By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD student M/F: In vitro modeling by muscle organoid on a chip of the recovery process from a muscle injury in athletes

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5221-PASETI-001
Workplace : MONTPELLIER
Date of publication : Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Pascal ETIENNE
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Theoretical background:

In humans, at the muscular level, there is great interindividual variability in response to the same mechanical stress. This phenotypic variability is multifactorial, influenced by environmental factors as well as by multiple genetic variants. Thus, for the same level of muscle injury, two subjects of the same anthropometric characteristic, of the same age, with the same medical history and the same level of physical activity, will show a very variable level of muscle regeneration underpinned by biological function. stem cells and their microenvironment. Faced with the same training, certain athletes can develop a muscular pathology with iterative lesions and deficits of repair more debilitating than others without the substratum of this greater susceptibility being known.
Several recent works have highlighted the presence of genome modifications linked to the environment and which could be transmitted intergenerationally. This result may explain the interindividual variability with regard to the biological function of muscle stem cells involved in the regulation of muscle mass and its function [Papadimitriou ID & al., BMC Genomics (2016) 17: 285], [Petrella JK , J Appl Physiol (2008) 104: 1736]. Thus, these epigenetic events which seem to regulate the adaptation of the muscle to mechanical stress, are still poorly understood, due to the small number of studies on the subject. Indeed, these studies require a multifactorial analysis on muscle biopsies from cohorts which must be as homogeneous as possible, well characterized clinically with regard to the adaptation of the muscle to mechanical stress. This in vivo characterization remains complex due to its lack of reproducibility and can be disabling in athletes. The possibility, from a simple muscle micro biopsy, to isolate the satellite cells in order to reconstitute a muscle on a longitudinal axis will allow us to standardize the evaluation of the biological function of the satellite cells which will represent a precise measurement for each sportsman of its muscle regeneration capacity.
Thus, the strategy in the medical accompaniment of each high level sportsman and the re-athletization could be individualized with his capacity of muscular regeneration evaluated on muscular organoid allowing to model on a lesion stress.

Scientific objectives / hypotheses / problems:

The first objective of this thesis is to propose a new method for precise and reproducible evaluation of the muscle regeneration capacity involved in the recovery of a muscle injury. The second objective is to assess the impact of training on this capacity for muscle regeneration. For this we propose a new approach by modeling mechanical stress on a muscular organoid created from stem cells of the sportsman.
The work of the doctoral student will firstly, from stem cells, validate a complete protocol for manufacturing the organoid representative in vitro of its regeneration capacity. In a second step, the doctoral student will have to propose, from the organoid, a reproducible method of evaluation of the biological function of stem cells, guaranteeing the capacity of muscular regeneration. This method will focus on the application of an eccentric mechanical stress, on the organoid, allowing to model in vitro a muscular lesion within the framework of an intensive effort. It will make it possible to monitor and evaluate in the laboratory, the cellular mechanisms put in place by the organoid to ensure the regeneration of its muscle fibers.

Scientific obstacles to overcome / challenges / challenges:

This project should follow on from a very positive working basis carried out using diaphragmatic muscle stem cells which have made it possible to model in vivo diaphragmatic dysfunction induced by mechanical ventilation (DDIV) in intensive care patients. The use of biocompatible and microstructured surfaces in the form of grooves to differentiate and linearly grow stem cells has shown excellent results (Figure 1). The first challenge is to optimize growth in order to successfully produce a true three-dimensional muscular organoid, representative of the in-vivo model. Several microstructuring models will be tested. A second challenge lies in the ability to implement mechanical stress in the context of the application of eccentric stress. As direct traction of the organoid is not an option, we propose to multiply and differentiate muscle stem cells on a flexible silicone-type support which can be stretched mechanically once the organoid is obtained. The success of such an experiment requires a strong link between the organoid and the membrane for the transfer of mechanical effort. The classic use of a porous and poorly adherent Matrigel® has been tested but does not appear to be relevant. We propose a better strategy which consists in grafting peptide ligands which have the advantage of being biomimetic but above all of being covalently attached to silicone. The last challenge for this thesis will be, with regard to the microgrooves, support of the muscular fibers of our organoid, to insert stimulation electrodes. These will allow us, during mechanical stretching, to induce a contraction of the organoid, making it possible to model an eccentric stress at the base of a muscle injury.

