By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Reproductive traits of oak trees: what future under climate change ?

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5558-SAMVEN-001
Workplace : VILLEURBANNE
Date of publication : Friday, July 26, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Samuel Venner
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 November 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

In many perennial plant species, the intensity of fruiting is extremely variable from year to year and synchronized at the population level. Oak species (Quercus sp.) are emblematic of these reproduction strategies called masting (Koenig and Knops, 2013, Schermer et al. 2019) and oak masting represents a major ecological and economic challenge. While large interannual fluctuations in acorn production are crucial for the reproduction of tree individuals, population recruitment and forest regeneration, they also have a significant impact on the demography and evolution of the animal species consuming this resource (mammals, birds, insects) and, in cascade, on community dynamics and the functioning of forest ecosystems as a whole (Ostfeld & Keesing 2000, Yang et al. 2010). Deciphering the still poorly understood mechanisms of oak masting and its efficiency in controlling the demographics of fruit consumers is necessary to predict the consequences of climate change on the dynamics of fruiting, the dynamics of the communities that depend on it and that of the forest ecosystem.
The first objective of the thesis will aim to determine the proximal causes of masting in temperate oaks by identifying the rules for allocating resources in flowering and fruiting as well as the meteorological conditions that may interfere with pollination, fertilization and/or fruit ripening. The second objective of the thesis will be to develop a new version of a mechanistic model of masting (Schermer et al., 2019) and a "plant-insects" co-evolution model that will evaluate the efficiency of masting in controlling the dynamics of acorn parasitic insect communities and the consequences of masting on oak reproductive success and regeneration success in oak forests. The third objective of the thesis will be to develop projections of oak masting and oak regeneration in the context of climate change.
Objective 1 will be based on the analysis of data already available, data collected on 150 trees spread over 15 sites in metropolitan France and monitored since 2012. Objectives 2 and 3 will be based on the development of a new version of the mechanistic masting model (Schermer et al., 2019) to be coupled with an evolutionary dynamics model of acorn insect communities already initiated in LBBE. The climate projections used will be those produced as part of the EURO-CORDEX initiative (Kotlarski et al., 2014).
References :
Kelly, D . & Sork, V.L. 2002. Mast seeding in perennial plants : Why, How, Where ? Annu. Rev. Ecol. Syst. 33: 427–47.
Koenig, W. D. and J. M. H. Knops. 2013. Large scale spatial synchrony and cross-synchrony in acorn production by two California oaks. Ecology 94: 83-93.
Kotlarski, K., Keuler, K., Christensen, O.B., Colette, A., Déqué, M., Gobiet, A., Goergen, K., Jacob, D., Lüthi, D., van Meijgaard, Nikulin, E.G., Schär, C., Teichmann, C., Vautard, R., Warrach-Sagi, K. & Wulfmeyer, V. 2014. Regional climate modeling on European scales: a joint standard evaluation of the EURO-CORDEX RCM ensemble. Geosci. Model Dev., 7, 1297–1333, 2014
Ostfeld, R.S. & Keesing, F. 2000. Pulsed resources and community dynamics of consumers in terrestrial ecosystems. Trends Ecol. Evol. 15 : 232-237.
Schermer, E., Bel-Venner, M.C., Fouchet, D., Siberchicot, A., Boulanger, V., Caignard, T., Thibaudon, M., Oliver, G., Nicolas, M., Gaillard, J.M., Delzon, S. & Venner, S. 2019. Pollen limitation as a main driver of fruiting dynamics in oak populations. Ecol. Lett., 22: 98–107.
Yang, L.H., Edwards, K.F., Byrnes, J.E., Bastow, J.L., Wright, A .N. & Spence, K.O. 2010. A meta‐analysis of resource pulse–consumer interactions. Ecol. Monographs, 80, 125-151.

