By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

M/F SINJAJEVINA Pastoral Community Conserved Areas of the Montenegrin Mountains and Socio-Ecological Heritage enhancement.

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5602-PABDOM-001
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Pablo DOMINGUEZ
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Ideally, the main overarching goal of this PhD project would be to contribute to the understanding of the Sinjajevina system as a whole and provide a number of key paths for enhancing its rural living heritage to hold public institutions accountable to comply with the various frameworks protecting the environment and local people's rights and living heritage, that Montenegro has signed or is supposed to align with in order to accede to the EU with which it is in adhesion talks, and that should contribute to the protection of Sinjajevina and other rural similar socio-ecologically rich systems in the country. Aiming at achieving this fundamental overall goal, the Strategic Objectives (SO) will be:
SO1. To holistically understand some key drivers and socio-ecologic consequences of relatively well-functioning pastoral ICCAs versus less functional ICCAs under the threat of this artillery ground contravening the safeguard of environmental heritage sites and local communities' living traditions.
SO2. To identify the natural and cultural heritage values of the Sinjajevina ICCAs that foster well-being and resilience in local communities and unique ecosystems and that could as a model to other sites in the country.
SO3. To participatorily examine the global risks and opportunities of enhancing such ICCA heritage values, and provide a number of key paths for strengthening local communities and increasing the involvement of civil society actors in policy dialogue with decision-makers about such mountain territories.

Work Context

This PhD call is part of a wider European project titled: “Inspiring rural heritage: sustainable practices to protect and conserve upland landscapes and memories (IRIS)”. It emerges around the fact that it exists a strong and growing scientific and political awareness that rural commons or Indigenous peoples' and local Community Conserved Areas and territories (hereafter ICCAs - territories of life) are a crucial living heritage for environmental conservation, local peoples' well-being and global sustainability, as well as of universal cultural interest. And yet, ICCAs are experiencing swift degradation worldwide. This proposal posits that the public recognition of ICCAs as a living socio-ecological heritage at the local, national and international level, could contribute significantly to their protection. This is, understanding and documenting its present and historical value, and participatorily engaging local communities in communicating this value to key actors (public officers, policy-makers, decision-makers, national and international agencies, etc.) and the wider public (i.e. society as a whole), as this has proved to be a powerful means to strengthen such systems. In order to tackle this, we will focus on Sinjajevina (Dinaric Alps of Montenegro), a territory governed by a number of different rural commons or ICCAs, and which is the most exemplary mountainous pastoral territory in the Balkans and the second largest in Europe, on which an over 7.000 ha military training ground wants to be developed, putting at risk the conservation of these outstanding landscapes and their unique values.

Constraints and risks

Since the work concerns Sinjajevina, a high plateau with little services and rather isolated, it would be important to undertake some of the work in remote mountain areas. Therefore, a good physical condition would be a plus for carrying out interviews with pastoralists and farmers' families on the grasslands, sometimes under rough weather and passing some nights on the pastoralists mountain settlements. Fieldwork may extend over weekends and will involve some mountain hiking, with the risks that this implies.

Additional Information

Requirements for candidates


This PhD will be presented in English, so it is a must that the candidate is sufficiently proficient in English. At the same time, it would be very valuable that the candidate masters Serbian language and even has links to the region, and it would be a plus if the candidate understood or had basic notions of French. As we will favor a transdisciplinary approach throughout all the IRIS project, the profile of the candidate is wide and the selection process will be open to candidates being able to offer a comprehension of Sinjajevina and the way to face its current crisis from a number of different possible interacting disciplines ranging from Anthropology, Sociology, Human Geography, Landscape planning, Agronomy, Law, History, Archaeology, Economy, Journalism, Communication or Political science among others of the sort. It is compulsory to have a degree at the level of Master or any degree that will allow the candidate's registration in the UT2J PhD program at the moment of the start of the contract in October 2020. Within the 3 years of this contract, candidates could be asked to pass at least around one year in Montenegro (and better if more) doing fieldwork and working with local communities and relevant actors. It would also be a plus if they could install themselves to live for some time in the villages surrounding Sinjajevina in order to augment their participatory observation and proximity to the commons and different actors concerning this territory. Disposing of a car license and eventually of a car would be also valued.

