By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Thesis development of an automated tool for the diagnosis of handwriting deficits in children M/f

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5105-GUYOMN0-018
Workplace : GRENOBLE
Date of publication : Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Caroline Jolly
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 November 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

-------Handwriting deficits, also termed dysgraphia, concern 5 to 10% of children (Smits-Engelsman et al, 2001; Danna et al, 2016; Jolly 2017). The diagnosis of dysgraphia in France is based on a relatively subjective test, the BHK (Charles et al., 2003). If not handled properly, handwriting deficits can seriously impact both children's behavioural and academical development, eventually leading to academic failure. Early diagnosis of dysgraphia is thus crucial.

In the literature, dysgraphia are well described from a motor perspective (Danna et al, 2013; Smits-Engelsman & van Galen, 1997; Hamstra-Bletz & Blöte, 1993), but little is known about the cerebral and oculomotor activities involved. Recently, an algorithm allowing the identification of dysgraphic children based on writing samples collected on a graphic tablet has been developed (Asselborn et al, 2018). Although very promising, this automated tool presents some technological limitations preventing its use for the diagnosis (Deschamps et al., 2019). In the context of a former grant obtained from the Bottom Up program of CEA, we collected a large database of handwriting and drawing samples from typical and dysgraphic children, and we used machine learning approaches to identify the kinematic features of handwriting which allow the better discrimination between typical and dysgraphic children. Our algorithms allow a correct classification of children with a precision of about 85%.

The objective of the thesis project is to analyse handwriting in typical and dysgraphic children using three concomittant measures: kinematic parameters of handwriting, cortical activity measured using electroencephalography, and oculomotor activity measured using eye-tracking. A first objective will focus on analyzing the evolution of handwriting using these 3 measures from a developmental perspective, in the population of children. A second objective will consist in evaluating the benefit of EEG and eye-tracking data in supervised models for the diagnosis of dysgraphia. The final goal of this project is to develop a new, fully-automated and reliable tool for the diagnosis of dysgraphia.

Work Context

* Missions :
The candidate will have to collect handwriting, EEG and eye-tracking data from the 2 populations of children. Using these data, the candidate will then use machine learning approaches (supervised models) to analyse handwriting development in typical and atypical children, and to develop an algorithm for the diagnosis of dysgraphia.

*skills :
- master 2 or engineer level, with a good expertise in statistical modelisation and machine learning
- skills in Python programming are recommended
- a former expertise in neurosciences would be beneficial

* working place :
The thesis will take place on 2 sites, the LPNC laboratory (UMR CNRS 5105) located at the University campus, and the CEA LETI.

* thesis direction :
The thesis will be co-directed by Dr Caroline Jolly (LPNC) for all Cognition and Neurosciences aspects of the project, et by Dr Etienne Labyt (CEA, LETI) for Machine Learning aspects. The candidate will benefit from the expertise of Dr Caroline Jolly in the field of typical and atypical child development, namely handwriting, and from the expertise of Dr Etienne Labyt in EEG et machine learning. Dr Vincent Brault from the Laboratory Jean Kuntzmann (IMAG – UGA) will also be involved in the project, and will bring his expertise in the domain of statistical modelisation.

* école doctorale :
Ingénierie pour la santé la Cognition et l'Environnement
Spécialité BIS - Biotechnologie, instrumentation, signal et imagerie pour la biologie, la médecine et l'environnement

This project is at the border of three research fields : typical and atypical child development, cognitive neurosciences, and health engineering.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Thèse en développement d'un outil informatisé d'aide au diagnostic des troubles de l'écriture chez l'enfant, H/F

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5105-GUYOMN0-018
Lieu de travail : GRENOBLE
Date de publication : mardi 10 septembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Caroline Jolly
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 novembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Les troubles de l'écriture, appelés « dysgraphies », concernent 5 à 10% des enfants d'âge scolaire (Smits-Engelsman et al, 2001; Danna et al, 2016; Jolly 2017). Actuellement le diagnostic de la dysgraphie est basé sur un test relativement subjectif, le BH (Charles et al., 2003). Non pris en charge, ces troubles impactent rapidement les autres apprentissages scolaires fondamentaux, et peuvent même conduire à l'échec scolaire. Leur diagnostic précoce est donc essentiel.

La littérature décrit relativement bien les dysgraphies d'un point de vue moteur (Danna et al, 2013; Smits-Engelsman & van Galen, 1997; Hamstra-Bletz & Blöte, 1993), mais très peu de données concernant l'activité cérébrale ou oculomotrice sont disponibles. Récemment, un premier algorithme permettant de détecter une partie des enfants dysgraphiques a été développé (Asselborn et al, 2018), mais cet outil présente des limitations technologiques empêchant son utilisation pour le diagnostic (Deschamps et al., 2019). Dans le cadre d'un projet soutenu par le programme Bottom Up du CEA, nous avons acquis une large base de données d'écriture d'enfants typiques et dysgraphiques et avons développé des algorithmes basés sur l'analyse des traces écrites, et identifier des paramètres cinématiques discriminatifs des enfants dysgraphiques. Les performances atteintes par nos algorithmes en termes de détection de la dysgraphie sont de l'ordre de 85%.

L'objectif de la thèse proposée est d'analyser l'évolution de l'écriture chez l'enfant typique et dysgraphique sur la base de 3 mesures conjointes: les paramètres cinématiques de l'écriture, l'activité cérébrale mesurée par EEG, et l'activité oculomotrice mesurée par oculométrie, et d'évaluer, à partir de ces données, l'apport de données issues de l'EEG et de l'oculométrie dans les modèles supervisés pour l'aide au diagnostic de la dysgraphie. La finalité est de développer un nouvel outil de diagnostic de la dysgraphie entièrement informatisé et fiable.

Contexte de travail

- Missions :
Le candidat sélectionné recueillera des données d'écriture, d'EEG, et d'oculométrie auprès de différentes populations d'enfants. A partir de ces données, il développera des approches de machine learning (modèles supervisés) afin de comprendre le développement de l'écriture chez l'enfant typique et chez l'enfant dysgraphique.

- compétences :
- niveau Bac +5 (master 2 ou école d'ingénieur) avec une bonne connaissance en modélisation statistique et en machine learning
- une compétence en programmation Python serait souhaitée
- une expérience antérieure dans le domaine des neurosciences serait un plus

- lieu de travail :
Ce projet se déroulera sur 2 sites, le LPNC (UMR CNRS 5105) situé sur le Campus Universitaire, et au CEA LETI.

- encadrement :
La thèse sera co-encadrée par le Dr Caroline Jolly (LPNC) pour les aspects Cognition et Neurosciences du projet, et par le Dr Etienne Labyt (CEA, LETI) pour les aspects Machine Learning. L'étudiant en thèse bénéficiera de l'expertise du Dr Caroline Jolly dans le domaine du développement de l'enfant et de ses troubles, notamment la dysgraphie, et de l'expertise du Dr Etienne Labyt en EEG et machine learning. Le Dr Vincent Brault du LJK (IMAG – UGA) sera également impliqué dans le projet, et apportera son expertise dans le domaine de la modélisation statistique.

- école doctorale :
Ingénierie pour la santé la Cognition et l'Environnement
Spécialité BIS - Biotechnologie, instrumentation, signal et imagerie pour la biologie, la médecine et l'environnement

Ce projet s'inscrit dans les domaines du développement de l'enfant normal et pathologique, des neurosciences cognitives, et de l'ingénierie pour la santé

On en parle sur Twitter !