Work Context

The thesis will take place in the quantitative and evolutionary ecology team of the biometrics laboratory of Evolutionary Biology (LBBE, http://lbbe.univ-lyon1.fr/). It will be funded by the ANR FOREPRO (beginning on 1/11/19, led by S. Venner) which will aim to understand the mechanisms of masting oaks from the Mediterranean and temperate regions, its ecological consequences and its future in the context of climate change. The thesis will be directed by Samuel Venner and Marie-Claude Venner, specialists in both acorn insect parasites and masting. In addition to the supervising team, the thesis work will benefit from collaborations with various scientists and managers with complementary skills: Sylvain Delzon (BioGeCo, UMR INRA, Univ Bordeaux); Isabelle Chuine (CEFE, Montpelliers), Nicolas Delpierre (ESE, Paris-Sud), Aurélie Siberchicot (LBBE, Lyon) and Vincent Boulanger (ONF, Fontainebleau).

Constraints and risks

The thesis work will be based mainly on data analysis and the development of mathematical/informatics models, which will require internal training for the optimal use of the computing resources made available by the LBBE. Participation in field sampling (15 days per year) is envisaged and will require compliance with the safety rules for missions in forest environments (weather risk assessment, reporting the mission to forest officers, telephone contact at the beginning and end of the mission).

Additional Information

The candidate must hold a master's degree in ecology/evolution research obtained in 2018 or 2019. The position requires strong knowledge of statistical analysis, modelling and computer programming, good oral and written communication skills (French and English required) to present at conferences and write articles in scientific journals. Applications must include a detailed CV, at least two referees (who may be contacted), a one-page cover letter, Master 2 notes). The deadline for sending applications is 25/08/2019.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

La reproduction des chênes : quel devenir dans le contexte du changement climatique ? H/F - M/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5558-SAMVEN-001
Lieu de travail : VILLEURBANNE
Date de publication : vendredi 26 juillet 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Samuel Venner
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 novembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Chez de nombreuses espèces de plantes pérennes l'intensité des fructifications est extrêmement fluctuante d'une année à l'autre et synchronisée à l'échelle populationnelle. Les chênes (Quercus sp.) sont emblématiques de cette stratégie de reproduction appelée 'masting' (Koenig and Knops, 2013, Schermer et al. 2019) qui chez les chênes représente un enjeu écologique et économique majeur. Si les fortes fluctuations interannuelles des glandées sont déterminantes pour la reproduction des individus 'arbres', le recrutement populationnel et la régénération forestière, elles impactent aussi fortement la démographie et l'évolution des espèces animales consommant cette ressource (mammifères, oiseaux, insectes) et, en cascade, la dynamique des communautés et le fonctionnement des écosystèmes forestiers dans leur ensemble (Ostfeld & Keesing 2000, Yang et al. 2010). Décrypter les mécanismes, encore bien mal connus, du masting des chênes et son efficacité dans le contrôle de la démographie des consommateurs de fruits s'avère nécessaire pour prédire les conséquences du changement climatique sur la dynamique des fructifications, la dynamique des communautés qui en dépendent et celle de l'écosystème forestier.
Le premier objectif de la thèse visera à déterminer les causes proximales du masting des chênes de région tempérée en identifiant les règles d'allocation des ressources dans la floraison puis la fructification ainsi que les conditions météorologiques pouvant interférer avec la pollinisation, la fécondation et/ou la maturation des fruits. Le second objectif de la thèse consistera à développer une nouvelle version d'un modèle mécaniste du masting (Schermer et al., 2019) et un modèle de co-évolution 'plantes-insectes' qui permettra d'évaluer l'efficacité du masting dans le contrôle de la dynamique des communautés d'insectes qui parasitent les fruits ainsi que les conséquences du masting sur le succès reproducteur des chênes et le succès de régénération des chênaies. Le troisième objectif de la thèse visera à développer des projections du masting et de la régénération des chênaies dans le contexte du changement climatique.
L'objectif 1 reposera sur l'analyse de données d'ores et déjà disponibles, données collectées sur 150 arbres répartis sur 15 sites en France métropolitaine et suivis individuellement depuis 2012. Les objectifs 2 et 3 reposeront sur le développement d'une nouvelle version du modèle mécaniste du masting (Schermer et al., 2019) qu'il s'agira de coupler à un modèle de dynamique évolutive des communautés d'insectes spécialistes des glands de chêne lui-même déjà initié au LBBE. Les projections climatiques utilisées seront celles produites dans le cadre de l'initiative EURO-CORDEX (Kotlarski et al., 2014).
Références :
Kelly, D . & Sork, V.L. 2002. Mast seeding in perennial plants : Why, How, Where ? Annu. Rev. Ecol. Syst. 33: 427–47.
Koenig, W. D. and J. M. H. Knops. 2013. Large scale spatial synchrony and cross-synchrony in acorn production by two California oaks. Ecology 94: 83-93.
Kotlarski, K., Keuler, K., Christensen, O.B., Colette, A., Déqué, M., Gobiet, A., Goergen, K., Jacob, D., Lüthi, D., van Meijgaard, Nikulin, E.G., Schär, C., Teichmann, C., Vautard, R., Warrach-Sagi, K. & Wulfmeyer, V. 2014. Regional climate modeling on European scales: a joint standard evaluation of the EURO-CORDEX RCM ensemble. Geosci. Model Dev., 7, 1297–1333, 2014
Ostfeld, R.S. & Keesing, F. 2000. Pulsed resources and community dynamics of consumers in terrestrial ecosystems. Trends Ecol. Evol. 15 : 232-237.
Schermer, E., Bel-Venner, M.C., Fouchet, D., Siberchicot, A., Boulanger, V., Caignard, T., Thibaudon, M., Oliver, G., Nicolas, M., Gaillard, J.M., Delzon, S. & Venner, S. 2019. Pollen limitation as a main driver of fruiting dynamics in oak populations. Ecol. Lett., 22: 98–107.
Yang, L.H., Edwards, K.F., Byrnes, J.E., Bastow, J.L., Wright, A .N. & Spence, K.O. 2010. A meta‐analysis of resource pulse–consumer interactions. Ecol. Monographs, 80, 125-151.

