By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Ph.D. in NMR methodology

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR6230-JEADUM-007
Workplace : NANTES
Date of publication : Monday, May 18, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Jean-Nicolas Dumez
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

NMR spectroscopy is an essential source of information in chemistry, to characterize the structure and dynamics of molecules. The time scales available for real-time NMR analysis are however limited by the time required to record information-rich two-dimensional (2D) data. “Spatial coding”, a parallelization approach inspired by MRI, allows 2D experiments to be accelerated by a factor of 1000, and the resulting “ultra-fast” experiments thus open up many opportunities for studying out-of-equilibrium chemical systems. The NMR team of the CEISAM laboratory is among the international leaders in the field of NMR analysis of mixtures, and recent developments in the laboratory have already made it possible to increase the field of application of methods based on spatial coding for online monitoring and hyperpolarization [1-2]. The laboratory is equipped with state-of-the art instrumentation, such as a prototype for dynamic nuclear polarization (DNP).

The objective of this project is the development and application of new NMR methods exploiting the concept of spatial coding, for the ultrafast analysis of out-of-equilibrium samples. It targets more specifically the development of ultrafast 2D correlations experiments (DOSY, multi-quantum), which can be applied for the online monitoring of chemical reactions, and for the analysis of hyperpolarized substrates. The project involves the development of
• methods allowing the use of spatial encoding on a flowing sample, for online monitoring of chemical reactions. These methods will be used for flow chemistry and structural elucidation by online analysis;
• methods exploiting spatial coding for the analysis of hyperpolarized substrates by DNP, for the analysis of samples of mixtures of small molecules with low concentrations.
These two axes will use the instruments recently installed in the CEISAM laboratory: a DNP polarizer, and a high-field online monitoring system, associated with an NMR probe equipped with high-performance magnetic field gradients. The project will therefore include a strong experimental component, which will guide the development of new NMR methods.

Work Context

The work will be carried out in a stimulating collaborative environment, with many other doctoral students and post-doctoral students recently recruited as part of two ERC projects. The recruited doctoral student will interact more specifically with several doctoral students and post-doctoral students, as well as with several specialists in the development of pulse sequences.

CEISAM is the molecular chemistry laboratory of the University of Nantes and brings together 5 recognized research teams in theoretical, physical and analytical chemistry, and in organic synthesis. The CEISAM laboratory NMR platform is the largest NMR platform in Western France. Its equipment includes 6 high field spectrometers (400 - 700 MHz), 3 low field spectrometers, equipment for MRI and a polarizer for nuclear dynamic polarization. CEISAM is located in the dynamic environment of the city of Nantes, near the Atlantic coast and South Brittany.

Références
1. J.-N.Dumez et al., Hyperpolarized NMR of plant and cancer cell extracts at natural abundance. Analyst 140, 5860 (2015)
2. C. Jacquemmoz, F. Giraud, and J.-N. Dumez, Online reaction monitoring by single-scan 2D NMR under flow conditions, Analyst 145, 478 (2020).

Additional Information

The candidate has a background in chemistry (preferably physical or analytical chemistry) or in physics, and an interest in the development of analytical methods through an approach combining theory and experiments. Due to the collaborative and international nature of the project, good communication skills in English are required. The recruited doctoral student will be required to transmit his knowledge to other students (Master, Doctorate) and to present his work at an international congress.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant·e en méthodologie RMN (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR6230-JEADUM-007
Lieu de travail : NANTES
Date de publication : lundi 18 mai 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jean-Nicolas Dumez
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La spectroscopie RMN est d'une source d'information indispensable en chimie, pour caractériser la structure et la dynamique des molécules. Les échelles de temps accessible pour l'analyse RMN en temps réel sont cependant limitées par la durée nécessaire pour enregistrer des données bidimensionnelles (2D), les plus riches en informations. Le « codage spatial », approche de parallélisation inspirée de l'IRM, permet d'accélérer d'un facteur 1000 les expériences 2D, et les expériences « ultrarapides » qui en résultent ouvrent ainsi de nombreuses opportunités pour l'étude de systèmes chimiques hors équilibre. L'équipe RMN du laboratoire CEISAM est parmi les leaders internationaux dans le domaine de l'analyse de mélanges par RMN, et les développements récents au laboratoire ont déjà permis d'accroitre le champs d'application des méthodes basées sur le codage spatial pour le suivi en ligne et l'hyperpolarisation [1-2]. Le laboratoire dispose de plus d'équipements de pointe dans le domaine, tel qu'un prototype pour la polarisation dynamique nucléaire (PDN).


