By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

(H/F) Call for Ph.D. thesis applications for a project entitled “Automatic recognition and generation of Cued Speech using deep learning”

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5216-CHRROM-011
Workplace : ST MARTIN D HERES
Date of publication : Friday, March 13, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Thomas HUEBER et Denis BEAUTEMPS
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Cued speech (CS) is a gesture-based communication system used by deaf people. It uses a set of specific hand shapes and positions to complement the lip information and make all phonemes of a given spoken language clearly visible. The goal of this PhD project is two folds: 1) designing systems aiming at decoding automatically CS into text, 2) generating automatically realistic videos of a “virtual” CS interpreter from text. These modules are the necessary building block of a dialogue systems for deaf people. The successful candidate will investigate advanced deep learning techniques to model the complex relationships between lips, hand gestures, and text in CS. The proposed work plan is the following: 1) extending existing datasets by recording new CS interpreters in both French and English using video and 3D motion capture technique, 2) investigating sequence-to-sequence mapping techniques (based for example on the transformer architecture and GANs) to decode CS into text, 3) investigated video generation techniques based on Conditional VAE or GAN to synthesize automatically realistic CS gestures from text. An extension to the automatic recognition and generation of Sign language could be considered (in collaboration with the LIMSI lab, Orsay, France).
A secondment will take place at the IVèS company (M12-M13 and M24-M25) and at ULB Université Libre de Bruxelles (M19-20). IVèS has developed a strong expertise in phone platform for deaf people integrating end-users aspects and is very well identified at French national and international levels and especially in Grenoble, Toulouse (IVèS had recently acquired the ELIOZ company), and in Montreal. The expertise of the ULB in language development will enable the ESR to evaluate the different technical solutions in relation with language abilities of children with Hearing Implants.

Requested expertise:
Candidates should have a strong background in one of these fields: computer vision, statistics, machine learning, natural language processing, speech processing - must have very good programming skills (in Python), and should have good verbal and written communication skills in English. While not mandatory, basic knowledges in French will be appreciated since most of our datasets are based on French version of CS (called Langue française Parlée Complétée).

Work Context

Gipsa-lab is a joint research unit of the CNRS, Grenoble-INP and the University of Grenoble Alpes; it is an agreement with Inria and the Observatory of Sciences of the Universe of Grenoble.

With a staff of 350 people including about 150 doctoral students, Gipsa-lab is a multidisciplinary laboratory developing fundamental and final research on complex signals and systems. He is internationally recognized for his research in Automatic, Signal and Images, Speech and Cognition and develops projects in the strategic areas of energy, environment, communication, intelligent systems, life and health and linguistic engineering.

Due to the nature of its research, Gipsa-lab maintains a constant link with the business community through a strong industrial partnership.

Its potential as teacher-researchers and researchers is invested in training at the universities and engineering schools of Grenoble (Grenoble Alpes University).

Gipsa-lab develops its research through 12 teams organized in 3 departments:

Automatic

Images signal

Word-cognition

It has 150 permanent and about 250 non-permanent (doctoral student, postdoctoral fellow, visiting researcher, Master student intern ...)

Research will be conducted at GIPSA-lab in Grenoble, France in the CRISSP research team (Cognitive Robotics, Interactive Systems and Speech Processing, http://www.gipsa-lab.grenoble-inp.fr/en/crissp.php).

Constraints and risks

Eligibility criteria:
Candidates must have obtained a degree which formally entitles them to embark on a doctorate, either in the country in which the degree was obtained or in the country in which the researcher is recruited. The candidate must have resided or carried out their main activity (work or studies) in a different country from the host organization for at least 12 months in the last 3 years immediately before the recruitment date. Holidays are not counted. Candidates cannot have been awarded a doctoral degree and/or completed more than four years of full-time equivalent research experience.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

(H/F) Offre de thèse "Reconnaissance et Génération Automatique du Cued Speech utilisant l'apprentissage profond”

