By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD offer in chemistry H/F - CO2 Transformations catalysed by N-Heterocyclic Carbene (NHC) systems

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UPR8241-OLIBAS-001
Workplace : TOULOUSE
Date of publication : Friday, February 21, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Dr. Olivier Baslé
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 October 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

There are increasing demands to find new strategies to reduce atmospheric carbon dioxide (CO2). Utilization of CO2 as one-carbon building block in chemical synthesis for the production of carboxylic acids is particularly appealing. However, the thermodynamic stability and kinetic inertness of CO2 constitute serious drawbacks. On the other hand, alkanes are the major constituents of natural gas and crude oil and are the major products of biomass conversion via Fischer-Tropsch synthesis. Nevertheless, alkanes are among the least reactive organic molecules and forcing reaction conditions are generally required for hydrocarbons transformations. Therefore, the direct conversion of abundant and low-cost CO2 and hydrocarbon feedstock into value-added products has the potential to be a revolutionary technology in the chemical industry. In this project, by taking advantage of photochemical reactions that occur under mild conditions and avoid the use of aggressive chemicals, we propose to functionalize alkanes with CO2 for the production of high value-added carboxylic acids. This project is based on our complementary expertise in photocatalytic C-H functionalization and CO2 activation at LCC and in computational modelling at UAB.

Work Context

The Laboratory for Coordination Chemistry (LCC), based in Toulouse, southern France, and associated to the Université Paul Sabatier, is part of an Innovative Training Network (ITN) and more specifically a European Joint Doctorate (EJD), funded by the European Commission through the Marie Sklowdoska-Curie Action (MSCA), entitled "Coordination Chemistry Inspires Molecular Catalysis" (CCIMC). This vacancy (referenced as ESR15 on the CCIMC website: www.ccimc.eu) offers a 3 year, fully-funded double PhD award in collaboration with the Department of Chemistry in the Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona (UAB). You will be supervised by Dr. Olivier Baslé (LCC) and co-supervised by Dr. Sébastien Bontemps (LCC) and Pr. Agustí Lledós (UAB).
The Laboratory for Coordination Chemistry (www.lcc-toulouse.fr) is one of the top chemistry institute in France and is part of the CNRS - Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (“National Centre for Scientific Research”), the French leading research establishment. We have at our disposal very well equipped technical and analytical platforms for the daily support of scientific work. Strong of more than 70 researchers divided in 15 teams, research at the LCC places coordination chemistry as a central tool to solve current issues associated with climate change, energy transition and life sciences along 3 axes of investigations: catalysis, materials and health. More than 100 undergraduates, graduates and postgraduates of various nationalities are present at the LCC, thus ensuring a motivating working environment as well as opportunities for social events.
The Department of Chemistry at UAB is one of the Spain leading Chemistry departments and we are renowned internationally for our research and teaching activities. UAB and its chemistry department focuses on today's climate crisis. “Climate Emergency: the UAB acts! is the slogan the UAB has chosen this year to raise awareness on the current climate crisis. Moreover, as a Department we strive to provide a working environment which allows all staff and students to contribute fully, to flourish, and to excel. Further information can be found within this brief and on our website: https://www.uab.cat/web/department-of-chemistry-1345699036385.html

Constraints and risks

In order to qualify for award of the double degree the candidate will carry out the PhD in LCC and in the Department of Chemistry of the Universita Autonoma de Barcelona under the supervision of Pr. Agustí Lledós. A secondment in industry, at Solvay, France, will complement the training provided in Toulouse and in Barcelona. In addition, training events will take place at a number of sites around Europe, allowing the researcher to benefit from significant international mobility. The candidate must be enthusiastic about, and willing to, travel as part of the project and must accept the terms of the award of the double degree, including the requirement to attend international training events and fulfil the double degree examination process. There will be extensive opportunities to engage with other groups in the consortium, who represent many of the European leaders in the area of coordination chemistry and catalysis.

Additional Information

The CCIMC ITN addresses the current lack of coordinated doctoral training at the European level on molecular catalysis. It aims to push the frontiers of knowledge in ligand design, coordination chemistry, pre-catalyst development, catalyst recovery and catalytic process implementation, while also offering full scale training in professional and personal transferable skills, to prepare a new generation of junior scientists to meet the economic and societal challenges of the chemical industry in the 21st century.
The CCIMC programme involves 15 joint theses. The candidate is encouraged to consider all of these projects, which can be found on the ITN-EJD website (www.ccimc.eu). Please pay attention that to be eligible, on 1st October 2020, the candidate must be in the first four years (full-time equivalent research experience) of her·his research career and has not been awarded a doctoral degree. On 1st October 2020, she·he must not have resided or carried out her·his main activity (work, studies, etc.) in the same country than the recruiting institution (in the case of the present offer, France) for more than 12 months in the preceding 3 years. Compulsory national service and/or short stays, such as holidays, are not taken into account.

