En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

PhD offer in molecular and cellular biology M/F

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : lundi 17 mai 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5089-MARGIL-002
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Monday, April 26, 2021
Scientific Responsible name : Martine GILLERON
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 4 October 2021
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Tuberculosis is a communicable disease that remains a major cause of ill health, one of the top 10 causes of death worldwide and the leading cause of death from a single infectious agent (ranking above HIV/AIDS). According to World Health Organization, 1.4 million people died of tuberculosis in 2019 (1). There is therefore an urgent need to develop new vaccine strategies that will allow the development of a tuberculosis vaccine that is more effective than BCG. Within the framework of international programs supported by the European Union (TBVAC2020) and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, we have evaluated for several years a promising strategy that consists in using Mycobacterium tuberculosis antigens of lipidic nature in subunit vaccine formulations (2-5). These antigens are presented to T lymphocytes by the CD1 family proteins (in particular, the CD1b isoform) on the surface of antigen presenting cells (APCs). The major cellular steps in the presentation of lipid antigens by CD1 are known. However, the precise molecular mechanisms and actors involved have yet to be defined.
This thesis project aims to identify key actors and mechanisms of lipid antigen presentation by CD1b, focusing on the most poorly understood aspects of this process, including the identity of intracellular proteins required for antigen capture, trafficking to lysosomes, processing into epitopes, and loading onto CD1b. The detailed analysis of the protein composition of APC lysosomes has allowed us to identify new candidate proteins potentially involved in lipid antigen presentation such as hydrolases. Here, we will specifically inactivate selected genes by CRISPR/Cas9 technology in the APC cell lines K562-CD1b or THP1-CD1b models (6). The role of the targeted genes will be evaluated at different steps of lipid antigen presentation (capture, traffic, processing, loading) using a series of assays :
*to determine if the antigen is correctly taken up by CD1b and presented on the surface of the APC, the cells will be i) pulsed with antigenic lipids (Ac2SGL) and their capacity to activate the specific T clone will be analyzed or ii) labeled with the antibody dAbk11, which specifically recognizes the CD1b-Ac2SGL complex on the surface of the APC (7).
*in absence of T cell activation or antibody recognition, the lipid structure presented by CD1b on the surface of the APC will be investigated, using an innovative strategy we previously developed to isolate the CD1b: lipid complexes. This strategy is based on the use of APC expressing a cleavable form of the CD1b protein. Following defined conditions of cleavage and purification of the complexes, the lipids will be extracted from cleaved CD1b and analyzed by HPLC/MS.
*finally, the fate of the antigen (fluorescent synthetic form to be produced) will be analyzed by confocal microscopy from its uptake by the cells to its location in lysosomes, and its loading on CD1b (co-location by high resolution microscopy). The function of selected target proteins will be studied in vitro (cargo protein, lipid transfer protein, ...) using dedicated tests (8-10).

References :
1. https://www.who.int/teams/global-tuberculosis-programme/tb-reports/global-tuberculosis-report-2020
2. H. de la Salle et al., Assistance of microbial glycolipid antigen processing by CD1e. Science 310, 1321 (Nov 25, 2005).
3. M. Gilleron et al., Lysosomal Lipases PLRP2 and LPLA2 Process Mycobacterial Multi-acylated Lipids and Generate T Cell Stimulatory Antigens. Cell chemical biology 23, 1147 (Sep 22, 2016).
4. M. Gilleron et al., Diacylated sulfoglycolipids are novel mycobacterial antigens stimulating CD1-restricted T cells during infection with Mycobacterium tuberculosis. The Journal of experimental medicine 199, 649 (Mar 1, 2004).
5. G. Larrouy-Maumus et al., Protective efficacy of a lipid antigen vaccine in a guinea pig model of tuberculosis. Vaccine 35, 1395 (Mar 7, 2017).
6. S. Chandra et al., Mrp1 is involved in lipid presentation and iNKT cell activation by Streptococcus pneumoniae. Nature communications 9, 4279 (Oct 15, 2018).
7. F. Camacho et al., Selection of phage-displayed human antibody fragments specific for CD1b presenting the Mycobacterium tuberculosis glycolipid Ac2SGL. International journal of mycobacteriology 5, 120 (Jun, 2016).
8. L. Blanc et al., Mycobacterium tuberculosis inhibits human innate immune responses via the production of TLR2 antagonist glycolipids. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 114, 11205 (Oct 17, 2017).
9. D. Cala-De Paepe et al., Deciphering the role of CD1e protein in mycobacterial phosphatidyl-myo-inositol mannosides (PIM) processing for presentation by CD1b to T lymphocytes. The Journal of biological chemistry 287, 31494 (Sep 7, 2012).
10. L. F. Garcia-Alles et al., Crystal structure of human CD1e reveals a groove suited for lipid-exchange processes. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 108, 13230 (Aug 9, 2011).