Outline of the methodology to be implemented:

In terms of sports seasonality, under the technical coordination and supervision of CREPS de Montpellier and the Fédération Française d'Athlétisme with the help of sports structures Occitanie Ligue du sport universitaire and Montpellier Athletic Méditerranée Métropole, we will define a cohort of 20 athletes young adults and 20 senior athletes (on a gender basis) who will undergo a defined training program with weekly strength exercises to increase muscle mass. Calibrated physical tests will regularly validate the muscular evolution of the subjects on the basis of common and identical activities. A muscular micro biopsy of the quadriceps and a blood sample will be taken at the start and end of the training program. The blood sample is part of a perspective of future work that will arise from this thesis. It will later assess whether an epigenetic signature predicting the muscular response to a lesional phenomenon could also be found in blood cells. Indeed, this study, complementary to this thesis subject, brings into play the hypothesis of an epigenetic origin on the resistance and the muscular regeneration capacity of the athlete. It should be led by the Genome and Cellular Plasticity in Development and Aging team, led by Jean-Marc Lemaître (IRBM).
The stem cells from these athletes will form the basis for building the organoid. We plan to cultivate and differentiate satellite cells on a support along a single longitudinal axis similar to an in vivo environment. To do this, we will use a rapid prototyping method to print guide grooves with a biocompatible hybrid material on a silicone support. The grooves will force the alignment of muscle fibers along a single axis thanks to the contact principle, reproducing the physiological organization of a muscle. In addition, to induce an eccentric contraction, the organoid will be built on a flexible stretchy silicone membrane in which, opposite each microgroove, a stimulation microelectrode will have been integrated. Although biocompatible, the silicone support is bio-inert. To guarantee the adhesion of the muscular fibers of the organoid which will have to resist the mechanical stresses induced by the eccentric contraction, the silicone will be functionalized. The strategy proposed by the peptides and proteins team of Gilles Subra (IBMM) will consist in covalently grafting onto the silicone surface relevant peptide ligands derived from adhesion proteins of extracellular matrices [Pinese C. & al., Materials Today Chemistry (2017) 4:73]. Then, the OptoMicrofluidic Platform of Montpellier (POMM) and the team of Pascal Etienne (L2C) will bring their expertise on the organic-inorganic photostructurable hybrid materials (MHOIP) already used for applications in the fields of integrated optics and microfluidics [Yaacoub S. & al., J. of sol-gel sci. & Tech. (2013) 67 (2) 384]. MHOIPs have adjustable properties by modifying the chemical composition and molecular structure. The microstructures are obtained by deposition of MHOIP followed by the sequential action of localized UV irradiation using a laser writing machine and then wet etching of exposed or unexposed areas depending on the type of MHOIP.
The satellite cells will then be cultured on biocompatible support microstructures to develop a “muscle-on-a-chip” device so that they can proliferate on a single longitudinal axis, in the form of myoblasts and myotubes according to an experimental protocol described and validated. by the unit of Jacques Mercier (PhyMedExp). Once the organoid has been obtained, the challenge will be to impose eccentric stress on it. For this, the organoid will be, thanks to a Flexcell® type device, stretched mechanically and electrically stimulated to induce a synchronized muscle contraction.
We will test different eccentric contraction protocols, which will allow to induce in a reproducible and standardized way lesional phenomena stimulating muscle regeneration. Thus the objective will be to be able to determine the power of organogenesis after muscle damage of the satellite cells constituting the organoid in connection with its microenvironment. This assessment will include direct measurement of oxidative stress induced by eccentric stress, activation of homeostatic signaling pathways of proteins, the ability of myoblasts to proliferate, dimensions of regenerated myotubes and fusion abnormalities.

