By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Ph.D. in NMR methodology

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR6230-JEADUM-005
Workplace : NANTES
Date of publication : Monday, March 02, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Jean-Nicolas Dumez et Patrick Giraudeau
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Diffusion NMR (DOSY) is a powerful tool for the analysis of mixtures. Sometimes called “chromatographic NMR”, the DOSY method makes it possible to separate information on the compounds of a mixture, without a physical separation step. Its field of application ranges from fraud detection for pharmaceutical compounds to the study of mechanisms in organic synthesis. At the CEISAM laboratory, one of the leaders in NMR analysis of mixtures, we are working on the development of ultra-fast DOSY methods, which allow data recording in less than a second, instead of several minutes with conventional methods [1-3]. Through the joint development of new pulse sequences and numerical simulation tools, we have shown that ultrafast NMR based on spatial coding has great potential to provide unique information on out of equilibrium systems. The laboratory has a rare combination of instruments (hyperpolarization, imaging, online monitoring) which opens up new perspectives in the field.

The objective of this project is to develop analytical methods based on diffusion NMR which allow the study of samples which change rapidly over time, and in particular reaction mixtures and hyperpolarized substrates. Hyperpolarization is a revolutionary method which makes it possible to increase the sensitivity of NMR by several orders of magnitude. These developments will thus allow the detection limits of NMR analysis of mixtures, and the time scales that can be studied, to be pushed back by several orders of magnitude. The project is organized in two parts:
• the development of methods allowing optimal sampling of samples which change over time, and in particular of pulse sequences which make it possible to increase the sensitivity and the temporal resolution;
• the implementation of these experiments on mixtures which evolve over time, and in particular catalyzed chemical reactions and hyperpolarized substrates.
These two axes, which involve experiments, numerical simulations and analysis, are interactive, and the Ph.D. student will additionally be involved in team projects oriented towards applications of DOSY NMR, in particular for fraud detection and the study of reaction mechanisms.

Work Context

The work will be carried out in a stimulating collaborative environment, with many other doctoral students and post-doctoral students recently recruited as part of two ERC projects. The recruited doctoral student will interact more specifically with several doctoral students and post-doctoral students, as well as with several specialists in the development of pulse sequences.

CEISAM is the molecular chemistry laboratory of the University of Nantes and brings together 5 recognized research teams in theoretical, physical and analytical chemistry, and in organic synthesis. The CEISAM laboratory NMR platform is the largest NMR platform in Western France. Its equipment includes 6 high field spectrometers (400 - 700 MHz), 3 low field spectrometers, equipment for MRI and a polarizer for nuclear dynamic polarization. CEISAM is located in the dynamic environment of the city of Nantes, near the Atlantic coast and South Brittany.

References
1. L. Guduff, I. Kuprov, C. van Heijenoort and J.-N. Dumez, Spatially encoded 2D and 3D diffusion-ordered NMR spectroscopy, Chem. Commun., 53, 701 (2017).
2. L. Guduff, D. Kurzbach, C. van Heijenoort, D. Abergel and J.-N. Dumez, Single-scan 13C diffusion-ordered NMR spectroscopy of DNP-hyperpolarised substrates, Chem. Eur. J. 23, 16722 (2017).
3. L. Guduff, P. Berthault, C. van Heijenoort, J.-N. Dumez and G. Huber, Single-scan diffusion-ordered NMR spectroscopy of SABRE-hyperpolarised mixtures, ChemPhysChem 20, 392 (2019).

Additional Information

The candidate has a background in chemistry (preferably physical or analytical chemistry) or in physics, and an interest in the development of analytical methods through an approach combining theory and experiments. Due to the collaborative and international nature of the project, good communication skills in English are required. The recruited doctoral student will be required to transmit his knowledge to other students (Master, Doctorate) and to present his work at an international congress.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant·e en méthodologie RMN (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR6230-JEADUM-005
Lieu de travail : NANTES
Date de publication : lundi 2 mars 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Jean-Nicolas Dumez et Patrick Giraudeau
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La RMN diffusionnelle (DOSY) est un outil puissant pour l'analyse de mélanges. Parfois dénommée « RMN chromatographique », la méthode DOSY permet de séparer l'information sur les composés d'un mélange, sans étape de séparation physique. Son champ d'application va de la détection de fraude pour les composés pharmaceutiques à l'étude de mécanismes en synthèse organique. Au laboratoire CEISAM, l'un des leaders mondiaux dans l'analyse de mélanges par RMN, nous travaillons sur la mise au point de méthodes DOSY ultrarapides, qui permettent l'enregistrement de données en moins d'une seconde, au lieu de plusieurs minutes avec les méthodes conventionnelles [1-3]. Par le développement conjoint de nouvelles séquences d'impulsions et d'outils de simulations numériques, nous avons montré que la RMN diffusionnelle ultrarapide basée sur le codage spatial présente un important potentiel pour fournir des informations uniques sur les systèmes hors équilibre. Le laboratoire dispose d'une association d'instruments (hyperpolarisation, imagerie, suivi en ligne) rare qui ouvre de nouvelles perspectives dans le domaine.

