By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Thesis in biophotonics (H/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7249-GUIBAF-005
Workplace : MARSEILLE 13
Date of publication : Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Guillaume Baffou
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Quantitative phase imaging and laser heating of bacteria using gold nanoparticles

Life on Earth exists up to temperatures of 113 ° C, especially concerning microorganisms that live at the bottom of the oceans. If it is possible to fetch them, it is however difficult to observe them alive, because no commercial optical microscope operates at such temperatures.
The thesis project consists of developing a new type of optical microscope capable of studying hyperthermophilic microorganisms. The approach is based on laser heating of gold nanoparticles, and monitoring by quantitative phase microscopy. The objective will be to get to see hyperthermophilic organisms live by light microscopy, and to learn more about their metabolism, their interactions, their life.

The experiments will mainly consist in cultivating cells, and working on a "home-made" optical microscope. Most of the work will remain experimental optics. We are therefore looking for a student with a solid background in experimental physics, wishing to work at the optical / biology interface.

Work Context

The thesis work will be carried out at the Fresnel Institute, on the St Jérôme campus in Marseille in the Mosaic team, a network of 45 researchers (permanent, PhD students, postdocs) working at the interface between microscopy and biology.
The thesis will be supervised by Guillaume Baffou, 40, CNRS researcher (http://guillaume.baffou.com).

Constraints and risks

- use of lasers

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse en biophotonique (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7249-GUIBAF-005
Lieu de travail : MARSEILLE 13
Date de publication : mardi 21 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Guillaume Baffou
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Quantitative phase imaging and laser heating of bacteria using gold nanoparticles

La vie sur Terre existe jusqu'à des températures de 113°C, notamment concernant des micro-organismes qui vivent au fond des océans. S'il est possible d'aller les chercher, il est par contre difficile de les observer vivre, car aucun microscope optique commercial ne fonctionne à de telles températures.
Le projet de thèse consiste à développer un nouveau type de microscope optique capable d'étudier des micro-organismes hyperthermophiles. L'approche est basée sur un chauffage laser de nanoparticules d'or, et un suivi par microscopie quantitative de phase. L'objectif sera d'arriver à voir vivre des organismes hyperthermophiles par microscopie optique, et d'en apprendre davantage sur leur métabolisme, leurs interactions, leur vie.

Les expériences consisteront principalement à cultiver des cellules, et travailler sur un microscope optique "home-made". La majeure partie de travail restera de l'optique expérimentale. Nous cherchons donc un.e étudiant.e avec une formation solide en physique expérimentale, souhaitant travailler à l'interface optique/biologie.

Contexte de travail

Les travaux de thèse seront menés à l'Institut Fresnel, sur le campus St Jérôme de Marseille dans l'équipe Mosaic, un réseau de 45 chercheurs (permanents, thésards, postdocs) travaillant à l'interface entre microscopie et biologie.
La thèse sera supervisée par Guillaume Baffou, 40 ans, chargé de recherche CNRS (http://guillaume.baffou.com).

Contraintes et risques

Utilisation de lasers.

On en parle sur Twitter !