Expected results :

An athlete who has a low capacity for muscle regeneration will enter a cycle of iterative muscle damage at a minimum, limiting his sports performance. Thus in the work of this thesis we expect to find interindividual variability in the muscular response to the same eccentric stress. We also expect that the parameters of evaluation of muscle recovery evaluated in vitro can be correlated with the performance of the athlete.
The perspectives for this thesis work are numerous. They will allow, for future work, to assess human interindividual variability in the muscular response to the same mechanical stress and to study its link with dynamic epigenetic changes specific to each sportsman. Thus these first works will allow in the near future to assess whether an epigenetic signature predicting the muscular response to a lesional phenomenon could also be found in blood cells. This perspective will pave the way for blood tests that make it possible to predictively differentiate athletes who are likely to develop more than others iterative muscle lesions requiring modalities and an adaptation of their training intensity. Finally, this tool developed during this thesis will make it possible to test in vitro in humans, biomolecules active on the biological function of stem cells and on muscle regeneration.

Work Context

The PhD student will be enrolled in the Information, Structures and Systems doctoral school (I2S, www.edi2s.univ-montp2.fr).
He will be assigned to the Charles Coulomb Laboratory (www.coulomb.umontpellier.fr) within the "Hybrid Materials and Nanostructures" Team and will carry out part of his work within POMM, the OptoMicrofluidic platform in Montpellier (www.pomm. cnrs.fr). He will manufacture all the microstructures supporting the growth of organoids. The doctoral student will also study and design the experimental tools put in place as part of mechanical measurements on organoids.
Due to the transdisciplinary aspect of the project, the doctoral student will have to interact with several other teams from the MUSE site.
In particular, the doctoral student will collaborate with the Aminoacids and Peptides team of the Max Mousseron Institute of Biomolecules in order to achieve the functionalization of the organoid growth supports, allowing better anchoring of the differentiated muscle fibers.
On the other hand, to test the capacity of the supports in the genesis of organoids from a stem cell culture, the doctoral student will be welcomed in the PhyMedExp unit (UMR CNRS 9214 - Inserm U1046, CHU Montpellier) of University of Montpellier (www.u1046.edu.umontpellier.fr). He will have access to the Culture Room (L2) of the Unit to set up the muscular cell model from human myotubes, these myotubes themselves being derived from stem cells purified from biopsies of human skeletal muscles. The biopsies necessary for carrying out this research project will be carried out in the thoracic surgery department of the Arnaud de Villeneuve hospital, Montpellier University Hospital. This protocol was already validated in July 2016 by the various competent bodies (CPP Sud Méditerranée I: RO – 2016/30).
Finally, the doctoral student will also have to maintain a close and permanent relationship with the partners of the sports movement (MA2M and FFSU Occitanie) responsible for initiating and leading cohorts under the additional supervision of the scientific referent of the Department of Sports Performance of CREPS of Montpellier. This relationship will be administrative and technical (calendar of operations, constitution of cohorts, establishment and implementation of training protocols, biological samples and feedback on experiences)
The student will have access to all the instrumental resources available within these structures and through the various platforms of the University of Montpellier.

Constraints and risks

The PhD student will be the link between the many partners. He must therefore have a great sense of organization and good autonomy to manage interactions as well as possible and demonstrate maturity in planning his work in interface with the various laboratories involved.
From an experimental point of view, the doctoral student will handle chemical reagents for his syntheses and biological material for the preparation of organoids. He will therefore be required to work in rooms with controlled access and requiring the wearing of specific safety equipment.
Although all studies must be done in Montpellier, the doctoral student may be required, if necessary, to develop collaborations with other French or European partners. Travel is therefore to be expected. The doctoral student must also present his work at national or international congresses at least once a year and ensure good dissemination of his work within the local scientific community.

