By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR9912-ANNVAU-003 - Post-doctorant (H/F) sur modélisation mathématique et computationnelle de structures musicales

Postdoc (M/F) in mathematical and computational modeling of musical structures

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR9912-ANNVAU-003
Workplace : PARIS 04
Date of publication : Monday, July 29, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 12 months
Expected date of employment : 15 October 2019
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : from €2695,56 monthly gross commensurate with experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

Applications are invited for a postdoctoral researcher position as part of the ERC ADG Project COSMOS: Computational Shaping and Modeling of Musical Structures (European Research Council Advanced Grant COSMOS, Principal Investigator Elaine Chew, cosmos.ircam.fr). The work will take place at the Sciences and Technologies of Music and Sound (UMR9912-STMS) Laboratory at IRCAM in the center of Paris.

COSMOS aims to use data science, optimization/data analytics, and citizen science to study musical structures as they are experienced and created in performance, and in unusual sources such as arrhythmic cardiac data.

The research topics will focus on developing mathematical representations and computer tools and interfaces to explore the space of possible interpretations in musical performance through the finding and manipulation of musical structures shaped in performance. Due to similarities between music and cardiac sequences, the techniques developed for characterizing variations in performance will be simultaneously used to study electrocardiographic recordings of abnormal heart rhythms.

The project's research themes are as follows: i) to find new ways to represent and explore variations in recorded performance and time-varying sequences; ii) to harness volunteer thinking (citizen science) for music performance research by focussing on structures experienced and problem solving; iii) to create sandbox environments to experiment with making performed structures; iv) to create theoretical frameworks to discover the reasoning behind the structures perceived and made; and, v) to foster community engagement by training experts (including retired musicians) to provide feedback on structure solutions so as to increase public understanding of the creative work in music performance.

The candidate will be in charge of developing mathematical models of musical structures such as grouping (chunking), articulation, gestural units, prominence and focal points; computational techniques for abstracting such structures from expressive music performance and electrocardiographic data; devise human-in-the-loop learning strategies for optimizing the automatic analysis methods; participate in the design of interactive interfaces to collect the necessary training data; and, invent ways to optimize the methods for scalability. Responsibilities include coordinating research, planning and carrying out the experiments, writing articles/reports/proposals, and presenting seminars in English.

There exist complementary funding opportunities through the ERC to allow project collaborators to engage more fully in proof of concept activities to turn research outputs into commercially or socially valuable propositions.

Activities

The postdoctoral researcher will be in charge of developing scientific research methodologies for large-scale studies to automatically extract perceived and inherent structures in music performance and cardiac arrhythmia data, and to harness volunteer thinking to interrogate the experience and the creative process of apprehending and manipulating these structures.

The postdoc is expected to contribute to the study and analysis of musical structures in music performance and cardiac arrhythmia data, including MIDI recordings of legendary and newly recorded performances, and anonymized electrocardiographic data. The work will focus on data acquisition and preparation, and transformation of this primary data into musical structures.

Activities will include participating in the development and implementation of scalable computer algorithms and scientific visualizations, optimization of the algorithms and analyses, in-depth investigations into the reasons for the emergence of particular musical structures, conducting/monitoring of citizen science experiments, and publication of individual and/or joint articles on the analytical results and scientific findings.

It is expected that the methods developed and resulting analyses will ultimately make it possible to explore the space of possible musical interpretations, to uncover new forms of expressivity, to provide reasonings for interpretive choices, and change the way people perceive musical performance. Applying the methods to electrocardiographic data will provide novel descriptors and methodologies to characterize and stratify abnormal heart rhythms, with implications for individualized diagnostics and precision medicine.

Skills

The research is strongly interdisciplinary, combining computing, mathematics, and music performance studies, with application to cardiovascular science.

Candidates should hold a doctorate and have an excellent academic background in one or more of the following fields: computer science, mathematical sciences (including operations research and statistics), music technology or a related field. Additional skills in musicology, music performance, music theory, music composition, or bio- or biomedical engineering are highly desirable.

