En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

H/F Doctoral student

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : lundi 11 juillet 2022

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

General information

Reference : UMR7263-KHEBOU-010
Workplace : AIX EN PROVENCE
Date of publication : Monday, June 20, 2022
Scientific Responsible name : Co-supervision of the thesis by Cécile ALBERT (CR CNRS), Olivier BLIGHT (MC Univ Avignon) and Benoit GESLIN (MC AMU).
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2022
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135 €

Description of the thesis topic

Response of arthropod populations and communities to the loss and fragmentation of pebble cover in the Crau steppe. The loss and fragmentation of natural habitats represent a major threat to biodiversity on a global scale [1]. While there is a strong consensus that conserving biodiversity requires preserving a large amount of natural habitats (i.e. reducing or even halting habitat loss) [2], the optimal spatial arrangement of these habitats has been the subject of intense debate since the 1970s [3,4]. More precisely, for a certain quantity of habitats in a landscape, are there spatial configurations that are really more favourable than others for maintaining biodiversity? This debate is extremely lively in the current literature with two opposing scientific communities: those who defend the fact that managing the spatial configuration of habitats is essential for conservation versus those who assert that managing the configuration is of little interest and that conservation requires first and foremost the preservation and restoration of natural habitats. The two phenomena, habitat loss and fragmentation, are not independent: as the amount of habitat in a landscape decreases, the remaining 'pieces' of habitat become smaller and more widely spaced, making the debate difficult to resolve [5]. Given the high land pressure on ecosystems today, the opportunities to maintain or restore habitats in large quantities are limited. In this context, planning territories to optimise the spatial configuration of habitats appears to be the only option for conserving biodiversity [6]. Resolving the debate on habitat fragmentation has therefore become a priority.

Work Context

The SCALED project, funded by the European Research Council (ERC), aims to address this debate. In this context, we are setting up an in situ experimental approach that aims to characterise the response of populations and communities of arthropods in the dry grasslands of the Crau plain and of different arthropod species, including apterous beetles (Asida sericea, Poecilus sericeus and Acinopus picipes) and top predators such as Lycosa tarentula and Scolopendra cingulata, to the quantity and spatial organisation of their habitat. In this system, typical grasslands are ~50% covered by large pebbles from the former Durance river bed; pebbles that provide beetles with shelter from extreme temperatures and predators [7]. Many areas of the plain have been cleared to make way for agricultural activities, thus drastically reducing the abundance and richness of the beetle communities [8]. However, we do not know how the intensity of cobble removal and the spatial organisation of the remaining cobbles may or may not mitigate these effects on beetles.

The objectives of this thesis are more specifically to: 1) temporal monitoring of population dynamics of target species and arthropod communities in the field in different artificial landscapes already set up, 2) analysis of the effect of the pebble cover on the whole ecosystem, 3) monitoring of individual movements and behaviours on some taxa.

The student will therefore be required to carry out trapping in the field (barber traps), determination and counting in the laboratory as well as statistical analysis in R.

1. IPBES. Global Assessment Report on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services. (2019).
2. Fletcher Jr, R. J. et al. Is habitat fragmentation good for biodiversity? Biol. Conserv. 226, 9–15 (2018).
3. Fahrig, L. et al. Is habitat fragmentation bad for biodiversity? Biol. Conserv. 230, 179–186 (2019).
4. Diamond, J. M. The island dilemma: lessons of modern biogeographic studies for the design of natural reserves. Biol. Conserv. 7, 129–146 (1975).
5. Villard, M. & Metzger, J. P. Beyond the fragmentation debate: a conceptual model to predict when habitat configuration really matters. J. Appl. Ecol. 51, 309–318 (2014).
6. Albert, C. H., Rayfield, B., Dumitru, M. & Gonzalez, A. Applying network theory to prioritize multispecies habitat networks that are robust to climate and land‐use change. Conserv. Biol. 31, 1383–1396 (2017).
7. Buisson, E. & Dutoit, T. Creation of the Natural Reserve of la Crau: implications for the creation and management of protected areas. J. Environ. Manage. 80, 318–326 (2006).
8. Blight, O. et al. Using stone cover patches and grazing exclusion to restore ground-active beetle communities in a degraded pseudo-steppe. J. Insect Conserv. 15, 561–572 (2011).

Constraints and risks

Fieldwork, laboratory work, statistical analysis, scientific writing and presentation.
Shift Avignon
no risk

Additional Information

-Skills
- Good level in entomology (particularly Mediterranean arthropods, Crau plain)
- Good level of programming and analysis in R
- Good level in English
- Autonomy and initiative
- Team work

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

H/F Doctorant(e)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : lundi 11 juillet 2022

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7263-KHEBOU-010
Lieu de travail : AIX EN PROVENCE
Date de publication : lundi 20 juin 2022
Nom du responsable scientifique : Co-encadrement de la thèse par Cécile ALBERT (CR CNRS), Olivier BLIGHT (MC Univ Avignon) et Benoit GESLIN (MC AMU).
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2022
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135 €

