By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD call in forest ecology and climate change

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7058-JONLEN-001
Workplace : AMIENS
Date of publication : Tuesday, October 01, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Jonathan Lenoir, Ronan Marrec et Guillaume Decocq
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 6 January 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Modelling forest microclimate and the redistribution of forest-dwelling species under anthropogenic climate change

Species distribution models (SDMs), the toolbox to project biodiversity redistribution under anthropogenic climate change, are based on ambiant-air temperature (i.e. macroclimate) but fail to capture the local variability of microclimatic conditions. Yet, these local variations can lead to huge differences between apparent temperatures near the ground (i.e. the temperature conditions experienced by living organisms in their habitats) and air-temperatures measured by meteorological weather stations. This is especially true in the understory of forest ecosystems, which are decoupled from exterior climatic fluctuations and where management practices will have a prominent role in mediating the processes underlying microclimate. Very recent progress has been made to interpolate microclimate at very fine spatial resolution by combining in-situ microclimate measurements with fine-grained environmental variables derived from remotely sensed images such as light detection and ranging (LiDAR) images. However, these fine-grained spatial interpolations are not dynamic over time and unlikely to reflect the long-term dynamic of climate but rather the weather conditions that prevailed during the year the microclimatic data where recorded. Did sub-canopy temperature conditions increased as much as the warming trend observed in several networks of weather stations during the last decades? How forest-dwelling species are responding to long-term changes in microclimatic conditions below the forest canopy? The project entitled “IMPRINT” (Impacts of Microclimatic Processes on foRest bIodiversity redistributioN under macroclimaTic warming) led by Jonathan Lenoir aim at providing answers to these research questions, by combining: (i) in-situ microclimate measurements (both temperature and humidity near the ground); (ii) high-resolution LiDAR images; and most important (iii) long-term synoptic data from a network of permanent weather stations installed close to forest ecosystems (RENECOFOR: http://www1.onf.fr/renecofor). In the framework of IMPRINT, the PhD candidate will set up and coordinate two national networks of in-situ forest microclimate measurements. The first network, level I sites, aims at capturing the entire macroclimatic gradient covered by deciduous temperate forest in France. The successful candidate will be able to rely on an existing network (RENECOFOR) of 102 long-term (since 1995) permanent plots, which are not yet equipped with miniature data loggers. The second network, level II sites, aims at capturing the variability in forest microclimatic conditions due to forest management practices, ranging from very open forest stands to very dense and closed forest stands. To reach this aim, the PhD candidate will install a network of 60 permanent plots along a gradient of canopy closure within each of three large forests in France (FD de l'Aigoual, FD de Blois, FD de Mormal), dominated by oak and beech and managed by the French National Forest Service (ONF). Each plot will be equipped with miniature data loggers to record microclimatic conditions every hour. Forest inventory surveys as well as floristic surveys and arthropod surveys will be performed throughout the PhD thesis. Based on the data collected in the field, the PhD candidate will model forest microclimatic conditions over time and its impact on the redistribution of forest-dwelling species under anthropogenic climate change.

Work Context

We are opening a 3-yr PhD position at the interface between forest ecology and climatology. The PhD candidate will be based within the research unit « Ecologie et Dynamique des Systèmes Anthjropisés » (EDYSAN, CNRS, Université de Picardie Jules Verne, Amiens, France; https://www.u-picardie.fr/edysan/). EDYSAN is a young research unit which research focuses on the impact of global change drivers (climate change, land-use changes and biological invasions) on forest ecosystems and agricultural landscapes. The PhD candidate will be supervised by Jonathan Lenoir (full researcher at CNRS), Ronan Marrec (assistant professor at Jules Verne University of Picardy) and Guillaume Decocq (full professor at Jules Verne University of Picardy), in close collaboration with Emilie Gallet-Moron (GIS engineer at Jules Verne university of Picardy), Fabien Spicher (assistant engineer at Jules Verne University of Picardy) and Vincent le Roux (assistant professor at Jules Verne University of Picardy). At a national level, the PhD candidate will benefit scientific and technical supports from Sylvie Durrieu (full researcher at IRSTEA Montpellier) and Samuel Alleaume (research engineer at IRSTEA Montpellier), both experts in remote sensing technologies (i.e. airborne and terrestrial LiDAR). At the international level, the PhD candidate will have the opportunity to interact with several close collaborators, including: Pieter De Frenne from Gent University (Belgium); Jonas Lembrechts From Antwerp University (Belgium); Kristoffer Hylander from Stockhom University (Sweden); and Miska Luoto from the University of Helsinki (Finland).

The PhD candidate should have a driving licence and preferably have her/his own car. Indeed, there will be numerous field trips to the forest sites, some located very far from the lab in Amiens. All field trip expenses (i.e. travel, food and accommodation expenses) as well as any participation to workshops and conferences throughout the PhD thesis duration will be covered by the research budget, which is funded by the French National Research Agency (ANR).