Work Context

Collaborative CNRS thesis with societal impact: the proposed project will be carried out in its entirety in the "Tuberculosis and Infection Biology" department of the Institute of Pharmacology and Structural Biology (IPBS, CNRS unit, Toulouse, France), in the team "Immunomodulation by lipids and mycobacterial glycoconjugates" led by Dr J. Nigou and in close interaction with the team "Immune detection and pathogen elimination" of E. Meunier.

Additional Information

The candidate will have obtained a Master's degree during which he/she will have completed a research internship in cell and molecular biology. He/she will need to demonstrate good knowledge and skills in both areas. Knowledge of CRISPR/Case9 technology would be appreciated.
Please attach to your application your CV, official Master's transcript and a short cover letter as well as the contact details (email) of two referees.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Offre de Thèse H/F en biologie moléculaire et cellulaire, Interaction Hôte-Pathogène

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : lundi 17 mai 2021

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5089-MARGIL-002
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : lundi 26 avril 2021
Nom du responsable scientifique : Martine GILLERON
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 4 octobre 2021
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Caractérisation des mécanismes moléculaires de la présentation des antigènes lipidiques mycobactériens aux lymphocytes T.
La tuberculose est une maladie transmissible qui reste un problème de santé au niveau mondial ; c'est l'une des 10 premières causes de décès dans le monde et la première cause de décès due à un seul agent infectieux (se plaçant au-dessus du VIH/sida). Selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, 1,4 million de personnes sont mortes de la tuberculose en 2019 (1). Il est donc urgent de développer de nouvelles stratégies vaccinales qui permettront la mise au point d'un vaccin contre la tuberculose plus efficace que le BCG. Dans le cadre de programmes internationaux soutenus par l'Union européenne (TBVAC2020) et la Fondation Bill & Melinda Gates, nous évaluons depuis plusieurs années une stratégie prometteuse qui consiste à utiliser des antigènes de Mycobacterium tuberculosis de nature lipidique dans des formulations vaccinales sous-unitaires (2-5). Ces antigènes sont présentés aux lymphocytes T par les protéines de la famille CD1 (en particulier l'isoforme CD1b) à la surface des cellules présentatrices d'antigènes (CPA). Les principales étapes cellulaires de la présentation des antigènes lipidiques par CD1 sont connues. Cependant, les mécanismes moléculaires précis et les acteurs impliqués restent à définir.
Ce projet de thèse vise à identifier les acteurs et les mécanismes clés de la présentation des antigènes lipidiques par CD1b, en se concentrant sur les aspects les plus mal compris de ce processus, notamment l'identité des protéines intracellulaires requises pour la capture de l'antigène, le trafic vers les lysosomes, l'apprêtement en épitopes et le chargement sur CD1b. L'analyse détaillée de la composition protéique des lysosomes de la PCA nous a permis d'identifier de nouvelles protéines candidates potentiellement impliquées dans la présentation des antigènes lipidiques. Ici, nous allons spécifiquement inactiver par la technologie CRISPR/Cas9 les gènes sélectionnés dans les lignées cellulaires modèles K562-CD1b ou THP1-CD1b (6). Le rôle des gènes ciblés sera évalué à différentes étapes de la présentation de l'antigène lipidique (capture, trafic, traitement, chargement) en utilisant différents tests :
- pour déterminer si l'antigène est correctement capté par CD1b et présenté à la surface de la PCA, les cellules seront i) pulsées avec des lipides antigéniques (Ac2SGL) et leur capacité à activer le clone T spécifique sera analysée ou ii) marquées avec l'anticorps dAbk11, qui reconnaît spécifiquement le complexe CD1b-Ac2SGL à la surface de la PCA (7).
- en l'absence d'activation des cellules T ou de reconnaissance des anticorps, la structure lipidique présentée par CD1b à la surface de la PCA sera étudiée, en utilisant une stratégie innovante que nous avons précédemment développée pour isoler les complexes CD1b: lipides. Cette stratégie est basée sur l'utilisation de PCA exprimant une forme clivable de la protéine CD1b. Après des conditions définies de clivage et de purification des complexes, les lipides seront extraits de la protéine CD1b clivée et analysés par HPLC/MS.
- enfin, le devenir de l'antigène (forme synthétique fluorescente à produire) sera analysé par microscopie confocale depuis sa captation par les cellules jusqu'à sa localisation dans les lysosomes, et son chargement sur CD1b (co-localisation par microscopie haute résolution). La fonction de certaines protéines cibles sera étudiée in vitro (protéine cargo, protéine de transfert de lipides, ...) à l'aide de tests dédiés (8-10).