Ce projet a pour objectif le développement et l'application de nouvelles méthodes RMN exploitant le concept de codage spatial, pour l'analyse ultrarapide d'échantillons hors équilibre. Il cible plus particulièrement la mise au point d'expérience de corrélations 2D ultrarapide (DOSY, multi-quantum) qui puissent être appliquées pour le suivi en ligne de réactions chimiques, et pour l'analyse de substrats hyperpolarisés. Le projet implique le développement
• de méthodes permettant d'utiliser le codage spatial sur un échantillon en mouvement, pour le suivi en ligne de réactions chimiques. Ces méthodes seront exploitées pour la chimie en flux, et l'élucidation structurale par analyse en ligne ;
• de méthodes exploitant le codage spatial pour l'analyse de substrats hyperpolarisés par DNP, pour l'analyse d'échantillons de mélanges de petites molécules peu concentrés.
Ces deux axes exploiteront les instruments récemment installés au laboratoire CEISAM : un polariseur PDN, et un système de suivi en ligne à haut champ, associé à une sonde RMN équipée de gradients de champ magnétique haute-performance. Le projet comportera ainsi une forte composante expérimentale, qui guidera les développements de nouvelles méthodes RMN.

Contexte de travail

Le travail de thèse sera réalisé dans un environnement collaboratif stimulant, autour de nombreux·ses autres doctorant·e·s et post- doctorant·e·s récemment recruté·e·s dans le cadre de deux projets ERC. Le·la doctorant·e recruté·e interagira plus spécifiquement avec avec plusieurs doctorant·e·s et post-doctorant·e·s, ainsi qu'avec plusieurs spécialistes du développement de séquences d'impulsions.

CEISAM est le laboratoire de chimie moléculaire de l'Université de Nantes et regroupe 5 équipes de recherche reconnues en chimie théorique, physique et analytique, et en synthèse organique. La plateforme RMN du laboratoire CEISAM est la plus grande plateforme RMN du grand ouest. Elle dispose d'une grande richesse d'équipements, dont 6 spectromètres à hauts champs (400 – 700 MHz), 3 spectromètres à bas champ, un équipement pour l'IRM et un polariseur pour la polarisation dynamique nucléaire. CEISAM se situe dans l'environnement dynamique de la ville de Nantes, proche de la côte atlantique et de la Bretagne Sud.

Références
1. J.-N.Dumez et al., Hyperpolarized NMR of plant and cancer cell extracts at natural abundance. Analyst 140, 5860 (2015)
2. C. Jacquemmoz, F. Giraud, and J.-N. Dumez, Online reaction monitoring by single-scan 2D NMR under flow conditions, Analyst 145, 478 (2020).

Informations complémentaires

Informations complémentaires

Le·la candidat·e a un master en chimie (de préférence chimie physique ou analytique) ou en physique, et un intérêt pour la mise au point de méthodes d'analyses par une démarche associant théorie et expérience. En raison du caractère collaboratif et international du projet, de bonnes capacités à communiquer en anglais sont nécessaires. Le·la doctorant·e recruté·e sera amené·e à transmettre ses connaissances à d'autres étudiant·e·s (Master, Doctorat) et à présenter ses travaux en congrès international.

On en parle sur Twitter !