By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD contract in Cell Biology (M/F)

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : USR3505-CAMLIB-016
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Dr. Valérie LOBJOIS
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

The cell cycle is the fundamental process by which a mother cell gives birth to two genetically identical daughter cells. The chekpoints of the cell cycle are signaling pathways, whose activation in response to different intra- or extracellular signals leads to the inactivation of the CDK-cyclin complexes and to the cell cycle arrest at G1/S, intra-S, G2/M or intra M transitions. The progression during the G1 phase of the cell cycle is dependent on mitogenic signals which regulate a major checkpoint of the cell cycle dynamics, the restriction point or R-point, which controls the engagement of the cells in the cell cycle and whose molecular mechanisms are based on the regulation of the activity of the G1 phase Cdk and of the retinoblastoma protein. In the absence of mitogenic signals, the cells can leave the cell cycle and reach a state of non-division, called G0, which depending on the cell type can be reversible. All the molecular mechanisms controlling cell cycle progression, in particular G1 or G2 phase, are involved in controlling the balance between proliferation and cell differentiation or migration in many physiological contexts.
Adipose stromal cells (ASCs) are mesenchymal stromal cells that reside in adipose tissue and are characterized by a high potential for regeneration. Recent works in the laboratory have shown that a pool of ASCs can be mobilized in response to various pathophysiological contexts and that ASCs released by the adipose tissue infiltrate the target organ and participate in its remodeling and/or regeneration. Several studies demonstrate that the dynamics of ASC cell proliferation control their fate and recently, a subpopulation of ASCs with a high proliferative profile has been identified and could play an important role in regeneration.
The objective of the proposed thesis project is to study the involvement of regulatory mechanisms of cell cycle dynamics in the inter-organ mobilization of ASCs in response to stress and its alteration during aging. The model of study will be the mobilization of ASCs from subcutaneous fat tissue in response to skeletal muscle injury and its contribution to muscle regeneration.
A first part of the work will be devoted to the characterization of the cell cycle progression dynamics of ASC populations in adipose tissue and skeletal muscle from mouse models. This study will be based on the analysis of ASC generation time, expression and activation of cell cycle regulators using biochemical approaches and the analysis of ASC distribution in the cell cycle by flow cytometry. A second part of the project will be devoted to the study of the implication of a modification of the cell cycle control dynamics in the inter-organ mobilization of ASCs and their potential for regeneration. Prior to this functional study, a miniaturized ex vivo model, composed of an ASC compartment, a migration pathway and a target compartment, will be developed to mimic the inter-organ dialogue of ASCs and to monitor the dynamics of ASCs under microscopy. Thanks to this model, the impact of ASC synchronization and pharmacological targeting of cell cycle regulators on their mobilization will be studied. These results will be complemented by gain and loss of function experiments of candidate regulators to study their involvement. This model will also be used to explore and characterize the impact of the properties of the microenvironment (rigidity, physioxia, ...) on the mobilization and dynamics of ASCs.
All this work will make it possible to characterize the involvement of signaling pathways of cell cycle checkpoints in the regulation of the inter-organ dialogue of ASCs and their potential for regeneration, opening up the prospect of identifying new therapeutic levers for treating muscle degeneration observed, for example, in elderly patients responsible for the onset of a fragile state.

Mission
Conduct a research project to investigate the involvement of mechanisms for regulating cell cycle dynamics in the mobilization of CSAs in response to stress.

Activities
To carry out a state-of-the-art scientific literature in connection with the project
Ensure scientific and technological monitoring in the field of activity
Putting experimental protocols in place, carrying out experiments and analysing the results
Present the project and the results obtained in meetings, seminars or congresses in French and English in the form of a posted or oral communication
Write the thesis manuscript and scientific articles from the results

Skills : Master degree

Knowledge:
- In-depth knowledge of the cell cycle
- Very good general knowledge of cellular and molecular biology,
- Expertise acquired in cell culture and good skills in microscopy and image analysis.
- Expertise acquired in the quantitative study of the dynamics of tumor cell populations in video-microscopy

