En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre FR550-MAGTOR-013 - Post-doctorat "Methylation de la machinerie traductionnelle" (H/F)

Post-doc "Methylation of the translation apparatus" (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : samedi 15 octobre 2022

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

General information

Reference : FR550-MAGTOR-013
Workplace : PARIS 05
Date of publication : Wednesday, September 14, 2022
Type of Contract : FTC Scientist
Contract Period : 24 months
Expected date of employment : 1 January 2023
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : Starting from 3106 EUR (gross salary per month), depending on experience
Desired level of education : PhD
Experience required : Indifferent

Missions

PI: Valérie Heurgué-Hamard (valerie.heurgue@ibpc.fr)

Protein synthesis is a finely-tuned and tightly-controlled process ensuring normal cell growth and allowing cells to adapt throughout the cell cycle and in response to environmental cues. Post-transcriptional and post-translational modifications occur at high frequency in the ribosome (proteins, rRNA), tRNAs and translation factors, where they play a major role in the global regulation of protein synthesis. They can also play a role in the efficiency/accuracy of translation and in ribosome biogenesis with established consequences on cell cycle progression in eukaryotes.
Methylation is one of the most common modifications observed on proteins and RNAs. Remarkably, in yeast and humans, two thirds of known methyltransferases (MTases) are dedicated to the translation machinery. The involvement of these modifications in translation is perfectly illustrated by the unique yeast protein Trm112. Trm112 serves as an activating platform for four methyltransferases (MTases) involved in rRNA (Bud23), tRNA (Trm9 and Trm11) and translation termination factor (Mtq2) modification, ideally placing it at the interface between ribosome synthesis and function to potentially regulate both processes.
Trm112-MTase complexes are widely conserved in eukaryotes and archaea. Their human orthologues have been implicated in the development of cancer, neurodegenerative disorders and viral infections. New Trm112 partners were recently identified in mammalian cells and archaea. Using S. cerevisiae as a model organism, our lab has shown how Trm112 is involved in the synthesis of both ribosomal subunits via its interaction with Bud23 and Mtq2, but the mechanisms remain to be characterized in detail. The present post-doctoral project also aims to decipher the regulation and dynamics of the Trm112-MTase network during the cell cycle, and in response to various stimuli. It is anticipated that this two-tiered project will improve scientific recognition of the candidate through high standard publications.
We will use several complementary experimental approaches such as yeast genetics, molecular biology, physiological studies, biochemistry, immunoprecipitation followed by mass spectrometry and potentially structural biology if new complexes are validated.

Representative publications of the group on this theme
Lacoux, C., Wacheul, L., Saraf, K., Pythoud, N., Huvelle, E., Figaro, S., Graille, M., Carapito, S., Lafontaine, D.L.J & Heurgué-Hamard, V (2020) The catalytic activity of the translation termination factor methyltransferase Mtq2-Trm112 complex is required for large ribosomal subunit biogenesis. Nucleic Acids Res. 48, 12310-12325.
doi: 10.1093/nar/gkaa972
Létoquart, J..,Huvelle, E.., Wacheul, L.., Bourgeois, G., Zorbas, C., Graille, M., Heurgué-Hamard, V & Lafontaine D.L.J. (2014) Structural and functional studies of Bud23-Trm112 reveal 18S rRNA N7-G1575 methylation occurs on late 40S precursor ribosomes. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. 111, E5518-E5526
Figaro, S., Wacheul, L., Schillewaert, S., Graille, M., Huvelle, E., Mongeard, R., Zorbas, C., Lafontaine, D#., Heurgué-Hamard, V# (2012) Trm112 is required for Bud23-mediated methylation of the 18S rRNA at position G1575. Mol Cell Biol, 32, 2254-2267
Liger D, Mora L, Lazar N, Figaro S, Henri J, Scrima N, Buckingham RH, van Tilbeurgh H, Heurgué-Hamard V, Graille M. (2011) Mechanism of activation of methyltransferases involved in translation by the Trm112 « hub » protein. Nucleic Acids Res. 39, 6249-59.
Figaro, S., Scrima, N., Buckingham, R.H & Heurgué-Hamard, V. (2008) HemK2 protein, encoded on human chromosome 21, methylates translation termination factor eRF1. FEBS letters, 582, 2352-2356.

