By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD grant in political geography and geographies of representation (36 months) in the framework of the project ANR-DFG IMAGEUN (W/M)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : FR2007-SOPVAL-002
Workplace : PARIS 13
Date of publication : Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Claude Grasland
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The project IMAGEUN (In the Mirror of the European Neighborhood Policy: Mapping Macro-Regional Imaginations) is a binational research project co-funded by the National Research Agency (France) and the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft). Directed by Veit Bachmann (Goethe University Frankfurt) for the German team and Claude Grasland (University of Paris-Diderot) for the French team, it will be launched on May 1 2020 and run for a period of 42 months.


The IMAGEUN project offers a comparative study of different macro-regional imaginations in and around “the European space” through a double comparative analysis. It will inquire into geographical imaginations 1) of political elites, the press and students; and 2) in five countries of study (Germany, France, United Kingdom, Turkey, Tunisia). The envisioned research of the PhD-student will primarily deal with the French and British case studies. As part of her/his research, the PhD-student will have to conduct and analyze surveys among a student audience to capture the semantic and spatial content of their representations of these macro-regions (Europe, West, Middle East, Eurasia, (Euro) Mediterranean, Commonwealth, etc.).


The thesis will primarily use quantitative methods (statistical analysis of survey data, spatial analysis, cartography and geomatics, textual analysis). An interest in reading outside the strictly disciplinary context of geography as well as in the reflexive use of survey methods and the analysis of representations is desirable. Field work for the thesis will include one or more research periods in France and the United Kingdom. Additional field stays in Germany can be envisaged depending on the motivations and skills (especially linguistic) of the candidate. In all cases, regular interactions with a twin thesis funded by the German part of the project are to be expected.

The successful candidate will be in the centre of empirical data acquisition in form of surveys on representations of French and British students – part of work package 3 ("thematic foci") and 4 ("data triangulation & integration") of the project. These activities include the collection, analysis and valorisation of these surveys (contribution to the drafting of reports - in particular the “report on student visions”) as well as the methodological guides expected as deliverables in form of scientific publications - see details relating to WP3 ). This part of the work - in particular the part relating to the investigation - will have to be carried out in coordination with the researchers responsible for the other fields of investigation (Turkish, German, Tunisian). Part of these analyses will be oriented around thematic foci (WP4), two of which have been defined a priori ("human mobility" and "economic challenges") and one will be determined during the first months of the project.

Applicants are invited to consult the general document (in english) presenting the project to situate their contribution in relation to all of the research that will be carried out:
https://sharedocs.huma-num.fr/wl/?id=yGmwgfv2L1zpmkXEP6B5xJGk9lyaB5yI

Work Context

The thesis is part of the French part of the project, supported by the 2007 Research Federation of the International College of Territorial Sciences (CIST - http://cist.cnrs.fr/). The institutions of affiliation will be one of the project partner teams: UMR 6266 IDEES (Rouen), UMR 7533 LADYSS (Paris), UMR 8504 Géographie-cités (Paris) or UMR 5600 EVS (Lyon). Like the pedagogical attachment, enrolment in the doctoral school will depend on the affiliation of the envisaged principal thesis supervisor (see the list of project members in the following section). During fieldwork periods, the student will be able to benefit from the help of the project partners in the field (for example in the British case: the University of Birmingham). Even if a certain autonomy in research is expected, the importance of transversal analyses and the need for coordination between the various members of the project also requires being able to work in a team.

Applications coming from other disciplines than geography are possible. An interdisciplinary scientific culture is also welcome. Applicants are, however, reminded that the proposed thesis is a geography thesis, with supervision provided by geographers and research units belonging to section 39 of the CNRS (Spaces, territories and societies)
https://www.cnrs.fr/comitenational/sections/section.php?sec=39).

A good disciplinary knowledge is therefore expected. Also, we expect the ability to integrate into teams and a professional trajectory located in geography or a related research field that requires skills similar to those expected in the framework of a geography thesis.


We expect good skills and experience in statistical, geomatic and cartographic analysis tools. A capability in a free programming language is also required (preferably R, possibly Python).

Being part of an international research project, an excellent command of English (written and oral) is expected (part of the interview planned for May will be in English) in addition to fluency in French. Knowledge of German is not compulsory but may be appreciated as part of a binational project.

This doctoral contract is not subject to any teaching obligation and thus makes it possible to focus on research activity. It is, however, possible to add to this contract a teaching mission at the host university, according to the availability and terms defined by it and for a maximum volume of 64 hours per year.

