By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)
Portal > Offres > Offre UMR5189-BERRED-005 - CDD chercheur/chercheuse en papyrologie, analyse de réseaux sociaux (H/F), projet ERC "Desert Networks"

Research Fellow in papyrology, social network analysis (M/F), ERC project "Desert Networks"

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UMR5189-BERRED-005
Workplace : LYON 07
Date of publication : Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : between 2643 and 3766€ gross monthly according to experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : 1 to 4 years

Missions

"The social networks of the indigenous labour force under the reign of Antoninus at Mons Claudianus": International excavations conducted at Mons Claudianus between 1987 and 1993 have uncovered about 9,000 ostraca, which yield important insights into the organisation of the imperial granite quarries, but also into the daily life of the inhabitants of the northern part of the Egyptian Eastern Desert. Two reigns are mainly represented in this corpus: Trajan and Antoninus. The reign of Trajan corresponds to the construction of the Forum of Trajan and the Ulpia Basilica. On the other hand, we do not know of any building sites commissioned by Antoninus. It is assumed that the exploitation of the metallon under this emperor aimed to complete the programmes launched by Hadrian. A large part of the ostraca of Antoninus is made up of a set of c. 1200 monthly instructions sent by the native quarrymen and blacksmiths to their food steward, the kibariatès, concerning their salary and their future fruit ration. This documentary genre, characteristic of Mons Claudianus (notwithstanding rare examples in two neighbouring metalla, Porphyritès and Kainè Latomia), was entitled entolè. In this connection, two articles by H. Cuvigny, "The Amount of the Wages paid to the Quarry-Workers at Mons Claudianus", JRS 86, 1996, pp. 139-145 and "Deux ostraca du Mons Claudianus: O.Bahria 20 et 21", CdE 72, 1997, pp. 112-118 are provisionally consulted. The kibariatès (who was apparently only one of the workers delegated by his comrades) went down into the valley with these instructions and made the purchases requested (mainly food) and other expenses: debt repayments, loans to comrades, various contributions. An entolè typically begins with the heading: so-and-so's entolè for such and such a month. It includes names other than that of the worker: that of the kibariatès, that of the creditors or debtors, sometimes those of members of his family.
The network analysis will focus on this corpus, which Hélène Cuvigny has undertaken to publish (much of the text is already established). The texts are transcribed and entered in her O.Claud. database on File Maker to which the analyst will have access. Since this database has been partially completed by students and has not been systematically checked, it contains errors (particularly in the transcription of names or the entry of texts) that the analyst will report and correct. The analyst will have to take into account the occurrences of these characters in other Antoninian ostraca that are not entolai (private letters, lists of names, tituli on amphorae).
The expected results are : (1) a prosopography of the native workforce in Mons Claudianus under Antoninus; (2) the classification of names in the two groups between which it was divided according to geographical origin: the Syenites and the Alexandrians. Anthroponymia is a good indicator, but there are still doubtful cases that network analysis could help to decide; (3) an estimate of its number; (4) as the entolai are not dated, we still have no idea of the extent of the period covered: a few months? a few years? (5) There are different types of entolai, for example: series addressed to two kibariatai, series where the technonym kibariatès is replaced by kephalaiôtès, series where the price of foodstuffs is indicated, series where the wage scale is different, etc. Network analysis, by focusing not only on individuals, but also on other variables, will make it possible to establish links between them: month, stratigraphic unit, presence or absence of a particular contribution, etc.

Activities

The researcher's work will be carried out within the framework of the ERC project "Desert Networks. Into the Eastern desert of Egypt from the New Kingdom to the Roman Period" (StG n° 759078) led by Bérangère Redon (CNRS-HiSoMA). The researcher will work particularly within the WP5 team ("workpackage" 5) whose work is dedicated to the study of social networks in the Eastern desert through papyrological documentation (WP led by H. Cuvigny, CNRS-IRHT, director of the Institute of Papyrology of the Sorbonne, and Bérangère Redon). He or she will be in close contact with H. Cuvigny, who will give him or her access to his or her database. He or she will participate in the seminar of the Institute of Papyrology of the Sorbonne-University and in the seminar of the HiSoMA C axis (epigraphy seminar and "Mutations" seminar). He or she will also be expected to contribute actively to the research activities of the Desert Networks research group, in close liaison with the other members of the project.

Skills

PhD thesis in papyrology or in ancient history. Very good knowledge of Greek, ecdotics of documentary papyrus, ability to decipher them, familiarity with the sociology and administration of Roman Egypt, knowledge of the anthroponymy of Roman Egypt, skills in SNA ("Social Network Analysis") methods.