Activities

- Biochemistry (protein, RNA purification and analysis, polysome analysis, western blots, immunoprecipitation experiments)
- Production and analysis of proteomic (mass spectrometry) data
- Enzymatic activity assays
- Molecular biology (cloning, plasmid mutagenesis, nucleic acid preparation, PCR)
- Genetics in the bacteria E. coli and yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae (mutagenesis, transformations, tools for controlling gene expression)

Skills

Knowledge
- Knowledge of mRNA translation mechanisms, ribosome biogenesis, protein and RNA methylation
- Knowledge in regulation of gene expression in yeast
- Good knowledge in molecular biology (cloning, genome editing, etc.)
- Knowledge in yeast genetics
- Expertise in identification of protein interactions
- General knowledge in proteomics would be a plus
- General knowledge in biochemistry (protein purification, enzymology, etc.).
- Fluent in English
- Scientific communication (presentation and article writing)

Know-how
- Working with RNA and proteins
- Production and processing of proteomic data is a plus
- Proven ability to plan, drive, implement and conclude research projects with some independence
- Organization and interpretation of scientific results
- Keeping a laboratory notebook and presenting your results

Soft skills
- Friendly, optimistic
- Work in a team
- Motivated, patient, open-minded and good at synthesizing information
- Organised, conscientious, honest
- Critical of results

Management skills
- Co-supervision of Master students possible

Work Context

The work will be carried at the Institute of Physical and Chemical Biology (IBPC), a multidisciplinary institute of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) located in the historical center of Paris (Latin quarter). Experiments will be led in the host laboratory: UMR8261 “Microbial Gene Expression”, directed by Dr. Ciaran Condon. All the necessary equipment is already in the laboratory or in a very close proximity. The project will be directed by Valérie Heurgué-Hamard (Research Director, CNRS).

Constraints and risks

- It is possible that this research project involves the use of radio isotopes
- A candidate must be in compliance with the mobility rule which stipulates that you have not resided or exercised your main activity (work or studies) in France for more than 12 months during the three years preceding the date of recruitment.

Additional Information

The application should be written in English and submitted to https://emploi.cnrs.fr/. It must include a detailed CV, a minimum of two letters of reference, a cover letter describing your short and long-term career objectives, and a signed declaration that you comply with the mobility rule which stipulates that you have not resided or carried out your main activity (work or studies) in France for more than 12 months during the three years preceding the date of recruitment. The complete file must also be sent to Bruno MIROUX & Magdalena TORTYNA, respectively director and manager of the project at DYNAMOcofund@ibpc.fr. See details on the website http://labexdynamo.ibpc.fr/fp-dynamo-paris/

Evaluation
The position is designed as a first step in a research career, and the evaluation of candidates will be based primarily on their research qualifications and skills that can complement and strengthen ongoing research at the partner institutions.
Step 1. The applications of each eligible candidate will be evaluated by independent international experts within the relevant research theme. Eligible candidates will be evaluated based on merit, motivation for the program, academic excellence, and personal qualifications such as collaboration and communication skills.
Step 2. Up to three candidates will be selected for a video interview with the independent experts for each open position. After the interview, short-listed candidates will be invited to a remote conference with the project director and a DYNAMO board member to define the general scope of the project, training, and research environment. Applicants will be asked to write a 3-page project proposal, contributing their original ideas, and will have 2 weeks to submit it.
Step 3. Each project proposal will be evaluated by one of the independent experts and the DYNAMO board member who evaluated the applicant in the previous steps. Final selection will be made based on the scores obtained in Steps 1, 2, and 3. The minimum score must be above 20/40. The best candidate will be offered the postdoctoral position with a start date of January 1 to April 30, 2023.

The CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) is an equal opportunity employer. In addition, FP-DYNAMO-PARIS is committed to promoting the role of women in science and thus explicitly encourages them to apply.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)
Portail > Offres > Offre FR550-MAGTOR-013 - Post-doctorat "Methylation de la machinerie traductionnelle" (H/F)

Post-doctorat "Methylation de la machinerie traductionnelle" (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Date Limite Candidature : samedi 15 octobre 2022

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Informations générales

Référence : FR550-MAGTOR-013
Lieu de travail : PARIS 05
Date de publication : mercredi 14 septembre 2022
Type de contrat : CDD Scientifique
Durée du contrat : 24 mois
Date d'embauche prévue : 1 janvier 2023
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : à partir de 3106 euros brut mensuel selon expérience.
Niveau d'études souhaité : Doctorat
Expérience souhaitée : Indifférent