The candidate would have to carry on fieldwork both alone and in team with at least one other person related to the IRIS project if not more, and therefore a good teamwork spirit is most required, as well as to have a strong moral and political engagement with rural local communities' enhancement, support and reinforcement. The candidate should be highly adaptable, able to negotiate and refine the work plan as the collective project unfolds, constantly redefining objectives and methods as the field data gathering and the events evolve. Much of the work could be undertaken in public and private archives concerning legal and historical data gathering, as well as in urban or in rural municipalities surrounding Sinjejavina for interviews, participatory observation, but also through bibliographic and internet searches. Nevertheless, since the work concerns Sinjajevina, it would also be important to undertake some of the work in remote mountain areas. Therefore, a good physical condition would be a plus for carrying out interviews with pastoralists and farmers' families on the grasslands, sometimes under rough weather and passing some nights on the pastoralists mountain settlements. Fieldwork may extend over weekends and will involve some mountain hiking. The candidate must also be accustomed to working on the screen for a long time and have very active internet connection, as fast responding will be a must. Fieldwork will be undertaken in Montenegro but the supervisor will be based in France and therefore, for a fluid communication, internet tools, including abundant email and documental exchange, periodic videoconferences, wasaps/viber messaging and telephone calls, will be necessary for a proper follow-up of the works and feed-back.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

H/F : SINJAJEVINA. Aires Pastorales Conservées par des Communautés locales dans les montagnes du Monténégro et Patrimonialisation socio-écologique

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5602-PABDOM-001
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : mardi 28 juillet 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Pablo DOMINGUEZ
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Dans ce contexte, idéalement, l'objectif principal de ce projet de thèse serait de contribuer à la compréhension du système Sinjajevina dans son ensemble et de fournir un certain nombre de voies clés pour soutenir son patrimoine rural vivant, qui puissent faciliter les institutions publiques l'accomplissement des divers cadres protégeant l'environnement, les droits des populations locales et le patrimoine vivant, que le Monténégro a signé ou est censé s'aligner pour adhérer à l'UE avec laquelle il est en conversations d'adhésion, et qui devraient contribuer à la protection de Sinjajevina et d'autres systèmes similaires dans le pays, riches sur le plan socio-écologique. Dans le but d'atteindre cet objectif global fondamental, les objectifs stratégiques (OS) seront :
OS 1. Comprendre de manière globale certains facteurs clés et conséquences socio-écologiques des APAC pastorales de Sinjajevina relativement efficaces par rapport aux APAC moins fonctionnelles.
OS 2. Identifier les valeurs du patrimoine naturel et culturel des APAC de Sinjajevina qui favorisent le bien-être et la résilience des communautés locales et des écosystèmes uniques que pourraient servir de modèle à d'autres sites du pays.
OS 3. Examiner de manière participative les risques et opportunités de valorisation de ces valeurs patrimoniales APAC, et fournir un certain nombre de voies clés pour renforcer les communautés locales et accroître la participation des acteurs de la société civile dans le dialogue politique avec les décideurs sur ces territoires de montagne.

Contexte de travail

Cet appel de thèse fait partie d'un projet européen plus large intitulé : « Inspirant le patrimoine rural: des pratiques durables pour protéger et conserver les paysages et la mémoire des hautes terres (IRIS)». Il émerge du fait qu'il existe une prise de conscience scientifique et politique forte et croissante que les communs ruraux ou les aires et territoires conservés par les peuples autochtones et les communautés locales (ci-après APAC - territoires de la vie) sont un patrimoine vivant crucial pour la conservation de l'environnement, le bien-être des populations locales, et la durabilité mondiale, ainsi qu'un valeur culturel universel. Et pourtant, les APAC connaissent une dégradation rapide dans le monde entier. Cette proposition postule que la reconnaissance publique des APAC en tant que patrimoine socio-écologique vivant aux niveaux local, national et international pourrait contribuer de manière significative à leur protection. C'est-à-dire, comprendre et documenter sa valeur actuelle et historique, et impliquer de manière participative les communautés locales dans la communication de cette valeur aux acteurs clés (i.e. agents publics, décideurs politiques, décideurs, agences nationales et internationales, etc.) et au grand public (i.e. la société dans son ensemble). Cela s'est avéré être un moyen puissant de renforcer ces systèmes. Pour y faire face, nous nous concentrerons sur Sinjajevina (Alpes dinariques du Monténégro), un territoire régi par un certain nombre de communs ruraux différents ou APAC, et qui est le territoire pastoral montagneux le plus exemplaire des Balkans et le deuxième plus grand en Europe, sur lequel un terrain d'entraînement militaire de plus de 7.000 ha veut se développer, mettant en péril la conservation de ces paysages exceptionnels et de leurs valeurs uniques.