Proven research skills evidenced by a least one publication as the first or second author relating to the subject or activities of the project are required. Strong computer skills are an advantage, including the design, development and use of software, tools and methodologies for scientific calculation or experimentation. Additional skills in data science, optimization, statistics, scientific visualization, machine learning, cardiovascular signal processing or computational music perception and cognition will be appreciated.

Fluency in spoken and written English is a requirement; ability to operate in French is a plus. The post requires sound knowledge of computer programming languages such as Python, Matlab, or C++. A willingness to learn signal processing software and other dedicated languages is also expected. The candidate should be flexible and adaptable, and willing to learn and develop new skills.

Requirements include a high level of competencies in the areas of formulating problems and arguing a case, performing scientific analyses, strong powers of reasoning, and an ability to summarize ideas and provide critical evaluation. Essential skills include abilities to work independently and take initiatives while managing risks, and being accountable for one's own actions. Candidates must have a positive attitude to working collaboratively in and managing a multi-disciplinary team. Hence, strong communication and organizational skills will be extremely useful.

Work Context

The research will be conducted at the UMR 9912 STMS (Sciences and Technologies of Music and Sound), a joint research unit of the CNRS (Centre national de la recherche scientifique), IRCAM (Institut de Recherche Coordination Acoustique/Musique), Sorbonne University, and the French Ministry of Culture. STMS is located at IRCAM (1 place Igor-Stravinsky, 75004 Paris), in the heart of Paris. IRCAM is a world renowned center for contemporary music production; it is organizationally linked to the Pompidou Center.

Facilities include music studios at IRCAM. In addition, researchers have access to IRCAM's software, computing facilities, recording equipment, and media library, as well as the CNRS and Sorbonne University's online libraries. As part of the ERC COSMOS project, we are acquiring a reproducing piano that is unique in Europe. The data resources will include MIDI recordings of legendary performances and anonymized electrocardiographic data.

Constraints and risks

Short periods of travel within France and abroad, such as to conferences to present accepted peer-reviewed papers and posters, should be expected. Candidates for this position should be aware that the offices of most of IRCAM's research teams are in an underground building with a central skylight.

Additional Information

Contract duration: 12 months with the possibility to renew up to two times for another 12 months each

Applications must include at the minimum a detailed CV; two references (people who may be contacted); a one-page cover letter; the abstract of the doctoral thesis; and, up to three samples of writing such as published articles or thesis reports.

The closing date for sending applications is 1 September 2019. Interviews will take place in the latter half of September 2019. The expected start date is 15 October 2019 or later, depending on whether the candidate is French, European, or from a non-EU country.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR9912-ANNVAU-003 - Post-doctorant (H/F) sur modélisation mathématique et computationnelle de structures musicales

Post-doctorant (H/F) sur modélisation mathématique et computationnelle de structures musicales

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR9912-ANNVAU-003
Lieu de travail : PARIS 04
Date de publication : lundi 29 juillet 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 12 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 15 octobre 2019
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : à partir de 2695,56€ brut mensuel selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Les candidats sont invités à postuler à un poste de chercheur postdoctoral dans le cadre du ERC ADG COSMOS : Computational Shaping and Modeling of Musical Structures (European Research Council Advanced Grant, project COSMOS, Principal Investigator Elaine Chew, cosmos.ircam.fr). Les travaux se dérouleront au Laboratoire des Sciences et Technologies de la Musique et du Son (UMR9912-STMS) à l'Ircam au centre de Paris.

COSMOS vise à utiliser la science des données, l'optimisation et l'analyse des données et la science citoyenne pour étudier les structures musicales telles qu'elles sont expérimentées et créées dans la performance, et dans des sources inhabituelles comme les données cardiaques arythmiques.

Le domaine de recherche porte sur les représentations mathématiques et outils et interfaces informatiques pour explorer l'espace des interprétations possibles dans l'interprétation musicale à travers la recherche et la manipulation de structures musicales façonnées dans l'interprétation. En raison des similitudes entre la musique et les séquences cardiaques, les techniques mises au point pour caractériser les variations de performance seront utilisées simultanément pour étudier les enregistrements électrocardiographiques des rythmes cardiaques anormaux.