Missions

La synthèse d'une protéine est un processus précis et très contrôlé afin d'offrir aux cellules une croissance optimale et une adaptation aux conditions de vie. Des modifications post-transcriptionnelles et post-traductionnelles sont fréquemment observées sur le ribosome (protéines, ARN ribosomique), ARNs de transfert et facteurs de traduction. Ces modifications jouent un rôle important dans la régulation, la précision et l'efficacité de la traduction mais également dans la biogénèse du ribosome avec des conséquences connues sur le cycle cellulaire.
La méthylation est une des modifications les plus fréquentes des ARN et des protéines. Chez la levure et l'homme, il est remarquable que les deux tiers des methyltransférases (MTases) connues aient pour cible la machinerie traductionnelle. Les effets de la méthylation sur la traduction sont parfaitement illustrés par la protéine de levure Trm112. Cette protéine est assez unique car c'est une plateforme d'activation de quatre MTases modifiant l'ARNr 18S (Bud23), les ARNt (Trm9 et Trm11), et le facteur de terminaison de la traduction eRF1 (Mtq2). Trm112 qui intervient donc à la fois dans la biogenèse et dans la fonction du ribosome pourrait réguler ces deux processus. Ces complexes Trm112-MTases sont largement conservés chez les archées et chez l'homme avec un rôle dans le développement du cancer, des maladies neurodégénératives et des infections virales. De nouveaux partenaires MTases ont été récemment identifiés chez les eucaryotes et archées.
Nous avons démontré le rôle de Trm112 dans la biogénèse des deux sous-unités du ribosome via son interaction avec Bud23 et Mtq2 dans l'organisme modèle Saccharomyces cerevisiae. Il reste à éclaircir les mécanismes moléculaires impliqués. Ce projet post-doctoral vise également à comprendre la régulation et la dynamique du réseau Trm112-MTases pendant le cycle cellulaire et en réponse à différents stimuli.
Il est anticipé que mener de front ces deux sujets augmentera la visibilité scientifique du candidat par la publication de manuscrits de qualité.
Nous utiliserons des approches complémentaires telles que la génétique de la levure, la biologie moléculaire, des études physiologiques, de la biochimie et des expériences d'immunoprécipitation suivies d'analyses en spectrométrie de masse. Si de nouveaux complexes sont identifiés, des études structurales pourraient également être envisagées.

Publications:
Lacoux, C., Wacheul, L., Saraf, K., Pythoud, N., Huvelle, E., Figaro, S., Graille, M., Carapito, S., Lafontaine, D.L.J & Heurgué-Hamard, V (2020) The catalytic activity of the translation termination factor methyltransferase Mtq2-Trm112 complex is required for large ribosomal subunit biogenesis. Nucleic Acids Res. 48, 12310-12325.
doi: 10.1093/nar/gkaa972
Létoquart, J..,Huvelle, E.., Wacheul, L.., Bourgeois, G., Zorbas, C., Graille, M., Heurgué-Hamard, V & Lafontaine D.L.J. (2014) Structural and functional studies of Bud23-Trm112 reveal 18S rRNA N7-G1575 methylation occurs on late 40S precursor ribosomes. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. 111, E5518-E5526
Figaro, S., Wacheul, L., Schillewaert, S., Graille, M., Huvelle, E., Mongeard, R., Zorbas, C., Lafontaine, D#., Heurgué-Hamard, V# (2012) Trm112 is required for Bud23-mediated methylation of the 18S rRNA at position G1575. Mol Cell Biol, 32, 2254-2267
Liger D, Mora L, Lazar N, Figaro S, Henri J, Scrima N, Buckingham RH, van Tilbeurgh H, Heurgué-Hamard V, Graille M. (2011) Mechanism of activation of methyltransferases involved in translation by the Trm112 « hub » protein. Nucleic Acids Res. 39, 6249-59.
Figaro, S., Scrima, N., Buckingham, R.H & Heurgué-Hamard, V. (2008) HemK2 protein, encoded on human chromosome 21, methylates translation termination factor eRF1. FEBS letters, 582, 2352-2356.