Constraints and risks

NA

Additional Information

The PhD thesis will be funded by the French National Research Agency (ANR).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Offre de thèse (H/F) en écologie forestière et climatologie

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7058-JONLEN-001
Lieu de travail : AMIENS
Date de publication : mardi 1 octobre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jonathan Lenoir, Ronan Marrec et Guillaume Decocq
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 6 janvier 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Modélisation du réchauffement des microclimats forestiers et de son impact sur la biodiversité de la sous-trame boisée

Les modèles de niche, couramment utilisés pour prédire la redistribution du vivant en contexte de réchauffement climatique, sont habituellement calibrés sur les températures synoptiques (i.e. macroclimat) mais ignorent la variabilité des conditions microclimatiques locales. Pourtant, ces variations locales peuvent entraîner de fortes différences entre la température ressentie par les organismes vivants et celle mesurée au niveau du macroclimat régional, surtout au sein des habitats forestiers qui tamponnent les fluctuations climatiques extérieures et dont la sylviculture peut servir de médiateur entre microclimats et macroclimat. Des progrès récents permettent aujourd'hui de spatialiser les microclimats forestiers en combinant des mesures microclimatiques locales à haute fréquence temporelle (p. ex. microsondes météo) avec des variables environnementales issues de la télédétection 3D à haute définition (p. ex. technologie LiDAR). Néanmoins, cette spatialisation des microclimats forestiers n'intègre pas la dynamique des fluctuations interannuelles à long terme du macroclimat (échelle de la décennie) mais plutôt les variations météorologiques intra-annuelles (météo plutôt que climat), témoignant d'un manque de données sur le suivi à long terme des microclimats forestiers. Observe-t-on un réchauffement des microclimats forestiers ? Si oui, quel est son impact sur la biodiversité de la sous-trame boisée ? Le projet « IMPRINT » (IMpacts des PRocessus mIcroclimatiques sur la redistributioN de la biodiversiTé forestière en contexte de réchauffement du macroclimat) mené par Jonathan Lenoir vise justement à répondre à ces questions en combinant : (i) des microsondes de température et d'humidité afin de mesurer en continue les microclimats de la sous-trame boisée ; (ii) des images 3D à très haute définition issues de la technologie LiDAR aéroportée ; et surtout (iii) des données issues d'un réseau national de suivi à long terme des écosystèmes forestiers (RENECOFOR : http://www1.onf.fr/renecofor). Dans le cadre du projet IMPRINT, la ou le doctorant(e) aura pour mission de coordonner la mise en place de deux réseaux nationaux de suivis des microclimats forestiers. Le premier réseau, de niveau I, aura pour objectif de capturer la variabilité des conditions microclimatique le long d'un gradient macroclimatique représentatif des forêts feuillues françaises. La personne recrutée pourra s'appuyer sur les 102 placettes du dispositif RENECOFOR qui sont suivies depuis 1995, mais non équipées de microsondes de température et d'humidité. Le second réseau, de niveau II, aura pour objectif de capturer la variabilité des conditions microclimatique liée à la sylviculture forestière, allant de peuplements très ouverts à des peuplements plus dense et au couvert fermé. Pour cela, la personne recrutée installera un maillage de 60 placettes capturant ce gradient de fermeture du couvert au sein de trois forêts domaniales (FD) dominées par le chêne ou le hêtre (FD de l'Aigoual, FD de Blois, FD de Mormal) et gérées par l'Office National des Forêts (ONF). Chaque placette sera équipée de microsondes de température et sera décrite par des inventaires : dendrométriques ; floristiques ; et de la faune carabique. Sur la base des données issues de ces deux réseaux, la ou le doctorant(e) modélisera les microclimats forestiers et l'impact de ces derniers sur la biodiversité de la sous-trame boisée en contexte de réchauffement.

Contexte de travail

Une thèse de trois ans à l'interface entre écologie forestière et climatologie est disponible au sein de l'unité de recherche « Ecologie et Dynamique des Systèmes Anthjropisés » (EDYSAN, CNRS, Université de Picardie Jules Verne, Amiens, France; https://www.u-picardie.fr/edysan/). L'unité EDYSAN est une jeune unité de recherche dont les thématiques de recherche tournent autour des effets des changements dits « globaux » (réchauffement global du climat, changements d'usage des terres et invasions biologiques) sur les écosystèmes et les agrosystèmes. La thèse sera encadrée par Jonathan Lenoir (CR CNRS), Ronan Marrec (MCU UPJV) et Guillaume Decocq (PUPH UPJV), en étroite collaboration avec Emilie Gallet-Moron (IE UPJV), Fabien Spicher (IE UPJV) et Vincent le Roux (MCU UPJV). Au niveau national, la ou le doctorant(e) pourra également bénéficier de l'appuie scientifique et technique de Sylvie Durrieu et Samuel Alleaume de l'IRSTEA de Montpellier, tous deux spécialistes en télédétection. Au niveau international, la ou le doctorant(e) aura la possibilité d'interagir avec de nombreux collaborateurs de l'unité EDYSAN, dont : Pieter De Frenne de l'Université de Gand (Belgique) ; Jonas Lembrechts de l'Université d'Anvers (Belgique) ; Kristoffer Hylander de l'Université de Stockholm (Suède) ; et Miska Luoto de l'Université d'Helsinki (Finlande).

Il est recommandé que la ou le candidat(e) soit titulaire du permis B et propriétaire d'un véhicule personnel. En effet, de nombreux déplacements sur les sites, parfois éloignés de la structure d'accueil basée à Amiens (p. ex. déplacements en FD de l'Aigoual), sont à prévoir. Au cours des missions sur le terrain ou bien lors de participation à des colloques nationaux ou internationaux, les frais de déplacements (remboursement des frais kilométriques) ainsi que les frais d'hébergement et de repas seront pris en charge par la structure d'accueil via le budget du projet IMPRINT, financé par l'agence nationale de la recherche (ANR).

Contraintes et risques

NA

Informations complémentaires

Thèse financée par le projet ANR Jeunes Chercheuses Jeunes Chercheurs (JCJC) « IMPRINT »

On en parle sur Twitter !