Additional Information

The required profile is primarily a biochemist-type experimenter with a curriculum showing an openness to the science of materials. A biologist profile is also possible on the condition that he shows a motivation towards chemistry and materials science.
Knowledge of cell culture and muscle physiology through either teaching or internships.
Very strong autonomy and organizational skills
Mastery of project management
Good experimental skills (demonstrated during internships)

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant H/F : Modélisation in vitro par organoïde musculaire sur puce des processus de récupération d'une lésion musculaire chez le sportif

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5221-PASETI-001
Lieu de travail : MONTPELLIER
Date de publication : mercredi 24 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Pascal ETIENNE
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Contexte théorique :

Il existe chez l'Homme, au niveau musculaire, une grande variabilité interindividuelle en réponse à un même stress mécanique. Cette variabilité phénotypique est multifactorielle, influencée par des facteurs environnementaux ainsi que par de multiples variants génétiques. Ainsi, pour un même niveau de lésion musculaire, deux sujets de même caractéristique anthropométrique, de même âge, avec les mêmes antécédents médicaux et le même niveau d'activité physique, vont montrer un niveau très variable de régénération musculaire sous tendu par la fonction biologique des cellules souches et leur microenvironnement. Face à un même entrainement, certains sportifs peuvent développer une pathologie musculaire avec des lésions itératives et des déficits de réparation plus invalidante que d'autres sans que le substratum de cette plus grande susceptibilité soit connu.
Plusieurs travaux récents ont mis en évidence la présence de modifications du génome liées à l'environnement et qui pouvaient se transmettre de façon intergénérationnelle. Ce résultat peut expliquer la variabilité interindividuelle vis à vis de la fonction biologique des cellules souches musculaires impliquées dans la régulation de la masse musculaire et de sa fonction [Papadimitriou I.D. & al., BMC Genomics (2016) 17:285], [Petrella J.K., J Appl Physiol (2008) 104:1736]. Ainsi, ces évènements épigénétiques qui semblent réguler l'adaptation du muscle à un stress mécanique, restent encore mal connus, du fait du faible nombre d'études sur le sujet. En effet, ces études nécessitent une analyse multifactorielle sur des biopsies musculaires provenant de cohortes qui doivent être le plus homogènes possibles, bien caractérisées cliniquement vis à vis de l'adaptation du muscle à un stress mécanique. Cette caractérisation in vivo reste complexe du fait de son manque de reproductibilité et peut être invalidante chez le sportif. La possibilité, à partir d'une simple micro biopsie musculaire, d'isoler les cellules satellites afin de reconstituer un muscle sur un axe longitudinal nous permettra de standardiser l'évaluation de la fonction biologique des cellules satellites qui représentera une mesure précise pour chaque sportif de sa capacité de régénération musculaire.
Ainsi, la stratégie dans l'accompagnement médical de chaque sportif de haut niveau et la réathlétisation pourraient être individualisées à sa capacité de régénération musculaire évaluée sur organoïde musculaire permettant de modéliser sur puce un stress lésionnel.

Objectifs scientifiques/hypothèses/problématiques:

Le premier objectif de cette thèse est de proposer une nouvelle méthode d'évaluation précise et reproductible de la capacité de régénération musculaire intervenant dans la récupération d'une lésion musculaire. Le second objectif est d'évaluer l'impact d'un entrainement sur cette capacité de régénération musculaire. Pour cela nous proposons une nouvelle approche par la modélisation d'un stress mécanique sur un organoïde musculaire créé à partir des cellules souches du sportif.
Le travail du doctorant sera dans un premier temps, à partir des cellules souches, de valider un protocole complet de fabrication de l'organoïde représentatif in vitro de sa capacité de régénération. Dans un deuxième temps, le doctorant devra proposer, à partir de l'organoïde, une méthode reproductible d'évaluation de la fonction biologique des cellules souches, garant de la capacité de régénération musculaire. Cette méthode sera centrée sur l'application d'un stress mécanique excentrique, sur l'organoïde, permettant de modéliser in vitro une lésion musculaire dans le cadre d'un effort intensif. Elle permettra de suivre et d'évaluer en laboratoire, les mécanismes cellulaires mis en place par l'organoïde pour assurer la régénération de ses fibres musculaires.

