By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

Doctoral student: Vegetation dynamics and plant-animal interactions in the Sahel region of Ferlo (Se

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMI3189-MARLAU-001
Workplace : MARSEILLE 06
Date of publication : Tuesday, October 08, 2019
Scientific Responsible name : Aliou GUISSE / Martine HOSSAERT
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 December 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The main theme of this PhD thesis concerns the dynamics of vegetation and plant-animal interactions in the Sahelian zone of Ferlo (Senegal). This thesis will consist of an ecological study of the socio-ecosystems of the Great Green Wall along two axes:
1.The dynamics of the plant populations of the implanted species will be analysed through:
- vegetation monitoring work: inventory of three sites representative of Sahelian ecosystems (vegetation surveys, dendrometric studies using conventional methods and drones, etc.), monitoring of reforested plots, from seed selection to interannual plant growth. Analysis of the differential success rates between natural and experimental plots, between inoculated and uninoculated plants, between watered and unwatered plants, etc.
- surveys to be carried out at the level of local populations on plant species that have existed in the area, and the reasons for their disappearance (climatic, anthropogenic causes, etc.).
2.Plant-animal interactions will be described according to:
- the types of interactions
- the chemical aspects of these interactions: composition and chemical properties of leaves and other plant organs (biochemistry, composition of organs: leaves, bark, roots...)

Work Context

The doctoral registration school will be that of the Integrated Systems in Biology, Agronomy, Geosciences, Hydrosciences, Environment of Montpellier, specializing in Ecology and Biodiversity. The host laboratory will be UMI 3189, in collaboration with CEFE. The host team will be the CEFE IBiotics team in France and the team from the Vegetal Ecology and Hydro-ecology Laboratory of the Cheikh Anta Diop University in Dakar, Senegal. The doctoral student will work in collaboration with the National Agency of the Great Green Wall in Senegal.

Constraints and risks

The doctoral student will carry out regular missions of a maximum duration of 3 months in Senegal, in the Senegalese Ferlo, in order to follow the implementation of reforestation plots of the Great Green Wall.

Additional Information

The expected disciplinary skills are as follows (Master 2 degree or equivalent):
- Ecology
- Botany
- Population dynamics
- Plant-plant, plant-animal, and especially plant-insect interactions
Knowledge of chemical ecology would be a plus.
Fluency in spoken/written/read English
Proficiency in spoken/written/read French
Strong autonomy and motivation

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Doctorant H/F Dynamique de la végétation et interactions plantes-animaux dans la zone sahélienne du Ferlo (Sénégal)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMI3189-MARLAU-001
Lieu de travail : MARSEILLE 06
Date de publication : mardi 8 octobre 2019
Nom du responsable scientifique : Aliou GUISSE / Martine HOSSAERT
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 décembre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le thème principal de cette thèse concerne la dynamique de la végétation et les interactions plantes-animaux dans la zone sahélienne du Ferlo (Sénégal). Cette thèse consistera en une étude écologique des socio-écosystèmes de la Grande Muraille Verte selon deux axes :
1.La dynamique des populations végétales des espèces implantées sera analysée à travers :
- des travaux de suivi de la végétation : état des lieux sur trois sites représentatifs des écosystèmes sahéliens (relevés de végétation, études dendrométriques par des méthodes classiques et par des drones…), suivi des parcelles reboisées, depuis le choix de la graine jusqu'à la croissance interannuelle des plants. Analyse des taux de réussite différentiels entre parcelles naturelles et parcelles expérimentales, entre plants inoculés et plans non inoculés, entre plants arrosés et plan non arrosés, etc.
- des enquêtes à mener au niveau des populations locales sur les espèces végétales ayant existé dans la zone, et les raisons de leur disparition (causes climatiques, anthropiques…).
2.Les interactions plantes-animaux seront décrites selon :
-les types d'interactions
-les aspects chimiques de ces interactions : composition et propriétés chimiques des feuilles et autres organes des plantes (biochimie, composition des organes : feuilles, écorces, racines…)

Contexte de travail

L'école doctorale d'inscription sera celle des Systèmes Intégrés en Biologie, Agronomie, Géosciences, Hydrosciences, Environnement de Montpellier, spécialité Ecologie et biodiversité. Le laboratoire d'accueil sera l'UMI 3189, en collaboration avec le CEFE. L'équipe d'accueil sera l'équipe IBiotique du CEFE en France et l'équipe du laboratoire d'Ecologie Végétale et d'Hydro-écologie de l'Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar au Sénégal. Le ou la doctorant(e) travaillera en collaboration avec l'Agence Nationale de la Grande Muraille Verte au Sénégal.

Contraintes et risques

Le ou la doctorant(e) effectuera des missions régulières d'une durée maximale de 3 mois au Sénégal, dans le Ferlo sénégalais, afin de suivre la mise en place de parcelles de reboisement de la Grande Muraille Verte.

Informations complémentaires

Les compétences disciplinaires attendues sont les suivantes (diplôme master 2 ou équivalent) :
• Ecologie
• Botanique
• Dynamique des populations
• Interactions plantes-plantes, plantes-animaux, et surtout plantes-insectes
Des connaissances en écologie chimique seraient un plus.
Maîtrise de l'anglais parlé/écrit/lu
Maîtrise du français parlé/écrit/lu
Forte autonomie et motivation

On en parle sur Twitter !