Contexte de travail

La thèse se déroulera dans l'équipe écologie quantitative et évolutive des communautés (http://lbbe.univ-lyon1.fr/-Equipe-Ecologie-Quantitative-et-.html) du laboratoire de biométrie de Biologie Evolutive (LBBE, http://lbbe.univ-lyon1.fr/). Elle sera financée par l'ANR FOREPRO (début le 1/11/19, pilotée par S. Venner) qui visera à comprendre les mécanismes du masting des chênes de région méditerranéenne et tempérée, ses conséquences écologiques et son devenir dans le contexte du changement climatique. La thèse sera dirigée par Samuel Venner et Marie-Claude Venner, spécialiste à la fois des insectes parasites des glands de chênes et du masting. En complément de l'équipe encadrante, le travail de thèse bénéficiera de collaborations avec différents scientifiques et gestionnaires aux compétences complémentaires : Sylvain Delzon (BioGeCo, UMR INRA, Univ Bordeaux) ; Isabelle Chuine (CEFE, Montpellier), Nicolas Delpierre (ESE, Paris-Sud), Aurélie Siberchicot (LBBE, Lyon) et Vincent Boulanger (ONF, Fontainebleau).

Contraintes et risques

Le travail de thèse reposera très majoritairement sur de l'analyses de données et le développement de modèles mathématique/informatique ce qui imposera des formations internes pour l'utilisation optimale des ressources de calcul mises à disposition par le LBBE. Une participation à l'échantillonnage de terrain (15 jours / an) est envisagée et imposera de respecter les règles de sécurité d'usage pour les missions en milieu forestier (évaluation des risques météorologiques, signalement de la mission aux agents forestiers, contact téléphoniques en début et fin de mission).

Informations complémentaires

Le(a) candidat(e) devra être titulaire d'un diplôme d'un master recherche en écologie/évolution obtenu en 2018 ou 2019. Le poste nécessite de solides connaissances en analyses statistiques, modélisation et programmation informatique, de bonnes aptitudes de communication orale et écrite (français et anglais nécessaires) pour présenter ses travaux dans des congrès et rédiger des articles dans des revues scientifiques. Les candidatures devront inclure un CV détaillé, au moins deux personnes référentes (susceptibles d'être contactées), une lettre de motivation d'une page, les notes de Master 2). La date limite pour l'envoi des candidatures est le 25/08/2019.

On en parle sur Twitter !