The beginning of the contract would ideally be in October 2020, according to the registration deadlines of the attached doctoral school.

Additional Information

Applications must be submitted before April 30, 2020, directly on the CNRS job portal
: https://emploi.cnrs.fr.
For more information on the adequacy of your profile with these themes, please contact Claude Grasland (claude.grasland@parisgeo.cnrs.fr).
In any case, it is strongly recommended to contact us for more information on the IMAGEUN project or if you have questions concerning the work packages where the PhD is involved :
https://sharedocs.huma-num.fr/wl/?id=yGmwgfv2L1zpmkXEP6B5xJGk9lyaB5yI



The recruitment process will take place in two stages:
- The first step will be a written application. Applicants must submit an application file including: a curriculum vitae (maximum 2 pages) describing their background, the main work carried out (titles of dissertations, scientific publications if applicable) and the methodological and technical skills that can be mobilized upon taking function; a motivation letter (2 pages maximum) explaining the adequacy between their profile and the missions carried out as well as the interest of the proposed project in the professional career of the candidate; a research project (10,000 characters including spaces, bibliography included) including: 1) a personal research project integrated into the IMAGEUN project with a state of the art, a problem and a presentation of the methods envisaged, 2) the presentation of a timetable and 3) an integration project to the project and to one of the participating teams (UMR Géographie-cités, UMR IDEES, UMR LADYSS or UMR EVS). In practical terms, it is recommended that candidates contact a potential thesis director or co-director who is a member of one of the teams participating in the IMAGEUN project (see list at the end of the document)
- The second step will be a personal interview to be held in May 2020 with members of the project. The interview will consist of a 10-minute presentation of the candidate focussing on the main elements of her/his file followed by 15 minutes of discussion with the hiring committee. Parts of the interview may be held in English.

List of French members of the IMAGEUN project likely to supervise or co-supervise the thesis:

- Pierre Beckouche (Pr., UMR 7533 LADYSS, Université Paris 1 – Panthéon Sorbonne)
- Arnaud Brennetot (Pr., UMR 6266 IDEES, Université de Rouen)
- Sophie de Ruffray (Pr., UMR 6266 IDEES, Université de Rouen)
- Clarisse Didelon (Pr., UMR 8506 Géographie Cités, Université Paris 1 – Panthéon Sorbonne)
- Claude Grasland (Pr.principal investigator, FR 2007 CIST, UMR 8506 Géographie Cités, Université de Paris)
- Antoine Laporte (MCF, UMR 5600 EVS, ENS de Lyon)(Antoine Laporte, MCF will be able to co-supervise the thesis, but in tandem with a thesis director who holds the HDR.)

List of members of the German team (for information):
- Veit Bachmann (WiMi, Department of Human Geography, Goethe University Frankfurt)
- Georg Glasze (Pr, Geographisches Institut, University Friedrich-Alexander, Erlangen-Nürnberg)

Website of research team able to host the PhD :
UMR IDEES: http://umr-idees.fr/
UMR Ladyss: http://www.ladyss.com/
UMR Géographie cités: http://www.parisgeo.cnrs.fr/
UMR EVS: http://umr5600.cnrs.fr/fr/accueil/

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Contrat doctoral en géographie politique et géographie des représentations (3 ans) au sein du projet ANR-DFG IMAGEUN (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : FR2007-SOPVAL-002
Lieu de travail : PARIS 13
Date de publication : mercredi 11 mars 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Claude Grasland
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le projet de recherche IMAGEUN (In the Mirror of the European Neighbourhood Policy: Mapping Macro-Regional Imaginations) est un projet de recherche binational cofinancé par l'Agence Nationale de la Recherche (France) et la Fondation Allemande pour la Recherche (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft). Dirigé par Veit Bachmann (Université Johann Wolfgang Goethe, Francfort-sur-le-Main) pour l'équipe allemande et Claude Grasland (Université de Paris-Diderot), Paris) pour l'équipe française, son lancement est prévu pour le 1er mai 2020 pour une durée de 42 mois.


