent avec mention) très motivé avec formation solide en chimie moléculaire et / ou chimie du vivant (interface chimie-biologie). Une expérience en spectroscopie, en catalyse homogène (métaux de transition), ou tout autre domaine en relation avec le projet serait un plus (critère non discriminant).

Pour toute information complémentaire sur le projet et / ou le processus de recrutement, contactez Dr. Thierry Tron (thierry.tron@univ-amu.fr). Attention, aucune candidature par email ne sera considérée (uniquement via le portail emploi CNRS). Toute candidature doit être déposée via le portail emploi CNRS et devra inclure un CV, une lettre de motivation, les coordonnées d'au moins deux références, ainsi que les relevés de notes.

On en parle sur Twitter !