By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD fellowship in evollutionary cell biology (H/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5239-MARDEL-002
Workplace : LYON 07
Date of publication : Monday, July 01, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Marie DELATTRE
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The cell is a level of biological organization that has been poorly explored from an evolutionary perspective. How do cellular mechanisms evolve? What is the extent of possible solutions that have been retained over the course of evolution to achieve basic cellular functions? Our lab has established the nematode early embryo as a study system to address these questions.

Nematode embryos are ideal because they are large cells, their first cell division is very fast (15 minutes in C. elegans) and many subcellular events can be analyzed by simple DIC microscopy. Moreover, the one-cell embryo of the reference species C. elegans has been extensively studied both at the biophysical and molecular level, offering a framework to start comparative analysis.

We have developed two main axes: i) exploring which modification to female meiosis allows asexual reproduction (ex. [1]), ii) which molecular and physical changes are responsible for the different mechanics of the mitotic spindle between species (ex. [2]).

So far, functional explorations were difficult in non-model nematode species because both the RNAi technique and transgenesis were not accessible. Recent protocols have changed the situation [3] and we are now in a position to tackle our questions at the molecular level.

The goal of this PhD work will then be to i) establish the CRISPR/Cas9 technique in a couple of non-model nematode species displaying divergent phenotypes compared to C. elegans, ii) use this technology to start exploring the molecular basis of changes in meiotic and mitotic spindles over the course of evolution. For that, we will generate transgenic lines expressing fluorescent tags to perform time-lapse recording of live cells and create mutant lines for candidate genes. We will then be able to explore which modifications in cellular properties (microtubule and actin dynamics, cell cleavage, checkpoint activation, repartition of molecular motors, cytoplasmic viscosity, etc.) have led to the diversity of spindle mechanics between species.



References :
[1]. Grosmaire M, & al. Males as somatic investment in a parthenogenetic nematode. Science. 2019 Mar 15;363(6432):1210-1213. doi: 10.1126/science.aau0099.
[2]. Valfort AC, & al. Evolution of mitotic spindle behavior during the first asymmetric embryonic division of nematodes.PLoS Biol. 2018 Jan 22;16(1):e2005099. doi: 10.1371/journal.pbio.2005099. eCollection 2018 Jan.
[3]. Adams S, & al. Liposome-based transfection enhances RNAi and CRISPR-mediated mutagenesis in non-model nematode systems. Sci Rep. 2019 Jan 24;9(1):483. doi: 10.1038/s41598-018-37036-1.

Work Context

LBMC is situated on the campus of the Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon (ENS-site Monod) in the south of the Lyon city center. ENS offers an interdisciplinary environment (30 research structures, from archaeology to quantum physics). The project is part of an intersdisciplinary and international research program (collaboration with IISER Pune, India).

Additional Information

Applicants must have a master or engineer degree in biology or biophysics. Background in either cell biophysics, cell biology, nematode biology, molecular genetics is required. Previous experience with the CRISPR/Cas9 system will be appreciated. We are looking for highly motivated candidates with a special interest for evolutionary questions or cellular biophysics. Good relational skills are important for the project, as it will be carried out in an interdisciplinary and international environment.

Please include a CV, a cover letter with the name of at least two references and a 1-page summary of your master thesis.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Bourse de doctorat en biologie cellulaire et évolution (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5239-MARDEL-002
Lieu de travail : LYON 07
Date de publication : lundi 1 juillet 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Marie DELATTRE
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La cellule est un niveau d'organisation biologique qui a été peu exploré d'un point de vue évolutif. Comment les processus cellulaires évoluent-ils ? Dans quelle mesure les mécanismes cellulaires peuvent évoluer sans que les grandes fonctions cellulaires qu'ils sous-tendent ne soient perturbées ? Notre équipe a établi l'embryon de nématode comme système d'étude pour répondre à ces questions.