Le projet IMAGEUN propose une étude comparative des imaginaires macro-régionaux en compétition dans l'espace européen et ses marges, à travers une analyse des représentations que se font les élites politiques, la presse et les étudiants, dans cinq pays d'étude (Allemagne, France, Royaume-Uni, Turquie, Tunisie). Le travail de thèse concernera prioritairement les terrains d'étude français et britannique. Le principal objectif de la thèse sera de conduire et analyser les enquêtes auprès d'un public d'étudiants pour saisir le contenu sémantique et spatial de leurs représentations de ces macro-régions (Europe, Occident, Moyen-Orient, Eurasie, (Euro)Méditerranée, Commonwealth, etc.).

La thèse mobilisera prioritairement des méthodes quantitatives (analyses statistiques de données d'enquêtes, analyse spatiale, cartographie et géomatique, analyse textuelle). Un appétit pour les lectures hors du contexte strictement disciplinaire de la géographie sera apprécié. Un intérêt pour l'usage réflexif des méthodes d'enquête et l'analyse des représentations sera également bienvenu. Le travail de thèse comportera une ou plusieurs périodes de séjour de terrain en France et au Royaume-Uni. Des terrains allemands complémentaires peuvent être envisagés selon les motivations et les compétences (notamment linguistiques) des candidat.e.s. Dans tous les cas, des interactions régulières avec une thèse jumelle financée par la partie allemande du projet sont à prévoir.

Le ou la candidat·e occupera une place centrale dans la conduite des études consacrées aux enquêtes sur les représentations des étudiant.e.s sur les terrains français et britanniques. Ces travaux s'inscriront donc dans le cadre des work package 3 (« thematic foci ») et 4 (« data triangulation & integration ») du projet. Ces activités concernent donc la collecte, l'analyse et la valorisation de ces enquêtes (contribution à la rédaction des rapports – notamment le « rapport sur les visions étudiantes » – et guides méthodologiques attendus comme livrables, publications scientifiques – voir les détails relatifs au WP3). Cette partie du travail – notamment la partie relative à l'enquête – devra être menée en coordination avec les chercheurs responsables des autres terrains d'enquête (turc, allemand, tunisien). Une partie de ces analyses seront orientées autour de focus thématiques (WP4), dont deux ont été définis a priori (« mobilités humaines » et « défis économiques ») et un sera déterminé durant les premiers mois du projet.

Les candidats sont invités à consulter le document général de présentation du projet pour situer leur apport par rapport à l'ensemble des recherches qui seront menées :
https://sharedocs.huma-num.fr/wl/?id=yGmwgfv2L1zpmkXEP6B5xJGk9lyaB5yI

Contexte de travail

La thèse s'inscrit dans la partie française du projet, portée par la Fédération de Recherche 2007 du Collège International des Sciences Territoriales (CIST - http://cist.cnrs.fr/). Le rattachement scientifique se fera dans l'une des équipes partenaires du projet : UMR 6266 IDEES (Rouen), UMR 7533 LADYSS (Paris), UMR 8504 Géographie-cités (Paris) ou UMR 5600 EVS (Lyon). Comme le rattachement pédagogique, l'inscription à l'école doctorale dépendra du rattachement du directeur ou de la directrice de thèse principal envisagé·e (voir la liste des membres du projet dans la section suivante). Pendant les séjours d'étude sur le terrain, l'étudiant.e pourra bénéficier de l'aide des partenaires du projet présents sur le terrain (par exemple dans le cas britannique : l'Université de Birmingham). Même si une certaine autonomie dans la recherche est attendue, l'importance des analyses transversales et des besoins de coordination entre les différents membres du projet nécessitent d'être également capable de travailler en équipe.

Les candidatures venant d'autres disciplines que la géographie sont possibles. Une culture scientifique interdisciplinaire est d'ailleurs bienvenue. Il est néanmoins rappelé aux candidat.e.s que la thèse proposée est une thèse en géographie, avec un encadrement prévu par des géographes et des unités de recherche appartenant à la section 39 du CNRS (Espaces, territoires et sociétés)
https://www.cnrs.fr/comitenational/sections/section.php?sec=39).

Une bonne connaissance disciplinaire est donc attendue, ainsi que la capacité à s'intégrer dans des équipes et dans une trajectoire professionnelle située dans cette discipline ou dans un champ de recherche dans lequel les compétences attendues dans le cadre d'une thèse de géographie peuvent être valorisées.

La maîtrise d'outils d'analyse statistique, géomatique et cartographique dans un langage de programmation libre est souhaitable (R de préférence, éventuellement Python).
Dans le cadre d'un projet de recherche international coordonnant des équipes et recherches menées dans cinq pays d'étude, une excellente maîtrise de l'anglais (écrit et oral) est attendue (une partie de l'entretien prévu en mai pour les candidatures retenues sera en anglais) en plus de la maîtrise du français. La maîtrise de l'allemand n'est pas obligatoire mais pourra être appréciée dans le cadre d'un projet binational.