Ce projet a pour objectif de développer des méthodes d'analyse basées sur la RMN diffusionnelle qui permettent d'étudier des échantillons qui évoluent rapidement dans le temps, et en particulier des mélanges réactionnels et des substrats hyperpolarisés. L'hyperpolarisation est une méthode révolutionnaire qui permet d'accroitre la sensibilité de la RMN de plusieurs ordres de grandeur. Ces développements permettront ainsi de repousser de plusieurs ordres de grandeur les limites de détection de l'analyse RMN de mélanges, et les échelles de temps pouvant être étudiées. Le projet est organisé en deux parties :
• le développement de méthodes permettant l'échantillonnage optimal d'échantillons qui évoluent dans le temps, et notamment de séquences d'impulsions qui permettent d'accroitre le sensibilité et la résolution temporelle ;
• la mise en œuvre de ces expériences sur des mélanges qui évoluent dans le temps, et en particulier des réactions chimiques catalysées et des substrats hyperpolarisés.
Ces deux axes, qui impliquent expériences, simulations numériques et analyse, se répondent et seront enrichis par une implication dans des projets de l'équipe orientés vers les applications de la RMN DOSY, notamment pour la détection de fraudes et l'étude de mécanismes réactionnels.

Contexte de travail

Le travail de thèse sera réalisé dans un environnement collaboratif stimulant, autour de nombreux·ses autres doctorant·e·s et post- doctorant·e·s récemment recruté·e·s dans le cadre de deux projets ERC. Le·la doctorant·e recruté·e interagira plus spécifiquement avec avec plusieurs doctorant·e·s et post-doctorant·e·s, ainsi qu'avec plusieurs spécialistes du développement de séquences d'impulsions.

CEISAM est le laboratoire de chimie moléculaire de l'Université de Nantes et regroupe 5 équipes de recherche reconnues en chimie théorique, physique et analytique, et en synthèse organique. La plateforme RMN du laboratoire CEISAM est la plus grande plateforme RMN du grand ouest. Elle dispose d'une grande richesse d'équipements, dont 6 spectromètres à hauts champs (400 – 700 MHz), 3 spectromètres à bas champ, un équipement pour l'IRM et un polariseur pour la polarisation dynamique nucléaire. CEISAM se situe dans l'environnement dynamique de la ville de Nantes, proche de la côte atlantique et de la Bretagne Sud.

Références
1. L. Guduff, I. Kuprov, C. van Heijenoort and J.-N. Dumez, Spatially encoded 2D and 3D diffusion-ordered NMR spectroscopy, Chem. Commun., 53, 701 (2017).
2. L. Guduff, D. Kurzbach, C. van Heijenoort, D. Abergel and J.-N. Dumez, Single-scan 13C diffusion-ordered NMR spectroscopy of DNP-hyperpolarised substrates, Chem. Eur. J. 23, 16722 (2017).
3. L. Guduff, P. Berthault, C. van Heijenoort, J.-N. Dumez and G. Huber, Single-scan diffusion-ordered NMR spectroscopy of SABRE-hyperpolarised mixtures, ChemPhysChem 20, 392 (2019).

Informations complémentaires

Le·la candidat·e a un master en chimie (de préférence chimie physique ou analytique) ou en physique, et un intérêt pour la mise au point de méthodes d'analyses par une démarche associant théorie et expérience. En raison du caractère collaboratif et international du projet, de bonnes capacités à communiquer en anglais sont nécessaires. Le·la doctorant·e recruté·e sera amené·e à transmettre ses connaissances à d'autres étudiant·e·s (Master, Doctorat) et à présenter ses travaux en congrès international.

On en parle sur Twitter !