Skills:
- Carrying out experiments, observations, ensuring reproducible methods and reliable results;
- Demonstrating rigour and scientific integrity
- Presenting and discuting the results
- Taking a step back from the progress and scope of its project, its influence in national and international contexts
- Taking an objective and critical assessment of the progress of its own work, identifying the added value compared to previous work
- Working as a team

Work Context

The project is part of the creation on 1/01/2021 of the RESTORE Institute, a laboratory resulting from the merge of ITAV, Stromalab, the Adipolab team (I2MC) and the MRN2i team (Pharmadev). The project will be conducted within the new Stromagics team, "Stromal aging dynamics", co-directed by C. Sengenes, Inserm researcher, and Valérie Lobjois, assistant professor. This team will bring together researchers, assistant-professors, engineers and technicians with highly complementary expertise in MSC physiology, cell cycle regulation, cell migration and large-scale genome analysis. The PhD student will benefit from the support of all team members. The project will be co-supervised by Valérie Lobjois and Jacques Rouquette (head of the future Centre d'Expertises et de Ressources Technologiques (CERT) at Restore and specialist in fluorescence microscopy). During the first year of the thesis, weekly follow-up meetings with the two co-supervisors will be organized and the PhD student will also be asked to present his results during team meetings and internal seminars at the laboratory. The frequency of the follow-up by the supervisors will be adapted according to the autonomy of the PhD student. The doctoral student will also be encouraged to present his/her work in at least one national and one international congress during his/her doctorate. A referent person, internal to the laboratory, will also be identified, who will be able to play the role of mediator. An annual interview will take place every year in order to accompany the doctoral student in the construction of his/her professional project from the beginning of the doctorate.

Constraints and risks

Laboratory work (risks related to chemicals, biological agents, pressured materials)

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Contrat doctoral en biologie cellulaire (H/F)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : USR3505-CAMLIB-016
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : mercredi 24 juin 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Dr. Valérie LOBJOIS
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Le cycle cellulaire eucaryote est finement régulé à des points de contrôle, dont l'activation en réponse à différents signaux intra- ou extracellulaires module l'activité des complexes CDK-cycline contrôlant la progression entre chaque phase du cycle. La progression au cours de la phase G1 du cycle cellulaire est sous la dépendance de signaux mitogènes qui régulent un point de contrôle majeur de la dynamique du cycle cellulaire, le point de restriction ou point « R ». Ce point contrôle l'engagement des cellules dans le cycle cellulaire par des mécanismes moléculaires qui reposent sur la régulation de l'activité des CDK de la phase G1 et la phosphorylation de la protéine du rétinoblastome (pRB). En absence de signaux mitogènes, les cellules quittent le cycle cellulaire et rejoignent un état de quiescence, appelé G0, qui selon les types cellulaires peut être réversible. Les mécanismes moléculaires du contrôle de la progression dans le cycle cellulaire, en particulier de la phase G1 ou de la phase G2, sont impliqués dans le contrôle de la balance entre prolifération et différenciation et/ou migration cellulaire dans de nombreux contextes physiologiques.
Les cellules stromales adipocytaires ou ASCs (Adipose stromal cells) sont des cellules stromales mésenchymateuses qui résident dans le tissu adipeux et qui sont caractérisées par un fort potentiel de régénération. Les travaux récents du laboratoire ont montré qu'un pool d'ASC était mobilisable en réponse à divers contextes physiopathologiques et que les ASCs libérées par le tissu adipeux infiltrent l'organe cible et participent à son remodelage et/ou à sa régénération. Plusieurs études démontrent que la dynamique de la prolifération cellulaire des ASCs contrôle leur devenir et récemment, une sous-population d'ASCs présentant un profil hautement prolifératif a été identifiée. Cette population pourrait jouer un rôle important dans la régénération.

