By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR8234-BENROT-002 - Postdoc en physico-chimie théorique (H/F)

Postdoc in Theoretical Physical Chemistry (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR8234-BENROT-002
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Friday, March 06, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : Between 2700€ and 3800€ monthly gross salary, depending on your experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

The postdoctoral fellow will participate in the SENSES (making Sense of Electrical Noise by Simulating Electrolyte Solutions) research project, coordinated by Benjamin Rotenberg. The general objective is to provide an integrated understanding of electrical fluctuations in bulk, interfacial and confined ionic fluids.

In this context, the post-doctoral fellow will investigate how much information can NMR relaxometry experiments actually provide on the multiscale dynamics of individual ions. For quadrupolar nuclei, the relaxation of the magnetization reflects the fluctuations of the electric field gradient (EFG) at the nucleus. Using molecular dynamics simulations, parametrized on prior ab initio calculations, this project will examine specifically the effect of fluctuations of the solvation shell and of the ionic cloud around each ion. The possibility to extract information on these mechanisms from experiments will be examined in collaboration with the experimentalists expert of NMR relaxometry in the PHENIX laboratory.

Activities

The postdoctoral fellow will in particular:
• develop new theoretical approaches to model and interpret electrical noise in electrolyte solutions
• perform molecular simulations
• develop software to analyse these simulations (based on existing tools available in the laboratory)
• interact with other participants in the project and experimental collaborators
• disseminate research via scientific publications and conferences

Skills

Candidates should have at the beginning of the contract a PhD in Physical Chemistry or in Physics, as well as a research experience relevant for the topic/activities of the present project. A good experience in molecular simulation is expected, as well as a good knowledge of the associated theoretical and numerical tools (Statistical Mechanics of liquids...; some programming skills in at least on of: Python, Fortran, C, C++, ...). Written/oral communication in English is necessary (knowledge of French is not).

Work Context

The PHENIX laboratory (Physical chemistry of electrolytes and interfacial nanosystems) is a joint research unit between CNRS and Sorbonne Université. It is located on the Pierre et Marie Curie Campus, in the center of Paris. It consists of ~90-100 people, including academic staff, PhD students and postdoctoral fellows, and conducts research in the fields of Energy (electrochemical storage, recycling...), Health (nanoparticles for imaging, ...) and Environment (waste disposal, water treatment, ...).

The postdoctoral fellow will be part of the "multiscale modelling and experiments" group and conduct research in the framework of the ERC project SENSES. Access will be provided to computational resources at the lab and University levels.

Constraints and risks

N/A

Additional Information

Please include in your application the name and contact information of at least one reference, who could be contacted during the evaluation process.
This project has received funding from the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (grant agreement No. 863473 SENSES).

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR8234-BENROT-002 - Postdoc en physico-chimie théorique (H/F)

Postdoc en physico-chimie théorique (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR8234-BENROT-002
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : vendredi 6 mars 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : Entre 2700€ et 3800€ bruts/mois, selon l'experience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Le/la post-doctorant.e participera au projet SENSES (making Sense of Electrical Noise by Simulating Electrolyte Solutions), coordonné par Benjamin Rotenberg, et dont l'objectif général est d'apporter une compréhension globale des fluctuations électriques dans les fluides ioniques bulk, aux interfaces et confinés.

Dans ce contexte, le/la postdoctorant.e cherchera à déterminer les informations qui peuvent être extraites d'expériences de relaxométrie RMN sur la dynamique multi-échelle d'ions individuels. Pour les noyaux quadrupolaires, la relaxation de la magnétisation reflète les fluctuations du gradient de champ électrique ressenti par le noyau. Avec des simulations de dynamique moléculaire classique, paramétrées sur des calculs ab initio, ce projet examinera plus particulièrement les effets des fluctuations de la sphère de solvatation et de l'atmosphère ionique autour de chaque ion. La possibilité d'extraire des informations sur ces mécanismes à partir de données expérimentales sera étudiée en collaboration avec des expérimentateurs du laboratoire PHENIX experts en relaxométrie RMN.

Activités

Le/la post-doctorant.e contribuera à différents aspects, tels que :
• le développement de nouvelles approches théoriques pour modéliser et interpréter le bruit électrique dans les solutions d'électrolytes
• la réalisation de simulations moléculaires
• le développement de codes pour analyser ces simulations (à partir d'outils existants au laboratoire)
• la collaboration avec les autres participants au projet et avec des expérimentateurs
• la rédaction de publications et la participation à des conférences

Compétences

Les candidats doivent être titulaires au démarrage du projet d'un doctorat en chimie physique ou en physique, et avoir des compétences en recherche en lien avec la thématique et les activités du projet. Une bonne expérience en simulation moléculaire est nécessaire, ainsi qu'une bonne connaissance des outils théoriques associés (physique statistique des liquides, …; une expérience en programmation parmi: Python, Fortran, C, C++, ...). Une bonne maîtrise de l'anglais parlé et écrit est requise.

Contexte de travail

Le laboratoire PHENIX (Physicochimie des électrolytes et nanosystèmes interfaciaux) est une Unité Mixte de Recherche entre le CNRS et Sorbonne Université. Il est situé sur le campus Pierre et Marie Curie, dans le centre de Paris. Il est constitué de ~90-100 chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs, doctorants et post-doctorants, et conduit des recherches dans les domaines de l'énergie (stockage électrochimique, recyclage...) de la santé (nanoparticules pour l'imagerie...) et l'environnement (stockage des déchets, traitement de l'eau...).

Le/la post-doctorant.e fera partie de l'équipe Modélisation et Expériences Multiéchelles et effectura ses recherches dans le cadre du projet ERC SENSES. Il/elle bénéficiera d'un accès aux ressources de calcul du laboratoire et de l'université.

Contraintes et risques

N/A

Informations complémentaires

Merci d'inclure dans votre candidature le nom et les coordonnées d'au moins une référence susceptible d'être contactée.

Ce projet bénéficie du financement du Conseil Européen de la Recherche (European Research Council, ERC) du programme recherche et innovation Horizon 2020 de l'Union Européenne (contrat n° 863473 SENSES).

On en parle sur Twitter !