Verrous scientifiques à lever/enjeux/challenge:

Ce projet doit prendre la suite d'une base de travail très positive effectuée à partir de cellules souches musculaires diaphragmatiques qui ont permis de modéliser in vivo la dysfonction diaphragmatique induite par la ventilation mécanique (DDIV) chez les patients en réanimation. L'utilisation de surfaces biocompatibles et microstructurées en forme de sillons pour y faire différentier et croître linéairement les cellules souches a montré d'excellents résultats (Figure 1). Le premier enjeu consiste à optimiser la croissance pour réussir à réaliser un véritable organoïde musculaire en trois dimensions, représentatif du modèle in-vivo. Plusieurs modèles de microstructuration seront à tester. Un deuxième enjeu réside dans la capacité à mettre en œuvre la sollicitation mécanique dans le cadre de l'application d'un stress excentrique. Une traction directe de l'organoïde étant non envisageable, nous proposons de multiplier et différencier les cellules souches musculaires sur un support souple type silicone et qui pourra être étiré mécaniquement, une fois l'organoïde obtenu. La réussite d'une telle expérience nécessite un lien fort entre l'organoïde et la membrane pour le transfert de l'effort mécanique. L'utilisation classique d'un Matrigel® poreux et peu adhérent a été testée mais n'apparaît pas pertinente. Nous proposons une meilleure stratégie qui consiste à greffer des ligands peptidiques présentant l'avantage d'être biomimétiques mais surtout d'être fixés de façon covalente au silicone. Le dernier enjeu pour cette thèse sera, en regard des microsillons, support des fibres musculaires de notre organoïde, d'insérer des électrodes de stimulation. Celles-ci nous permettront, lors de l'étirement mécanique, d'induire une contraction de l'organoïde, permettant de modéliser un stress excentrique à la base d'une lésion musculaire.

Grandes lignes de la méthodologie qui sera mise en œuvre :

