By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD Project (Man/Woman) in science of the sintering of granular materials

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR125-PIEJOP-001
Workplace : AUBERVILLIERS
Date of publication : Monday, November 04, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Pierre Jop
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 January 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Thermal effects on micro-structural evolution during capillary-driven sintering. During the sintering process, particles deform at elevated temperatures through various mechanisms and then reform (i.e. densify) on cooling to produce either a fully dense or a partially dense material. The porosity of the reformed structure (and ultimately the functional quality of the final product) is affected by the microstructural changes that occur on rearrangement; for example, a high surface tension in the melt liquids (which is found with molten oxides) can induce capillary forces, which are known to detract from optimal sintering conditions. However, monitoring microstructural changes has historically proved challenging and studies to date have mainly focused on phenomenological characterization. Fortunately, recent advances in synchrotron X-ray tomography enable the fast acquisition (in a few seconds) of 3D images with a high enough spatial resolution (1μm) to examine the evolution of liquids or of granular materials in-situ. The PhD student will therefore use the latest in-situ X-ray tomography techniques to systematically explore the effects of capillary interactions in the melt liquids on porosity. She/he will first study the sintering of powder mixtures when a component has a lower fusion temperature or using inert grains (e.g. fusible materials, such as glass and oxides, and refractory materials) so that only a fraction of the structure will transform into a liquid phase. Using the synchrotron at ESRF, she/he will then examine the structural evolution and phase transformation and then explore how to control porosity in heterogeneous systems using the liquid phase produced at high temperatures by systematically changing the sintering conditions and the initial packing structure. She/he will also establish the sintering conditions at which the collapse of the granular structure under the capillary forces can be avoided and characterize the final structure and porosity of different initial structured aggregates. She/he will then use model granular materials (polymers, ice) to assess the capillary effects by changing the surface tension, viscosity or wettability.

Work Context

This PhD Project will take place mostly at the Glass surface and Interfaces, localized in the RD research center of Saint-Gobain Research Paris, in Aubervilliers. Some experiments will be made at the ESRF synchrotron in Grenoble and exchanges will be made between our laboratory and another laboratory (SIMAP) where another PhD student is working in a related subject.

Constraints and risks

The candidates cannot have spent more than 12 months in France (work or studies) during the last 3 years immediately before the recruitment date.

Additional Information

This PhD project is part of the research program MATHEGRAM https://www.surrey.ac.uk/mathegram which is a network of 15 projects on the subject of the granular materials at high temperature. The gross salary is therefore around 3000€ gross monthly.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Recrutement en thèse (H/F) en sciencedes matériaux granulaires - frittage

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR125-PIEJOP-001
Lieu de travail : AUBERVILLIERS
Date de publication : lundi 4 novembre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Pierre Jop
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 janvier 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Effets thermiques sur l'évolution de la microstructure lors du frittage piloté par la capillarité.
Ce projet s'intéresse aux précédés de frittages, lorsque les particules se déforment à température élevée, voire fondent, et forment ensuite après refroidissement une phase plus ou moins dense. La porosité de la structure finale est affectée par les réarrangements structuraux lors du procédé. Par exemple, la tension de surface des liquides fondus (qui peuvent être des oxydes fondus) peut induire des forces suffisantes pour perturber le processus de frittage. Le contrôle de la microstructure représente donc un challenge dans de nombreuses applications. De nos jours, les récents progrès de micro-tomographie à haute résolution (1 µm) permettent d'étudier l'évolution de liquides ou de matériaux granulaires in-situ. Au cours de ce projet, le(la) doctorant(e) utilisera les meilleurs techniques de tomographie pour étudier le rôle des ponts capillaires pendant le frittage. Le travail se focalisera sur des mélanges de grains inertes et de grains fusibles (comme du verre par exemple mélangé à des grains réfractaires) pour contrôler la fraction de grains qui peuvent former la phase liquide. Des expériences seront réalisée au synchrotron de l'ESRF (Grenoble). Il/Elle examinera ensuite l'évolution structurelle et la transformation de phase, puis explorera le contrôle de la porosité dans des systèmes hétérogènes en utilisant la phase liquide produite à haute température, en modifiant de façon systématique les conditions de frittage et de la structure de l'empilement initial. Il/elle établira également les conditions de frittage dans lesquelles l'effondrement de la structure granulaire sous les forces capillaires peut être évitée et caractérisera la structure finale et la porosité de différents échantillons initiaux. Il/elle utilisera ensuite des matériaux granulaires modèles (polymères, glace) pour évaluer les effets capillaires en modifiant la tension de surface, la viscosité voire le mouillage.

Contexte de travail

Le travail de thèse se déroulera principalement au laboratoire Surface du Verre et Interfaces, localisé dans le centre de recherche Saint-Gobain Research Paris, à Aubervilliers. Des expériences seront effectuées au synchrotron de Grenoble et des échanges seront prévus entre SVI et un autre laboratoire travaillant (SIMAP) sur un sujet connexe.

Contraintes et risques

Les postulants ne doivent pas avoir passé plus de 12 mois en France dans la période des 3ans précédant la date du recrutement pour la thèse.

Informations complémentaires

Ce projet de Thèse fait partie du programme MATHEGRAM https://www.surrey.ac.uk/mathegram qui est un réseau regroupant 15 projets autour des matériaux granulaires à haute température. Le salaire du doctorant est donc d'environ 3000€ brut mensuel.

On en parle sur Twitter !