Activités

- Biochimie (purification de protéines, ARNs et analyse, analyse de polysomes, western blot, immunoprécipitations)
- Analyses protéomiques
- Mesure d'activités enzymatiques
- Biologie Moléculaire (clonages, mutagénèse sur plasmide, préparation acides nucléiques PCR)

Compétences

Savoirs/connaissances
- Connaissances des mécanismes de traduction de l'ARNm, de biogénèse du ribosome et de méthylation des protéines/ARN
- Connaissances des mécanismes de la régulation de l'expression des gènes chez la levure
- Bonnes connaissances en biologie moléculaire (clonage, mutagénèse, etc.)
- Des connaissances en génétique de la levure seraient appréciées
- Expert dans l'identification de complexes protéiques
- des connaissances en protéomique seraient un plus
- connaissances en biochimie (purification de protéines, enzymologie, etc.)
- Anglais scientifique courant
- Communication scientifique (présentation, rédaction d'articles)

Savoir-faire
- Travailler avec les ARN et les protéines
- Réaliser et analyser des études protéomiques
- planifier et mettre en place une étude scientifique
- Organiser son travail au quotidien et savoir interpréter ses résultats
- Bien tenir régulièrement son cahier de laboratoire, savoir présenter ses résultats

Savoir-être
- Sympathique, optimiste
- Savoir travailler en équipe
- Motivé, patient, curieux, bon esprit de synthèse
- Organisé, consciencieux, honnête
- Esprit critique sur les résultats

Compétences managériales
- Co-encadrement d'étudiant en master possible

Contexte de travail

Le travail sera réalisé à l'Institut de Biologie Physico-Chimique (IBPC), un institut multidisciplinaire du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) situé dans le quartier Latin au centre de Paris. Les expériences seront réalisées dans l'Unité CNRS UMR 8261 « Expression Génétique Microbienne » dirigée par Ciaran Condon. Tout le matériel nécessaire se trouve déjà dans le laboratoire ou dans un rayon très proche.

Contraintes et risques

- Il est possible que ce projet de recherche implique l'utilisation de radio isotopes.
- Il faut être en conformité avec la règle de mobilité qui stipule que vous n'avez pas résidé ou exercé votre activité principale (travail ou études) en France pendant plus de 12 mois au cours des trois années précédant la date du recrutement.

Informations complémentaires

Le dossier de candidature est à rédiger en anglais et à déposer sur le site https://emploi.cnrs.fr/. Il doit comporter un CV détaillé, un minimum de deux lettres de référence, une lettre de motivation décrivant vos objectifs de carrière à court et long terme, ainsi qu'une déclaration signée spécifiant que vous êtes en conformité avec la règle de mobilité qui stipule que vous n'avez pas résidé ou exercé votre activité principale (travail ou études) en France pendant plus de 12 mois au cours des trois années précédant la date du recrutement. Le dossier complet doit aussi être envoyé à Bruno MIROUX & Magdalena TORTYNA, respectivement directeur et manager du projet à l'adresse mail DYNAMOcofund@ibpc.fr. Voir détails sur le site http://labexdynamo.ibpc.fr/fp-dynamo-paris/

Evaluation
Le poste est conçu comme une première étape dans une carrière de chercheur, et l'évaluation des candidats sera principalement basée sur leurs qualifications en recherche et leurs compétences pouvant compléter et renforcer la recherche en cours au sein des institutions partenaires.

Étape 1. Les candidatures de chaque candidat éligible seront évaluées par des experts internationaux indépendants au sein du thème de recherche concerné. Les candidats éligibles seront évalués en fonction de leur mérite, de leur motivation pour le programme, de leur excellence académique et de leurs qualifications personnelles telles que leur aptitude à collaborer et communiquer.

Étape 2. Un maximum de trois candidats sera retenu pour un entretien vidéo avec les experts indépendants pour chaque poste ouvert. Après l'entretien, les candidats de la liste restreinte seront invités à une conférence à distance avec le directeur de projet et un membre du conseil d'administration de DYNAMO pour définir le périmètre général du projet, de la formation et de l'environnement de recherche. Les candidats devront rédiger une proposition de projet de 3 pages, apportant leurs propres idées originales, et disposeront de 2 semaines pour la soumettre.

Étape 3. Chaque proposition de projet sera évaluée par l'un des experts indépendants et le membre du conseil d'administration de DYNAMO qui aura évalué le candidat lors des étapes précédentes. La sélection finale sera faite sur la base des notes obtenues aux étapes 1, 2 et 3. La note minimale doit être supérieure à 20/40. Le meilleur candidat se verra offrir le poste de postdoctorant avec une date de début à partir du 1er janvier 2023.

Le CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) est un employeur souscrivant au principe de l'égalité d'accès à l'emploi. Par ailleurs, FP-DYNAMO-PARIS s'engage à promouvoir le rôle des femmes dans la science et ainsi encourage explicitement celles-ci à se porter candidates.

On en parle sur Twitter !