By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR7021-PATRAS-001 - Post-doctorant(e) en chimie appliquée (H/F)

Post-Doctorate Researcher Assistant in applied chemistry

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR7021-PATRAS-001
Workplace : ILLKIRCH GRAFFENSTADEN
Date of publication : Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 January 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : From 2643 to 3047 € monthly gross salary depending on the experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : 1 to 4 years

Missions

From January 2020 and for 24 months, the recruited Post-Doctorate Researcher Assistant (PDRA) will join the team of Dr Patrice Rassam at the Faculty of Pharmacy that belongs to University of Strasbourg.
Her/His rigorous work and the willingness of this PDRA to build innovative projects will help developing new antibiotic strategies against Gram-negative bacteria, especially Pseudomonas aeruginosa.
These microorganisms represent a severe issue in hospitals, where multiresistant strains are a threat for weak patients like those with cystic fibrosis, a rare disease affecting mostly children. Indeed, current treatments become less and less efficient for these patients, generating significant side effects. Thus, it is now necessary to find alternative molecules to bypass resistance mechanisms developed by bacteria, in order to specifically eradicate these deadly strains.
The chosen candidate will deal with rational modification of existing antibiotics and chemical combination of these molecules with bacteriocins. Coupling synthetic compounds and protein vectors represents a Trojan Horse strategy that has already proven its efficiency in the import of fluorophores within these bacteria. Generating and testing a library of drug-protein chimera on a large panel of clinical strains, the PDRA will optimise the chemical design of these potential medicines.

Activities

The main task of the recruited PDRA will first consist in designing and synthetizing antibiotics analogues based on published work and commercial molecules, using liquid or solid phase chemistry. Once these molecules are produced, purified and characterised, the PDRA will couple them chemically to vector proteins that are available in the lab. Finally, the PDRA will test the efficiency of these molecules on several bacterial strains, growing in liquid cultures or on solid media.
Depending on her/his skills and her/his ability to learn new techniques, the hired PDRA will enjoy the opportunity to perform molecular biology in order to optimise the vector sequence of the bacteriocins, or biochemistry experiments in order to purify these proteins, or cell culture in order to address the toxicity of these molecules. The PDRA could also participate to the development of the microfluidic/microscopy setup in order to visualise in real time how bacterial biofilms behave when treated with antibiotics.

Skills

The PDRA should have a recognized experience in chemical synthesis or modification of biomolecules, ideally concerning analogues of amino acids and/or small antibiotics.
It is also required that the PDRA can easily handle coupling experiments between proteins and synthetic compounds, preferentially using click chemistry, NHS ester, or maleimide succinimidyl ester.
In addition, the recruited PDRA has to be open to develop her/his skills in microbiology, protein purification and cell culture. The multidisciplinary aspects of the project suggest that candidates with experience or at least interest in molecular cloning and fluorescence microscopy are more likely to get the position and to enjoy the job.
Finally, the PDRA might show integrity, willingness, organisation, self-sufficiency, and be able to write scientific reports or publications.

Work Context

Dr Patrice Rassam is laureate of the ATIP-Avenir 2019 funding. The location of his team within the Faculty of Pharmacy and the University of Strasbourg (labelled University of Excellence), his position in the Laboratory of Bioimaging and Pathologies (CNRS-UMR 7021), the international collaborations he has built and his expertise in the field represent key factors to develop innovative antibiotic strategies in his group.
Working spaces and lab materials that are available will ease the mission of the PDRA in her/his projects. Indeed, the PDRA will get access to a chemistry lab, a cell culture room, a biochemistry room, a microscopy platform, her/his own bench for molecular biology works, and all other facilities to enjoy her/his everyday life in the lab (desk, computer, cafeteria, relaxation areas…).
The chosen PDRA will have the opportunity to work together with a master student for the first 6 months and eventually with a PhD student, in order to boost the current and future projects. Help will also be provided to her/him through the expertise and the support from staff members of the Laboratory of Bioimaging and Pathologies, especially concerning biochemistry and molecular biology issues.

Constraints and risks

Based on the innovative aspects of the project, it is compulsory that the recruited PDRA follows strict confidentiality rules, during and after her/his work in the lab.
The high potential of the project requires from the PDRA continuous motivation and ability to overcome experimental or technical issues, finding alternative options from her/his own and/or with the help of her/his colleagues.
Sometimes, the PDRA will probably work staggered hours, starting bacterial cultures early in the morning, or during the weekend, or acquiring data on the microscope in the evening. Thus, flexibility is needed in order to gain productivity on these tasks.
Before using lasers and clinical strains, the PDRA will be asked to perform specific trainings, managed by the team. Then, the PDRA must be extremely cautious and show a high level of responsibility on health and safety procedures.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR7021-PATRAS-001 - Post-doctorant(e) en chimie appliquée (H/F)

Post-doctorant(e) en chimie appliquée (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR7021-PATRAS-001
Lieu de travail : ILLKIRCH GRAFFENSTADEN
Date de publication : mardi 15 octobre 2019
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 janvier 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : Entre 2643 et 3047 € bruts mensuels selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : 1 à 4 années