Contraintes et risques

Étant donné que les travaux concernent Sinjajevina, un haut plateau avec peu de services et plutôt isolé, il serait important d'entreprendre une partie des travaux dans des zones de montagne reculées. Par conséquent, une bonne condition physique serait un plus pour mener des entretiens avec des éleveurs et des familles paysannes sur les pâturages, parfois avec du mauvais temps et passant quelques nuits sur les abris des pasteurs. Le travail sur le terrain peut s'étendre sur les week-ends et impliquera des randonnées en montagne, avec les risques que ça implique.

Informations complémentaires

Eléments à remplir par le/la candidat/e

Ce doctorat sera présenté en anglais, et il est donc indispensable que le/la candidat/e maîtrise suffisamment l'anglais. En même temps, il serait à valoriser que le/la candidat/e maîtrise la langue serbe et ait même des liens avec la région, et ce serait un plus si le/la candidat/e comprend ou a des notions de base du français. Comme nous privilégierons une approche transdisciplinaire tout au long du projet IRIS, le profil possible du/de la candidat/e est ample et le processus de sélection sera ouvert aux candidats/es pouvant offrir une compréhension de Sinjajevina et la manière de faire face à sa crise actuelle à partir d'un certain nombre de disciplines en interaction possibles, allant de l'anthropologie, la sociologie, la géographie humaine, l'aménagement du paysage, l'agronomie, le droit, l'histoire, l'archéologie, l'économie, le journalisme, la communication ou la science politique, entre autres. Il est obligatoire d'avoir un diplôme de niveau Master ou tout diplôme permettant l'inscription du candidat dans le programme de doctorat UT2J au moment du début du contrat en octobre 2020. Dans les 3 ans de ce contrat, les candidats/es pourraient être demandés/es à passer au moins environ un an au Monténégro (et mieux si plus) pour faire du travail sur le terrain et à travailler avec les communautés locales et les acteurs concernés. Ce serait aussi un plus s'il/elle peut s'installer pour vivre quelque temps dans les villages environnants Sinjajevina afin d'augmenter son observation participative et son proximité avec les communs et les différents acteurs concernant ce territoire. La possession d'un permis de conduire et éventuellement d'une voiture serait également valorisée.

Le/La candidat/e devra effectuer un travail de terrain à la fois seul/e et en équipe avec au moins une autre personne liée au projet IRIS, sinon plus, et donc un bon esprit d'équipe est le plus nécessaire, ainsi qu'un fort engagement moral et politique avec valorisation, soutien et renforcement des communautés rurales. Le/La candidat/e doit être hautement adaptable, capable de négocier et de réorganiser le plan de travail au fur et à mesure du déroulement du projet collectif, en raffinant constamment les objectifs et les méthodes à mesure que la collecte de données sur le terrain et les événements évoluent. Une grande partie du travail pourrait être entreprise dans des archives publiques et privées concernant la collecte de données juridiques et historiques, ainsi que dans les municipalités urbaines ou rurales entourant Sinjejavina pour des entretiens, des observations participatives, mais aussi par des recherches bibliographiques et sur Internet. Néanmoins, étant donné que les travaux concernent Sinjajevina, il serait également important d'entreprendre une partie des travaux dans les régions montagneuses reculées. Par conséquent, une bonne condition physique serait un plus pour mener des entretiens avec des éleveurs et des familles paysannes dans les pâturages, parfois sous mauvais temps et en passant quelques nuits dans les abris de montagne des pasteurs. Le travail sur le terrain peut s'étendre sur les week-ends et impliquera des randonnées en montagne. Le candidat doit également être habitué à travailler longtemps à l'écran et disposer d'une connexion Internet très active, car une réponse rapide sera indispensable. Un travail de terrain sera entrepris au Monténégro mais le superviseur sera basé en France et donc, pour une communication fluide, des outils internet, y compris des échanges de courriels et de documents abondants, des vidéoconférences périodiques, des messages wasaps / viber et des appels téléphoniques, seront nécessaires pour un bon suivi des travaux et des bons retours de la part du superviseur.

On en parle sur Twitter !