Les embryons de nématodes présentent de nombreux avantages car ils sont de grande taille, leurs divisions cellulaires sont rapides et stéréotypées et beaucoup d'évènements cellulaires sont visibles par simple microscopie DIC. De plus, l'embryon du nématode C. elegans a été très bien étudié, à la fois d'un point de vue moléculaire que biophysique, offrant un cadre idéal pour des approches comparatives.

Nous avons développé deux axes de recherche : i) explorer les modifications du processus de méiose des ovocytes, permettant l'émergence de l'asexualité dans certaines espèces (ex. [1]), ii) explorer les changements moléculaires et physiques responsables de modifications de la dynamique du fuseau mitotique entre espèces (ex. [2]).

Jusque très récemment, les approches fonctionnelles dans les espèces non-modèles de nématodes étaient compliquées car les techniques comme le RNAi ou des modifications du génome par CRISPR/Cas9 étaient difficiles à mettre en place. Grâce à de nouveaux travaux [3], nous sommes maintenant en mesure d'appliquer ces méthodes aux espèces que nous étudions.

Le but de ce projet de thèse sera donc de i) établir CRISPR/Cas9 dans quelques espèces choisies pour leurs divergences par rapport au modèle C. elegans, ii) utiliser cette technologie en combinaison avec les techniques de RNAi, pour explorer les bases moléculaires des changements de comportement du fuseau méiotique et mitotique entre les espèces. Pour cela, nous génèrerons des lignées transgéniques exprimant des protéines fluorescentes, permettant une mesure précise des paramètre cellulaires. Nous pourrons alors quantifier par ex. la dynamique des microtubules entre espèces, les étapes de ségrégation des chromosomes en méiose, la cytodiérèse, la contractilité du réseau d'actin, etc. pour comprendre quels changements ont conduit à la diversité des mécanismes cellulaires observée entre espèces proches. Des hypothèses pourront ensuite être testées experimentalement par RNAi ou en créeant des mutants par CRISPR/Cas9.

References :
[1]. Grosmaire M, & al. Males as somatic investment in a parthenogenetic nematode. Science. 2019 Mar 15;363(6432):1210-1213. doi: 10.1126/science.aau0099.
[2]. Valfort AC, & al. Evolution of mitotic spindle behavior during the first asymmetric embryonic division of nematodes.PLoS Biol. 2018 Jan 22;16(1):e2005099. doi: 10.1371/journal.pbio.2005099. eCollection 2018 Jan.
[3]. Adams S, & al. Liposome-based transfection enhances RNAi and CRISPR-mediated mutagenesis in non-model nematode systems. Sci Rep. 2019 Jan 24;9(1):483. doi: 10.1038/s41598-018-37036-1.

Contexte de travail

Le laboratoire d'accueil LBMC est situé sur le campus de l'Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon (site Monod), dans un environnement multidisciplinaire (30 unités de recherche, de l'archéologie à la physique quantique). De plus, le projet de thèse s'inscrit dans une collaboration transdisciplinaire et internationale (collaboration avec une équipe de biophysiciens de l'IISER Pune, Inde).

Informations complémentaires

Le.a candidat.e devra être titulaire d'un diplôme d'ingénieur et/ou d'un master en biologie ou en biophysique, avoir de solides connaissances en microscopie et biologie moléculaire. Une connaissance du modèle nématode et/ou de la technologie CRISPR/Cas9 sera appréciée. Le poste nécessite de bonnes aptitudes de communication orale et écrite en anglais pour présenter aux congrès, échanger avec nos collaborateurs et rédiger des articles dans des revues scientifiques. Nous recherchons un.e jeune chercheur.se qui saura s'impliquer dans son projet, curieux.se, ayant une bonne autonomie technique et une forte motivation. De plus, le.a candidat.e devra être apte à travailler en équipe sur des projets multidisciplinaires.

Les candidatures devront inclure un CV détaillé ; au moins deux personnes référentes ; une lettre de motivation ainsi qu'un résumé d'une page du mémoire de master.

On en parle sur Twitter !