Les thèmes généraux de recherche du projet COSMOS sont les suivants : i) trouver de nouvelles façons de représenter et d'explorer les variations dans les performances enregistrées et les séquences variant dans le temps ; ii) étudier le mode de pensée des volontaires (science citoyenne) pour la recherche sur la performance musicale en se concentrant sur les structures expérimentées et la résolution de problèmes ; iii) créer des environnements expérimentaux pour la création de telles structures; iv) créer des cadres théoriques pour découvrir les raisons qui expliquent les structures perçues et réalisées ; v) encourager la participation communautaire en formant des experts (notamment des musiciens retraités) pour fournir des commentaires sur les structures, afin que le public comprenne mieux la création dans la performance musicale (cf. cosmos.ircam.fr).

Le candidat sera chargé de développer des modèles mathématiques de structures musicales telles que le regroupements (chunking), articulation, unités gestuelles, proéminence et points focales; des techniques de calcul pour l'abstraction de telles structures à partir de la performance musicale expressive et de données électrocardiographiques; de concevoir des stratégies d'apprentissage humain en boucle pour optimiser les méthodes d'analyse automatique; participer à la conception des interfaces interactives pour recueillir les données nécessaires pour la formation; et inventer les méthodes pour optimiser leur mise à niveau. Les responsabilités comprennent la coordination de la recherche, la planification et la réalisation des expériences, la rédaction d'articles/rapports/propositions et la présentation de séminaires en anglais.

Il existe des possibilités de financement complémentaire par l'ERC pour permettre aux collaborateurs du projet de s'engager davantage dans des activités de « preuve de concept » pour transformer les résultats de recherche en propositions valorisables commercialement ou socialement.

Activités

Le chercheur postdoctoral sera chargé de développer des méthodologies de recherche scientifique pour des études à grande échelle afin d'extraire automatiquement les structures perçues et inhérentes à l'interprétation musicale et aux données sur les arythmies cardiaques, et d'exploiter la réflexion des bénévoles pour interroger l'expérience et le processus créatif d'appréhension et de manipulation de ces structures.

Le post-doctorat devrait contribuer à l'étude et à l'analyse des structures musicales dans l'interprétation musicale et des données sur les arythmies cardiaques, y compris l'enrigistrement MIDI de prestations légendaires et nouvellement enregistrées, et les données électrocardiographiques anonymes. Les travaux porteront sur l'acquisition et la préparation des données, ainsi que sur la transformation de ces données primaires en structures musicales.

Les activités comprendront la participation au développement et à la mise en œuvre d'algorithmes informatiques évolutifs et de visualisations scientifiques, l'optimisation des algorithmes et des analyses, des recherches approfondies sur les raisons de l'émergence de structures musicales particulières, la réalisation et le suivi d'expériences scientifiques citoyennes et la publication d'articles individuels ou conjoints sur les résultats analytiques et les résultats scientifiques.

Nous attendons à ce que les méthodes mises au point et les analyses qui en résulteront permettent d'explorer l'espace des interprétations musicales possibles, de découvrir de nouvelles formes d'expressivité, de fournir des raisonnements pour les choix interprétatifs et de changer la façon dont les gens perçoivent la performance musicale. L'application des méthodes aux données électrocardiographiques fournira de nouveaux descripteurs et de nouvelles méthodologies pour caractériser et stratifier les rythmes cardiaques anormaux, avec des implications pour les diagnostics individualisés et la médecine de précision.

Compétences

La recherche est fortement interdisciplinaire, combinant l'informatique, les mathématiques et les études de performance musicale, avec des applications en sciences cardiovasculaires.

Les candidats seront titulaires d'un doctorat et auront eu un excellent parcours académique dans un ou plusieurs des domaines suivants : informatique, en sciences mathématiques (y compris la recherche opérationnelle et la statistique), en technologie musicale ou dans un domaine connexe. Des compétences additionnelles en musicologie, interprétation musicale, en théorie musicale, en composition musicale ou en bio-ingénierie ou génie biomédical ou biomédical sont des atouts.