Description du sujet de thèse

Réponse des populations et communautés d'arthropodes à la perte et à la fragmentation du couvert en galet dans la steppe de la Crau /
La perte et la fragmentation des habitats naturels représentent une menace majeure pour la biodiversité à l'échelle mondiale [1]. S'il existe un consensus fort sur le fait que conserver la biodiversité nécessite de préserver une grande quantité d'habitats naturels (i.e. réduire, voire stopper la diminution des surfaces d'habitat) [2], l'arrangement optimal de ces habitats dans l'espace est l'objet d'un débat intense depuis les années 1970 [3,4]. Plus précisément, pour une certaine quantité d'habitats dans un paysage, est-ce qu'il existe des configurations spatiales qui sont réellement plus favorables que d'autres au maintien de la biodiversité ? Ce débat est extrêmement vivant dans la littérature actuelle avec deux communautés scientifiques qui s'opposent : ceux qui défendent le fait que gérer la configuration spatiale des habitats est essentiel pour la conservation versus ceux qui affirment que gérer la configuration n'a que peu d'intérêt et que la conservation passe en premier lieu par une préservation et une restauration des habitats naturels. Les deux phénomènes, perte et fragmentation des habitats, ne sont pas indépendants : quand la quantité d'habitat diminue dans un paysage, les « morceaux » d'habitat restants deviennent plus petits et plus espacés les uns des autres, ce qui rend la résolution du débat ardue [5]. Etant donnée la pression foncière forte qui s'exerce aujourd'hui sur les écosystèmes, les opportunités pour maintenir ou restaurer des habitats en grande quantité sont restreintes. Aménager les territoires pour optimiser la configuration spatiale des habitats) apparait dans ce contexte comme la seule option pour conserver la biodiversité [6]. Résoudre ce débat sur la fragmentation des habitats est donc devenu une priorité.-

Contexte de travail

Le projet SCALED, financé par le fond Européen pour la recherche (ERC), a pour objectif de s'attaquer à ce débat. Dans ce contexte, nous mettons en place une approche expérimentale in situ qui vise à caractériser la réponse des populations et des communautés d'arthropodes des prairies sèches de la plaine de la Crau et de différentes espèces d'arthropodes dont des coléoptères aptères (Asida sericea, Poecilus sericeus et Acinopus picipes) et des « top » prédateurs comme Lycosa tarentula et Scolopendra cingulata à la quantité et l'organisation spatiale de leur habitat. Dans ce système, les prairies typiques sont couvertes à ~50% par de gros galets issus de l'ancien lit de la Durance ; galets qui permettent aux coléoptères de s'abriter des températures extrêmes et des prédateurs [7]. De nombreuses zones de la plaine ont été dépierrées pour faire place à des activités agricoles, réduisant ainsi drastiquement l'abondance et la richesse des communautés des coléoptères [8]. Cependant, nous ne savons pas de quelle manière l'intensité du retrait des galets et l'organisation spatiale des galets restants peut atténuer ou non ces effets sur les coléoptères.

Les objectifs de cette thèse sont plus spécifiquement de : 1) faire un suivi temporel des dynamiques de population des espèces cibles et des communautés d'arthropodes sur le terrain dans différents paysages artificiels déjà mis en place, 2) analyser l'effet de la couverture en galet sur l'ensemble de l'écosystème, 3) le suivi de mouvements et de comportements individuels sur quelques taxons.

L'étudiant.e sera donc en particulier amené.e à effectuer du piégeage sur le terrain (pièges barber), des détermination et comptage en laboratoire ainsi que des analyses statistiques sous R.


1. IPBES. Global Assessment Report on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services. (2019).
2. Fletcher Jr, R. J. et al. Is habitat fragmentation good for biodiversity? Biol. Conserv. 226, 9–15 (2018).
3. Fahrig, L. et al. Is habitat fragmentation bad for biodiversity? Biol. Conserv. 230, 179–186 (2019).
4. Diamond, J. M. The island dilemma: lessons of modern biogeographic studies for the design of natural reserves. Biol. Conserv. 7, 129–146 (1975).
5. Villard, M. & Metzger, J. P. Beyond the fragmentation debate: a conceptual model to predict when habitat configuration really matters. J. Appl. Ecol. 51, 309–318 (2014).
6. Albert, C. H., Rayfield, B., Dumitru, M. & Gonzalez, A. Applying network theory to prioritize multispecies habitat networks that are robust to climate and land‐use change. Conserv. Biol. 31, 1383–1396 (2017).
7. Buisson, E. & Dutoit, T. Creation of the Natural Reserve of la Crau: implications for the creation and management of protected areas. J. Environ. Manage. 80, 318–326 (2006).
8. Blight, O. et al. Using stone cover patches and grazing exclusion to restore ground-active beetle communities in a degraded pseudo-steppe. J. Insect Conserv. 15, 561–572 (2011).

Contraintes et risques

Travail de terrain, de laboratoire, analyses statistiques, travail de rédaction et de présentation scientifique
Déplacement sur Avignon
Aucun risque-

Informations complémentaires

Compétences
- Bon niveau en entomologie (particulièrement arthropodes de Méditerranée, plaine de la Crau)
- Bon niveau en programmation et analyses sous R
- Bon niveau en anglais
- Autonomie et prise d'initiatives
- Travail en équipe

On en parle sur Twitter !