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Offre thèse chimie H/F - Transformations du CO2 par des systèmes catalytiques à base de carbènes N-hétérocycliques (NHC)

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UPR8241-OLIBAS-001
Lieu de travail : TOULOUSE
Date de publication : vendredi 21 février 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Dr. Olivier Baslé
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 octobre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

La co-valorisation des ressources abondantes et peu coûteuses d'hydrocarbures et de CO2 pour la production d'acides carboxyliques constituerait une technologie innovante pour l'industrie chimique. Cependant, la stabilité thermodynamique et cinétique du CO2 constituent de sérieux inconvénients. Les alcanes sont les principaux constituants du gaz naturel et du pétrole brut et peuvent être produits par la conversion de la biomasse par le procédé de Fischer-Tropsch. Néanmoins, les alcanes sont parmi les molécules organiques les moins réactives et des conditions de réaction forcées sont généralement requises pour leurs transformations. Par conséquent, la conversion directe de ces matières premières abondantes et peu coûteuses (CO2 et hydrocarbures) en produits à valeur ajoutée offrirait une technologie révolutionnaire pour l'industrie chimique. Nous tirerons parti de réactions photochimiques dans des conditions douces et éviterons l'utilisation de produits chimiques agressifs, pour fonctionnaliser les alcanes avec du CO2 afin de produire des acides carboxyliques à haute valeur ajoutée. Ce projet s'appuie sur une expertise forte et complémentaire en matière de fonctionnalisation C-H photocatalytique et d'activation du CO2 au Laboratoire de Chimie de coordination (LCC) de Toulouse et en modélisation informatique à l'Université Autonome de Barcelone (UAB).

Contexte de travail

Le Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination (LCC), basé à Toulouse et associé à l'Université Paul Sabatier, fait partie d'un « Innovative Training Network » (ITN) et plus spécifiquement d'un Joint European Doctorate (EJD), financé par la Commission européenne par le biais des Marie Sklowdoska-Curie Actions (MSCA) et intitulé " Coordination Chemistry Inspires Molecular Catalysis " (CCIMC). Ce poste (référencé comme ESR15 sur le site de l'ITN CCIMC : www.ccimc.eu) offre un double doctorat de 3 ans entièrement financé en collaboration avec le Département de chimie de l'Université Autonome de Barcelone (UAB). Le candidat sera supervisé par le Dr Olivier Baslé (LCC) et co-supervisé par le Dr Sébastien Bontemps (LLC) et le Pr Agustí Lledós (UAB).
Le Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination du CNRS (www.lcc-toulouse.fr) est l'un des meilleurs instituts de chimie en France. Nous avons à notre disposition des plateformes techniques et analytiques très bien équipées pour l'accompagnement quotidien des travaux scientifiques. Fort de plus de 70 chercheurs répartis en 15 équipes, la recherche au LCC place la chimie de coordination comme outil central pour s'attaquer aux enjeux actuels liés au changement climatique, à la transition énergétique et aux sciences de la vie selon 3 axes d'investigation: catalyse, matériaux et santé. Plus de 100 étudiants-stagiaire, doctorant et post-doctorant de différentes nationalités sont présents au LCC, assurant ainsi un environnement de travail stimulant.
Le Département de Chimie de l'UAB (https://www.uab.cat/web/department-of-chemistry-1345699036385.html) est l'un des meilleurs départements de chimie d'Espagne et est internationalement reconnu pour ses recherches et ses activités d'enseignement. L'assurance d'un environnement de travail qui permet à tout le personnel et aux étudiants de contribuer pleinement à l'effort de recherche et de formation, de s'épanouir et d'exceller, est une priorité du Département de Chimie de l'Université Autonome de Barcelone. De plus, L'UAB et son département de chimie se concentrent sur la crise climatique actuelle. "Urgence climatique : l'UAB agit !" est le slogan que l'UAB a choisi cette année pour sensibiliser à la crise climatique actuelle.

Contraintes et risques

Afin d'être admissible à l'obtention du double diplôme, la thèse se déroulera à la fois au LCC mais aussi au Département de chimie de l'UAB sous la supervision du Pr Agustí Lledós. Un détachement dans l'industrie, chez Solvay France complétera la formation dispensée à Toulouse et Barcelone. De plus, des ateliers auront lieu sur plusieurs sites à travers l'Europe, permettant au·à la doctorant·e de bénéficier d'une mobilité internationale importante ; il·elle devra donc être disposé·e à voyager dans le cadre du projet et accepter les conditions de l'attribution du double diplôme, y compris l'obligation d'assister à des formations internationales et de suivre un double processus d'examen. Il y aura de nombreuses opportunités de s'engager avec d'autres groupes du consortium, qui rassemble de nombreux leaders européens dans le domaine de la chimie de coordination et de la catalyse.

Informations complémentaires

L'ITN CCIMC vient combler le manque actuel de formation doctorale coordonnée au niveau européen sur la catalyse moléculaire. Il vise à repousser les frontières de la connaissance dans la conception de ligands, la chimie de coordination, le développement de précatalyseurs, le recyclage de catalyseurs et la mise en œuvre de processus catalytiques. Il offre une formation à grande échelle pour acquérir des compétences professionnelles et personnelles transférables, pour préparer une nouvelle génération de jeunes scientifiques à rencontrer les défis économiques et sociétaux de l'industrie chimique au 21e siècle. Le programme CCIMC pourvoira 15 thèses en co-tutelle. Le candidat est encouragé à considérer tous ces projets, qui peuvent être trouvés sur le site Web de cet ITN-EJD : www.ccimc.eu. Il est important de souligner que le recrutement est soumis à restrictions : en effet, pour être éligible, au 1er octobre 2020, la·le candidat·e doit être dans ses quatre premières années (équivalent temps plein en recherche) de sa carrière de chercheur et ne pas être titulaire d'un doctorat. Au 1er octobre 2020, elle·il ne doit pas avoir résidé ou exercé sa·son activité principale (travail, études, etc.) dans le même pays que l'institution de recrutement (dans le cas de la présente offre, la France) depuis plus de 12 mois au cours des 3 années précédentes. Le service national obligatoire et/ou les courts séjours, tels que les vacances, ne sont pas pris en compte.

On en parle sur Twitter !