Ce contrat doctoral n'est assorti d'aucune obligation d'enseignement et permet ainsi de se concentrer sur l'activité de recherche. Il est toutefois possible d'adjoindre au présent contrat une mission d'enseignement dans l'université d'accueil, selon les disponibilités et modalités définies par celle-ci et pour un volume maximal de 64h par an.

La prise de fonction aurait lieu idéalement en octobre 2020, selon les délais d'inscription de l'école doctorale de rattachement.

Informations complémentaires

Les candidatures sont à soumettre avant le 30 avril 2020, directement sur le portail emploi du CNRS: https://emploi.cnrs.fr.
Pour plus d'informations concernant l'adéquation de votre profil avec ces thématiques n'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec Claude Grasland (claude.grasland@parisgeo.cnrs.fr). Dans tous les cas, il est vivement recommandé de nous contacter pour obtenir davantage d'informations sur le projet IMAGEUN.

Le processus de recrutement se déroulera en deux étapes :
- Une première phase par dossier. Les candidat.e.s doivent soumettre un dossier de candidature comprenant : un curriculum vitae (maximum 2 pages) décrivant leur parcours, les principaux travaux effectués (intitulés des mémoires, publications scientifiques le cas échéant) et les compétences méthodologiques et techniques mobilisables dès la prise de fonction ; une lettre de motivation (2 pages maximum) expliquant l'adéquation entre leur profil et les missions effectuées ainsi que l'intérêt du projet proposé dans le parcours professionnel du ou de la candidat.e ; un projet de recherche (10 000 signes espaces compris, bibliographie comprise) comprenant : 1) un projet de recherche personnel s'intégrant dans le projet IMAGEUN avec un état de l'art, une problématique et une présentation des méthodes envisagées, 2) la présentation d'un échéancier et 3) un projet d'intégration au projet et à une des équipes participantes (UMR Géographie-cités, UMR IDEES, UMR LADYSS ou UMR EVS) De fait il est recommandé aux candidat.e.s de prendre contact avec un potentiel directeur ou codirecteur de thèse membre de l'une de ces équipes et participant au projet IMAGEUN (Cf. liste à la fin du document)
- Une seconde phase d'audition, courant mai 2020, durant laquelle les membres du projet réunis en commission sélectionneront le ou la candidat.e retenu.e. L'audition consistera en une présentation de 10 minutes du candidat rappelant les éléments principaux de son dossier suivi de 15 minutes de discussion avec le jury. Une partie de l'entretien pourra avoir lieu en anglais.

Liste des membres titulaires du projet IMAGEUN susceptibles d'encadrer ou de co-encadrer la thèse :
- Pierre Beckouche (Pr., UMR 7533 LADYSS, Université Paris 1 – Panthéon Sorbonne)
- Arnaud Brennetot (Pr., UMR 6266 IDEES, Université de Rouen)
- Sophie de Ruffray (Pr., UMR 6266 IDEES, Université de Rouen)
- Clarisse Didelon (Pr., UMR 8506 Géographie Cités, Université Paris 1 – Panthéon Sorbonne)
- Claude Grasland (Pr. coordinateur scientifique, FR 2007 CIST, UMR 8506 Géographie Cités, Université de Paris)
- Antoine Laporte (MCF, UMR 5600 EVS, ENS de Lyon)(Antoine Laporte, MCF, pourra assurer la codirection de la thèse mais en tandem avec un directeur de thèse titulaire de l'HDR.)

Liste des membres de l'équipe allemande (pour information) :
- Veit Bachmann (WiMi, Dept. Geographi, Université Johann Wolfgang Goethe de Francfort-sur-le-Main)
- Georg Glasze (Pr, Geographisches Institute ,Université Friedrich-Alexander d'Erlangen-Nuremberg)

Site internet des unités d'accueil possibles :
UMR IDEES: http://umr-idees.fr/
UMR Ladyss: http://www.ladyss.com/
UMR Géographie cités: http://www.parisgeo.cnrs.fr/
UMR EVS: http://umr5600.cnrs.fr/fr/accueil/

Lieu de travail : selon l'encadrement choisi : Lyon, Paris, Rouen.

On en parle sur Twitter !