Des compétences éprouvées en recherche, attestées par au moins une publication en tant que premier ou deuxième auteur, en rapport avec le sujet ou les activités du projet, sont requises. Des compétences solides en informatique sont un avantage, notamment conception, développement et utilisation de logiciels, d'outils et de méthodologies de calcul scientifique ou d'expérimentation. Des compétences additionnelles en sciences des données, optimisation, statistique, visualisation scientifique, apprentissage machine, analyse des signaux cardiovasculaires ou recherche computationnelle sur la perception et la cognition musicales seront appréciées

La maîtrise de l'anglais parlé et écrit est une exigence ; la capacité de fonctionner en français est un atout. Le poste requiert une bonne connaissance de langages de programmation informatique tels que Python, Matlab, ou C++. Une volonté d'apprendre les logiciels de traitement du signal et d'autres langages dédiés est également attendue. Le candidat doit faire preuve de souplesse et d'adaptabilité, et être disposé à apprendre et à développer de nouvelles compétences.

Les exigences comprennent un haut niveau de compétences dans le domaine de la formulation de problèmes et de l'argumentation d'un cas, la réalisation d'analyses scientifiques, un fort pouvoir de raisonnement et la capacité de résumer des idées et de fournir une évaluation critique. Les compétences essentielles comprennent la capacité de travailler de façon autonome et de prendre des initiatives tout en gérant les risques et en étant responsable de ses propres actions. Les candidats doivent avoir une attitude positive à l'égard du travail en collaboration et de la gestion d'une équipe multidisciplinaire. Par conséquent, de solides compétences en communication et en organisation seront extrêmement utiles.

Contexte de travail

Les recherches seront menées dans l'UMR 9912 STMS ( Sciences et Technologies de la Musique et du Son), unité mixte de recherche du CNRS (Centre national de la recherche scientifique), de l'IRCAM (Institut de Recherche Coordination Acoustique/Musique), de Sorbonne Université et du Ministère français de la Culture. STMS est situé dans les locaux de l'IRCAM (1 place Igor Stravinsky, 75004 Paris), au cœur de Paris. L'IRCAM est un centre de création de musique contemporaine de renommée mondiale ; il est lié institutionnellement au Centre Pompidou.

Les installations comprennent des studios de musique à l'IRCAM. Par ailleurs, les membres du laboratoire ont accès aux logiciels, aux équipements informatiques, au matériel d'enregistrement et à la médiathèque de l'IRCAM, ainsi qu'aux bibliothèques en ligne du CNRS et de Sorbonne Université. Dans le cadre du projet ERC COSMOS, nous allons faire l'acquisition d'un piano de reproduction unique en Europe. Les ressources de données comprendront des enregistrements MIDI de performances légendaires et des données électrocardiographiques anonymisées sur les arythmies cardiaques.

Contraintes et risques

De brèves périodes de voyage en France et à l'étranger, telles que des conférences pour présenter des communications et des posters acceptées et examinées par des pairs, devraient être prévues. Les candidats à ce poste doivent savoir que les bureaux de la plupart des équipes de recherche de l'IRCAM se trouvent dans un bâtiment en sous-sol, avec un puit de lumière central.

Informations complémentaires

Durée du contrat: 12 mois avec possibilité de renouvellement jusqu'à deux fois pour 12 mois

Les demandes doivent comprendre au minimum un CV détaillé, au moins deux références (personnes avec lesquelles on peut communiquer), une lettre de présentation d'une page, un résumé d'une page du doctorat s'il y a lieu, et jusqu'à trois exemples de textes de recherche, comme des articles publiés ou rapport de thèse.

La date limite d'envoi des candidatures est fixée au 1 septembre 2019. Les entretiens auront lieu pendant la deuxième moitié de septembre 2019. La date de début prévue est le 15 octobre 2019 ou plus tard, selon que le candidat est français, européen ou d'un pays tiers.

On en parle sur Twitter !