Work Context

The research carried out within the HiSoMA laboratory concerns ancient worlds, approached through the specialized disciplines of Ancient Sciences such as archaeology, history, literary studies, philology, epigraphy, numismatics, iconography, over a very long period extending from the Ancient Pharaonic Empire to the end of Late Antiquity, and in a coherent geographical space that corresponds mainly to the civilizations of the ancient Mediterranean.

Additional Information

Presentation of the project 'ERC Desert Networks - Into the Eastern Desert of Egypt from the New Kingdom to the Roman period' (ERC-StG n. 759078).
The desert is a paradox: it is both arid and rich in resources, a margin and an interface. Far from being a no-man's land, it is a social space of linked solidarities. The "Desert Networks" project aims to explore the reticular organization of such an area by focusing on the southern part of Egypt's Eastern Desert. Located between the Nile and the Red Sea, this has always been an attractive region for Egypt and beyond. Its ancient remains are admirably preserved and there are many ancient springs from the region itself. However, the history of its occupation and appropriation is still too often static and compartmentalized. The ambition of the project is to cross disciplinary boundaries and make an epistemological break by working for the first time in and on the Eastern Desert as a dynamic, long-term object (middle of the 2nd millennium BC - end of the 3rd century AD). The aim is to analyse the organisation of the different networks that link its different nodes using the connectivity theory that reshaped the scientific paradigms of the Mediterranean in the 2000s. For the first time, the project will gather all the data discovered in the region over the last 300 years, as well as data from excavations carried out by the project, into a database linked to a GIS.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre UMR5189-BERRED-005 - CDD chercheur/chercheuse en papyrologie, analyse de réseaux sociaux (H/F), projet ERC "Desert Networks"

CDD chercheur/chercheuse en papyrologie, analyse de réseaux sociaux (H/F), projet ERC "Desert Networks"

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UMR5189-BERRED-005
Lieu de travail : LYON 07
Date de publication : mercredi 24 juin 2020
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : entre 2643 et 3766€ brut mensuel selon expérience
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : 1 à 4 années

Missions

« Les réseaux sociaux de la main-d'œuvre indigène sous Antonin au Mons Claudianus » : les fouilles internationales conduites au Mons Claudianus entre 1987 et 1993 ont permis de mettre au jour environ 9.000 ostraca, qui livrent des indications importantes sur l'organisation des carrières de granit impériales, mais aussi sur la vie quotidienne des habitants de la partie nord du désert Oriental égyptien. Deux règnes sont principalement représentés dans ce corpus : Trajan et Antonin. Le règne de Trajan correspond à la construction du forum de Trajan et de la basilica Ulpia. En revanche, on ne connaît pas de chantiers commandités par Antonin. On suppose que l'exploitation du metallon sous cet empereur visait à achever les programmes lancés par Hadrien. Une grande partie des ostraca antoniniens est constituée par un ensemble de c. 1200 instructions mensuelles adressées par les carriers et forgerons indigènes à leur intendant aux vivres, le kibariatès, concernant leur salaire et leur ration frumentaire à venir. Ce genre documentaire caractéristique du Mons Claudianus (nonobstant de rares exemples dans deux metalla voisins, le Porphyritès et Kainè Latomia), s'intitulait entolè. À son propos, on consultera provisoirement deux articles d'H. Cuvigny, « The Amount of the Wages paid to the Quarry-Workers at Mons Claudianus », JRS 86, 1996, p. 139-145 et « Deux ostraca du Mons Claudianus : O.Bahria 20 et 21 », CdE 72, 1997, p. 112-118. Le kibariatès (qui n'était, semble-t-il, qu'un des ouvriers délégué par ses camarades) descendait dans la vallée avec ces instructions et procédait aux achats demandés (essentiellement des vivres) et à d'autres dépenses : remboursements de dettes, prêts à des camarades, cotisations diverses. Une entolè commence typiquement par l'en-tête : entolè d'Untel pour tel mois. Elle comporte d'autres noms que celui de l'ouvrier : celui du kibariatès, celui des créanciers ou des débiteurs, parfois ceux de membres de sa famille.
L'analyse de réseau portera sur ce corpus, dont Hélène Cuvigny a entrepris la publication (une grande partie des textes est déjà établie). Les textes sont transcrits et saisis dans sa base de données des O.Claud. sur File Maker à laquelle l'analyste aura accès. Comme cette base a été en partie complétée par des étudiants et n'a pas été systématiquement vérifiée, elle comporte des erreurs (en particulier dans la transcription des noms ou la saisie des textes) que l'analyste signalera et corrigera. L'analyste devra prendre en compte les occurrences de ces personnages dans d'autres ostraca antoniniens qui ne sont pas des entolai (lettres privées, listes de noms, tituli amphoriques).
Les résultats espérés sont : (1) une prosopographie de la main-d'œuvre indigène au Mons Claudianus sous Antonin ; (2) le classement des noms dans les deux groupes entre lesquels elle se répartissait selon l'origine géographique : les Syénites et les Alexandrins. L'anthroponymie est un bon indicateur, mais il subsiste des cas douteux que l'analyse de réseau pourrait permettre de trancher ; (3) une estimation de son nombre ; (4) les entolai n'étant pas datées, on n'a à ce jour aucune idée de l'étendue de la période couverte : quelques mois ? quelques années ? L'analyse de réseau permettra-t-elle d'avancer sur cette question ? ; (5) il y a différents types d'entolai, par exemple : série adressée à deux kibariatai, série où le technonyme kibariatès est remplacé par kephalaiôtès, série où le prix des denrées est indiqué, série où l'échelle des salaires est différente, etc. L'analyse de réseau en portant non seulement sur les personnes, mais aussi sur d'autres variables permettra d'établir des liens entre celles-ci : mois, unité stratigraphique, présence ou non de telle cotisation, etc.