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5216-CHRROM-011
Lieu de travail : ST MARTIN D HERES
Date de publication : vendredi 13 mars 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Thomas HUEBER et Denis BEAUTEMPS
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le Cued speech (CS) ou Langue française Parlée Complétée pour le français est un système dédié aux personnes sourdes à bases de gestes de la main pour la communication parlée. Il est composé d'un ensemble de formes de mains spécifiques placées à des positions particulières sur le visage ou sur le côté venant en appoint du mouvement des lèvres pour désambiguïser la lecture des lèvres et ainsi rendre complètement visible les phonèmes d'une langue donnée. L'objectif de la thèse est doubles: 1) concervoir un système visant à décoder automatiquement le CS en texte, 2) générer automatiquement des vidéos réalistes d'un interprète virtuel en CS à partir du texte. Ces modules sont nécessaires pour construire des systèmes de dialogue pour personnes sourdes. Le candidat retenu exploitera les techniques avancées en apprentissage profond pour modéliser les relations complexes entre lèvres, gestes de la main du CS et texte. Le plan de travail est : 1) l'extension des bases de données existantes à de nouveaux codeurs interprètes en CS en langues française et anglaise enregistrés en vidéo et en capture 3D du mouvement, 2) développer des méthodes de mapping séquence-à-séquence (s'appuyant par exemple sur des architectures de type Transformer et GAN) pour décoder le CS en texte, 3) développer les techniques de génération vidéo s'apuyant sur les techniques GAN pour synthétiser automatiquement des gestes réalistes du CS à partir du texte. Un élargissement vers la reconnaissance automatique et la génération de la langue des Signes pourra être envisagé (en collaboration avec le la boratoire LIMSI d'Orsay, France).
Une période (M12-M13 et M24-M25) de détachement est prévue chez la société IVèS et à l'Université Libre de Bruxelles ULB (M19-M20). IVèS est très bien identifiée en France à Grenoble et Toulouse (cette société vient d'acquérir la société ELIOZ) dans le développement de services relais de téléphonie dédiés aux personnes sourdes. De son côté l'ULB apportera son expertise en développement du langage chez les enfants sourds, et notamment ceux équipés d'un implant cochléaire.
Expertise requise:
Les candidats devront avoir une forte connaissance dans un des domaines suivants: Vision par ordinateur, apprentissage machine, traitement du langage naturel, traitement de la parole - devront avoir de très bonnes compétences en programmation (Python), et posséder un bon niveau d'anglais oral et écrit. Bien que non demandé, des connaissances de base en français seront appréciées compte tenu qu'une grande part des bases de données seront dans la version française du CS (appelée Langue française Parlée Complétée).

Contexte de travail

Gipsa-lab est une unité de recherche mixte du CNRS, de Grenoble-INP et de l'Université de Grenoble Alpes ; elle est conventionnée avec Inria et l'Observatoire des Sciences de l'Univers de Grenoble.

Fort de 350 personnes dont environ 150 doctorants, Gipsa-lab est un laboratoire pluridisciplinaire développant des recherches fondamentales et finalisées sur les signaux et systèmes complexes. Il est reconnu internationalement pour ses recherches en Automatique, Signal et Images, Parole et Cognition et développe des projets dans les domaines stratégiques de l'énergie, de l'environnement, de la communication, des systèmes intelligents, du vivant et de la santé et de l'ingénierie linguistique.

De par la nature de ses recherches, Gipsa-lab maintient un lien constant avec le milieu économique via un partenariat industriel fort.

Son potentiel d'enseignants-chercheurs et chercheurs est investi dans la formation au niveau des universités et écoles d'ingénieurs du site grenoblois (Université Grenoble Alpes).

Gipsa-lab développe ses recherches au travers de 12 équipes organisées en 3 départements :

Automatique

Images-signal

Parole-cognition

Elle compte 150 permanents et environ 250 non-permanent (doctorant, post-doctorant, chercheur invité, étudiant stagiaire de Master...)

Les travaux de recherche seront réalisés à GIPSA-lab, à Grenoble (France) au sein de l'équipe CRISSP (Cognitive Robotics, Interactive Systems and Speech Processing, http://www.gipsa-lab.grenoble-inp.fr/en/crissp.php).

Contraintes et risques

Critères d'éligibilité:
Les candidats devront avoir obtenu un diplôme leur permettant de poursuivre en thèse de doctorat dans le pays où le diplôme a été obtenu ou dans le pays dans lequel le candidat doctorant sera recruté (France pour cette offre). Les candidats devront avoir résidé ou mené leur activité principale (travail ou études) à l'extérieur de la France durant au moins 12 mois sur les 3 dernières années précédents la date de recrutement en France. Les vacances ne sont pas prises en compte. Les candidats ne doivent pas avoir eu un doctorat ou avoir occupé plus de 4 ans un emploi de chercheur à temps plein.

On en parle sur Twitter !