Missions

La/Le post-doctorant(e) sélectionné(e) intègrera à partir du 1er janvier 2020, pendant 24 mois, l'équipe du Dr Patrice Rassam, à la Faculté de Pharmacie de l'Université de Strasbourg.
Par un travail rigoureux et une volonté de construire des projets innovants, elle/il développera de nouvelles stratégies antibiotiques pour cibler spécifiquement les bactéries à Gram-négatif, notamment Pseudomonas aeruginosa.
Ces microorganismes posent un problème majeur en milieu hospitalier, où certaines souches multirésitantes menacent notamment les personnes fragiles comme celles qui souffrent de la mucoviscidose, une maladie rare affectant surtout les enfants. En effet, les traitements actuels deviennent parfois inefficaces chez ces patients et génèrent chez eux des effets secondaires significatifs. En définitive, il devient nécessaire de trouver des molécules alternatives qui contournent les mécanismes de résistance développés par ces bactéries et agissent de façon spécifique sur ces souches.
La/Le candidat(e) choisi(e) aura pour mission de modifier de façon ciblée des antibiotiques existants et de les combiner chimiquement avec des bactériocines. Ce couplage entre drogues et protéines vectrices représente une stratégie de type cheval de Troie qui a déjà fait ses preuves pour l'import de fluorophores dans ces bactéries. En créant et en testant une librairie de ces chimères sur un large panel de souches cliniques, il/elle optimisera et rationalisera le design chimique de ces médicaments potentiels.

Activités

Le cœur du travail de la personne recrutée consistera dans un premier temps à concevoir et à synthétiser des analogues d'antibiotiques commerciaux ou publiés, par synthèse en phase liquide ou solide. Une fois les différents produits purifiés et caractérisés, il s'agira pour elle/lui de les coupler chimiquement à des protéines vectrices, préalablement purifiées au laboratoire. Enfin, elle/il testera l'efficacité de ces molécules sur différentes souches bactériennes, en solution et sur gélose.
En fonction de ses compétences et de son aptitude à s'ouvrir à d'autres techniques, la personne recrutée aura l'opportunité de travailler en biologie moléculaire pour optimiser la séquence vectrice des bactériocines, en biochimie pour purifier ces protéines et en culture cellulaire pour tester leur toxicité. Elle/Il pourra aussi participer au développement du couplage entre microfluidique et microscopie de fluorescence pour observer en temps réel le devenir des biofilms bactériens traités avec ces nouvelles molécules.

Compétences

Il est essentiel que la/le post-doctorant(e) puisse faire preuve d'un véritable savoir-faire en synthèse et/ou modification chimique de biomolécules, idéalement dans le cas d'analogues d'acides aminés et/ou de petits antibiotiques.
De même, le couplage chimique entre des protéines et des molécules synthétiques doit être trivial pour elle/lui, notamment par chimie click, NHS ester, ou maléimide succinimidyl ester.
Il est important que la personne recrutée soit aussi ouverte à développer ses compétences en purification de protéine, ainsi qu'en culture cellulaire procaryote et eucaryote.
Le caractère pluridisciplinaire du projet suggère aussi qu'un(e) candidat(e) qui justifie d'une expérience ou a minima d'un intérêt accru pour le clonage moléculaire et la microscopie de fluorescence aura plus de chance d'être recruté et surtout de s'épanouir dans ses missions.
La/Le candidat(e) devra enfin se révéler intègre, volontaire, ordonné, autonome et capable de rédiger des rapports ou des publications scientifiques.

Contexte de travail

Le Dr Patrice Rassam est lauréat du concours ATIP-Avenir 2019. Sa position au sein de la Faculté de Pharmacie et de l'Université de Strasbourg (labellisée Université d'Excellence), son appartenance au Laboratoire de Bioimagerie et Pathologies (CNRS-UMR 7021), ses collaborations internationales et son expertise dans le domaine sont autant de facteurs favorables au développement de stratégies antibiotiques innovantes par cette équipe.
Les espaces de travail et les matériels à disposition garantissent un certain confort dans la réalisation des projets. En effet, la/le post doctorant aura accès à une salle de chimie, une salle de culture cellulaire, une large paillasse dédiée à la biologie moléculaire, une salle de biochimie, une plateforme de microscopie et l'ensemble des aménagements pour la vie de tous les jours au laboratoire (bureau, ordinateur, cafétéria, espace de détente…).
La/Le candidat choisi(e) aura l'opportunité de travailler aux côtés d'une/un étudiant de master durant les six premiers mois, voire d'une/un étudiant en thèse, afin de dynamiser les projets en cours. Elle/Il profitera aussi de l'expérience et du soutien des personnels du Laboratoire de Bioimagerie et Pathologies, notamment pour les questions de biochimie et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire.

Contraintes et risques

Par le caractère innovant du projet, il est indispensable que la personne recrutée applique des mesures strictes de confidentialité pendant et après sa mission.
La nature émergente du projet nécessite une motivation persistante et une capacité chez la/le candidat(e) à dépasser les échecs potentiels pour trouver des solutions alternatives par elle/lui-même et avec le soutien de ses collègues.
Ponctuellement, il est probable que les projets nécessitent de travailler en horaires décalés, en débutant les cultures tôt le matin, ou le week-end, ou en réalisant des acquisitions au microscope en soirée. Une certaine flexibilité, pourra donc s'avérer utile pour gagner en productivité sur certaines missions.
La manipulation de lasers et de souches cliniques imposera des formations spécifiques et des précautions particulières, qui seront prises en charge par l'équipe, mais qui implique un minimum de prudence et de responsabilité de la part de la personne recrutée.

On en parle sur Twitter !