Activités

Les travaux du chercheur se feront dans le cadre du projet ERC « Desert Networks. Into the Eastern desert of Egypt from the New Kingdom to the Roman Period” (StG n° 759078) porté par Bérangère Redon (CNRS-HiSoMA). Le chercheur travaillera tout particulièrement au sein de l'équipe WP5 (« workpackage » 5) dont les travaux sont dédiés à l'étude des réseaux sociaux du désert Oriental au travers de la documentation papyrologique (WP dirigé par H. Cuvigny, CNRS-IRHT, directrice de l'Institut de papyrologie de la Sorbonne, et Bérangère Redon). Il ou elle sera en étroit contact avec H. Cuvigny, qui lui donnera accès à sa banque de données. Il participera au séminaire de l'institut de papyrologie de Sorbonne-Université et au séminaire de l'axe C d'HiSoMA (séminaire d'épigraphie et séminaire « Mutations »). Il ou elle devra également contribuer activement aux activités de recherche du groupe de recherche Desert Networks, en lien étroit avec les autres membres du projet.

Compétences

Thèse en papyrologie ou, à défaut, en histoire ancienne. Très bonne connaissance du grec, de l'ecdotique des papyrus documentaires, aptitude à leur déchiffrement, familiarité avec la sociologie et l'administration de l'Égypte romaine, connaissance de l'anthroponymie de l'Égypte romaine, compétences dans les méthodes de la SNA (« Social Network Analysis »).

Contexte de travail

Les recherches qui sont menées au sein du laboratoire HiSoMA concernent les mondes anciens, abordés à travers les disciplines spécialisées des Sciences de l'Antiquité que sont l'archéologie, l'histoire, les études littéraires, la philologie, l'épigraphie, la numismatique, l'iconographie, sur une très longue période qui s'étend de l'Ancien Empire pharaonique à la fin de l'Antiquité tardive, et dans un espace géographique cohérent qui correspond principalement aux civilisations de la Méditerranée antique.

Informations complémentaires

Présentation du projet ERC Desert Networks – Into the Eastern Desert of Egypt from the New Kingdom to the Roman period' (ERC-StG n. 759078).
Le désert est un paradoxe : il est à la fois aride et riche en ressources, une marge et une interface. Loin d'être un no man's land, c'est un espace social de solidarités liées. Le projet « Desert Networks » vise à explorer l'organisation réticulaire d'une telle zone en se concentrant sur la partie sud du désert Oriental de l'Égypte. Situé entre le Nil et la mer Rouge, il s'est agi, de tout temps, d'une région attirante pour l'Égypte et au-delà. Ses vestiges antiques sont admirablement préservés et les sources anciennes provenant de la région elle-même sont nombreuses. Cependant, l'histoire de son occupation et de son appropriation est encore trop souvent statique et compartimentée. L'ambition du projet est de franchir les frontières disciplinaires et de procéder à une rupture épistémologique en travaillant pour la première fois dans et sur le désert Oriental en tant qu'objet dynamique, sur le long terme (milieu du IIe millénaire av. J.-C. - fin du IIIe s. apr. J.-C.). Il s'agit d'analyser l'organisation des différents réseaux qui relient ses différents nœuds en utilisant la théorie de la connectivité qui a remodelé les paradigmes scientifiques de la Méditerranée dans les années 2000. Pour la première fois, le projet rassemblera toutes les données découvertes dans la région au cours des 300 dernières années, ainsi que les données tirées de fouilles effectuées par le projet, dans une base de données liée à un SIG.

On en parle sur Twitter !