References :
1. https://www.who.int/teams/global-tuberculosis-programme/tb-reports/global-tuberculosis-report-2020
2. H. de la Salle et al., Assistance of microbial glycolipid antigen processing by CD1e. Science 310, 1321 (Nov 25, 2005).
3. M. Gilleron et al., Lysosomal Lipases PLRP2 and LPLA2 Process Mycobacterial Multi-acylated Lipids and Generate T Cell Stimulatory Antigens. Cell chemical biology 23, 1147 (Sep 22, 2016).
4. M. Gilleron et al., Diacylated sulfoglycolipids are novel mycobacterial antigens stimulating CD1-restricted T cells during infection with Mycobacterium tuberculosis. The Journal of experimental medicine 199, 649 (Mar 1, 2004).
5. G. Larrouy-Maumus et al., Protective efficacy of a lipid antigen vaccine in a guinea pig model of tuberculosis. Vaccine 35, 1395 (Mar 7, 2017).
6. S. Chandra et al., Mrp1 is involved in lipid presentation and iNKT cell activation by Streptococcus pneumoniae. Nature communications 9, 4279 (Oct 15, 2018).
7. F. Camacho et al., Selection of phage-displayed human antibody fragments specific for CD1b presenting the Mycobacterium tuberculosis glycolipid Ac2SGL. International journal of mycobacteriology 5, 120 (Jun, 2016).
8. L. Blanc et al., Mycobacterium tuberculosis inhibits human innate immune responses via the production of TLR2 antagonist glycolipids. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 114, 11205 (Oct 17, 2017).
9. D. Cala-De Paepe et al., Deciphering the role of CD1e protein in mycobacterial phosphatidyl-myo-inositol mannosides (PIM) processing for presentation by CD1b to T lymphocytes. The Journal of biological chemistry 287, 31494 (Sep 7, 2012).
10. L. F. Garcia-Alles et al., Crystal structure of human CD1e reveals a groove suited for lipid-exchange processes. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 108, 13230 (Aug 9, 2011).

Contexte de travail

Thèse CNRS collaborative avec impact sociétal : le projet proposé sera exécuté dans son intégrité dans le département « tuberculose et biologie des infections » de l'Institut de pharmacologie et de biologie structurale (IPBS, unité CNRS, Toulouse, France), dans l'équipe « Immunomodulation par les lipides et glycoconjugués mycobactériens » dirigée par le Dr J. Nigou et en interaction avec l'équipe « Détection immunitaire et élimination des pathogènes » d'E. Meunier.

Informations complémentaires

Le/la candidat-e aura obtenu un Master durant lequel il/elle aura fait un stage de recherche en biologie cellulaire et moléculaire. Il/elle devra faire preuve de bonnes connaissances et compétences dans ces deux domaines. La connaissance de la technologie CRISPR/Cas9 serait appréciée.
Veuillez joindre à votre candidature vos CV, relevé de notes officiel de Master et une courte lettre de motivation ainsi que les coordonnées (email) de deux référents.

On en parle sur Twitter !