By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR7590-SLAJON-003 - Chercheur Postdoctoral (H/F): Conception et implémentation d'algorithmes d'analyse d'images de cryo-microscopie électronique

Postdoctoral researcher (M/F): Conception and implementation of algorithms for cryo-electron microscopy image analysis

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7590-SLAJON-003
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Friday, February 07, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 18 months
Expected date of employment : 1 April 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : Between 2695 et 3841€ gross monthly salary, according to experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

The postdoctoral researcher will work on the conception and implementation of algorithms for cryo-electron microscopy image analysis in the context of studying continuous conformational changes of biomolecular complexes [1-3]. The candidate must have C++ and Python programming experience. Fortran programming experience is not required but will be greatly appreciated. Also, the candidate must have a solid theoretical background in image processing and a practical experience in this domain. Moreover, the candidate should have a particular interest in interdisciplinary work.

[1] Harastani M, Sorzano COS, Jonic S (2020) Hybrid Electron Microscopy Normal Mode Analysis with Scipion. Protein Science 29:223-236. https://doi.org/10.1002/pro.3772

[2] Jonic S (2017) Computational methods for analyzing conformational variability of macromolecular complexes from cryo-electron microscopy images. Current Opinion in Structural Biology 43: 114-121. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.sbi.2016.12.011

[3] Jin Q, Sorzano COS, de la Rosa-Trevin JM, Bilbao-Castro JR, Nunez-Ramirez R, Llorca O, Tama F, Jonic S (2014) Iterative Elastic 3D-to-2D Alignment Method Using Normal Modes for Studying Structural Dynamics of Large Macromolecular Complexes. Structure 22:496-506. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.str.2014.01.004

Activities

- Conceive algorithms and implement them (programming in C++, Python, and Fortran)
- Conceive experiments with synthetic data to test new methods
- Use new methods to analyze experimental data provided by collaborators
- Write scientific articles
- Participate to scientific conferences and meetings with internal and external collaborators (physical and remote meetings)

Skills

- PhD degree in Computer Science, Applied Mathematics, Physics, etc.
- Solid theoretical background in image processing and a practical experience in this domain
- Programming experience in C++ and Python
- Programming experience in Fortran is not mandatory but will be greatly appreciated
- Good interpersonal skills
- Good oral and written communication skills
- Creativity
- Interest in interdisciplinary work
- Interest in development of image analysis methods for structural biology

Work Context

This work will be performed at the Institut de minéralogie, de physique des matériaux et de cosmochimie (IMPMC-UMR 7590, Sorbonne Université, 75005 Paris). The IMPMC is a joint research unit of the CNRS, the Sorbonne Université, and the Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, counting around 200 members. It is a highly pluridisciplinary laboratory, composed of researchers, researchers-teachers, and engineers with different backgrounds (physics, Earth science, biology, chemistry, computer science, etc.). Various experimental and theoretical research topics are studied at the IMPMC, such as elucidation of the structure of materials and macromolecular assemblies, investigation of their dynamic properties, study of interactions between the living world and the mineral world, etc.

Constraints and risks

18 months, with possibility of extension.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR7590-SLAJON-003 - Chercheur Postdoctoral (H/F): Conception et implémentation d'algorithmes d'analyse d'images de cryo-microscopie électronique

Chercheur Postdoctoral (H/F): Conception et implémentation d'algorithmes d'analyse d'images de cryo-microscopie électronique

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7590-SLAJON-003
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : vendredi 7 février 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 18 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 avril 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : Entre 2695 et 3841€ bruts mensuels selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

Le chercheur postdoctoral travaillera sur la conception et l'implémentation d'algorithmes d'analyse d'images de cryo-microscopie électronique dans le contexte d'études de changements conformationnels continus des complexes biomoléculaires [1-3]. Le candidat doit avoir une expérience en programmation C++ et Python. L'expérience en programmation Fortran n'est obligatoire mais sera vivement appréciée. Aussi, le candidat doit avoir des bases théoriques solides en traitement d'images et une expérience pratique dans ce domaine. De plus, le candidat doit avoir un intérêt particulier pour le travail interdisciplinaire.

[1] Harastani M, Sorzano COS, Jonic S (2020) Hybrid Electron Microscopy Normal Mode Analysis with Scipion. Protein Science 29:223-236. https://doi.org/10.1002/pro.3772

[2] Jonic S (2017) Computational methods for analyzing conformational variability of macromolecular complexes from cryo-electron microscopy images. Current Opinion in Structural Biology 43: 114-121. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.sbi.2016.12.011

[3] Jin Q, Sorzano COS, de la Rosa-Trevin JM, Bilbao-Castro JR, Nunez-Ramirez R, Llorca O, Tama F, Jonic S (2014) Iterative Elastic 3D-to-2D Alignment Method Using Normal Modes for Studying Structural Dynamics of Large Macromolecular Complexes. Structure 22:496-506. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.str.2014.01.004

Activités

- Concevoir des algorithmes et les implémenter (programmation en C++, Python, et Fortran)
- Concevoir des expériences avec des données synthétiques pour tester des nouvelles méthodes
- Utiliser des nouvelles méthodes pour analyser des données expérimentales fournies par des collaborateurs
- Rédiger des articles scientifiques
- Participer à des conférences scientifiques et réunions avec des collaborateurs internes et externes (réunions physiques et à distance)

Compétences

- Doctorat en Informatique, Mathématiques Appliqués, Physique, etc.
- Bases théoriques solides en traitement d'images et une expérience pratique dans ce domaine
- Expérience en programmation C++ et Python
- Expérience en programmation Fortran n'est obligatoire mais sera vivement appréciée
- Bonnes aptitudes interpersonnelles
- Bonnes compétences en communication orale et écrite
- Créativité
- Intérêt pour le travail interdisciplinaire
- Intérêt pour le développement des méthodes d'analyse d'images pour la biologie structurale

Contexte de travail

Ce travail sera réalisé à l'Institut de minéralogie, de physique des matériaux et de cosmochimie (IMPMC-UMR 7590, Sorbonne Université, 75005 Paris). L'IMPMC est une unité mixte de recherche CNRS - Sorbonne Université - Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle qui compte environ 200 membres. Le laboratoire est fortement pluridisciplinaire, composé de chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs, et ingénieurs issus des disciplines différentes (physique, science de la Terre, biologie, chimie, informatique, etc.). Des thèmes divers de recherche expérimentale et théorique y sont traités tel que l'élucidation de la structure des matériaux et des assemblages macromoléculaires, investigation de leurs propriétés dynamiques, étude des interactions entre le vivant et le minéral, etc.

Contraintes et risques

Durée de contrat: 18 mois, avec possibilité d'extension.

On en parle sur Twitter !