By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD Contract : "Understanding and Measuring the Social Values of Culture in Europe"

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5112-MAGSIE-007
Workplace : MONTPELLIER
Date of publication : Friday, December 27, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Emmanuel NEGRIER
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 February 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

This PhD contract in political science aims to contribute to the European research projet "UNCHARTED : Understanding, Capturing and Fostering the Societal Value of Culture" conducted by 10 European research organizations, within the work program H2020 TRANSFORMATIONS : The societal value of culture and the impact of cultural policies in Europe.

This project proposes to identify and contextualize the emergence and transformations of the social values of culture in Europe, as constructed by the different actors in the cultural field - from the point of view of cultural policies as well as cultural practices - and to provide analytical and methodological tools to understand, analyse and measure these values, in an interdisciplinary and pluralistic perspective.

In this perspective, the research should mobilize conceptual and empirical analyses, based on comparative case studies in different European countries, in collaboration with the partners of the UNCHARTED project.

The research program focuses on three main objectives :

- Identifying the emergence and diversity of the social values of culture in Europe : examining the influence of a series of key contexts and factors in the formation of the values of culture, particulary those related to the political history ; identifying the plurality of values that emerge in cultural policies and are experienced in cultural practices, particulary in the field of performing arts.

- Analyzing the different measures of the social values of culture : understanding the tensions related to the way different actors in the cultural field (citizens, participants, professionals, public administrators) construct, measure, compare and rank the values they attribute to culture - focusing more particulary on the grammars of valuing and evaluating cultural practices.

- Questioning the evaluation of cultural policies : analyzing the limits and the nonimative issues of cultural policy evaluation, and proposing new ways to evaluate the strategies and effectiveness of cultural policies and their social impacts.

Work Context

- Work in the CEPEL/UMR 5112 - Faculty of Law and Political Science Montpellier
- Travels to several European countries

Constraints and risks

Travels to several European countries

Additional Information

Profil :
- Master's degree in political science or sociology
- Extensive knowledge of cultural policies, sociology of cultural practices, evaluation of public policies
- Fluency in English
- Field research practice

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Contrat doctoral "Comprendre et mesurer les valeurs sociales de la culture en Europe" H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5112-MAGSIE-007
Lieu de travail : MONTPELLIER
Date de publication : vendredi 27 décembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Emmanuel NEGRIER
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 février 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Ce contrat doctoral en science politique s'inscrit dans le projet de recherche européen "UNCHARTED : Understanding, Capturing and Fostering the Societal Value of Culture" mené par 10 organismes de recherche, dans le cadre du programme
"H2020 TRANSFORMATIONS : The societal value of culture and the impact of cultural policies in Europe"

Ce projet propose d'identifier et de contextualiser l'émergence et les transformations des valeurs sociales de la culture en Europe, telles qu'elles sont construites par les différents acteurs du champ culturel - du point de vue des politiques culturelles comme celui des pratiques culturelles - et de fournir des outils analytiques et méthodologiques pour comprendre,analyser et mesurer ces valeurs, dans une perspective interdisciplinaire et pluraliste.

Dans cette perspective, la recherche doit mobiliser des analyses conceptuelles et empiriques, en s'appuyant sur des études de cas comparatives dans différents pays européens, en collaboration avec les partenaires du projet UNCHARTED.

Le programme de recherche porte sur trois axes principaux :

- Identifier l'émergence et la diversité des valeurs sociales de la culture : examiner l'influence d'une série de contextes et de facteurs clés dans la formation des valeurs de la culture en Europe, et plus particulièrement, ceux liées à l'histoire politique de l'Europe; identifier la pluralité des valeurs qui émergent dans les politiques culturelles, et s'éprouvent dans les pratiques culturelles, et ce plus particulièrement dans le champ du spectacle vivant.

- Analyser les différentes mesures des valeurs sociales de la culture : comprendre les tensions liées à la façon dont les différents acteurs du domaine culturel (citoyens, participants, professionnels, administrateurs publics) construisent, mesurent, comparent et classent les valeurs qu'ils attribuent à la culture en se concentrant plus particulièrement sur les grammaires de valorisation et d'évaluation des pratiques culturelles.

- Questionner l'évaluation des politiques culturelles : mettre à jour les enjeux normatifs et les limites de l'évaluation des politiques culturelles, et proposer de nouvelles manières d'évaluer les stratégies et l'efficacité des politiques culturelles, et en particulier de leurs impacts sociaux.

Contexte de travail

Environnement matériel et scientifique (conditions de sécurité spécifiques)

- Travail au sein du CEPEL/UMR 5112 (CNRS-Université de Montpellier)situé à la Faculté de Droit et Science Politique de Montpellier
- Déplacements dans plusieurs pays européens

Contraintes et risques

Déplacements dans plusieurs pays européens

Informations complémentaires

Profil :
- Master en science politique ou sociologie
- Connaissance approfondie des politiques culturelles, de la sociologie des pratiques culturelles et de l'évaluation des politiques publiques
- Maîtrise de l'anglais
- Pratique de la recherche de terrain

On en parle sur Twitter !