Au titre de la saisonnalité sportive, sous la coordination technique et la supervision du CREPS de Montpellier et de la Fédération Française d'Athlétisme avec le concours des structures sportives Ligue Occitanie du sport universitaire et Montpellier Athletic Méditerranée Métropole, nous définirons une cohorte de 20 athlètes jeunes adultes et 20 athlètes seniors (à parité de genre) qui subiront un programme d'entraînement défini avec des exercices hebdomadaires de force pour augmenter la masse musculaire. Des tests physiques calibrés viendront valider régulièrement l'évolution musculaire des sujets sur la base d'activités communes et identiques. Une micro biopsie musculaire des quadriceps et un prélèvement sanguin seront réalisés en début et fin de programme d'entraînement. Le prélèvement sanguin s'inscrit dans une perspective des futurs travaux qui découleront de cette thèse. Il permettra ultérieurement d'évaluer si une signature épigénétique prédictive de la réponse musculaire à un phénomène lésionnel pourrait être également retrouvée au niveau des cellules sanguines. En effet, cette étude, complémentaire à ce sujet de thèse, met en jeu l'hypothèse d'une origine épigénétique sur la résistance et la capacité de régénération musculaire de l'athlète. Elle devrait être menée par l'équipe, Génome et Plasticité Cellulaire dans le Développement et le Vieillissement, dirigée par Jean-Marc Lemaître (IRBM).
Les cellules souches issues de ces athlètes constitueront la base de construction de l'organoïde. Nous prévoyons de cultiver et différentier les cellules satellites sur un support selon un axe longitudinal unique similaire à un environnement in vivo. Pour ce faire, nous allons utiliser une méthode de prototypage rapide pour imprimer des sillons de guidage avec un matériau hybride biocompatible sur un support silicone. Les sillons forceront l'alignement des fibres musculaires le long d'un seul axe grâce au principe de contact, reproduisant l'organisation physiologique d'un muscle. De plus, pour induire une contraction excentrique, l'organoïde sera construit sur membrane de silicone souple étirable dans laquelle, en regard de chaque microsillon aura été intégré une microélectrode de stimulation. Bien que biocompatible, le support en silicone est bio-inerte. Pour garantir l'adhésion des fibres musculaires de l'organoïde qui devra résister aux contraintes mécaniques induites par la contraction excentrique, le silicone sera fonctionnalisé. La stratégie proposée par l'équipe peptides et protéines de Gilles Subra (IBMM) consistera à greffer de manière covalente sur la surface de silicone des ligands peptidiques pertinents dérivés de protéines d'adhésion de matrices extracellulaires [Pinese C. & al., Materials Today Chemistry (2017) 4:73]. Ensuite, la Plateforme OptoMicrofluidique de Montpellier (POMM) et l'équipe de Pascal Etienne (L2C) apporteront leur expertise sur les matériaux hybrides organiques-inorganiques photostructurables (MHOIP) déjà utilisés pour des applications dans les domaines de l'optique intégrée et de la microfluidique [Yaacoub S. & al., J. of sol-gel sci. & Tech. (2013) 67 (2) 384]. Les MHOIP ont des propriétés ajustables en modifiant la composition chimique et la structure moléculaire. Les microstructures sont obtenues par dépôt du MHOIP suivi de l'action séquentielle d'une irradiation UV localisée à l'aide d'une machine d'écriture laser puis d'une gravure humide des zones exposées ou non exposées selon le type de MHOIP.
Les cellules satellites seront ensuite cultivées sur les microstructures de soutien biocompatibles pour développer un dispositif « muscle-on-a-chip » afin qu'elles puissent proliférer sur un seul axe longitudinal, sous forme de myoblastes et myotubes selon un protocole expérimental décrit et validé par l'unité de Jacques Mercier (PhyMedExp). Une fois l'organoïde obtenu, le challenge sera d'imposer sur celui-ci un stress excentrique. Pour cela, l'organoïde sera, grâce à un dispositif de type Flexcell®, étiré mécaniquement et électriquement stimulé pour induire une contraction musculaire synchronisée.
Nous testerons différents protocoles de contraction excentrique, qui devront permettre d'induire de façon reproductible et standardisée des phénomènes lésionnels stimulant la régénération musculaire. Ainsi l'objectif sera de pouvoir déterminer la puissance d'organogenèse post lésion musculaire des cellules satellites constitutives de l'organoïde en lien avec son microenvironnement. Cette évaluation comprendra la mesure directe du stress oxydant induit par le stress excentrique, l'activation des voies de signalisation homéostatiques des protéines, la capacité des myoblastes à proliférer, les dimensions des myotubes régénérés et les anomalies de fusion.

Résultats attendus :

Un sportif qui possède une faible capacité de régénération musculaire va rentrer dans un cycle de lésion musculaire itérative à minima, limitant ses performances sportives. Ainsi dans les travaux de cette thèse nous nous attendons à trouver une variabilité interindividuelle dans la réponse musculaire au même stress excentrique. Nous nous attendons également à ce que les paramètres d'évaluation de la récupération musculaire évalués in vitro puisse être corrélés avec les performances du sportif.
Les perspectives de ces travaux de thèse sont nombreuses. Ils permettront, pour des futurs travaux d'évaluer la variabilité interindividuelle humaine dans la réponse musculaire au même stress mécanique et d'étudier son lien avec les changements épigénétiques dynamiques propres à chaque sportif. Ainsi ces premiers travaux permettront dans un futur proche d'évaluer si une signature épigénétique prédictive de la réponse musculaire à un phénomène lésionnel pourrait être également retrouvée au niveau des cellules sanguines. Cette perspective ouvrira la voie vers des tests sanguins permettant de différencier de façon prédictive les sportifs susceptibles de développer plus que d'autres des lésions musculaires itératives nécessitant des modalités et une adaptation de leur intensité d'entraînement. Enfin, cet outil développé au cours de cette thèse permettra de tester in vitro chez l'homme, des biomolécules actives sur la fonction biologique des cellules souches et sur la régénération musculaire.

