By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. (More details)

PhD thesis (F/M) at the interface of microbiology / Chemistry of Natural product / chemical ecology

This offer is available in the following languages:
Français - Anglais

Ensure that your candidate profile is correct before applying. Your profile information will be added to the details for each application. In order to increase your visibility on our Careers Portal and allow employers to see your candidate profile, you can upload your CV to our CV library in one click!

Faites connaître cette offre !

General information

Reference : UPR2301-DAVTOU-004
Workplace : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date of publication : Monday, March 09, 2020
Scientific Responsible name : Touboul David
Type of Contract : PhD Student contract / Thesis offer
Contract Period : 36 months
Start date of the thesis : 1 September 2020
Proportion of work : Full time
Remuneration : 2 135,00 € gross monthly

Description of the thesis topic

Tree-D is an interdisciplinary project (wood ecology, microbiology, analytical chemistry), which aims to explore the microbial and chemical defences of Sextonia rubra (Mez.) Van der Werff (hard pomace, Lauraceae), a sustainable species exploited in French Guiana, . The aim is to consider the tree no longer as a sum of sub-units, but as a living and complex three-dimensional (3D) organism, characterized by its stage of development, producing specialized metabolites, harbouring microbial communities and interacting with its ecosystem. The aim is therefore to implement a multi-scale spatial and integrative analysis, from microscopic to macroscopic, from roots to leaves, from bark to pith, multi-omic (genetic and metabolomic) and functional (natural sustainability and reverse chemical ecology approach), to produce the first 3D mapping of a mature tree in the Guyana rainforest.
This project is funded by CNRS (80|Prime) and involves several CNRS units (ECOFOG and LEEISA in French Guiana, IPNO in Orsay) and INRAE/University of Lorraine (UMR1136, Nancy).

Work Context

The ICSN is a research unit of the CNRS. Its research projects focus on the chemistry of natural substances and on several related fields more particularly oriented towards the chemistry-biology interface. The ICSN is part of the University of Paris Saclay which, since 2015, groups together the research and higher education establishments of the south of Paris. The unit is located on the campus of Gif-Sur-Yvette, and has about 150 staff members, including 80 permanent employees spread over 3 buildings. The agent will be located in building 27 of the ICSN.

The student will work within the ChimiBiSA department of the ICSN and within this department of the "mass spectrometry" research team under the hierarchical authority of the team leader (Dr. D. Touboul). Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the research programme, the person recruited will be required to travel to the various research sites with a job in microbiology in building 23B of the ICSN, a one-month field mission in French Guiana and missions in Nancy (reverse chemical ecology approach). The student will be co-supervised by Emeline Houël (ECOFOG, French Guiana).
The person recruited will have to demonstrate knowledge in chemistry and microbiology with a strong appetite for studies in chemical ecology. Knowledge of programming (Python or R) will be welcome.

Constraints and risks

The candidate will have to be up to date with his vacccines (against yellow fever obligatory, against hepatitis A recommended) for missions in French Guiana.

Additional Information

-

We talk about it on Twitter!

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez le dépôt de cookies dans votre navigateur. (En savoir plus)

Offre de thèse H/F à l'interface microbiologie / chimie des produits naturels / écologie chimique

Cette offre est disponible dans les langues suivantes :
Français - Anglais

Assurez-vous que votre profil candidat soit correctement renseigné avant de postuler. Les informations de votre profil complètent celles associées à chaque candidature. Afin d’augmenter votre visibilité sur notre Portail Emploi et ainsi permettre aux recruteurs de consulter votre profil candidat, vous avez la possibilité de déposer votre CV dans notre CVThèque en un clic !

Faites connaître cette offre !

Informations générales

Référence : UPR2301-DAVTOU-004
Lieu de travail : GIF SUR YVETTE
Date de publication : lundi 9 mars 2020
Nom du responsable scientifique : Touboul David
Type de contrat : CDD Doctorant/Contrat doctoral
Durée du contrat : 36 mois
Date de début de la thèse : 1 septembre 2020
Quotité de travail : Temps complet
Rémunération : 2 135,00 € brut mensuel

Description du sujet de thèse

Tree-D est un projet interdisciplinaire (écologie du bois, microbiologie, chimie analytique), qui a pour but d'explorer les défenses microbiennes et chimiques de Sextonia rubra (Mez.) Van der Werff (grignon franc, Lauraceae), une essence durable exploitée en Guyane française, . Il s'agit de considérer l'arbre, non plus comme une somme de sous-unités, mais comme un organisme tridimensionnel (3D) vivant et complexe, caractérisé par son stade de développement, produisant des métabolites spécialisés, abritant des communautés microbiennes et interagissant avec son écosystème. Il s'agit donc de mettre en place une analyse spatiale et intégrative multi-échelles, du microscopique au macroscopique, des racines aux feuilles, de l'écorce à la moelle, multi-omiques (génétique et métabolomique) et fonctionnelle (durabilité naturelle et approche d'écologie chimique inverse), pour produire la première cartographie 3D d'un arbre mature de la forêt tropicale guyanaise.
Ce projet est financé par le CNRS (80|Prime) et implique plusieurs unités du CNRS (ECOFOG et LEEISA en Guyane, IPNO à Orsay) et INRAE/Université de Lorraine (UMR1136, Nancy).

Contexte de travail

L'ICSN est une unité propre de recherche du CNRS. Ses projets de recherche portent sur la chimie des substances naturelles et sur plusieurs domaines annexes plus particulièrement orientés à l'interface chimie-biologie. L'ICSN fait partie de l'Université Paris Saclay qui regroupe, depuis 2015, les établissements de recherche et d'enseignement supérieur du sud parisien. L'unité est située sur le campus de Gif-Sur-Yvette, et compte environ 150 agents dont 80 permanents répartis sur 3 bâtiments. L'agent sera localisé au bâtiment 27 de l'ICSN.

L'étudiant travaillera au sein du département ChimiBiSA de l'ICSN et à l'intérieur de ce département de l'équipe de recherche "spectrométrie de masse" sous l'autorité hiérarchique du responsable d'équipe (Dr. D. Touboul). De par la nature interdisciplinaire du programme de recherche, la personne recrutée devra se rendre mobile sur les différents sites de recherche avec un travail en microbiologie au batiment 23B de l'ICSN, une mission de terrain d'un mois en Guyane Francaise et des missions à Nancy (approche d'écologie chimique inverse). L'étudiant sera co-encadré par Emeline Houël (ECOFOG, Guyane).
La personne recrutée devra démontrer des connaissances en chimie et microbiologie avec une forte appétence pour les études en écologie chimique. Des connaissances en programmation (Python ou R) seront les bienvenues.

Contraintes et risques

Le candidat devra être à jour de ses vacccins (contre la fièvre jaune obligatoire, contre l'hépatite A recommandé) pour les missions en Guyane Française.

On en parle sur Twitter !