L'objectif du projet de thèse proposé est d'étudier l'implication des mécanismes de régulation de la dynamique du cycle cellulaire dans la mobilisation des ASCs en réponse à un stress. Le modèle d'étude sera la mobilisation des ASCs du tissu adipeux sous-cutané induite par une lésion musculaire squelettique et permettant sa régénération.
Les trois axes de recherche identifiés sont: 1) la caractérisation de la dynamique de progression dans le cycle cellulaire des populations d'ASC au sein du tissu adipeux et du muscle squelettique issus de modèles murins, 2) l'étude de l'implication des modifications de la dynamique de contrôle du cycle cellulaire dans la mobilisation inter-organe des ASCs et leur potentiel de régénération et 3) l'exploration et la caractérisation de l'impact des propriétés du microenvironnement (rigidité, physioxie, …) sur la mobilisation et la dynamique des ASCs.
L'ensemble de ces travaux permettra de caractériser l'implication des voies de signalisation des points de contrôle du cycle cellulaire dans la régulation du dialogue inter-organe des ASCs et leur potentiel de régénération. Ces travaux pourraient ouvrir la perspective de l'identification de nouveaux leviers thérapeutiques utiles pour traiter la dégénérescence musculaire responsable par exemple de l'installation d'un état fragile associé en particulier au vieillissement.


Mission
Conduire un projet de recherche visant à étudier l'implication des mécanismes de régulation de la dynamique du cycle cellulaire dans la mobilisation des ASCs en réponse à un stress.

Activités
• Réaliser un état de l'art de la littérature scientifique en lien avec le projet
• Assurer une veille scientifique et technologique dans le domaine d'activité
• Mettre en place des protocoles expérimentaux, réaliser les expériences et l'analyse des résultats
• Présenter le projet et les résultats obtenus en réunions, séminaires ou congrès en français et en anglais sous forme de communication affichée ou orale
• Rédiger le manuscrit de thèse et les articles scientifiques découlant des résultats obtenus

Compétences
M2 recherche

Connaissances:
• Connaissances approfondies du cycle cellulaire
• Très bonnes connaissances générales en biologie cellulaire et moléculaire,
• Expertise acquise en culture cellulaire et bonnes compétences en microscopie et analyse d'image.
• Expertise acquise dans l'étude quantitative de la dynamique de populations cellulaires tumorales en vidéo-microscopie

Compétences:
• réaliser les expérimentations, observations, en garantissant des méthodes reproductibles et des résultats fiables ;
• faire preuve de rigueur et d'intégrité scientifique
• présenter et discuter les résultats
• prendre du recul sur l'état d'avancement et la portée de son projet, son influence dans les contextes national et international
• faire un bilan objectif et critique des avancées de ses propres travaux, identifier la valeur ajoutée par rapport aux travaux antérieurs
• travailler en équipe

Contexte de travail

Le projet proposé s'inscrit dans le contexte de la création au 01/01/2021 de l'Institut RESTORE, laboratoire issu de la fusion de l'ITAV, de Stromalab, de l'équipe Adipolab (I2MC) et de l'équipe MRN2i (Pharmadev). Le projet sera conduit au sein de la nouvelle équipe Stromagics, "Stromal aging dynamics", co-dirigée par C. Sengenes, chercheuse Inserm, et Valérie Lobjois, enseignante-chercheuse. Cette équipe réunira des chercheurs, enseignants-chercheurs, ingénieurs et techniciens ayant des expertises très complémentaires dans la physiologie des ASCs, la régulation du cycle cellulaire, la migration cellulaire et l'analyse à grande échelle des génomes. Le doctorant bénéficiera du soutien de l'ensemble des membres de l'équipe. Le projet sera co-encadré par Valérie Lobjois et par Jacques Rouquette (responsable du futur Centre d'Expertises et de Ressources Technologiques (CERT) de Restore et spécialiste de microscopie de fluorescence). Au cours de la première année de thèse, des réunions hebdomadaires de suivi avec les deux co-encadrants seront organisées et le doctorant sera également amené à présenter ses résultats dans le cadre des réunions d'équipe et des séminaires internes au laboratoire. La fréquence du suivi par les encadrants sera adaptée en fonction de la prise d'autonomie du doctorant. Le doctorant sera également incité à présenter ses travaux dans au moins un congrès national et un congrès international au cours de son doctorat. Une personne référente, interne au laboratoire sera également identifiée, qui pourra jouer le rôle de médiateur. Un entretien annuel aura lieu chaque année afin d'accompagner le doctorant dans la construction de son projet professionnel dès le début du doctorat.

Contraintes et risques

Travail de laboratoire (risques liés aux produits chimiques, aux agents biologiques, matériels sous pression)

On en parle sur Twitter !