Contexte de travail

Le doctorant sera inscrit à l'école doctorale Information, Structures et Systèmes (I2S, www.edi2s.univ-montp2.fr).
Il sera affecté au Laboratoire Charles Coulomb (www.coulomb.umontpellier.fr) au sein de l'Equipe "Matériaux Hybrides et Nanostructures" et réalisera une partie de son travail au sein de POMM, la plateforme OptoMicrofluidique de Montpellier (www.pomm.cnrs.fr). Il y fabriquera toutes les microstructures support à la croissance des organoïdes. Le doctorant étudiera et concevra également les outils expérimentaux mis en place dans le cadre des mesures mécaniques sur les organoïdes.
De par l'aspect transdisciplinaire du projet, le doctorant aura à interagir avec plusieurs autres équipes du site MUSE.
En particulier, le doctorant devra collaborer l'équipe Aminoacides et Peptides de l'Institut des Biomolécules Max Mousseron afin de réaliser la fonctionnalisation des supports de croissance des organoïdes, permettant un meilleur ancrage des fibres musculaires différentiées.
D'autre part, pour tester la capacité des supports dans la genèse d'organoïdes à partir d'une culture de cellules souches, le doctorant sera accueilli au sein de l'unité PhyMedExp (UMR CNRS 9214 – Inserm U1046, CHU Montpellier) de l'Université de Montpellier (www.u1046.edu.umontpellier.fr). Il aura accès à la salle de culture (L2) de l'Unité pour mettre en place le modèle cellulaire musculaire à partir de myotubes humains, ces myotubes étant eux-mêmes issus de cellules souches purifiées à partir de biopsies de muscles squelettiques humains. Les biopsies nécessaires à la réalisation de ce projet de recherche s'effectueront dans le service de chirurgie thoracique de l'hôpital Arnaud de Villeneuve, CHU de Montpellier. Ce protocole a déjà été validé en juillet 2016 par les différents organismes compétents (CPP Sud Méditerranée I :RO–2016/30).
Enfin, Le doctorant devra également entretenir une relation étroite et permanente avec les partenaires du mouvement sportif (MA2M et FFSU Occitanie) chargés d'initier et d'animer des cohortes sous la supervision complémentaire du référent scientifique du Département de la Performance Sportive du CREPS de Montpellier. Cette relation sera administrative et technique (calendrier des opérations, constitution des cohortes, établissement et mise en œuvre des protocoles d'entraînement, prélèvements biologiques et retours sur expériences)
L'étudiant aura accès à toutes les ressources instrumentales disponibles au sein de ces structures et à travers les diverses plateformes de l'Université de Montpellier.

Contraintes et risques

Le doctorant sera le lien entre les nombreux partenaires. Il devra donc disposer d'un grand sens de l'organisation et d'une bonne autonomie pour gérer au mieux les interactions et faire preuve d'une maturité dans la planification de ses travaux en interface avec les différents laboratoires impliqués.
D'un point de vue expérimental, le doctorant manipulera des réactifs chimiques pour ses synthèses et du matériel biologique pour la préparation des organoïdes. Il sera donc amené à travailler dans des salles à accès contrôlé et nécessitant le port d'équipements de sécurité spécifiques.
Bien que toutes les études doivent se faire sur Montpellier, le doctorant pourra être amené, si nécessaire, à développer des collaborations avec d'autres partenaires français ou européens. Des déplacements sont donc à prévoir. Le doctorant devra également présenter ses travaux dans des congrès nationaux ou internationaux au moins une fois par an et assurer une bonne diffusion de son travail au sein de la communauté scientifique locale.

Informations complémentaires

Le profil recherché est prioritairement un expérimentateur de type biochimiste avec un cursus montrant une ouverture à la science des matériaux. Un profil de biologiste est aussi envisageable à la condition qu'il montre une motivation vers la chimie et la science des matériaux.
Connaissance de la culture cellulaire et de la physiologie musculaire à travers soit l'enseignement, soit les stages effectués.
Très forte autonomie et sens de l'organisation
Maitrise de la gestion de projet
Bonnes capacités expérimentales (démontrées lors des stages)

On en parle sur Twitter !